Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.838 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 37(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to shirt,
October 8, 2014
By: Whataday
from Catskills, NY
"Bought for fishing but use all around. Shirt is easy to care for, just wash and hang dry, no ironing, throw it on and look good. Works well on the stream and looks great for casual wear. I own three long and three short sleeve. Just wish some colors did not sell out so fast."
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
September 25, 2014
By: NorthernMS1
from Marietta, GA
"The description stated shirt came with TU logo, but it does not. You have to request it and the online ordering does not give the option. I had to return and exchange - outside of that, great shirt!"
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting shirt,
August 18, 2014
By: Beadroux
"The shirt is excellent. The material and design are light weight with a soft feel. My only negative is the cut is a little tight fitting. All else is good and highly recommended."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent shirt,
July 15, 2014
By: WMJ55
from Denver, CO
"this is a terrific shirt for fishing. light and comfortable with a nice loose cut"
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
June 24, 2014
By: Sammy2014
from Providence, RI
"This is a high quality fishing shirt that I gave to my dad for Father's Day. He loved it, so I am going to order more for Christmas! This is worth the higher price tag vs. other brands, as it is durable and just a nicer quality fabric/shirt overall. I've given my dad other brands of fishing shirts in the past, and Orvis is his favorite. Orvis has a great selection of colors in this specific shirt as well."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable shirt,
June 20, 2014
By: JBorch
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Looks great and fits well in the shoulders and waist. I'm 6'2". 200lbs and ordered a large. Fits more like a slim fit shirt. Not as roomy as my other fishing shirts from Columbia but I'm not complaining. This shirt is "dressier". The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the sleeves are tight when rolled up. I'd probably order a size larger if I decide to get another one."
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing,
June 3, 2014
By: PSUTrout
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
"I bought this shirt for my husband's Father's Day. He has similar shirts from Orvis, but needed a new one as he wears it all spring and summer! The flexible arms and lightweight cloth make it
perfect for his fly fishing. He uses the older shirts for working in the yard as the shirts seem to last forever.
"
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go for this shirt,
May 29, 2014
By: ArchBobH
"This is my 3rd Open-Air Caster shirt. I have 2 long sleeves and 1 short sleeves. I wear them for work in humid tropical areas. Worn outside of the pants. Nice, even elegant looking, top quality, well ventilated and great cargo friendly top pockets for passport, wallet, smart-phone, etc."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatness,
May 28, 2014
By: ReverendIke
from Fort Wort, Texas
"I spent the last 55 years trying to get as much sun as possible. I'll spend the rest of my life trying to get as little. Hence my search for the perfect long sleeve, straight hem fishing/outdoor shirt. This shirt is da bomb. Perfecto. Terrifically comfortable. Breathable. Orvis says "mesh lined". Well, this mesh is like nothing you've experienced before. This soft as silk lining on upper back and shoulders adds a remarkable level of comfort. I have three now and they have become my go to casual attire shirt. I'm not sure I can bring myself to fish in them. I get compliments every time I wear one.. You will not be disappointed."
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Quality,
May 28, 2014
By: Bob2
from Door Co., Wisconsin
"Amazing fabric, fit and easy care. Just what a fly fishing guy likes."
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
May 19, 2014
By: pthead
"cool, comfortable, easy fit for fishing, washes nicely, wears well
after purchasing 1st shirt bought two more"
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Rodeo,
May 7, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"This is my second shirt like this. Got my first on a fly fishing/bird hunting trip in Alaska. Very light and comfortable. Good fit. Liked it so much I got a second one! Imitation is the greatest form of flattery."
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light weight shirt,
May 6, 2014
By: bgreig
from Texas
"I really like the feel of this ultra light weight shirt. Best of all, it comes in Tall sizes, which is rare at Orvis."
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fabric of this kind of shirt,
April 29, 2014
By: WinoGreg
"Soft and light yet has sunscreen and cooling features. Have not worn it yet but am taking it on two trips soon."
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential basic,
April 29, 2014
By: hikingfiend
from Oahu, HI
"Great light weight shirt that still provides long sleeve protection. Dries quickly. Looks good even off the trails!"
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
March 24, 2014
By: Obviousman
from Northville, Mi
"I really like the fit of these shirts.
They are comfortable to wear spring summer and fall.
The only thing could make them better is if they could figure out how to make them stain proof or at least figure out how make them so dry fly oil will not stain them.
"
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home Run!,
March 10, 2014
By: mwfish
"This is the second Open-Air Caster I have owned, and they are perfect. Roomy cut, light, quick drying a bomb proof. I punished the first shirt for a summer in Alaska and it looks just out of the box. Thanks Orvis, keep the good work coming."
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
September 24, 2013
By: Matt270
"Nice material and construction. A bit heavier than some other brands of fishing shirts."
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt,
July 22, 2013
By: MattyB
from Park City, UT
"Picked this up before a trout fishing trip and wore it all weekend. Dries quickly and stays comfortable in sun or downpour."
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 1, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"if you are looking for a very light weight shirt for those hot summer days no matter where you live this is the one. Great styling and cut. Could not be happier. I wish thse were made made in the USA."