Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket

A men's military inspired, waterproof breathable jacket that feels like cotton. Lightweight with integral stowaway hood in the collar. Five pockets. Plumi lining. Men's sapper jacket in navy. 57% polyester/43% cotton. PU membrane outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fine, but overpriced,
April 1, 2014
By: ylfhsif
from Northeast
"It is a coat and while it looks nice there are other coats just as nice that are far less costly."
Review 2 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent purchase,
March 18, 2014
By: Artemus1
"This is a very stylish light jacket. I am 6"1 and weigh 195 lbs. The XL is just a tad too big, but still looks good. The large would be too small for me."
Review 3 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Perfect,
February 21, 2014
By: cb333
"The jacket is simply perfect, waterproof and truly breathable;; rather unlike most other manufacturers claims.
Highly recommended."
Review 4 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking functional jacket,
June 3, 2013
By: sr36
"This lighter weight Sapper has real style and is perfect for warmer weather. It is truly waterproof. Some say it fits snug, I'd say just right, even over a sport coat. Highly recommended!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but a bit pricey?,
April 15, 2013
By: richardge
from San Francisco + Dublin Ireland
"It's a nice fitting jacket. It's not too heavy. I needed a rain jacket to visit family in Ireland. So far it fits the bill. I cannot attest to tis waterproofness as it has only showered lightly so far in Dublin. It is a comfortable jacket but I dock it one star as I feel its over priced. I think it should be atleast $50 cheaper. Perhaps its because of the Barbour name or the manufacturing process. Why do I feel this way?... well compare it to Marmot or other more robust Gore Tex based jackets and you'll probably agree. I am more than a little worried that I might tear it on something as its material is pretty light, but again it is comfortable and not too heavy and I hope waterproof."
Review 6 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Jacket,
March 28, 2013
By: RustyC
"I am 5'9", 190 lbs, jacket size@ 41, and ordered the medium. It was just a bit too tight in the chest and certainly would not allow layering.
Pro: It's a very light, stylish jacket with no insulation; the Navy looks Black to my eye, and it's very well made despite the zipper on the wrong side.
Con: I'm just wondering how I could justify paying this price for what is essentially an expensive shell. My shell may not look as nice, but on the other hand, I already own it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
February 27, 2013
By: Boodog
from Racine Wisconsin
"Warm, comfortable and fitting. Couldn't be happier."
Review 8 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
February 13, 2013
By: Fawlty
"This jacket met all my expectations. It is stylish, well made, light and comfortable to wear. Beware of the sizing on this jacket, it is cut a for a more snug fit than the size guides suggest; probably because it a lighter weight than other Barbour jackets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sapper Breathable,
June 27, 2012
By: sportsman2012
from Southeast
"I was looking for a lightweight rainproof jacket. I did not want another traditional waxed coat so I purchased the Breathable Sapper. It's very soft and comfortable. Coat exceeded all expectations. Would highly recommend. Other one to consider is the Porter which is gortex but i find the sapper a little more hip."
Review 10 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket - Sapper,
May 24, 2011
By: Grapegrower2009
"I was in the Market for a new jacket and had been looking for a few months, this jacket is exactly what I was looking for. I liked the look of the the waxed sapper jacket, but I run too hot to purchase that jacket. I tried it on and it was WARM. This jacket is just right, I wear it in weather that ranges from 35-65 degrees. The breathability is very nice. The jacket is very stylish and my wife loves the way it looks. The blue is very dark and almost black. This is a great jacket!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barbour® Breathable Sapper Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY NICE GARMENT,
May 20, 2011
By: THANAS
"OUT HERE IN THE WILDS OF OREGON WHILE WE ARE WAITING FOR THE RAIN TO STOP . THIS GARMENT IS JUST THE THING FOR WARM RAIN ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.