Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.49 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (194 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
32
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
4
177 of 194(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
October 8, 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel blazer,
August 29, 2014
By: Ron5317
from Kirkland, Wa
"Fine weave hopsack almost impossible to wrinkle. Goes well with just about everything, from blue jeans, khakis to grey wool slacks. Comfortable fit and always sharp looking in any setting."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
August 29, 2014
By: raybo
from Louisville Ky.
"Had loose strings of thread, Material seemed harsh fake like, and was way to heave as a travel coat"
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is what it is,
August 28, 2014
By: Nolanz
"Not a bad jacket for the price. Truly a travel blazer. Something to wear in transit. Definitely not for business unless you fish for a living."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as advertised,
August 26, 2014
By: Vashonpriest
from Vashon, WA
"It fits well, is comfortable and pack and stores well. O yes, it looks great"
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect travel sport coat!,
August 19, 2014
By: SHUB
from Lake Placid USA
"The Worlds perfect travel sport coat!
3 buttons, center vent & pockets to stash important stuff. A no nonsense
super addition to my wardrobe! No one else makes them like this!
"
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking but stiff,
August 18, 2014
By: sfcustomer
"This jacket looks good, and if it travels as well as expected, it's a keeper. The fabric is a little stiff, but it may not be a problem in the long run."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Perfect fit; coarse fabric,
August 15, 2014
By: Pennywise
"the jacket is well made and fit as expected for size but the fabric is a coarse weave and too heavy for travel. Would order again if Orvis makes a silk/wool blend instead of poly/ wool."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Orivis product (as usual),
August 11, 2014
By: crannogman
from Ottawa/Grenada
"Wonderful jacket. Just what I wanted. Fits great. Only issue I have is the high cost of shipping to Canada. Would love Orvis to look for less expensive options. I would buy more gear!"
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket!,
August 11, 2014
By: Flintsteel
"Jacket is nicely tailored and fit perfectly. Bought this for a travel jacket and I believe it will come through like a champ even after hours of being stuffed in an overhead compartment."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopsack Blazer,
July 23, 2014
By: Jimbo3448
from Spring Hill, TN
"Have been looking at this blazer for a while and decided to give it a try. Was very glad I did. It fits me to a T although I did have to adjust the sleeve length which was not a problem. Anticipate taking this with me on vacation trips as well as for business trips. Great purchase"
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
July 23, 2014
By: PADCO
from Indian Land SC
"Good value for the money, good style, great workmen ship."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for travel,
July 22, 2014
By: JWalt
"I purchased this jacket for travelling and it's ability not to wrinkle easily. It does wrinkle some, but ithat is inevitable and it s good quality."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Blazer,
July 17, 2014
By: Franjo
from Minneapolis
"I needed to replace a navy blazer and looked in retail stores but was unhappy with the quality.
The Orvis blazer is exactly what I was looking for in a travel sport coat.
"
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Navy Blazer,
June 19, 2014
By: papjojo
"The hopsack navy blazer continues to be a favorite in this family, both father and sons. Well made and quality fabric make it a lasting item in the wardrobe. The bright buttons add to its appeal. This family's first choice!"
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hard to Wrinkle, Great Fit,
June 17, 2014
By: Mastiff7
"Exactly as advertised. A bit heavy for hot weather. Fit a standard issue middle age body without a need for alterations (well, at least to the jacket. The middle aged body is a different story.)"
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does not feel like quality,
June 12, 2014
By: jmarcus0014
"The blazer was shipped promptly and packaged well. Fit was true to size. Main problem was it did not feel like quality when I wore it and seemed to look cheap. I sent it back."
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant surprise,
June 11, 2014
By: vm75lx8
"The Orvis description of the hop sacker emphasized that it would not wrinkle. I was pleased to see that this is truly the case. What I was especially pleased with was the soft feel of the jacket material and how well it drapes, like a tailored fit. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who might be hesitant to order a jacket like this, sight unseen."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Blazer,
June 6, 2014
By: wfvs
from San Antonio, Texas
"I bought this blazer based on both the Orvis name and need for a muti-pocketed travel blazer. After receiving the blazer I tried it on and the fit was perfect plus this blazer is designed to take a beating and keep looking good. If you travel a lot like I do, and even if you don't, this is a great blazer for everyday wear."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as Advertised,
June 3, 2014
By: Nutmegger921
from Glastonbury, CT
"After corporate retirement, I did a lot of traveling for the government in an advisory capacity and this jacket came out of the suitcase with no wrinkles at all. A colleague was so impressed, he asked me where I purchased the jacket, and he ordered one as well. This is my second one. Unfortunately, I caught my sleeve on something leading to an irreparable tear."