Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

This fishing shirt's quick-drying UPF 30+ fabric promotes evaporative cooling and protects you from the sun. Plus, the caped back is lined with mesh for unmatched breathability. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed-button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind left pocket. Pleated chest pockets. Straight hem. A slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best gift ever,
August 10, 2015
By: sjkkot
from Fenton, MI, Oracle, AZ and Keywest, FL
"My husband received this item for Christmas last year. When summer arrived he started wearing the shirt.
He loves this shirt. It is so comfortable in the heat. Also protects from the sun. I ordered another and am waiting for more colors in his size.
"
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
summer comfort,
August 7, 2015
By: mistercasual
from Virginia
"This is my second shirt of this particular style and make. I find the material comfortable on warm days and dressy enough for most occasions."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolest shirt for the DR,
July 31, 2015
By: Thequeen58
from Ma,02026
"I needed a shirt that was good looking enough for a destination wedding worn with shorts. So I got white and khaki shorts. The material was the perfect wicking ability with style. The guys just loved it and are going to be new orvis customers."
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality ss summer shirt,
July 23, 2015
By: airborne37
from Atlanta GA
"I have purchased and worn this shirt for years. I currently have four of them.
Excellent quality, extremely comfortable in really hot climates, (HotLanta Summers). You do pay a little more, but for me its worth it.
"
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 13, 2015
By: PJ46
from Chicago, IL
"Shirt feels very comfortable. Light weight and roomy. I ordered white (which is more of an off white or egg shell, but that's OK). Haven't washed it yet so I can't comment on how it comes out of the dryer."
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
July 6, 2015
By: Bob2Tn2016
from Sunbury, Ohio
"I took fly fishing lessons at Orvis in Worthington, OH. and found this shirt. They didn't have my size in stock, but were happy to have it shipped to my home.
I love it. Very light weight. Fits great. Great way to beat the heat, even when I'm not fishing. Wearing to my son's baseball game."
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it for mowing the lawn,
July 2, 2015
By: EastTNBill
from Oak Ridge, TN
"It's got the perfect set of attributes for MY use, which is lawn mowing, not fishing. The puckered texture and combined front and back venting mean it stays cool, the fasten-shut front pocket keeps my smart phone from falling out while the phone drives noise-canceling headphones, and the size is good. (The description said it ran small, so I ordered an XL, which was way too large. I exchanged for next smaller size.)"
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
function and comfort,
June 29, 2015
By: DucksinArgentina
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This shirt is awesome - whether fishing or at the beach the shirt is perfect"
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
June 27, 2015
By: NedLawrence
from Boston, MA
"Runs true to size, washes easily and doesn't need ironing. Cool and stylish enough to wear out in the evening to a casual restaurant. Have three now and will buy more if they will provide more colors."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just in time for summer,
June 23, 2015
By: SummerinDC
from Chevy Chase, MD
"Wonderful fabric and so-o-o comfortable. Nice fit as well."
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purchase,
June 22, 2015
By: Buffaloflyfish
"This shirt was the perfect gift for the fly fisherman in my life. Not only was it true to size, but made with the superior quality known to Orvis. I would definitely recommend this, and all, products made by this incredible brand."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vented shirt out there,
June 5, 2015
By: 1Screwball
from Houston, TX
"I am outside in Texas during the hottest part of the year all day long at my daughter's softball tournaments. I have tried every brand of shirt I have found. While this is a little pricey, it is worth every penny. It looks very nice, it is extremely durable, but most importantly, it is the most comfortable I have found. The super-lightweight mesh lining in the upper part of the shirt makes it so comfortable. It runs a little small, so consider this when you make your purchase."
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite shirts,
May 25, 2015
By: Donwj
from Traveling the US
"Bought my first one last year and loved it, Have just added my second and will probably add more. Very airy and comfortable. I heartily recommend this shirt."
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Four times better than one,
May 19, 2015
By: BabbageRHN
"Rather than prattle on about the merits of the shirt, suffice it to say that after I got one and wore it I ordered three more."
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
May 5, 2015
By: HappyHobbit
from Suffolk England
"This is a very comfortable and quick drying fishing shirt.
So good in fact after I received and wore my first purchase, I immediately ordered another.. I do fish a lot ;)
"
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
April 18, 2015
By: FishOwl
from Lincolnshire UK
"This shirt is comfortable and good enough to wear as smart casual wear as well as for fishing.
Good light material dries quickly and seems very breathable.
Very pleased with the purchase
"
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than image,
April 8, 2015
By: Steph2015
"All information is correct other than the colour is much nicer than the image shows. Excellent value as bought in the sale!"
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,comfortable and great quality,
November 4, 2014
By: Treebranches
"Great shirt. Well designed, keeps you cool and best of all is it's superior quality material which washes well and last for ages."
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around excellent shirt,
October 4, 2014
By: Whataday
from Catskills, NY
"Bought for fishing but use all around. Shirt is easy to care for, just wash and hang dry, no ironing, throw it on and look good. Works well on the stream and looks great for casual wear. I own three long and three short sleeve. Just wish some colors did not sell out so fast."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Short-Sleeved Open-Air Caster Shirt,
August 4, 2014
By: grapes
from Honeoye Falls, NY
"An excellent Summer Shirt with a great feel ample freedom of movement & cool on the hottest of days on the water. the shirt has plenty of pockets for your personal items and it has a great look for casual events or outdoor sports. I liked it so much I bought additional shirts ! Would most definately recommend it to any sportsman !"