Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (214 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
4
195 of 214(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
October 8, 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sport Coat,
December 17, 2014
By: DLMinVA
from Richmond, VA
"No wonder this blazer is a favorite with Orvis Chairman, Leigh Perkins, it looks and feels great, and truly does resist wrinkles and stains. Air travel usually destroys my jackets. Not so with this marvelous blazer. Now I wish it would come in grey and green colors. That's a hint, Orvis folks."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got a new favorite,
December 15, 2014
By: RyeNick
from Upstate NY
"Fits fine. Stiffness left quickly after one wearing. Like the extra inside pockets."
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality sportcoat,
December 13, 2014
By: drake73
"I was pleased with the excellent construction and details. Plenty of room in the coat. Nicely packaged with a coat hanger and travel bag."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Blazer for te Money,
December 2, 2014
By: rmmilleriii
"Outstanding blazer. This is actually the second one of these I've owned. The first one has accompanied me for the past five years on countless business trips and has held up like a tank while looking great!"
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Blazer,
November 25, 2014
By: Cogswell
from Minnesota
"I thought it was a quality Blazer and I can see how it would shed wrinkles easily. As other reviewers have mentioned, it might not be your best options for warmer climates."
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obvious quality and fit from 1st try,
November 24, 2014
By: ImCazador
from Egg Harbor, WI
"I am thrilled to have this jacket in my wardrobe! It fits to size and as described with precision by the Chat Rep online. Stitching and fabric are way-above the rack stores. This jacket slides on like custom. It travels like the road warrior who wears it... any-time/any-where. The inside button-flap pocket easily fits an iPad Mini 3 with a Zagg keyboard case - PERFECT Orvis! Thanks."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 13, 2014
By: RevNC
from Charlotte, NC
"This old school blazer is my new favorite! Multiplied thanks, Orvis!"
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart & Comfortable,
November 13, 2014
By: October86
from Edinburgh
"Equally suitable for smart & casual wear.
Wears easy on the body, stays wrinkle free after a long day's wear, still looking smart.
Ample pockets, making it the ideal travel wear.
"
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
November 4, 2014
By: Lebo
"The Hopsack Blue Blazer not only looks great but also it absolutely will not wrinkle. Great for travel, but also for all other occasions."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best,
October 13, 2014
By: butterwood
from Dayton OH
"The quality of the material was great, however the top button hole was on the lapel. Have never seen a sport coat with a button on the lapel."
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopsacki jacket,
September 30, 2014
By: SpookT
from Jacksonville, Fl.
"The one that I have now is 10 years old and just getting broken in.
I got this one because I was afraid you were going to stop selling them
"
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel blazer,
September 24, 2014
By: MD83
"Love it - bought one 10 years ago - wore it all the time; finally wore out. Ordered the same thing - same size (:)). I have literally rolled it up and stuffed it in my luggage - you can't tell."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice blazer,
September 17, 2014
By: dvm1
from Lexington, KY
"This is a nice blazer for travel but I had to return it because it did not fit my husband properly."
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveler's Hopsack Blazer,
September 16, 2014
By: Medic1
from Navarre, FL
"Used it for the first time on a recent one-week business trip. Fabric is the right weight and looked fresh after a lot of flying and driving. Extra pockets a plus as well."
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 12, 2014
By: Conamara
from Kennebunk, ME
"Bought the blazer from the catalog which did not provide the disclosure on the "3roll2" design and the photos made it appear to be a two button. I probably would not have purchased the item had I know this fact. The fabric is also a little heavier than I had expected for a travel blazer. However, with those caveats, I plan to keep the blazer and will wear it for business travel."
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits the Bill,
September 3, 2014
By: HorizonCatcher
from Virginia
"To the point:
Fits well, travels well and looks good.
"
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Expected,
September 2, 2014
By: arndfan
from Reno, NV
"Opened the carton and noticed both sleeves were wrinkled from shipping. Checked an hour later and the coat hung perfectly with no wrinkles. Excellent tailoring and a beautiful coat. Very impressed with the ability of the coat to look good after some rough handling.
And, very important, the blazer is made in the USA. Hope it lasts as long as my Orvis luggage that is now 30 years old and looks as good as the day I bought it."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel blazer,
August 29, 2014
By: Ron5317
from Kirkland, Wa
"Fine weave hopsack almost impossible to wrinkle. Goes well with just about everything, from blue jeans, khakis to grey wool slacks. Comfortable fit and always sharp looking in any setting."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
August 29, 2014
By: raybo
from Louisville Ky.
"Had loose strings of thread, Material seemed harsh fake like, and was way to heave as a travel coat"