Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leader and Tippet Combo Packs

Prolong the life of your leaders and save money. Fly fishing leader and tippet combo packs are the most economical way to stock up for your travels. Two 9' fly fishing leaders and one 30m spool of tippet in matching diameter. Sizes: 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X.
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 of 50(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Review 1 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong is Super Strong,
October 7, 2012
By: hadeutsch
from New Jersey
"I have been using Orvis tippet for over thirty years. This is the best tippet on the market. It is supple yet very abraision resistant. It has great knot stregnth and my clinch knots don't slip!"
Review 2 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 18, 2013
By: GraysRun
from Williamsport, PA
"Use this all the time. Bought this for a friend that has just started fly fishing."
Review 3 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plain and simple,
October 16, 2013
By: OldManAndTheStream
from Red Hook, NY
"As per usual, Orvis offers good deal on Leader and Tippet combo packs. This one was bought from a sale event and increases the value even more. Good and reliable combo. I'd recommend the combo pack for anyone who wants to try a new size..."
Review 4 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
economical way to go,
September 18, 2013
By: whatsinaname
from madison heights,mi
"great to have both with you
that way you are always ready for whatever the circumstance
plus,you can't go wrong with Orvis
"
Review 5 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"The leader and tippet are very good quality. They turn the fly over and present it very well."
Review 6 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 7 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Really nice combo for a beginning fly fisher. Grabbed several sizes to fill up my vest pockets. Very happy that I didn't have to order leaders and matching tippet seperately. Exactly what I was looking for!"
Review 8 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Breaks easily,
June 27, 2013
By: commish49
from Columbia, MD
"Purchased 6 spools new tippet last week. The 5X spools broke very easily while fishing, lost several flies because of that. Had not had a problem before. I switched to 6X and all was well, the 6X being stronger than the 5X. I assume a bad batch. Contacted Orvis and to get a replacement I have to send back the bad tippet and the receipt. Too much trouble for a small cost item. First time I am disappointed with Orvis response - just send the replacement and be done. Now they got a negative review and lost future sales of these items with me."
Review 9 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Start,
June 17, 2013
By: Sonnek
"I wanted to be able to get out and fish without worrying about tying a knot, this was perfect. I am taking up fly fishing again after about a ten year hiatus, so this helped me out a great deal. Now i feel comfortable tying my own leaders and tippets knowing i have a solid back up to continue a day at the stream!"
Review 10 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good dispenser,
June 11, 2013
By: Surbitonman
from London, UK
"Best thing about this product is the dispensing band around the reel. Allows you to pull off what you need and then locks the line in place, so simple, so clever."
Review 11 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what i expected,
May 29, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Have used Orvis leaders in the past and these look and feel like they well do the job better than some of the alternatives."
Review 12 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader and tippet materials!,
May 22, 2013
By: Okieflier
from Mustang, OK
"I have been fly fishing for a little over three years and really enjoy the ORVIS leaders and tippet materials compared to other brands. They are strong, abrasive resistent, and easy to straighten out. I think the combo packs are a great value."
Review 13 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding purchase,
April 18, 2013
By: RIDRAGFREEDRIFTER
from Warwick, RI
"I use these leaders and tippet throughtout the year. They consistently provide the best service to me while flyfishing on the many streams and rivers I fish."
Review 14 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Longer life leader,
March 5, 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"These are good leaders that turn over nicely. The tippet material dramatically extends their lifespan."
Review 15 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Item,
February 17, 2013
By: Tomvbf
from Arizona
"Bought these leaders to use with my sink tip line, worked great! Leaders so clear they kept from spooking fish and enabled me to get my nymphs in close to catch fish.
A+ item. Fast shipping, hassel free process with the order and great comunication through out.
I will buy again.
"
Review 16 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
January 4, 2013
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"No birds nest yeh.
Take out of package not curly that you can't work with like others.
"
Review 17 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheap(good),
December 27, 2012
By: Jmhall
from Beaumont, TX
"It's a value pack what else can I say... Orvis super strong is great stuff."
Review 18 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color Of Tippet Not Advertised,
July 23, 2012
By: Goobob
from Foothills of NC
"I am fairly new to fly fishing. I do appreciate Orvis' fast shipping. However, the 3X and 4X tippet and leader I ordered did not indicate it was OLIVE. I assumed it would be clear. For lake fishing, OLIVE is probably OK...but clear mountain streams...I don't know. I would have more confidence in CLEAR leaders and tippet."
Review 19 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
July 19, 2012
By: ITFlyGuy
from SF Bay Area
"There's something special about Orvis leaders and tippets. Everything from the design to the packaging is well thought out."
Review 20 for Leader and Tippet Combo Packs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great stuff!,
June 12, 2012
By: Sarge47
from Illinois
"Matching a tippet and leader is a great idea! Way to go Orvis!"