Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Upland Sweater

A sturdy Shetland wool hunting sweater for men in a handsome and functional quarter-zip style with dry-waxed cotton shooting shoulders and back yoke that repel dew and light rain. Perfect for cooler hunts under a strap vest. Quarter-zip style allows adjustment for ventilation. Rib collar, cuff, and hem for a close fit to keep cold air out. Soft and comfortable fleece-lined neck and inside yoke. Men's wool hunting sweater in loden. Wool/cotton. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Upland Sweater
Review 1 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and dry,
January 2, 2015
By: JRB3
from Cleveland OH
"and good-looking, to boot! I wear this sweater in the damp and windy weather we often get around here, and it definitely does the job. I did need to get it in one size larger than I usually wear since it is worn over heavier shirts, etc. It also looks good; I have gotten a number of comments reflecting this, which of course encourages me to wear it more often!"
Review 2 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves his upland sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: VeronicaW
from Newman, CA
"I purchased this sweater as a Christmas present for my husband. He had mentioned that he wanted a sweater to wear when duck hunting. Upon opening his present, he was very pleased with the look and feel of the sweater. He wore it under his hunting coat when he went duck hunting a couple of hours later. He was completely happy with it and said he will probably need another one because he plans to wear this one often."
Review 3 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice sweater but was too short,
December 30, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I tried this sweater but had to return it. I have a rather long torso and this proved to be too short. When mounting the gun it came up too high above the waistband. Overall, it seemed well made, but it was too short for me."
Review 4 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
December 28, 2014
By: Rmfportland
"Product was very well received by my brother. I always send him gifts form Orvis, and he never complains."
Review 5 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent,
December 28, 2014
By: Dublin4
from Atlanta, Ga
"I purchased this for my teenager, it is a very sharp, sporty, warm sweater for the young outdoorsman, very handsome on, no matter the age. Mindfully and well constructed with quality and purpose. This sweater became an immediate favorite."
Review 6 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm sweater,
December 27, 2014
By: MiniMimi
from Wayne MI
"This was a gift for our son. He loves it! It is warm and great for layer when he is outdoors with his young boys. They don't let cold weather stop them."
Review 7 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good not great,
December 15, 2014
By: Prey
from MD
"I just got this sweater and wore it to go shooting targets. It was warm but a bit bulky. My intention was to wear it under my coat in the field or blind on cold days but I am a bit concerned about it bunching up underneath. I haven't worn a large anything since the 1980's and it would then be too short in the sleeves and the body. I may just need to wash it like when I try to help at home..."
Review 8 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Sweater, breadable,
December 9, 2014
By: Hunt9Ptr
from White Plains, NY
"Use it in SD on a recent December pheasant hunt where temperatures ranged from 7 degrees to 29 with stiff winds. Used it under my wind stopping Orvis Jacket/shell and over 2 layers of "under-layers" and felt NO WIND. Stayed nice and worm. Wish I could say the same for my nose... Moisture passes through, however the under side of Jacket holds it for a while.
Very well designed, even used it one day in low winds without the Jacket."
Review 9 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater,
November 26, 2014
By: OhioDuckHunter
from Northern Ohio
"The sweater is very well made and the canvas sheds water well. I would have liked to see the sweater made of a heavier material, but for the price it can't be beat."
Review 10 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Wool Sweater,
November 13, 2014
By: Jeppie
from Urbana, IL
"I got this specifically for the 2014 pheasant/grouse 10-day annual trip I've been taking to S. Dakota for about 15 years. We went a week earlier this year, but the weather is always unpredictable. Worn over wicking undershirt (SS or LS), this was perfect on both windy & calmer days. Wool stays warm if damp from mist or perspiration. Fit was true. Zip neck allowed ventilation. The yoke was very comfortable. I wish I had gotten this before. Says Dry Clean Only . . . I may try handwashing? (This will also be my snow-blowing sweater!)"
Review 11 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Upland Gear IN PNW,
November 10, 2014
By: kweikwei
from Washington, Idaho
"I got this sweater for upland game hunting in the PNW. Its been great when hunting Chukar, Huns and Quail where we do a lot of walking and climbing in all sorts of terrain and weather. The cloth on the shoulders is needed as I use a strap vest when its cooler before going to a tin cloth vest when it gets cold. The sweater is warm enough so I normally don't have to wear a heavy coat which hinders my gun mount. The sweater is a little expensive but worth every penny."
Review 12 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fall sweater,
March 12, 2014
By: BigCampy13
from Southern California
"Perfect for pheasant hunt early morning chill. Order your size, moves with you. Wear an under armour long sleeve and its sweet"
Review 13 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and a great layering garment,
January 18, 2014
By: KansasHunter
from Kansas
"Great sweater to wear under my vest. Upland and water fowling so far ordered it to late for big game this year. Would recommend this sweater if your in the field in cold weather."
Review 14 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, functional sweater,
November 8, 2013
By: Tomats52
from Southern Idaho
"I have used the sweater on several bird hunts in Montana and Idaho. It provides all day comfort and warmth without being too bulky. The sweater is a great addition over an upland shooting shirt and under my strap vest when conditions are chilly."
Review 15 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
February 13, 2013
By: HenAda
from Eastern NC
"I have worn this sweater a couple of times and have found it to be a very nice fit. Bought it at the end of duck season and look forward to having it next fall. It is big enough to be used as an outer layer with a heavy shirt underneath but can also be worn under a jacket. I am 6'1", 205 and got a Large. Very worm and the dry waxed cotten provides nice protection on the shoulders. Nice product that I think will hold up to use in the field."
Review 16 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great hunting shyrt (sweater).,
January 2, 2013
By: Gearlover
"I am always on the lookout for hunting apparel the will heilp cut down on the gear I haul along to cover all weather changes imaginable. This sweater gets a A+++. It's a perfect shooting shirt for a cool day and with one underlayer it's warm enough for a really cold South Dakota day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dependable Wear,
January 2, 2013
By: roamingwild
from Alabama
"The quality is outstanding and the materials feel good, the fit is excellent and I plan to purchase all of my hunt clothes with you Orvis"
Review 18 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best sweater for outdoors and indoors.,
December 29, 2012
By: FIREBREWED
from Fayetteville, NC
"As soon as I put on this sweater I knew it was perfect. I wore it outside on vacation in Michigan in the middle of a snow storm. I was warm and the water beaded up on the shoulder. I just wiped it right off. I wore it into one of the local watering holes and had two waitresses rub the wool and the waxed cotton of the sweater, they liked the looks of this sweater. My brother has told me he wants one now too. I like this sweater and so will you. Purchase this sweater, it will become one of your favorite pieces of attire too."
Review 19 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable, Water Repels,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Was looking for a comfortable and useful mid-layer. You can hunt this sweater or look good in the lodge!"
Review 20 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 20, 2012
By: SoDakHunter
from South Dakota
"I have worn this in the field the last two weekends as the weather has started to cool. It is awesome. Very comfortable. Fits, feels, and looks great."