Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders and tippet excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker. Prolong the life of your leaders and save money. Fly fishing leader and tippet combo packs are the most economical way to stock up for your travels. Two 9' fly fishing leaders and one 30m spool of tippet in matching diameter.Sizes: 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X.
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
70 of 71(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Review 1 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong is Super Strong,
October 7, 2012
By: hadeutsch
from New Jersey
"I have been using Orvis tippet for over thirty years. This is the best tippet on the market. It is supple yet very abraision resistant. It has great knot stregnth and my clinch knots don't slip!"
Review 2 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Purchase,
July 20, 2015
By: 9footScott
from Camarillo, CA
"Purchased an Encounter 5 wt. rig and all items needed to fly fish. Watched the Orvis videos and have been having a ball practicing every day. I have had a lot of odd looks by people in the local park. Something to chuckle about over dinner. Besides the beginner mistakes and learning curve everything has worked great. Casts are getting better and accuracy is showing it's wonderful face. My better half has gone out to learn with me. Nice to spend time together on something relaxing, yet challenging. Heading to Kern River in Cali in a little more than two weeks. Catch or skunk... either way I will be the happiest fisherman on the river. 'Bugs in my teeth' smile. Guess I can use a tippet to 'dental floss' them out. Thanks to all at Orvis!"
Review 3 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bang for your buck,
March 31, 2015
By: Carsoncnun00
"This line is super solid, and fairly priced. High quality stuff for the price, helped me land numerous trout with no breaks."
Review 4 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SS combo,
March 28, 2015
By: brownrainbow
"Tippet is great & I do like the leaders as have used for many seasons. However have experienced a couple of poor quality leaders in the past ie lots of memory and ended up snapping far too easily when attempting to straighten. Binned them and used new ones. Should have sent back as I know orvis customer care/service is second to none but didn't as not let down by them often."
Review 5 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simples.,
March 22, 2015
By: 3321Scott
"Great quality heavy butt tapered leader with perfectly matched monofilament for superb turnover and knot strength.
Perfect turnover on long leader with heavy bugs and medium sized flies.
Great product.
"
Review 6 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best there is,
December 29, 2014
By: topgun2
from Brevard, NC
"I've tried most of the products that compete with Orvis leaders and tippet and for one reason or the other none of them beats Super Strong. Either the suppleness is not there or the knots are hard to tighten or the tippet is simply bigger for the given "X" size. Yes, there are less expensive tippets and leaders out there but that is exactly what they are - "cheaper"."
Review 7 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
October 30, 2014
By: Bill4321
"Leader and tippet worked well on big water in Idaho. Very strong and kept its shape well. Landed some very nice rainbow, browns and cutthroat in tough conditions."
Review 8 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trustworthy Leader and Tippet,
October 23, 2014
By: OscarMBecerra
from Southwest England
"Strong, reliable knots, thinner than most and nearly invisible."
Review 9 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader and Tippet Combo Pack,
September 30, 2014
By: mattchang
"This was a great deal. I used this product over the weekend and it was fantastic. Shipping took a bit longer than expected, but everything worked out fine."
Review 10 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fluorcarbon,
August 26, 2014
By: Lillois
from Sonoma
"Great fluorocarbon combo and good saving... I have used Orvis Mirage for years and love it.
The down side is the new spools are black and not transparent so it is difficult to see what you have left on it and much larger/bulkier than the last models which takes more room in your jacket...
"
Review 11 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supple and Strong,
July 24, 2014
By: bydodlizza
from Waynesville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the only leader material in my vest. Great knot strength, and is supple. These tapered leaders are the only ones I use."
Review 12 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet comb pack good value,
July 22, 2014
By: FirstTimerat57
from Upstate New York
"When I purchased my first rod and reel combo my sales person recommended this product, it is a great value. For a beginner it lays out nicely for me and rarely tangles. I have since purchased 2 packages, one for me and one for my son."
Review 13 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant go wrong with this.,
June 10, 2014
By: actionman
from Boulder, Co.
"I purchased this because everyone told me, "everything Orvis makes is good", and they were not joking. Very happy with this product and plan on buying in the future."
Review 14 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
June 10, 2014
By: Whataday
"Buying the leaders and tippet together is a good deal for quality products that perform."
Review 15 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring cleaning,
June 4, 2014
By: BAK54
from Cle Elum, WA
"Love the combo packets to refresh my supply annually. Out with old in with the new. Great tippet for mountain creeks and lighter floating flies."
Review 16 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great savings,
May 13, 2014
By: Nebraskaflyfisherwoman
from Central Nebraska
"Been using the product for a numbers of years - first time I have seen it as a combo. Great product and great savings. Why not?"
Review 17 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
April 29, 2014
By: streetlite
"Caught 18 trout on float trip with adding tippet line when needed,
Great product
"
Review 18 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 18, 2013
By: GraysRun
from Williamsport, PA
"Use this all the time. Bought this for a friend that has just started fly fishing."
Review 19 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plain and simple,
October 16, 2013
By: OldManAndTheStream
from Red Hook, NY
"As per usual, Orvis offers good deal on Leader and Tippet combo packs. This one was bought from a sale event and increases the value even more. Good and reliable combo. I'd recommend the combo pack for anyone who wants to try a new size..."
Review 20 for Super Strong Leader and Tippet Combo Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
economical way to go,
September 18, 2013
By: whatsinaname
from madison heights,mi
"great to have both with you
that way you are always ready for whatever the circumstance
plus,you can't go wrong with Orvis
"