Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 58(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shirt,
July 3, 2015
By: Texaspheasanthunter
from Austin, TX
"I bought three of these last month for the summer and have not worn any other shirt since on the weekends. I bought my dad one for father's day. The fabric is fantastic. Very comfortable. Dries quickly. Best of all, this has a fitted look to it - not like other fishing shirts that look like you are wearing a cape - this is fitted but the cut allows for full range of motion. True to size (As a 16 1/2 x 34 a Medium is perfect for me). Buy this shirt - you will love it."
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but wrong sizing,
July 1, 2015
By: Gentfarmer
from San Diego
"I've ordered 5 of the these same shirts over a period of time. all have been excellent or i would have returned the first, but this last order i had to return, the size I ordered was XL and the shirt is tagged XL but the size of the shirt is more like a medium, a manufactures's defect. otherwise this type of shirt is excellent"
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt,
June 27, 2015
By: RedDog64
from Tacoma, WA
"This has turned out to be my favorite shirt. I liked it so much I bought a cream color one."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very nice shirt, but not for me,
June 4, 2015
By: texnewmex
from Albuquerque, NM
"Picked up one of these on sale, and decided to return without wearing for a few reasons:
1) I think there are lighter, more comfortable, and cooler shirts made by other major manufacturers for almost half the price.
2) Not a huge fan of the straight cut hem. Makes them look a little funny untucked to my eye.
3) Fit was too slim in the sleeves for an active wear shirt for my body type. I have a fairly muscular build, and the fitted sleeves were difficult to roll up.
Overall, it's a sharp looking fishing shirt that's just not for me."
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a GREAT shirt!,
May 27, 2015
By: Jeff2
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is a GREAT shirt! I've ordered 3 to date, and could not be more pleased. Great and fit, look, and comfort. The lightweight fabric breathes so well that I prefer these shirts over any other during the hot summer months.....especially when fishing...as the fabric and sleeves provide added sun protection."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really good fishing shirt,
May 26, 2015
By: florent29
from Melbourne Australia
"Dry really quickly , really light , look's strong and good so nothing else to say then well made"
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always great casting shirts,
May 25, 2015
By: DBFishslayer
"Traditional and reliable. Small sizes are great for my pre-teen son!"
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Designed Fishing Shirt,
May 16, 2015
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I bought this shirt for fishing; it is also a travel companion. It has the features I need for a day on the stream, hours in the air or on the road, or days at sea. If you buy one Trout Bum shirt – this is it."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
May 10, 2015
By: Numpty
"Good looking shirt, very comfortable, accompanied by the usual excellent orvis customer service."
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing shirt,
May 8, 2015
By: Tjtrout
from Leeds
"Thought about buying a shirt dedicated for fishing for a while. After looking at various makes, I decided on Orvis, great decision , (I'm sure that i'm catching more fish since I started wearing it)perfect for the river and looks the part in the pub afterwords."
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Follow-up,
May 6, 2015
By: Squeaker
from London, England.
"I bought an ExOfficio white shirt when I was last in Pasadena. It was partly synthetic and after use it was laundered and then IRONED!
Trying to replace this I purchased an Open-Air Caster. It was described as white and no mention was made that the material had a 'seersucker' surface. The colour is off-white. Aside from those two differences it is a fair replacement for the 'lost' shirt."
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit and Styling,
April 29, 2015
By: CowboyMike
from Pacific Grove, CA
"I love this shirt and have now purchased one in every color. Very cool on hot days and dries super fast."
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fishing shirt,
April 27, 2015
By: riverdevron
from Essex, MA
"Added the shirt for a visit to the Paradise Valley Spring Creek in late April. Well sized, comfortable, and the color does not frighten the trout away."
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, awesome for the sun,
April 14, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"Own two, in different colors. favorite fishing shirt. Looks great enough for the dinner table back at the lodge."
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Pockets for Everything,
April 6, 2015
By: go4bama
from Ochlockonee Bay, FL
"Makes organizing your things very handy with the many pockets.."
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Shirt,
April 6, 2015
By: go4bama
from Ochlockonee Bay, FL
"This shirt features all of the little spaces needed for my "things.""
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Shirt,
March 25, 2015
By: HudA
from Austin Texas
"I purchased one of these shirts last year and just loved it! Got 2 more this year and it has a few issues. I'm 6'3'' 195 lbs and a tall large fits perfectly except the sleeves, they are very tight when rolling them up pass your elbows. If you have big forearms or biceps I think you will have a problem rolling up the sleeves. Their streamlined fit does not work very well."
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really handosme shirt,
March 23, 2015
By: bkwslw
from Charlottesville, VA
"I love this shirt and have bought several dozen for my employees. They love it.
I wish it came in Tall sizes :)"
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Shirt for warm weather,
February 16, 2015
By: Gentfarmer
from San Diego
"The material has a slight puckered effect that keeps it light on the skin, it resists wrinkles very well and has the vents in all the right places. the fit is slightly fitted which gives it a trimmed look unlike others for this type of shirt that look square and baggy. I've bought two and wish it came in more colors"
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit,
February 11, 2015
By: Aust
from Albany, NY
"Having own different color for a year I finally purchased my second of these. The fit is fantastic and vents keep you cool, allows a great range of motion in the arms. Easy to care for."