Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Upland Sweater

A sturdy Shetland wool hunting sweater for men in a handsome and functional quarter-zip style with dry-waxed cotton shooting shoulders and back yoke that repel dew and light rain. Perfect for cooler hunts under a strap vest. Quarter-zip style allows adjustment for ventilation. Rib collar, cuff, and hem for a close fit to keep cold air out. Soft and comfortable fleece-lined neck and inside yoke. Men's wool hunting sweater in loden. Wool/cotton. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Upland Sweater
Review 1 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fall sweater,
March 12, 2014
By: BigCampy13
from Southern California
"Perfect for pheasant hunt early morning chill. Order your size, moves with you. Wear an under armour long sleeve and its sweet"
Review 2 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and a great layering garment,
January 18, 2014
By: KansasHunter
from Kansas
"Great sweater to wear under my vest. Upland and water fowling so far ordered it to late for big game this year. Would recommend this sweater if your in the field in cold weather."
Review 3 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, functional sweater,
November 8, 2013
By: Tomats52
from Southern Idaho
"I have used the sweater on several bird hunts in Montana and Idaho. It provides all day comfort and warmth without being too bulky. The sweater is a great addition over an upland shooting shirt and under my strap vest when conditions are chilly."
Review 4 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
February 13, 2013
By: HenAda
from Eastern NC
"I have worn this sweater a couple of times and have found it to be a very nice fit. Bought it at the end of duck season and look forward to having it next fall. It is big enough to be used as an outer layer with a heavy shirt underneath but can also be worn under a jacket. I am 6'1", 205 and got a Large. Very worm and the dry waxed cotten provides nice protection on the shoulders. Nice product that I think will hold up to use in the field."
Review 5 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great hunting shyrt (sweater).,
January 2, 2013
By: Gearlover
"I am always on the lookout for hunting apparel the will heilp cut down on the gear I haul along to cover all weather changes imaginable. This sweater gets a A+++. It's a perfect shooting shirt for a cool day and with one underlayer it's warm enough for a really cold South Dakota day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dependable Wear,
January 2, 2013
By: roamingwild
from Alabama
"The quality is outstanding and the materials feel good, the fit is excellent and I plan to purchase all of my hunt clothes with you Orvis"
Review 7 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best sweater for outdoors and indoors.,
December 29, 2012
By: FIREBREWED
from Fayetteville, NC
"As soon as I put on this sweater I knew it was perfect. I wore it outside on vacation in Michigan in the middle of a snow storm. I was warm and the water beaded up on the shoulder. I just wiped it right off. I wore it into one of the local watering holes and had two waitresses rub the wool and the waxed cotton of the sweater, they liked the looks of this sweater. My brother has told me he wants one now too. I like this sweater and so will you. Purchase this sweater, it will become one of your favorite pieces of attire too."
Review 8 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable, Water Repels,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Was looking for a comfortable and useful mid-layer. You can hunt this sweater or look good in the lodge!"
Review 9 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 20, 2012
By: SoDakHunter
from South Dakota
"I have worn this in the field the last two weekends as the weather has started to cool. It is awesome. Very comfortable. Fits, feels, and looks great."
Review 10 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looked long and hard for this one,
September 27, 2012
By: IowaPheasantHunter
"I am completly satisfied with my purchase of this Upland Sweater. I've had buying this type of sweater on my radar for about 5 years. I looked long and hard until finally pulling the trigger on the Orvis Upland Sweater. It is comfortable and warm without being too bulky. With the amount of walking I do with hunting Iowa Pheasants, it is the perfect weight in all except for the coldest of hunts. I found hunting jackets too warm and that sweatshirts don't block the wind enough. This Upland Sweater is perfect and I would recommend it to all."
Review 11 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish sweater,
December 30, 2011
By: DoubleH
from north carolina
"Purchased the sweater to wear duck hunting in the southeast. It fits well and blocks the wind nicely. It allows me to follow thru on passing shots and wears well under waders. The shoulders repell light mist and rain as advertised. I also wear it as an outer garment on moderate temperature days and have gotten comments on it from friends. Nice complement to my OD green and brown fedoras."
Review 12 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
December 29, 2011
By: ElleNashville
from Nashville, TN
"I purchased this sweater as a gift for my husband. It is great quality and well made. I purchased a size larger than he usually wears and it fits great, not bulky. Perfect for hunting, sitting by the fire or dinner out. Love this sweater."
Review 13 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
December 29, 2011
By: mccarthy
from greensboro,nc
"i would reccomend this product as a great buy and highly reccommend wearing this product in cold hunting conditions. It will not be the last sweater from orvis i purchase."
Review 14 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful sweater except...,
December 26, 2011
By: simmer
from Williams, Arizona
"This is a beauitful sweater but one I will be sending back because it's too short. Needs to be a few inches longer on the truck."
Review 15 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
December 19, 2011
By: BJackson
from South Dakota
"Nice Sweater. Bought for extreme hunting and outdoor use.
Used first time on my trapline
and got sprayed by a skunk.
May not wash this so I just kept
wearing and eventually the smell
left and I love this sweatshirt.
Wish Orvis offered tall sizes though"
Review 16 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 12, 2011
By: Mogunner
"Excellent fit. Item was exactly as described. Orvis customer service is always top notch. I would definately recommend this item."
Review 17 for Upland Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow - finally!,
September 15, 2011
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"Over the past while I've been moving away from camo patterns for my hunting clothing, preferring instead something that is a little more casual looking (and the ducks and deer don't seem to mind!). I have been keeping my eye out for a wool sweater with waxed cottom shoulders for a while. I tried a Filson one for twice this price but I had problems with the weight and the fit. Recently, Orvis offered me a 20% off and free shipping as an apology for not being able to provide another product that I ordered, so I decided to try this sweater. It's still too warm for me to wear it (and hunting season has not started yet) but I have been wearing it on some cool morning/evening dog walks. The heavy Nova Scotia fall fog just beads off the shoulders. A very nice touch is a fleece neck-lining to take care of any itch-factor, so it can be worn over a t-shirt. I look forward to wearing it during hunting season. As is often teh case though with stuff I buy from Orvis, it's too darn NICE to get muddy!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Upland Sweater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1