Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (270 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
44
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
4
246 of 270(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
October 8, 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second purchase,
August 29, 2015
By: GregA
from Edwards, Colorado
"I bought my first Orvis travel jacket many many years ago. It is the best travel jacket. I needed a new size so I am buying another one. (I even bought my adult son one for Christmas last year.)"
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traveller's Blazer,
August 29, 2015
By: Shuggy
"On a positive note, the cut of the jacket was excellent and it delivered on the crease free promise; folds in the garment quickly fell out on arrival.
However, I returned the jacket as the man made lining brushing against the fabric of the jacket made an audible rustling sound that others could hear as well as the wearer. I appreciate that this may sound trivial, but for me, it made the garment feel cheap. A cotton liner would have sold it, or better yet, no lining at all-what is the point of designing a jacket to breathe and hang well, only to ruin it with a cheap-feeling man-made lining?
"
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A lot of potential,
August 28, 2015
By: TWill
from TN
"I loved the 3 roll 2 button look on this blazer, but the fabric may not be heavy enough for me. Back center pleat won't lay down and the zipper pockets are so stiff that you can see a bulge in the front."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel companion,
August 23, 2015
By: Braders
from Northumberland
"The hopsack blazer is wonderful. You can push it into any space and it comes out smart. The inside zip pocket just takes a passport and with a wife 2 is awkward and I have had to remove the covers.
Jacket style and finish is excellent and wife says it fits well.
A good buy.
"
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic staple,
August 21, 2015
By: Khloe
from Richmond , VA
"This classic blazer is the perfect addition to any southern gentlemen's wardrobe. It's versalility makes the blazer the perfect piece for any occasion. My husband just took it with us on a cruise and it stayed wrinkle free and date night ready! I'd love to see this piece in another color and would definitely recommend to any male in any age group."
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Good Purchase,
July 23, 2015
By: BannerBlueBill
from Saint Cloud, FL
"The Traveler's Hopsack Blazer was as advertised! It is just what I wanted
and expected from Orvis!
"
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor quality,
July 22, 2015
By: Ronorv
"Blazer was cut funny. it did not fit well and did not seem to be made with quality materials. I returned it.
It looks much better in the photo than in person.
"
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 15, 2015
By: Coat4Lee
from Lancaster, CA
"The Hopsacking travel blazer arrived today in a lovely travel bag. The wrinkles incurred in shipping have hung out and the garment is as shown in the catalog.. Like the inner security pockets. I forsee many happy occasions for this awesome Orvis product."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel blazer,
July 14, 2015
By: rbgtulsa
from Tulsa,OK
"I am impressed with the Orvis Travel Blazer. It is a well tailored garment and it will fill a need in my travel wardrobe. An upcoming trip to South Africa will test its ability to resist wrinkling."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cruise garb,
July 4, 2015
By: 1OldChief
from Northeast Wisconsin
"I purchased this for a forthcoming cruise. I have not had an opportunity to wear it as planned, BUT I tried to wrinkle it placing it folded in my carry on suitcase, and came out ready and unwrinkled. I am looking forward to take it cruising."
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Like They Used to Make,
June 28, 2015
By: Phantom3
from Adirondacks, NY
"Blazer is the same excellent Orvis quality as my 25 year-old blazer. The old blazer had been through a lot a was showing some wear on the buttons & lining - but is still usable in a pinch! The new one fits perfectly and hopefully will last another 25 years (even if I don't)."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
June 27, 2015
By: BBinLA
from New Orleans, LA
"Looks like the quality is ip there with much more expensive Blazers. Haven't Ben able to make it wrinkle either. Nice coat."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
June 21, 2015
By: cocoakalula
from Scotland
"The blazer is well made, fits my husband like a glove and best of all he will be wearing it with his Orvis chinos walking his daughter up the isle in beautiful Barcelona - thanks"
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel blazer,
June 16, 2015
By: lkay
"My husband loves this blazer.
So much that this is our 3rd blazer order.
"
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Useful coat,
June 10, 2015
By: wrldtravlr
from Lynchburg, VA
"This is my third hopsack blazer over the years. I have used them very extensively for domestic and international travel. There is no better product!"
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love,
June 9, 2015
By: Loa2533
from Roanoke, VA
"My husband travels extensively and often has to hop off a plane and run to a meeting. This jacket is absolutely perfect for him and I'm seriously considering buying him a second one!"
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fitting blaazer,
June 2, 2015
By: Bobby1789
from North Carolina
"I looked high and low to replace my trusted 3-button navy blazer, and decided to try the Orvis Traveler's Hopsack Blazer. It was a good decision. I am an old school 3-button guy. The fit is perfect,which is to say relaxed. The lapels are shaped the way I've always preferred. The fabric is very smooth and soft.
While it is described as a travel blazer, it is first a very nicely tailored, good looking blazer. If it travels well, so much the better."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed a Travel Blazer,
May 26, 2015
By: dick7044
from Fort Worth ,Texas
"I made the correct choice. Orvis makes it easy - online, at the store, on the phone. I always look forward to the next catalog. Thanks Orvis."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blazer,
May 18, 2015
By: JustJayne1
from Oregon Coast
"I bought this jacket as a gift for my nephew who is starting a new job as an area manager. It looks like a great jacket that resists wrinkling. He is tall and getting it in a tall size made it the perfect match for him."