Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest

Take your pick on how to reflect your holiday spirit—classic Royal Stewart tartan on one side or striking red on the other. Both sides woven of 100% merino wool for a soft hand. A great complement to a solid sport coat. Two pockets on solid side. In red. Pure wool. Dry clean. USA/Imported. Sizes: L(42-44). 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
56 of 62(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Review 1 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ring Those Bells,
March 17, 2014
By: Channie50
from Florida
"This vest is so cheery I can't wait for Christmas. Orvis always has a great product and great customer service."
Review 2 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fit,
March 17, 2014
By: Rhino88
from Florida/North Carolina
"I am between L & XL. I ordered XL and it fits almost perfectly.
Agree with other reviewers that the solid side is not as nice of material as the plaid side, but it will work well for me - Christmas, Valentines day, etc."
Review 3 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 in 1,
March 17, 2014
By: texhowdy
from Santa Fe, NM
"Very nicely made vest. The red side has pockets, the plaid side does not. Fits well on my 42 short frame."
Review 4 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband looked great valentines night,
February 19, 2014
By: PhyllisAkrs
from Montgomery al
"I gave this vest to my hubby and we went out to a dance at our club valentines night. At 79, he looked terrific!"
Review 5 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
February 6, 2014
By: Helen8
"I purchased the vest for my husband to wear during the holiday season. He loves it and it is nice quality. The back of the vest could have been a little longer, so if you have a long torso, this vest is not for you."
Review 6 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plaid Vest,
January 30, 2014
By: WHOSR
from Huntsville, AL
"It is a great vest. Fits well and I love that it reverses. Very good quality. It will be a part of my outfits for a long time."
Review 7 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected,
January 23, 2014
By: Alexatos
"I had a similar vest that seemed to have shrunk in the closet. It wasn't reversible as this one is so it is much more versatile."
Review 8 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looked all over for a red vest.,
January 16, 2014
By: Cruiser2000
"I have been looking for years for a new red Christmas vest to replace the one my husband outgrew. I was happy to find one on your website. It was well made and we liked the fact that it was reversible. It will look very nice on the plaid side with my husband's tux. The only disappointment was it was advertised as all wool but the back was not made of wool. My husband wears it Christmas eve with out a jacket and we would have liked it better if it was all wool."
Review 9 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 16, 2014
By: Katrinkathegreat
"Such an awesome Christmas vest! Very well made and classy!"
Review 10 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Wear,
January 16, 2014
By: bigguy155
from Staten Island, NY
"Going to holiday parties during the season has always been a fashion challenge. What options are there for a guy? A holiday tie? maybe a green sweater? And at 6'4" my options are even more limited.
Well the vest was perfect. I wore it plaid side out with a white shirt to the office lunch. I wore it red side out with a solid green tie under a sports coat to midnight mass. I wore it again to a restaurant, plaid side out with a scarf. My wife was very pleased with my fashion pick!
"
Review 11 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Holiday Vest Ever,
January 15, 2014
By: VAclassicStyle
from Virginia
"This vest was a hit at our office Christmas party. I wore it under a Harris Tweed and received compliments all evening. My only complaint is that because it is reversible, there's no way to adjust the waist... but again, with the jacket on, no one was the wiser. I also wish it had lapels on the tartan side, but now I'm just being picky haha."
Review 12 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wool,
January 9, 2014
By: Calvados
from Stamford, Ct.
"Orvis has done it again--a merino, non-scratchy wool which has body, great appearance, and is very hard to find in Scotland--coarser wool.
Orvis has become a go-to store for my son's dog supplies, winter clothing, and among all else... shirts and leather jackets or vests for me. Great. Nick
"
Review 13 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Regretable purchase,
January 3, 2014
By: Chip2
from Atlanta, Ga
"Didn't like the texture of the fabric or the way it hung on me. Didn't like the delay in shipping or the attitude of the Orvis representative when I called to complain. Returned for a refund at Orvis store in Atlanta. Not up to usual Orvis standards."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A Holiday/Winter vest,
January 2, 2014
By: Lorenna
from Flushing, New York
"This lively reversible vest fit well, had a good quality wool material for the tartan plaid surface, and was sewn properly. The only negative criticism: The bright red polyester fabric for the reverse side does not quite measure up in appearance to the wool side."
Review 15 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest,
January 2, 2014
By: Sukie2
from Richmond VA
"Christmas vests are sentimental favorites for the men in our family. This reversible model takes it to a new level. Great fit and styling. Well made, too."
Review 16 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
January 1, 2014
By: 2ride
"Cut too small for a medium , I think. Would have been better with side adjustments. Lovely plaid."
Review 17 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red Vest,
December 25, 2013
By: StephenC
from Fairfield, CA
"I love this vest! I wore it with my suit for a Christmas dinner, and informally as a vest over shirt. I got loads of comments from both sides of this reversible vest. It was long enough to cover my suspender clips, as well!"
Review 18 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
December 23, 2013
By: Texasteacher
from Dallas, Texas
"The fabric, both lining and vest, are well crafted and of excellent quality. It's a great Christmas present for a Stewart family member!"
Review 19 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the top purchases I've ever made,
December 23, 2013
By: Chefette1
"I love this vest. My husband is a want a be Scotsman and he just looks so dapper in the vest. So happy that I found it at Orvis and that he could have it for he holidays.."
Review 20 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tartan Vest,
December 19, 2013
By: ldmartin6
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Love the vest......very good quality. Only problem is we are very unhappy because it is too short for my husband. Have to return it. We like all Orvin products; however many things are not long enough. We need "long tall" options."