Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Goose Bay Wool Field Coat

Magnificent melton wool field coat of the same material used in navy pea coats. Impervious to wind and cold and loaded with design and functional features. Front zip with button storm flap. Two lower bellows pockets with hidden button closure. Two pockets on the upper chest. Underarm venting grommets and two-button adjustable cuff. Interior has a functional nylon Cordura® game bag which can be zipped down and also used as a waterproof seat. Four interior pockets. Bi-swing back and a mock rear belt. Corduroy collar and inside cuffs. Melton wool field coat in dark navy. Wool/rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
21 of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Review 1 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice....,
January 4, 2013
By: wwat
"I was looking to get away from the neutral and tan based colors I always wear. This brings it up a notch. A lot of compliments and it is very warm."
Review 2 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat, Just not for me...,
December 31, 2012
By: Pickydresser
from Midwest
"This is a marvelous looking coat. I liked most everything about it except it felt oversized. If I could make one change it would be to add a light layer of insulation."
Review 3 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coat,
December 29, 2012
By: foodboy
from west boylston ma
"The coat looks and feels great. It is very comfortable and warm. Plenty of pockets!"
Review 4 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Coat but . . .,
December 25, 2012
By: TomJV
from Somers, NY
"Nice heavy upland or clays coat.
Nicely made. Plenty of pockets. Nice game bag.
Problems:
1. The front ZIPPER simply DOES NOT WORK! It's practically impossible to get it started. Also, it's way too fine (small tooth) which is inappropriate for this type of garment. I was in the Orvis Manhattan store trying on a similar garment and it was the same. Pity.
2. THIS GARMENT IS BLUE. I bought it on line and the pic looks dark brown. Who hunts in blue? I guess if you're a Berrretta guy, this coat is for you.
3. I'm 5'.9", 180# and always wear a LARGE. The shoulders fit, but otherwise this thing is huge! It's billowing at the waist and it's so long, I can't even reach the zipper that doesn't work. Admittedly, I'm a clays shooter, not an upland guy, so so maybe I'm missing something here. I can probably get two wild turkeys in the game bag without a problem. Haha.
"
Review 5 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disappointed,
December 14, 2012
By: handler
"A very good looking coat but is very heavy and the zipper was small and difficult to use."
Review 6 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Very Nice Coat...,
December 11, 2012
By: SEHEN
"Well made and solid, but very heavy and a large cut. I typically wear a large in everything, but this is almost too large for me. I kept it though, thinking I might need the extra room if I wear a sweater underneath. The wool/rayon fabric is tight-grain and very warm."
Review 7 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat,
December 5, 2012
By: GrinAndBearIt
from Kodiak, AK
"Very, very happy with the coat. Construction and finish are great, and although it is a blue as opposed to the grey it appeared in the photo it looks great in blue. The only negative is one I've seen elsewhere in the reviews - the zipper doesn't seem to match the quality of the rest of the coat. Don't avoid the coat because of the zipper though, or you'll miss out on a really nice wool coat."
Review 8 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
November 28, 2012
By: Carrera911
from Maine
"The fit XL is perfect. The color is as described and so is the construction. I like this coat a lot."
Review 9 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Item,
November 20, 2012
By: DSTONE
from Columbus, OH
"Fantastic coat. Vey warm and well made. It also looks pretty good!!!"
Review 10 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No way I wear this in the field,
November 7, 2012
By: kindaoldschool
from Virginia
"Pleased with my purchase. Having relocated a few degrees north after 25 yrs., I needed a coat to keep me cozy on cold morning walks to work. For me, the "game bag" is a waste. There is no way I'm wearing this fine coat on a walk to a deer stand!"
Review 11 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best cool weather traditional field coat,
October 22, 2012
By: Newfdad
from Nashville, TN
"This jacket is awesome - I keep it at our lake house and use it for every cool/cold weather out door task. It is a tad heavy in XXL - but worth it! I may but another just to have a spare!"
Review 12 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not for me,
October 15, 2012
By: toby72
from Upstate, NY
"I'm 6'3" and 210 lbs. This jacket, in L, as recommended by the salesperson at Orvis, didn't come close to fitting me. It would have fit Humpty Dumpty pretty well, though. It was huge through the torso, and the sleeves were not nearly long enough. The sleeves I can understand as this is pretty normal for me, but the stomach area was massive, even when worn over other clothing.
The quality of the jacket was good enough, but as has been pointed out in other reviews, the internal game bag is pretty stiff.
I wasn't a fan of the green corduroy collar, which was not obvious in the photos.
My biggest disappointment is that I'm now out $20 in shipping for something that fit so terribly when I was told it would be fine.
"
Review 13 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortabel and warm,
September 26, 2012
By: mtber
"Cant wait til winter to wear this, but its very comfortable jacket"
Review 14 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good looks & warm,
April 9, 2012
By: fastfreddie
from lincoln, mi
"I can't wait for the cold weather to come back so I may so off my warm coat to my friends at the skeet range.Hope being warm helps my scores."
Review 15 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wool coat,
April 1, 2012
By: DryFlyFisherman
from Seattle, WA
"This coat is perfectly designed for the Seattle's winter weather. The medium wool is heavy enough to keep out the cold and damp air, and the dark blue color looks great. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 16 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent coat,
February 23, 2012
By: RBuzard
from PA
"I bought this coat as a winter shooting coat. However, it is so comfortable and warm I have been wearing it almost every day. I agree with some other reviewers that the zipper takes some getting used to, but wit the attributes of the coat I am willing to overlook that.
It fits just right and allows enough room to swing effectively on the clays. The fact that it was on sale was an added bonus.
"
Review 17 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
February 21, 2012
By: slider11
from Northwest
"Well made, but two main reasons I am returning it. Its not dark navy, but more of an army (lighter) blue - photo is not close to the real color. Thats OK, but its not accurate. The game pocket in back is very noisy (crackly) and so stiff the jacket sticks out in back. Not sure if that might change over time. Minor point is the zipper's small size. Lastly, the fit in large is too tight across the shoulders and too big in the waist, but that is me, not the jacket. A general note - why are so few of Orvis' products photographed indoors in a flat format without a model? Barbour does it right, and you get what see. Not so here."
Review 18 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Coat,
February 20, 2012
By: BirdHunt2FlyFish
from RI
"I like almost everything about the coat; its length, warmth, quality, style and fit. My only problem is that the buttons on the two large exterior pockets are very difficult to unbutton and rebutton, and I like to use them to store car keys and sundry items when I am going out. That said, it goes just as well at work when I don't have to wear a sportcoat or suitcoat as it does up at the cabin in northern NH."
Review 19 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice coat,
February 17, 2012
By: Oiler59
from PA
"I purchased this coat after reading all the reviews, and was particularly paying attention to the size. I spoke with an Orvis Rep and then had a chat on line. I have a 50 chest, and after they did some measuring they recommended a size Large, which proved to just fit tight. I returned it for the XL, and am hoping it fits, because this is a nice coat. The wool is tight and soft - color is excellent. The 4 star is due to the sizing issue."
Review 20 for Goose Bay Wool Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 17, 2012
By: Shampania
"An absolutely wonderful coat. Loved the weight and style. My recommendation for this product is absolutely without any reservations. Purchasing it on sale was an added bonus. Cheers!"