Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Braided Travel Tote

Flecked with classic neutral shades to coordinate with everything, this is the tote handbag you'll take along everywhere all summer. Gold-tone hardware. Fully lined with one zippered and two open sidewall pockets. Tote handbag in black/tan. Paper/polypropylene/polyester. Imported.11½"H x 15"W x 4¼"D.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
10 of 18(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Braided Travel Tote
Review 1 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love that Tote!,
August 28, 2013
By: NewEnglandinMcLean
from McLean, VA
"After spending a lot of time shopping for a Spring/Summer shoulder bag, I was fortunate to find the braided travel tote in your store. It met my requirements of quality, size, interior compartments. neutral color and reasonable price. I have used this tote daily for the last four months and could not be happier. A friend complimented me on the bag and just ordered it online for herself. It truly represents the quality for which Orvis is known."
Review 2 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite,
August 17, 2013
By: lionmary
from Concord, CA
"This has been the most universal purse I have ever owned. It goes with all, never seems to soil, keeps its shape, and makes finding specific contents easy."
Review 3 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal tote bag,
August 13, 2013
By: mommodrummer
from Texas
"This bag is just the right size I needed. It's hard to tell from a picture what the bag will really look like and how well it suits ones purpose. This tote will carry all my "stuff" easily!"
Review 4 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
June 13, 2013
By: Halz
"This bag is a great size and feels strong; of good quality!
The color goes with everything. I could not be more pleased!"
Review 5 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great all around summer bag,
June 4, 2013
By: dayton60
from Aiken, SC
"I bought a very similar bag a couple of years ago from Orvis...literally wore it to death! The grommets started tearing away from the purse, Orvis was excellent about accepting it back but because there evidently were none in stock, I got a gift certificate. Fast forward to this year...was delighted to see it once again in the catalog. This is my summer GO TO bag! A couple of comments...the weave does not seem as tight as my previous bag, which probably means it will not hold up as well. Cannot figure out the purpose of the removable straps??? A zip top is a must for me to secure items. It's plenty large enough for my IPad."
Review 6 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
May 21, 2013
By: sdrAR
from Sherwood, AR
"I originally purchased this bag a couple of years ago. I love the style and the size, but it didn't last through the summer. Orvis was good about replacing it, but the replacement bag did the same thing last summer A- the rings that the handles are hooked to pulled out of the fabric of the bag. I didn't put too much in it to cause it to be too heavy. Poor workmanship. I didn't bother to return the 2nd one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
like fabric, would like an outside pocket for keys,
May 24, 2012
By: musicmmom
from Mt. Vernon, WA
"like the fabric and size of bag. Would like longer handles to slip over shoulder. Would like a pocket or zip pocket on outside for keys. Would like an easier to open zipper on top - I do like the zipper feature on top. I like the color of the bag."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Flaws in purse,
May 2, 2012
By: Radios
from Chicago, IL
"The purse had several flaws in the weaving. It was truly unacceptable, and I will be returning it.
Very disappointed."
Review 9 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
beautiful bag, but...,
April 22, 2012
By: Lucile
"I purchased this tote last year and used it most of the summer. It's beautiful and the perfect size for everyday use, but... by mid-August the metal grommets at the top of the bag began to work loose from the material. I was so disappointed; otherwise I loved the bag. So, great bag if you are willing to pay $79 for one season's worth of use."
Review 10 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst purchase ever!,
February 18, 2012
By: Icare
"Bought this purse last year and tucked it away for our holiday south. Four days into our holiday and the grommets have pulled loose, the material is frayed and the handle is hanging by a thread! Now I have no purse and will have to spend precious holiday time looking for a replacement."
Review 11 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor workmanship,
May 8, 2011
By: mamafaye
"Loved the size,style and color. However, after 4 days of use the bag began to fray and pull away around the strap rings. So sad because I really liked the purse. Will return without exchange because of quality of product."
Review 12 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handles broke,
May 6, 2011
By: Katerina2
"I too received many compliments about this bag and really loved it but within a month of having it the metal rounds attaching the handles to the bag cut away and it broke. I was very disappointed and decided not to replace it as I think this is a design fault. This deserves a 4 for style, but I gave it a 3 because it broke and I think the metal rings would be more tasteful in bronze or silver."
Review 13 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right Bag!,
April 21, 2011
By: Trillium
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This lovely bag is well-constructed and roomy enough to hold what I need without being so big that it's hard to find things. Great quality!"
Review 14 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer bag,
April 21, 2011
By: Wanny
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm happy with the purchase. It's attractive and what I was looking for. Add a scarf hanging off one of the straps to update or change the look. Feels sturdy enough to last for several summers"
Review 15 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointment,
April 20, 2011
By: Theidy
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received so many compliments on this tote. I loved the size and the pockets. The disappointment was the grommets began to tear out of the bag within the first week of use. I have sent it back and I am waiting for the second try to arrive."
Review 16 for Braided Travel Tote
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All purpose dress summer bag,
April 10, 2011
By: Cleo1
from Toronto, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Has the look of straw, but because it's woven much better durability. Like the metal feet on the bottom to protect the bag. Straps a nice length. Roomy inside with lots of storage options. Elegant mix of colors and simple design makes it a great travel bag - would work with many outfits."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Braided Travel Tote
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2