Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
76 of 79(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing shirt,
August 24, 2015
By: Ksatter
from Greenback, Tn
"This shirt is well made. It has well designed pockets with ample storage.Weight is perfect for cooler spring and fall mornings on the water."
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing shirt,
August 22, 2015
By: Edlaclair66
from Old Forge, Pa
"I bought three of these shirts for a fishing trip to MT. They are very well made. I love the unique fabric. The shirts fit very well and a great for a variety of conditions. Roll up the sleeves on a hot day or through on a layer underneath when it is cool. The pockets and gadget tab are very functional. This is one of my favorite fishing shirts."
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as usual,
August 12, 2015
By: ltal
from chama, nm
"as usual. good quality product. i like the color (steel), the feel (textured dimples) and the looks (classy fishwear). the only thing: they forgot to put my great-grandmothers initials on it."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fly Fishing Shirt,
August 11, 2015
By: RichWarren5326
from Atlanta, GA
"Just received my very first " Trout Bum " open air casting shirt and I couldn't be happier. The quality of construction is incredible. The breathability and roominess for freedom of movement is perfect. The overall appearance means it's stylish even off the river on a night off. I am actually getting ready to order two more in different colors."
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Shirt !,
August 11, 2015
By: ABYorktown
from Yorktown, Virginia
"Great look, feel, durability, value, and use.
I cannot think of any way to improve it.
"
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt!,
August 10, 2015
By: DHUible
from Ketchum, ID
"Not only is this a great fly fishing shirt I like traveling with it because of all the pockets and easy to launder while on the road."
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good shirt,
August 8, 2015
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"This is my 3rd shirt in this line. The first 2 are a couple of years old, but they are lighter weight than this one. The older models had a pesky label on the collar that irritates my neck. The new model is sans label."
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel and sailing shirt,
August 8, 2015
By: Bryan74
from Carlsbad, CA
"Good fit. True to size. Comfortable and cool while providing sun protection."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Made Shirt,
July 25, 2015
By: Lindy6
from Northcentral PA
"I purchased two of the long-sleeved open-air caster shirts for my husband as a gift. He has not worn these shirts yet but wore a prior one I purchased last spring while on vacation in California in June. They wash well, dry quickly and are very well made. A quality shirt that can be worn outdoors (obviously) but also to a restaurant or museum. I paid full $ for the first one but purchased the last two on sale."
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 22, 2015
By: Boudreaux60
from Bremerton, Wa
"Orvis has always had the best men's clothing line ."
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice---- but,
July 22, 2015
By: Soduco
from Franklin, Tn
"Great shirt, but I ordered ( and paid for ) custom initials which I did not receive. I still love Orvis."
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyes On Me (and this shirt!),
July 21, 2015
By: ZachMcGeehon
from Illinois
"I purchased two of these shirts for a costume I am working on. They're absolutely made great, and have an excellent fit to them. I'd recommend these shirts to anyone looking to have an excellent outdoor shirt! I'll definitely be wearing it more often than I expected!"
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicest Shirt of its Kind,
July 20, 2015
By: DavidL1
"I now have several of these shirts. They are the only synthetic fabric that I find comfortable to wear.
I use for fishing, everyday wear and especially for travels (you can wash in the sink and they hang/drip dry very quickly).
Wish Orvis would keep colors like the old green. But I guess customer response dictates changes from time to time."
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt!,
July 20, 2015
By: ENH3
from Charlotte, NC
"An excellent shirt, great fit, Orvis quality! Would definitely recommend and purchase again."
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great or is product,
July 18, 2015
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"Another great Orvis product. Would highly recommend this shirt."
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt - Very Comfortable,
July 17, 2015
By: Polarcupz
"I purchased this shirt as a costume part. Many may not know this, but it was used in Jurassic World as one of Owen Grady's shirts. I had to purchase another 2 because it is so comfortable to wear. With the weather as hot as it is in my area, this shirt is a life saver!"
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fit! Good quality,
July 15, 2015
By: LarryR
from East Texas
"I live too far to go to an brick / mortar reseller, so purchased online. I'm impressed with the operation.
The fit is perfect along with the quality. This was a surprise since I have had issues in the past with other clothes on fit.
This is a caster shirt, so has a nice vent in the back. Pocket flaps are sewed shut at the corners, so contents don't fly out, I guess. Yet, it is easy to get to the pocket contents.
The entire experience was good.
Also, a pre-paid return label was included in case one does need return anything.
"
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Shirt?,
July 15, 2015
By: RevMDL
from Maplewood, NJ
"It is a great shirt period> This should be a part of every man's spring/summer line up. It is tough enough for the river, beach, stream and keeps you cool and dry. Great line and I would buy it again...albeit in another color:)"
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
weird shirt texture,
July 13, 2015
By: Lakerdog
from Petoskey, Mi
"must be marketing this to my son's generation, with the puckered material, though it looks like something my grandfather would wear; sorry guys; sending this loser back"
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shirt,
July 3, 2015
By: Texaspheasanthunter
from Austin, TX
"I bought three of these last month for the summer and have not worn any other shirt since on the weekends. I bought my dad one for father's day. The fabric is fantastic. Very comfortable. Dries quickly. Best of all, this has a fitted look to it - not like other fishing shirts that look like you are wearing a cape - this is fitted but the cut allows for full range of motion. True to size (As a 16 1/2 x 34 a Medium is perfect for me). Buy this shirt - you will love it."