Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders and tippet excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker. Prolong the life of your leaders and save money. Fly fishing leader and tippet combo packs are the most economical way to stock up for your travels. Two 9' fly fishing leaders and one 30m spool of tippet in matching diameter. Sizes: 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X.
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Review 1 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong is Super Strong,
October 7, 2012
By: hadeutsch
from New Jersey
"I have been using Orvis tippet for over thirty years. This is the best tippet on the market. It is supple yet very abraision resistant. It has great knot stregnth and my clinch knots don't slip!"
Review 2 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
October 30, 2014
By: Bill4321
"Leader and tippet worked well on big water in Idaho. Very strong and kept its shape well. Landed some very nice rainbow, browns and cutthroat in tough conditions."
Review 3 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trustworthy Leader and Tippet,
October 23, 2014
By: OscarMBecerra
from Southwest England
"Strong, reliable knots, thinner than most and nearly invisible."
Review 4 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader and Tippet Combo Pack,
September 30, 2014
By: mattchang
"This was a great deal. I used this product over the weekend and it was fantastic. Shipping took a bit longer than expected, but everything worked out fine."
Review 5 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fluorcarbon,
August 26, 2014
By: Lillois
from Sonoma
"Great fluorocarbon combo and good saving... I have used Orvis Mirage for years and love it.
The down side is the new spools are black and not transparent so it is difficult to see what you have left on it and much larger/bulkier than the last models which takes more room in your jacket...
"
Review 6 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supple and Strong,
July 24, 2014
By: bydodlizza
from Waynesville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the only leader material in my vest. Great knot strength, and is supple. These tapered leaders are the only ones I use."
Review 7 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet comb pack good value,
July 22, 2014
By: FirstTimerat57
from Upstate New York
"When I purchased my first rod and reel combo my sales person recommended this product, it is a great value. For a beginner it lays out nicely for me and rarely tangles. I have since purchased 2 packages, one for me and one for my son."
Review 8 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant go wrong with this.,
June 10, 2014
By: actionman
from Boulder, Co.
"I purchased this because everyone told me, "everything Orvis makes is good", and they were not joking. Very happy with this product and plan on buying in the future."
Review 9 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
June 10, 2014
By: Whataday
"Buying the leaders and tippet together is a good deal for quality products that perform."
Review 10 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring cleaning,
June 4, 2014
By: BAK54
from Cle Elum, WA
"Love the combo packets to refresh my supply annually. Out with old in with the new. Great tippet for mountain creeks and lighter floating flies."
Review 11 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great savings,
May 13, 2014
By: Nebraskaflyfisherwoman
from Central Nebraska
"Been using the product for a numbers of years - first time I have seen it as a combo. Great product and great savings. Why not?"
Review 12 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
April 29, 2014
By: streetlite
"Caught 18 trout on float trip with adding tippet line when needed,
Great product
"
Review 13 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 18, 2013
By: GraysRun
from Williamsport, PA
"Use this all the time. Bought this for a friend that has just started fly fishing."
Review 14 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plain and simple,
October 16, 2013
By: OldManAndTheStream
from Red Hook, NY
"As per usual, Orvis offers good deal on Leader and Tippet combo packs. This one was bought from a sale event and increases the value even more. Good and reliable combo. I'd recommend the combo pack for anyone who wants to try a new size..."
Review 15 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
economical way to go,
September 18, 2013
By: whatsinaname
from madison heights,mi
"great to have both with you
that way you are always ready for whatever the circumstance
plus,you can't go wrong with Orvis
"
Review 16 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"The leader and tippet are very good quality. They turn the fly over and present it very well."
Review 17 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 18 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 19 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Breaks easily,
June 27, 2013
By: commish49
from Columbia, MD
"Purchased 6 spools new tippet last week. The 5X spools broke very easily while fishing, lost several flies because of that. Had not had a problem before. I switched to 6X and all was well, the 6X being stronger than the 5X. I assume a bad batch. Contacted Orvis and to get a replacement I have to send back the bad tippet and the receipt. Too much trouble for a small cost item. First time I am disappointed with Orvis response - just send the replacement and be done. Now they got a negative review and lost future sales of these items with me."
Review 20 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Start,
June 17, 2013
By: Sonnek
"I wanted to be able to get out and fish without worrying about tying a knot, this was perfect. I am taking up fly fishing again after about a ten year hiatus, so this helped me out a great deal. Now i feel comfortable tying my own leaders and tippets knowing i have a solid back up to continue a day at the stream!"