Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed

More than twice as strong as our original dog beds, our WaterShed outdoor large dog beds are crafted with a durable 600-denier polyester/canvas cover, specially treated to prevent water absorption. Inside, you'll find a hydrophobic-mesh channeled liner—engineered to eliminate clumping while allowing water to quickly pass through. Clean lines and an elegantly simple design translate into an outdoor bed that fits just about anywhere. Polyester. Dog bed cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 of 29(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Review 1 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 3 dogs love these!,
November 18, 2014
By: CAHFlorida
"I have had several sets of these beds for around our pool. The dogs love to lounge in them. They hold up well in the Florida heat, sun and summertime humidity/rains."
Review 2 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
November 16, 2014
By: 2labsMom
"I bought this for our 11 year dog to be able to lay on the porch more comfortably. Now she is spending much more time outside and loves sunning herself on her comfy bed. It holds up to rain and the elements really well."
Review 3 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dogs Love this Bed!,
November 16, 2014
By: Sassy03
from Portland, Maine
"I ordered this waterproof bed for our front porch and it's just what I was hoping for. It's does not absorb water, retains it's loft, looks brand new when washed and my dogs steal it out from each other all the time. I will order another one in the spring. For now, I've brought the bed inside and my 2 pugs are snuggled up on it as I write this. An added bonus, for older dogs who occasionally have an accident, this is the bed for you!"
Review 4 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good bed,
November 14, 2014
By: Burtl
from Little Baddow, Essex
"I bought this for my dog MILLIE which she used during our glorious Summer but which my cats also liked, when she wasn't aound. I have brought it indoors and they still like it!"
Review 5 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watershed dog bed,
November 13, 2014
By: Wiede
from Denver, CO
"This bed is very water resistant very high quality, attractive and my dog loves it!"
Review 6 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed for the Patio,
November 13, 2014
By: 2GRdogs
from Cle Elum WA
"This has proven to be a favored spot for out golden retrievers to relax and take in the sights from our patio.
The colorful, durable cover zips off easily for washing to remove dried, caked-on mud from wet, dirty paws and bellies. Once clean, the cover is just as easy to put back around the pad.
We like it a lot."
Review 7 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking and tough,
November 13, 2014
By: otto2
from TX
"So far these beds serve us and the dogs (3 JRTs) well. The dogs use them when the ground is chilly which is exactly what they were purchased for. Haven't washed the covers yet, so I can't tell how that turns out. We do not leave them out in the elements, though they dry quickly when they get wet or damp. The reason for not rating 5 stars is that the filling is getting a tad clumpy after a while. The dogs don't mind..."
Review 8 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best bed ever,
November 13, 2014
By: Bijouthepoodle
from Roseville, Ca
"This is a great bed. Easy to hose off and the colors remained bright over the summer."
Review 9 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Dog Bed,
November 13, 2014
By: CopperM
from Gunnison, CO
"Our dog (a 80 ish # lab / hound mix) LOVES his bed. It looks great with our outdoor furniture and Copper spends a lot of time on it. It has held up very well over the past few months, washed well. This will be its 1st winter :)"
Review 10 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3-peat customer,
October 9, 2014
By: 3DogFamily
from Kansas City, MO
"I just purchased my 3rd WaterShed bed and can't give high enough reviews! The first was purchased over 6 years ago and has held up quite well over the years and through many rains/snows, but it was time to replace after a little wear and tear of the cover by the dogs. The covers are extremely easy to remove and wash; and the inside materials does a great job of wicking the water away and keeping any funny smells from constant outside exposure out. All 3 of my dogs love lounging in the sun on these and we highly recommend!!!"
Review 11 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
September 29, 2014
By: Oliver59
"We have had this bed before,lasted along time and is cheerful and attractive."
Review 12 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I ever had,
July 17, 2014
By: Holzgraf1955
"I have 7 dogs and one that has chewed up every bed! This WaterShed outdoor dog bed is chew proof, stays dry and has not gotten lumpy. I have had it for about 6 months now and cannot wait to get another. Perfect for indoor use as well!!!!"
Review 13 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed! Much loved by dogs.,
April 1, 2014
By: 1DogFan
from Davis, CA
"We have had two of these outdoor dog beds since they were first introduced. They are incredibly durable, shed water exactly as advertised and the dogs love them. In the winter the beds come inside and 'live' near a window by the back door - to my chagrin the dogs often pick these beds over their memory foam and temperpedic indoor beds"
Review 14 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
waterproof dog bed,
March 13, 2014
By: poosie
from hot springs,va
"I love these dog beds and have ordered at least 8-10 of these ,BUT the reason I have had to order so many is not that i have a lot of dogs,I only have 2,it is because the insides wear out long before the outer cover and you can not order just the insides..you have to order the whole bed...Please Orvis ,make it possible to order just the insides....getting too costly..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality dog bed,
May 1, 2013
By: kiko
"I was surprised at the poor quality of these dog beds because I have found Orvis to be reliable on dog bed quality in the past. My dog likes to "fluff" her bed and she was able to create tears in this material right away. I returned them after just a few days of use, and now need to find a more durable brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lasts to long,
March 6, 2013
By: poosie
from hot springs,va
"I have had 3 of these and am ordering a 4th,because the insides wear out ,BUT the outside cover does not,even after frequent washings...I wish Orvis would let you order just the insides...!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One step forward, and one step back,
February 14, 2013
By: jweli
from Western Montana
"The original design was better: easy-on, easy-off cover; and the filling was encased in a mesh material that facilitated removal and replacement. The filler in the newer design has a flimsy netting material that fails to hold the filler together making it difficult to take out; putting it back in is even more difficult. Although the covers on both beds are washable and easy to clean, the newer-designed cover is even easier to keep clean. When I wrote Orvis, they replied that the original filler with mesh cover is no longer available. Although I need three new beds, I won't purchase this product again."
Review 18 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable & Attractive Outdoor Dog Bed,
January 19, 2013
By: IamK9crazy
from Gainesville, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased two Orvis outdoor dog beds about 6 months ago. The covers wash up nicely; the inserts drain well after a rain soaking. I am happy with the quality, style & durability of the beds, but I do not routinely leave them out in the elements. My dogs love them too!"
Review 19 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
holds water like a sponge,
December 1, 2012
By: dentistattorney
from Washington State
"I am not sure whether we received a defective bed but the one we have does not live-up to the description. We have bought at least five other Orvis dog beds and they were all great. This is supposed to be an outdoor bed and to shed water. I am currently drying out the bed for at least the fourth time this month. It is so saturated that water is running out of running out of the bed while it is hanging. The bed is under cover and only gets rain that blows in - I even built an elevated, perforated platform but nothing helps. I should have just bought another bed with a waterproof liner. This bed can not be left outdoors, except in dry weather. Definitely not a "watershed" bed."
Review 20 for WaterShed™ Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking,
July 10, 2012
By: ssol
from Northern Illinois
"The bed is made well and It looks great, but I don't know how comfortable it is, when given the choice my dog Sam always chooses his old bed.....it is round and maybe he fits better on the round because he likes to curl up."