Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
March 24, 2014
By: Obviousman
from Northville, Mi
"I really like the fit of these shirts.
They are comfortable to wear spring summer and fall.
The only thing could make them better is if they could figure out how to make them stain proof or at least figure out how make them so dry fly oil will not stain them.
"
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home Run!,
March 10, 2014
By: mwfish
"This is the second Open-Air Caster I have owned, and they are perfect. Roomy cut, light, quick drying a bomb proof. I punished the first shirt for a summer in Alaska and it looks just out of the box. Thanks Orvis, keep the good work coming."
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
September 24, 2013
By: Matt270
"Nice material and construction. A bit heavier than some other brands of fishing shirts."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt,
July 22, 2013
By: MattyB
from Park City, UT
"Picked this up before a trout fishing trip and wore it all weekend. Dries quickly and stays comfortable in sun or downpour."
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 1, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"if you are looking for a very light weight shirt for those hot summer days no matter where you live this is the one. Great styling and cut. Could not be happier. I wish thse were made made in the USA."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
June 17, 2013
By: frestorm34
from London
"Great build quality, all the buttons and seam sewn well. button up sleeves are great touch, the pockets are a great size. The shirt works well with the constant movement when fly fishing. Very light weight and great pattern - I will be buying another one"
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 7, 2013
By: sf2013
"tail is too short, but great weight and feel of shirt."
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Shirts,
May 3, 2013
By: CRDD
from Houston, TX
"I have long sleeve and short sleeve versions (5 in all) and will continue buying them as long as ORVIS has them available or offers a new color. I have many requests about where I bought the shirt and always recommend it for the quality, fit and especially the material weight. I'm not a fisherman...but this shirt is an all purpose item for anyone's needs."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not true colors,
February 11, 2013
By: TXWalks
from Midland, TX
"these shirts are excellent quality however - they are not solid color!! It is a small check - does not look like the photo!!!"
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geat shirt,
October 22, 2012
By: bos1988
from boston. ma
"You can never go wrong with the casting shirts. The UV benefit is excellent. It fits great and wears well. You can roll up the sleeves and wear as a button down short sleeve. Great shirt!!!"
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
October 22, 2012
By: regt
from paisley
"Bought shirt mail order
Quality excellent service great as usual
"
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
August 22, 2012
By: Pastortom
from Jacksonville, Fl
"Enjoyed finding a shirt that not only is practical but also comfortable. Like the flexibility, coolness, and the look!"
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shirt to be caught in,
July 10, 2012
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"Great shirt, great fit, easy to be able to cast in without restriction. Protects you from harmful rays. Light to wear and roomy, as with Orvis well made and very high quality.
If you want a great shirt to catch and be caught in this is the one
"
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tall Guys!,
March 2, 2012
By: jagg
"I really like these shirts. They're lightweight, yet provide SPF. And it's hard to find shirts that are long enough in the sleeves and body, without being too wide. They really hold up to washing, as well. Super!"
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome product,
September 21, 2011
By: Yammer
"like all fishing clothes and gear from Orvis, designed for the fishing need. fitted but loose enough to breath and move. just enough pockets without overload. light weight. comfortable right upon arrival, no break-in needed. all you need are trout"
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st class,
August 11, 2011
By: RedLetterDays
"I like these shirts so much I'm collecting one of each colour. I'm 6'6' tall and the tall version fits perfectly. Not many shirts do! Thanks Orvis keep making the tall stuff!"
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great beach shirt!,
July 2, 2011
By: Tbone822003
from Little Rock AR
"I wore this shirt in the salt water to protect me from the sun, and it did. The vented back and arms allowed 1)great airflow, and 2) quick drying (and when I say quick we are talking 15 minutes!)!!! Material is light and cool, easy on the skin, after 5 days of salt water, sun, and sand it is still like new! (4 1/2 stars)"
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"This shirt fits great and is the perfect quick dry, light and well ventilated fishing shirt. I own two and they are my go to choice whenever heading to the water... and non-water days at that.
You'll love it."
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Open-Air Caster Shirt,
May 26, 2011
By: FireFly2
"This is a shirt every fisher person should own. All I can say this is the best warm weather fishing shirt made,"
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Shirt,
April 30, 2011
By: AnewNickname
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This shirt travels well. The zippered pocket is an ideal place to securely store your passport and a few bills. It is cool in hot weather and layers well; wash it in the sink at night, hang it to dry, and its ready to go in the morning."