Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket

A men's military inspired, waterproof breathable jacket that feels like cotton. Lightweight with integral stowaway hood in the collar. Five pockets. Plumi lining. Men's sapper jacket in navy. 57% polyester/43% cotton. PU membrane outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb wet weather coat!,
October 16, 2014
By: Dude31
from Tampa, FL
"I have always admired the style of the Barbour Sapper but living and also working in war weather climes I just couldn't justify the expense for a jacket I would wear 3-5 days a year. This Barbour Breathable Sapper has been a godsend, same Sapper style and protection from wet weather, but I can wear it 365 days a year! I am 6'2 220 lbs and the xxl let's me layer a sweater underneath comfortably. As you would expect from Barbour it is very well made and actually does look black vice navy. I am enamored with this jacket and the fact that it is so pack able makes it a constant companion. As an outer shell you can put a sweater on underneath and be comfortable I to 30 degree weather."
Review 2 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fit,
October 13, 2014
By: CuspofNewCanaan
from New Canaan, CT
"This jacket exceeding my expectations. Fit is great and it looks great!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Packable Coat,
July 17, 2014
By: InternationalTraveler
"This is good quality, lightweight rain protection. I make lots of international business travel trips each year. This coat is just right for packing and has a good look that spans casual to professional dress. The size runs a bit small for layering (slimmer fit) than other "parka-style" coats I have had. One disappointment is that there are no pockets for your hands. For this price, it could easily have been worked into the design behind the lower cargo pockets."
Review 4 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Barbour Breathable Sapper Jacket,
May 19, 2014
By: Trashman42
from mail order
"I had to return the jacket because the sleeves were too long and there was no way to alter their length.
If Barbour had designed the jacket with an additional way to tighten the sleeves around my wrist, I would have kept it. They made no provision for arm length that was short. When you buy the "best" you expect it to fit.
"
Review 5 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elegant Rain Solution,
April 21, 2014
By: FrankV
from Miami, Fl & Lake Lure, NC
"Great fit with lots of useful pockets. Travels well and keeps you dry in an urban setting. The zipper is a little hard to start and not the same quality of the zipper in the regular waxed Sapper. The blue looks black which is not a bad thing."
Review 6 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fine, but overpriced,
April 1, 2014
By: ylfhsif
from Northeast
"It is a coat and while it looks nice there are other coats just as nice that are far less costly."
Review 7 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent purchase,
March 18, 2014
By: Artemus1
"This is a very stylish light jacket. I am 6"1 and weigh 195 lbs. The XL is just a tad too big, but still looks good. The large would be too small for me."
Review 8 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Perfect,
February 21, 2014
By: cb333
"The jacket is simply perfect, waterproof and truly breathable;; rather unlike most other manufacturers claims.
Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking functional jacket,
June 3, 2013
By: sr36
"This lighter weight Sapper has real style and is perfect for warmer weather. It is truly waterproof. Some say it fits snug, I'd say just right, even over a sport coat. Highly recommended!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but a bit pricey?,
April 15, 2013
By: richardge
from San Francisco + Dublin Ireland
"It's a nice fitting jacket. It's not too heavy. I needed a rain jacket to visit family in Ireland. So far it fits the bill. I cannot attest to tis waterproofness as it has only showered lightly so far in Dublin. It is a comfortable jacket but I dock it one star as I feel its over priced. I think it should be atleast $50 cheaper. Perhaps its because of the Barbour name or the manufacturing process. Why do I feel this way?... well compare it to Marmot or other more robust Gore Tex based jackets and you'll probably agree. I am more than a little worried that I might tear it on something as its material is pretty light, but again it is comfortable and not too heavy and I hope waterproof."
Review 11 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Jacket,
March 28, 2013
By: RustyC
"I am 5'9", 190 lbs, jacket size@ 41, and ordered the medium. It was just a bit too tight in the chest and certainly would not allow layering.
Pro: It's a very light, stylish jacket with no insulation; the Navy looks Black to my eye, and it's very well made despite the zipper on the wrong side.
Con: I'm just wondering how I could justify paying this price for what is essentially an expensive shell. My shell may not look as nice, but on the other hand, I already own it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
February 27, 2013
By: Boodog
from Racine Wisconsin
"Warm, comfortable and fitting. Couldn't be happier."
Review 13 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
February 13, 2013
By: Fawlty
"This jacket met all my expectations. It is stylish, well made, light and comfortable to wear. Beware of the sizing on this jacket, it is cut a for a more snug fit than the size guides suggest; probably because it a lighter weight than other Barbour jackets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sapper Breathable,
June 27, 2012
By: sportsman2012
from Southeast
"I was looking for a lightweight rainproof jacket. I did not want another traditional waxed coat so I purchased the Breathable Sapper. It's very soft and comfortable. Coat exceeded all expectations. Would highly recommend. Other one to consider is the Porter which is gortex but i find the sapper a little more hip."
Review 15 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket - Sapper,
May 24, 2011
By: Grapegrower2009
"I was in the Market for a new jacket and had been looking for a few months, this jacket is exactly what I was looking for. I liked the look of the the waxed sapper jacket, but I run too hot to purchase that jacket. I tried it on and it was WARM. This jacket is just right, I wear it in weather that ranges from 35-65 degrees. The breathability is very nice. The jacket is very stylish and my wife loves the way it looks. The blue is very dark and almost black. This is a great jacket!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY NICE GARMENT,
May 20, 2011
By: THANAS
"OUT HERE IN THE WILDS OF OREGON WHILE WE ARE WAITING FOR THE RAIN TO STOP . THIS GARMENT IS JUST THE THING FOR WARM RAIN ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.