Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest

Take your pick on how to reflect your holiday spirit—classic Royal Stewart tartan on one side or striking red on the other. A great complement to a solid sport coat. Two pockets on solid side. In red. Pure wool front. Polyester back. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: L(42-44). 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.653 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
69 of 75(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Review 1 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect holiday wear,
January 5, 2015
By: Jeffrie
"I needed something festive do holiday events and this is perfect
Well made with a nice fit
"
Review 2 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking, very festive,
January 5, 2015
By: Tbullock
from Memphis, TN
"This is a very nice, thick, beautifully made vest, very festive for the holidays."
Review 3 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic holiday vest,
December 30, 2014
By: SantaBaby62
from San Jose, CA
"I bought one of these vests for my husband 6-7 years ago and he loves wearing it during the holidays. He pulled it out this year and some moths had gotten to the solid red side so I ordered him a new one. The quality is just as good as the older vest. He was very happy!"
Review 4 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Spirit,
December 26, 2014
By: The1Voice
from Dallas
"Beautiful tartan vest EXACTLY matches pants I've had for 20+ years, and with a white shirt and my red Christmas tie...it's a PERFECT outfit for Christmas season get-togethers. I've received a number of lovely complements!!!"
Review 5 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique,
December 26, 2014
By: Helie
from Whitesboro, NY
"This reversable vest is well made and looks absolutely great on my husband."
Review 6 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice vest,
December 26, 2014
By: Sodyberg
from Salisbury, NC 28144
"This holiday vest is very attractive and fits well."
Review 7 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Vest,
December 24, 2014
By: SantaPaul
"i hd looked at a number of stores looking for a good quality Christmas vest. This one is great, reversible, great with my Christmas ties, I love it."
Review 8 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 9, 2014
By: dnkansas
from Kansas
"Very nice vest, quality material and workmanship. Can be worn under a sportcoat or just with a shirt to dress down. Only hesitation is this vest is not sized generous as are most Orvis clothes. I normally wear a medium in Orvis clothes but could probably have ordered a large."
Review 9 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Choice,
December 9, 2014
By: reindeer62
"The vest colors on both sides (it's reversible) are both vibrant and tasteful. The wool fabric is smooth and comfortable."
Review 10 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tartan vest,
December 3, 2014
By: Pierce50
from Raleigh NC
"Fit is excellent and the reversibility makes it a bargain. Pockets on both sides would have been nice and buttoning backwards on one side is confusing but worth it."
Review 11 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ring in the holidays,
November 3, 2014
By: Emil2
from Wyckoff, NJ
"The perfect vestment to greet Santa in! And should be a hit at those holiday cocktail parties, too. Love that this garment is reversible. Any chance you carry matching socks?"
Review 12 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ring Those Bells,
March 17, 2014
By: Channie50
from Florida
"This vest is so cheery I can't wait for Christmas. Orvis always has a great product and great customer service."
Review 13 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fit,
March 17, 2014
By: Rhino88
from Florida/North Carolina
"I am between L & XL. I ordered XL and it fits almost perfectly.
Agree with other reviewers that the solid side is not as nice of material as the plaid side, but it will work well for me - Christmas, Valentines day, etc."
Review 14 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 in 1,
March 17, 2014
By: texhowdy
from Santa Fe, NM
"Very nicely made vest. The red side has pockets, the plaid side does not. Fits well on my 42 short frame."
Review 15 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband looked great valentines night,
February 19, 2014
By: PhyllisAkrs
from Montgomery al
"I gave this vest to my hubby and we went out to a dance at our club valentines night. At 79, he looked terrific!"
Review 16 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
February 6, 2014
By: Helen8
"I purchased the vest for my husband to wear during the holiday season. He loves it and it is nice quality. The back of the vest could have been a little longer, so if you have a long torso, this vest is not for you."
Review 17 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plaid Vest,
January 30, 2014
By: WHOSR
from Huntsville, AL
"It is a great vest. Fits well and I love that it reverses. Very good quality. It will be a part of my outfits for a long time."
Review 18 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected,
January 23, 2014
By: Alexatos
"I had a similar vest that seemed to have shrunk in the closet. It wasn't reversible as this one is so it is much more versatile."
Review 19 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looked all over for a red vest.,
January 16, 2014
By: Cruiser2000
"I have been looking for years for a new red Christmas vest to replace the one my husband outgrew. I was happy to find one on your website. It was well made and we liked the fact that it was reversible. It will look very nice on the plaid side with my husband's tux. The only disappointment was it was advertised as all wool but the back was not made of wool. My husband wears it Christmas eve with out a jacket and we would have liked it better if it was all wool."
Review 20 for Reversible Merino Wool Tartan Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 16, 2014
By: Katrinkathegreat
"Such an awesome Christmas vest! Very well made and classy!"