Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Trout Bum Nylon Belt

Simple and rugged, our men's woven-nylon belt features a rugged plated-brass buckle for years' worth of service in any environment. Exclusive Trout Bum logo on buckle. Men's nylon belt in pewter. Nylon. Imported.Sizes: S(30-34" waist), M(36-40" waist), L(42-46" waist). 1½" wide.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Review 1 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mountain Khaki logo,
July 30, 2014
By: NickMooreCO
from Colorado Springs
"The belt I received differs from the picture. The buckle is the same design, but mine has the "Mountain Khaki" logo instead of the "Orvis" trout bum logo. It looks like the supplier sent Orvis the wrong one.
Regarding size, the large is very large - much longer than I need (38 inch waist). High quality webbing and buckle. Doesn't slip."
Review 2 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Way It Would Fit,
November 1, 2013
By: NHJake
from Newmarket, NH
"I love Orvis and have been purchasing it products for years. Recently, I ordered the Trout Bum Nylon Belt. The specifications said that a size small would be appropriate for a size 30" to 34" waist.
No way. I have a "32 waist and I could not get it around me. Needless to say, I was very disappointed. But I would buy another belt, if I could be sure of the sizing. NHJake
"
Review 3 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size is way off!!,
September 24, 2013
By: Canuck18
from Toronto, ON
"Ordered a size Small (30-34" waist) for myself. I have 33" waist - didn't fit, not even close.
Tried to pass it off to my teenage son (31" waist) - he could just manage to buckle with 1" to spare.
Sizing is way off, returning the product. Very disappointed.
"
Review 4 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good quality but sizing..,
July 29, 2013
By: Tomba
from CA
"The belt of of high quality, sturdy and really nice looking. The sizing is off. I ordered a M and is too small so had to return. Didn't see all reviews until I looked at reviews via my phone. would have ordered the larger size if would have known. Of course the L is now wold out arrrrrgh. Customer service very helpful."
Review 5 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleasantly surprised,
July 25, 2013
By: MontHorn
from Dreamland
"I got this belt as I need a pants wading belt that is durable and reliable. Found this Orvis belt and thought it would be ideal. I was hesitant at first because it seems overpriced but took a chance anyway. Got it, wore it and love it. It works very well and seems durable. I'm happy with this purchase after all is said and done."
Review 6 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small is short,
July 20, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"My 30" waist filled out the belt and it was too short. Off to my son's closet it goes. Well made and the right width but cut a bit shorter than I expected."
Review 7 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple but Tough,
July 17, 2013
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"Simple design but so tough and beautiful... this belt will last forever !!!!"
Review 8 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great belt!!,
May 29, 2013
By: Troutbum70
from Milwaukee, WI
"This belt is unique and works very well. It really is a great product!"
Review 9 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Bum Nylon Belt,
May 29, 2013
By: VCHING
from ORVIS DALLAS RETAIL STORE
"The Nylon Belt is good and strong, nice looking too, good value for the price."
Review 10 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ditto on sizing,
May 14, 2013
By: jbncga
from atlanta, ga
"should of read reviews first. With a pant size of 33", I ordered a small. Wasn't even close. Go up one size."
Review 11 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One size bigger,
April 13, 2013
By: CharisNTC
from Vassar, MI
"The sizing showed that i would wear a medium compared to pants size, but had to return for a large so look at the sizes and go one up if you want it to fit."
Review 12 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Belt,
April 11, 2013
By: FlySmacker
from Pittsburgh, Pa
"I love the buckle on this belt... will be looking to see if it's in other colors..."
Review 13 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TB Nylon Belt,
April 8, 2013
By: Kennn
from Phx, Az
"Excellent product! It is just as represented. Outstanding quality.
KGA
"
Review 14 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 20, 2013
By: WifeofrpHouseHusband
from NJ
"My husband weighs 139 lbs and has a 29 - 30 inch waist. He ordered this belt in size small, and it is at least 4 inches too short from one end to the other when he tries to put it on. It must be only about 26 inches long. I am not sure what man it is going to fit! He is going to return it. Obviously the sizing on these belts was not checked by Orvis before being offered for sale. Another reviewer is also correct when he says the belt is wide and the buckle very heavy, but that did not concern my husband."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all purpose belt,
May 21, 2012
By: ColoradoViking
from Denver, Colorado
"Great belt. I was looking for a belt I could use for nicer pants as well as for shorts, and this fit the bill. I also have been losing weight and this proved to be a great way not to have to buy more than one belt !!"
Review 16 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mixed review,
April 10, 2012
By: GusA
from Denver, CO
"High-quality nylon belt with sturdy buckle. However this belt did not suit me because 1) it's over 1.5inches wide and doesn't slide easily through small belt loops and 2) the buckle is rather bulky and heavy. These don't make it well-suited for light pants or shorts that are typically used for summer wear or fishing."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for the big boys!,
June 7, 2011
By: jpatterson70
"Don't order this belt if you're anything above a size 36. This belt is too small for anyone bigger even with ordering the larger size. Definitely did not fit my waste. I do believe the larger size is totally mis-sized and not caught before being shipped over."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trout Bum Nylon Belt
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5