Orvis Ratings and Reviews

WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed

More than twice as strong as our original dog beds, our WaterShed outdoor large dog beds are crafted with a durable 600-denier polyester/canvas cover, specially treated to prevent water absorption. Inside, you'll find a hydrophobic-mesh channeled liner—engineered to eliminate clumping while allowing water to quickly pass through. Clean lines and an elegantly simple design translate into an outdoor bed that fits just about anywhere. Polyester. Dog bed cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Review 1 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I ever had,
July 17, 2014
By: Holzgraf1955
"I have 7 dogs and one that has chewed up every bed! This WaterShed outdoor dog bed is chew proof, stays dry and has not gotten lumpy. I have had it for about 6 months now and cannot wait to get another. Perfect for indoor use as well!!!!"
Review 2 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed! Much loved by dogs.,
April 1, 2014
By: 1DogFan
from Davis, CA
"We have had two of these outdoor dog beds since they were first introduced. They are incredibly durable, shed water exactly as advertised and the dogs love them. In the winter the beds come inside and 'live' near a window by the back door - to my chagrin the dogs often pick these beds over their memory foam and temperpedic indoor beds"
Review 3 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
waterproof dog bed,
March 13, 2014
By: poosie
from hot springs,va
"I love these dog beds and have ordered at least 8-10 of these ,BUT the reason I have had to order so many is not that i have a lot of dogs,I only have 2,it is because the insides wear out long before the outer cover and you can not order just the insides..you have to order the whole bed...Please Orvis ,make it possible to order just the insides....getting too costly..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality dog bed,
May 1, 2013
By: kiko
"I was surprised at the poor quality of these dog beds because I have found Orvis to be reliable on dog bed quality in the past. My dog likes to "fluff" her bed and she was able to create tears in this material right away. I returned them after just a few days of use, and now need to find a more durable brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lasts to long,
March 6, 2013
By: poosie
from hot springs,va
"I have had 3 of these and am ordering a 4th,because the insides wear out ,BUT the outside cover does not,even after frequent washings...I wish Orvis would let you order just the insides...!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One step forward, and one step back,
February 14, 2013
By: jweli
from Western Montana
"The original design was better: easy-on, easy-off cover; and the filling was encased in a mesh material that facilitated removal and replacement. The filler in the newer design has a flimsy netting material that fails to hold the filler together making it difficult to take out; putting it back in is even more difficult. Although the covers on both beds are washable and easy to clean, the newer-designed cover is even easier to keep clean. When I wrote Orvis, they replied that the original filler with mesh cover is no longer available. Although I need three new beds, I won't purchase this product again."
Review 7 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable & Attractive Outdoor Dog Bed,
January 19, 2013
By: IamK9crazy
from Gainesville, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased two Orvis outdoor dog beds about 6 months ago. The covers wash up nicely; the inserts drain well after a rain soaking. I am happy with the quality, style & durability of the beds, but I do not routinely leave them out in the elements. My dogs love them too!"
Review 8 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
holds water like a sponge,
December 1, 2012
By: dentistattorney
from Washington State
"I am not sure whether we received a defective bed but the one we have does not live-up to the description. We have bought at least five other Orvis dog beds and they were all great. This is supposed to be an outdoor bed and to shed water. I am currently drying out the bed for at least the fourth time this month. It is so saturated that water is running out of running out of the bed while it is hanging. The bed is under cover and only gets rain that blows in - I even built an elevated, perforated platform but nothing helps. I should have just bought another bed with a waterproof liner. This bed can not be left outdoors, except in dry weather. Definitely not a "watershed" bed."
Review 9 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking,
July 10, 2012
By: ssol
from Northern Illinois
"The bed is made well and It looks great, but I don't know how comfortable it is, when given the choice my dog Sam always chooses his old bed.....it is round and maybe he fits better on the round because he likes to curl up."
Review 10 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great bed for dirty dogs,
May 24, 2012
By: 2dirtylabs
"I purchased two of these beds a year ago, as I was looking for something truly water-loving for the back of my SUV, as my 2 labs are usually wet (and muddy) when in the car, and I wanted something that cleaned and rinsed well. So far happy about the beds (they use them outside too), especially the fact that they clean up well (rinse the bed and/or throw cover in wash). However, the covers themselves are not holding up so well to the use/abuse - seams are starting to split and there are lots of scratches/mini tears in the fabric from nails (even though my dogs nails are trimmed every week). That said, I still like the beds and recommend them, just wish the cover material held up better - thinking about getting replacement covers soon."
Review 11 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lived through the seasons,
April 8, 2012
By: doggiesandkitties
from Maine
"I bought this bed almost 4 years ago. I was not diligent about bringing it inside for the Maine winters. It survived this long being lounged on frequently by my beagles and their bigger friends. Now I am purchasing a new one because a bigger friend (shepherd mix) who is still a puppy, thought it would work great being dragged around the back yard. In about 30 minutes it finally ripped apart. Wow This bed has been through weather, dogs and stood up very very well. It is worth every penny."
Review 12 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dog wouldn't use it,
February 9, 2012
By: QueenCity
"I have an older golden retriever. I ordered the large and it was pretty small for my dog. Also it was channel filled and very lumpy and uneven. My dog had too much trouble trying to get on and off it."
Review 13 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
favorite dog bed,
November 30, 2011
By: blackntan2
"with 2 hounds everything comes in twos. this is the best cushion for out door lounging and stack it for indoor use. they are learning to share when it is stacked. thinking of getting more. very durable and washes well."
Review 14 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i should have bought two!,
August 6, 2011
By: frankie5
"my dogs love this dog-bed...however, i only bought one...i should have bought two.
they began using it right away...one at a time...
it's holding up very well.
thanks, Orvis!
"
Review 15 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
funky colors, but overall nice quality,
June 17, 2011
By: Vizsla4me
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I like the material of this dog bed, but I am not crazy about the design and size. Unlike most of Orvis' large dog beds, this is "large" size is relatively not very big. I liked the material designs that they had for the outdoor beds better last year. I think they were sort of going for a retro lounge chair look here. The dogs migrate right to the pillow when I put it outdoors for them. I will have to get a second though because it is a little small for both of them to lay on and stay cool."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let her  know we were sorry to hear she wasn't completely happy with her purchase of our WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed. We thanked her for her honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded her comments on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements.
Review 16 for WaterShed™ Classic Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outdoor bed,
April 2, 2011
By: JPteach
from Huntington Beach, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We bought our 2-month-old English Golden Retriever, Lili, this outdoor bed to get her ready for summers by the pool when "Mom" is finished with a year of teaching 8th graders. She was quite young and a little cautious at first, but once she discovered it's comfort, she claimed it as her own. We purchased the large one, so it is more than big enough for her as she grows. She is now 4.5 months, and it's her favorite bed to run and flop onto. As our weather warms, we toss it outside and sit out by the pool with her. She thinks it is her favorite "big girl bed." When we aren't by the pool, we toss it in one of her big crates upstairs and she's happy to have it to nap on. I am sure we will purchase another once summer is in full swing. It is definitely attractive enough to be an indoor bed, too."