Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.755 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 53(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really good fishing shirt,
May 26, 2015
By: florent29
from Melbourne Australia
"Dry really quickly , really light , look's strong and good so nothing else to say then well made"
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always great casting shirts,
May 25, 2015
By: DBFishslayer
"Traditional and reliable. Small sizes are great for my pre-teen son!"
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Designed Fishing Shirt,
May 16, 2015
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I bought this shirt for fishing; it is also a travel companion. It has the features I need for a day on the stream, hours in the air or on the road, or days at sea. If you buy one Trout Bum shirt – this is it."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
May 10, 2015
By: Numpty
"Good looking shirt, very comfortable, accompanied by the usual excellent orvis customer service."
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing shirt,
May 8, 2015
By: Tjtrout
from Leeds
"Thought about buying a shirt dedicated for fishing for a while. After looking at various makes, I decided on Orvis, great decision , (I'm sure that i'm catching more fish since I started wearing it)perfect for the river and looks the part in the pub afterwords."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Follow-up,
May 6, 2015
By: Squeaker
from London, England.
"I bought an ExOfficio white shirt when I was last in Pasadena. It was partly synthetic and after use it was laundered and then IRONED!
Trying to replace this I purchased an Open-Air Caster. It was described as white and no mention was made that the material had a 'seersucker' surface. The colour is off-white. Aside from those two differences it is a fair replacement for the 'lost' shirt."
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit and Styling,
April 29, 2015
By: CowboyMike
from Pacific Grove, CA
"I love this shirt and have now purchased one in every color. Very cool on hot days and dries super fast."
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fishing shirt,
April 27, 2015
By: riverdevron
from Essex, MA
"Added the shirt for a visit to the Paradise Valley Spring Creek in late April. Well sized, comfortable, and the color does not frighten the trout away."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, awesome for the sun,
April 14, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"Own two, in different colors. favorite fishing shirt. Looks great enough for the dinner table back at the lodge."
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Pockets for Everything,
April 6, 2015
By: go4bama
from Ochlockonee Bay, FL
"Makes organizing your things very handy with the many pockets.."
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Shirt,
April 6, 2015
By: go4bama
from Ochlockonee Bay, FL
"This shirt features all of the little spaces needed for my "things.""
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Shirt,
March 25, 2015
By: HudA
from Austin Texas
"I purchased one of these shirts last year and just loved it! Got 2 more this year and it has a few issues. I'm 6'3'' 195 lbs and a tall large fits perfectly except the sleeves, they are very tight when rolling them up pass your elbows. If you have big forearms or biceps I think you will have a problem rolling up the sleeves. Their streamlined fit does not work very well."
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really handosme shirt,
March 23, 2015
By: bkwslw
from Charlottesville, VA
"I love this shirt and have bought several dozen for my employees. They love it.
I wish it came in Tall sizes :)"
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Shirt for warm weather,
February 16, 2015
By: Gentfarmer
from San Diego
"The material has a slight puckered effect that keeps it light on the skin, it resists wrinkles very well and has the vents in all the right places. the fit is slightly fitted which gives it a trimmed look unlike others for this type of shirt that look square and baggy. I've bought two and wish it came in more colors"
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit,
February 11, 2015
By: Aust
from Albany, NY
"Having own different color for a year I finally purchased my second of these. The fit is fantastic and vents keep you cool, allows a great range of motion in the arms. Easy to care for."
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent Shirt, Offer Different Colors,
November 18, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This casting shirt is awesome, not only for fishing but for any sort of hot outdoor activities. Breathes great, dries fast, and blocks a bunch of UV light. My only issue is the colors that is offered. These are more suited for anglers fishing the flats than stalking trout. If Orvis would come out with some duller earth tones in this shirt, I would easily give it 5 stars."
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to shirt,
October 8, 2014
By: Whataday
from Catskills, NY
"Bought for fishing but use all around. Shirt is easy to care for, just wash and hang dry, no ironing, throw it on and look good. Works well on the stream and looks great for casual wear. I own three long and three short sleeve. Just wish some colors did not sell out so fast."
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
September 25, 2014
By: NorthernMS1
from Marietta, GA
"The description stated shirt came with TU logo, but it does not. You have to request it and the online ordering does not give the option. I had to return and exchange - outside of that, great shirt!"
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting shirt,
August 18, 2014
By: Beadroux
"The shirt is excellent. The material and design are light weight with a soft feel. My only negative is the cut is a little tight fitting. All else is good and highly recommended."
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent shirt,
July 15, 2014
By: WMJ55
from Denver, CO
"this is a terrific shirt for fishing. light and comfortable with a nice loose cut"