Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Superlight Ghost Sunglasses

Remarkably light and reasonably priced polarized fishing sunglasses with acrylic lens. Comes with microfibre cleaning cloth. Polarized fishing sunglasses in black, tortoise with amber lens.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Review 1 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I expected,
November 24, 2014
By: Fugg
from Texas
"Purcahsed these an another similar pair for my wife and i and was disappointed at the lack of tint. They glasses are almost clear. Sent them back."
Review 2 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and comfortable,
November 5, 2014
By: OldTrout
from Bristol, UK
"These glasses are remarkably light and so pleasant to wear. Whilst not as scratch resistant as glass lenses, the benefit of lightness is well worth having. Just need to be extra careful cleaning the lenses. The only caution is that they are large, and so will not suit people with smaller or narrower heads. As I'm a 'fathead' these are ideal. The tint is 'light amber' and so should work in full sunshine and low light."
Review 3 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
October 21, 2014
By: WAJake
from WA
"These are great constructed glasses and good polarization - the only draw back is they are a little wide - I have a narrower face - did not look good, but loved the tinting for driving and fly fishing in the evening."
Review 4 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice glasses,
October 20, 2014
By: KWChas
"Just used my new Ghost Sunglasses while flyfishing. They're certainly lightweight, fit well, and the polaroid affect is very good. Still getting used to the color however."
Review 5 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality and clarity, bad fit,
September 22, 2014
By: Bman1991
"These are a high performing pair of glasses at a reasonable price. However, they did not fit my face correctly (my face is too narrow), so they were returned"
Review 6 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wider than I expected, but fine,
September 15, 2014
By: NorthoftheBorder
from Vancouver Island
"These frames are about half an inch wider than my current sunglasses, and just wide enough that I can wear them over prescription glasses.
I have an average size head, and my pupils are inboard of center in each lens.
The lenses are closer to a yellow/shooting tint than a true sunglass tint. Should be fine for driving, fishing or golf. They definitely cut the glare of the sun on the river.
Sometimes I wear contacts, sometimes I wear glasses. These will work in either case."
Review 7 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, they're good.,
September 8, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Needed new glasses, as the ones I had been using had the anti-glare coating wear (or wash) off.
I wanted polarized lenses, a plastic frame ( I tend to bend metal frames), and a frame that provided some shade- or glare-protection on the sides.
These fit the bill. The polarization is 'good'. I don't know how to classify or qualify the 'degree to which they're polarized', but I can say that they do cut the glare and I can see the structure beneath the water's surface.
The frames are comfortable and the wider sides provide glare relief.
The lenses are yellow-ish, as other reviewers have mentioned. As a result, I wouldn't consider these for casual wear.
Overall, I like them."
Review 8 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eye Sight,
May 11, 2014
By: Buzzerboy
from Hove
"Bought my last pair of Orvis fishing glasses in Bath many years ago, i cant remember the name, but very much similar in style to my new ones. Old pair, much loved fell out of car got run over. Did not think they could be replaced to my old ones, Surprise to find in catalogue ,the same style, only a shade lighter in amber. Very pleased indeed ,words cannot say enough."
Review 9 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gear!,
September 23, 2013
By: Melmela
from Charlotte, NC
"I purchased these for a photography trip along the coast of North Carolina. I was concerned about glare off the sand and water. These sunglasses were perfect! Polarization and coverage can't be beat. Plus they look great! Unfortunately, I lost them during my trip. Upon returning home I immediately purchased another pair. Love them!"
Review 10 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghost Sunglasses,
September 5, 2013
By: Gray39
from Oxford
"Great sunglasses. Very light to wear and I find the optics are really good.
Protects from glare but are an excellent pair of Polaroids.
"
Review 11 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Back-ups,
December 28, 2012
By: DewBdw
from Wichita, KS, USA
"Reasonably priced. Very light colored lense make them ideal for low light conditions. Good Value"
Review 12 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over-All Disappointment,
October 1, 2012
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"Should have listened to "GoneFishingToo" Because he was exactly right. The lenses are shooter yellow, nowhere near dark amber.
Worse than that though the frame of the pair I received are actually warped, causing them to set so crooked on my face when i tried them on that my wife laughed.
The packaging nor the frame was damaged in any way, the distortion was a production flaw.
Over-All, Disappointing.
"
Review 13 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunglasses good for women,
August 14, 2012
By: Geego
from Gainesville GA
"My eyes are very sensitive. I
tried the Orvis Superlight Ghost Sunglasses because I like the
shape. It is hard to find these
aviator type sunglasses for a
woman that look good and feel good. The glasses are a good price
and my favorites.
"
Review 14 for Superlight Ghost Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lenses are yellow not dark amber,
April 7, 2012
By: GoneFishingToo
from PA
"These sunglasses were very lightweight and fit perfectly in my car-case.
BUT the lenses are really shooter yellow NOT dark amber. They are much too light to be considered sunglasses.
I returned them. Thank goodness for Orvis' easy return policy."