Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leader and Tippet Combo Packs

Prolong the life of your leaders and save money. Fly fishing leader and tippet combo packs are the most economical way to stock up for your travels. Two 9' fly fishing leaders and one 30m spool of tippet in matching diameter. Sizes: 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X.
Average Customer Rating:
4.807 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
56 of 57(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Review 1 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong is Super Strong,
October 7, 2012
By: hadeutsch
from New Jersey
"I have been using Orvis tippet for over thirty years. This is the best tippet on the market. It is supple yet very abraision resistant. It has great knot stregnth and my clinch knots don't slip!"
Review 2 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supple and Strong,
July 24, 2014
By: bydodlizza
from Waynesville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the only leader material in my vest. Great knot strength, and is supple. These tapered leaders are the only ones I use."
Review 3 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet comb pack good value,
July 22, 2014
By: FirstTimerat57
from Upstate New York
"When I purchased my first rod and reel combo my sales person recommended this product, it is a great value. For a beginner it lays out nicely for me and rarely tangles. I have since purchased 2 packages, one for me and one for my son."
Review 4 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant go wrong with this.,
June 10, 2014
By: actionman
from Boulder, Co.
"I purchased this because everyone told me, "everything Orvis makes is good", and they were not joking. Very happy with this product and plan on buying in the future."
Review 5 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
June 10, 2014
By: Whataday
"Buying the leaders and tippet together is a good deal for quality products that perform."
Review 6 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring cleaning,
June 4, 2014
By: BAK54
from Cle Elum, WA
"Love the combo packets to refresh my supply annually. Out with old in with the new. Great tippet for mountain creeks and lighter floating flies."
Review 7 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great savings,
May 13, 2014
By: Nebraskaflyfisherwoman
from Central Nebraska
"Been using the product for a numbers of years - first time I have seen it as a combo. Great product and great savings. Why not?"
Review 8 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
April 29, 2014
By: streetlite
"Caught 18 trout on float trip with adding tippet line when needed,
Great product
"
Review 9 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 18, 2013
By: GraysRun
from Williamsport, PA
"Use this all the time. Bought this for a friend that has just started fly fishing."
Review 10 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plain and simple,
October 16, 2013
By: OldManAndTheStream
from Red Hook, NY
"As per usual, Orvis offers good deal on Leader and Tippet combo packs. This one was bought from a sale event and increases the value even more. Good and reliable combo. I'd recommend the combo pack for anyone who wants to try a new size..."
Review 11 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
economical way to go,
September 18, 2013
By: whatsinaname
from madison heights,mi
"great to have both with you
that way you are always ready for whatever the circumstance
plus,you can't go wrong with Orvis
"
Review 12 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"The leader and tippet are very good quality. They turn the fly over and present it very well."
Review 13 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 14 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 15 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Breaks easily,
June 27, 2013
By: commish49
from Columbia, MD
"Purchased 6 spools new tippet last week. The 5X spools broke very easily while fishing, lost several flies because of that. Had not had a problem before. I switched to 6X and all was well, the 6X being stronger than the 5X. I assume a bad batch. Contacted Orvis and to get a replacement I have to send back the bad tippet and the receipt. Too much trouble for a small cost item. First time I am disappointed with Orvis response - just send the replacement and be done. Now they got a negative review and lost future sales of these items with me."
Review 16 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Start,
June 17, 2013
By: Sonnek
"I wanted to be able to get out and fish without worrying about tying a knot, this was perfect. I am taking up fly fishing again after about a ten year hiatus, so this helped me out a great deal. Now i feel comfortable tying my own leaders and tippets knowing i have a solid back up to continue a day at the stream!"
Review 17 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good dispenser,
June 11, 2013
By: Surbitonman
from London, UK
"Best thing about this product is the dispensing band around the reel. Allows you to pull off what you need and then locks the line in place, so simple, so clever."
Review 18 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what i expected,
May 29, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Have used Orvis leaders in the past and these look and feel like they well do the job better than some of the alternatives."
Review 19 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader and tippet materials!,
May 22, 2013
By: Okieflier
from Mustang, OK
"I have been fly fishing for a little over three years and really enjoy the ORVIS leaders and tippet materials compared to other brands. They are strong, abrasive resistent, and easy to straighten out. I think the combo packs are a great value."
Review 20 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding purchase,
April 18, 2013
By: RIDRAGFREEDRIFTER
from Warwick, RI
"I use these leaders and tippet throughtout the year. They consistently provide the best service to me while flyfishing on the many streams and rivers I fish."