Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster

Our lightest and most ventilated casting shirt. Perfect for late spring and summer tropical fishing. Poly/nylon blend dries quickly and promotes evaporative cooling. Back is caped and lined with mesh. Front chest above pockets is also mesh vented. Concealed button-down collar eliminates wind flap. Roll-up sleeve tabs. Security zip behind wearer's left pocket. Chest pockets are flat with pleats. Straight hem. Polyester/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Body and sleeves are 2" longer in tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
68 of 71(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Made Shirt,
July 25, 2015
By: Lindy6
from Northcentral PA
"I purchased two of the long-sleeved open-air caster shirts for my husband as a gift. He has not worn these shirts yet but wore a prior one I purchased last spring while on vacation in California in June. They wash well, dry quickly and are very well made. A quality shirt that can be worn outdoors (obviously) but also to a restaurant or museum. I paid full $ for the first one but purchased the last two on sale."
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 22, 2015
By: Boudreaux60
from Bremerton, Wa
"Orvis has always had the best men's clothing line ."
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice---- but,
July 22, 2015
By: Soduco
from Franklin, Tn
"Great shirt, but I ordered ( and paid for ) custom initials which I did not receive. I still love Orvis."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyes On Me (and this shirt!),
July 21, 2015
By: ZachMcGeehon
from Illinois
"I purchased two of these shirts for a costume I am working on. They're absolutely made great, and have an excellent fit to them. I'd recommend these shirts to anyone looking to have an excellent outdoor shirt! I'll definitely be wearing it more often than I expected!"
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicest Shirt of its Kind,
July 20, 2015
By: DavidL1
"I now have several of these shirts. They are the only synthetic fabric that I find comfortable to wear.
I use for fishing, everyday wear and especially for travels (you can wash in the sink and they hang/drip dry very quickly).
Wish Orvis would keep colors like the old green. But I guess customer response dictates changes from time to time."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt!,
July 20, 2015
By: ENH3
from Charlotte, NC
"An excellent shirt, great fit, Orvis quality! Would definitely recommend and purchase again."
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great or is product,
July 18, 2015
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"Another great Orvis product. Would highly recommend this shirt."
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt - Very Comfortable,
July 17, 2015
By: Polarcupz
"I purchased this shirt as a costume part. Many may not know this, but it was used in Jurassic World as one of Owen Grady's shirts. I had to purchase another 2 because it is so comfortable to wear. With the weather as hot as it is in my area, this shirt is a life saver!"
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fit! Good quality,
July 15, 2015
By: LarryR
from East Texas
"I live too far to go to an brick / mortar reseller, so purchased online. I'm impressed with the operation.
The fit is perfect along with the quality. This was a surprise since I have had issues in the past with other clothes on fit.
This is a caster shirt, so has a nice vent in the back. Pocket flaps are sewed shut at the corners, so contents don't fly out, I guess. Yet, it is easy to get to the pocket contents.
The entire experience was good.
Also, a pre-paid return label was included in case one does need return anything.
"
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Shirt?,
July 15, 2015
By: RevMDL
from Maplewood, NJ
"It is a great shirt period> This should be a part of every man's spring/summer line up. It is tough enough for the river, beach, stream and keeps you cool and dry. Great line and I would buy it again...albeit in another color:)"
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
weird shirt texture,
July 13, 2015
By: Lakerdog
from Petoskey, Mi
"must be marketing this to my son's generation, with the puckered material, though it looks like something my grandfather would wear; sorry guys; sending this loser back"
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shirt,
July 3, 2015
By: Texaspheasanthunter
from Austin, TX
"I bought three of these last month for the summer and have not worn any other shirt since on the weekends. I bought my dad one for father's day. The fabric is fantastic. Very comfortable. Dries quickly. Best of all, this has a fitted look to it - not like other fishing shirts that look like you are wearing a cape - this is fitted but the cut allows for full range of motion. True to size (As a 16 1/2 x 34 a Medium is perfect for me). Buy this shirt - you will love it."
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but wrong sizing,
July 1, 2015
By: Gentfarmer
from San Diego
"I've ordered 5 of the these same shirts over a period of time. all have been excellent or i would have returned the first, but this last order i had to return, the size I ordered was XL and the shirt is tagged XL but the size of the shirt is more like a medium, a manufactures's defect. otherwise this type of shirt is excellent"
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt,
June 27, 2015
By: RedDog64
from Tacoma, WA
"This has turned out to be my favorite shirt. I liked it so much I bought a cream color one."
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very nice shirt, but not for me,
June 4, 2015
By: texnewmex
from Albuquerque, NM
"Picked up one of these on sale, and decided to return without wearing for a few reasons:
1) I think there are lighter, more comfortable, and cooler shirts made by other major manufacturers for almost half the price.
2) Not a huge fan of the straight cut hem. Makes them look a little funny untucked to my eye.
3) Fit was too slim in the sleeves for an active wear shirt for my body type. I have a fairly muscular build, and the fitted sleeves were difficult to roll up.
Overall, it's a sharp looking fishing shirt that's just not for me."
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a GREAT shirt!,
May 27, 2015
By: Jeff2
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is a GREAT shirt! I've ordered 3 to date, and could not be more pleased. Great and fit, look, and comfort. The lightweight fabric breathes so well that I prefer these shirts over any other during the hot summer months.....especially when fishing...as the fabric and sleeves provide added sun protection."
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really good fishing shirt,
May 26, 2015
By: florent29
from Melbourne Australia
"Dry really quickly , really light , look's strong and good so nothing else to say then well made"
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always great casting shirts,
May 25, 2015
By: DBFishslayer
"Traditional and reliable. Small sizes are great for my pre-teen son!"
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Designed Fishing Shirt,
May 16, 2015
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I bought this shirt for fishing; it is also a travel companion. It has the features I need for a day on the stream, hours in the air or on the road, or days at sea. If you buy one Trout Bum shirt – this is it."
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Open-Air Caster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
May 10, 2015
By: Numpty
"Good looking shirt, very comfortable, accompanied by the usual excellent orvis customer service."