Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (206 reviews)
5 stars
145
4 stars
33
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
4
187 of 206(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
October 8, 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 13, 2014
By: RevNC
from Charlotte, NC
"This old school blazer is my new favorite! Multiplied thanks, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart & Comfortable,
November 13, 2014
By: October86
from Edinburgh
"Equally suitable for smart & casual wear.
Wears easy on the body, stays wrinkle free after a long day's wear, still looking smart.
Ample pockets, making it the ideal travel wear.
"
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
November 4, 2014
By: Lebo
"The Hopsack Blue Blazer not only looks great but also it absolutely will not wrinkle. Great for travel, but also for all other occasions."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best,
October 13, 2014
By: butterwood
from Dayton OH
"The quality of the material was great, however the top button hole was on the lapel. Have never seen a sport coat with a button on the lapel."
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopsacki jacket,
September 30, 2014
By: SpookT
from Jacksonville, Fl.
"The one that I have now is 10 years old and just getting broken in.
I got this one because I was afraid you were going to stop selling them
"
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel blazer,
September 24, 2014
By: MD83
"Love it - bought one 10 years ago - wore it all the time; finally wore out. Ordered the same thing - same size (:)). I have literally rolled it up and stuffed it in my luggage - you can't tell."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice blazer,
September 17, 2014
By: dvm1
from Lexington, KY
"This is a nice blazer for travel but I had to return it because it did not fit my husband properly."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveler's Hopsack Blazer,
September 16, 2014
By: Medic1
from Navarre, FL
"Used it for the first time on a recent one-week business trip. Fabric is the right weight and looked fresh after a lot of flying and driving. Extra pockets a plus as well."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 12, 2014
By: Conamara
from Kennebunk, ME
"Bought the blazer from the catalog which did not provide the disclosure on the "3roll2" design and the photos made it appear to be a two button. I probably would not have purchased the item had I know this fact. The fabric is also a little heavier than I had expected for a travel blazer. However, with those caveats, I plan to keep the blazer and will wear it for business travel."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits the Bill,
September 3, 2014
By: HorizonCatcher
from Virginia
"To the point:
Fits well, travels well and looks good.
"
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Expected,
September 2, 2014
By: arndfan
from Reno, NV
"Opened the carton and noticed both sleeves were wrinkled from shipping. Checked an hour later and the coat hung perfectly with no wrinkles. Excellent tailoring and a beautiful coat. Very impressed with the ability of the coat to look good after some rough handling.
And, very important, the blazer is made in the USA. Hope it lasts as long as my Orvis luggage that is now 30 years old and looks as good as the day I bought it."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel blazer,
August 29, 2014
By: Ron5317
from Kirkland, Wa
"Fine weave hopsack almost impossible to wrinkle. Goes well with just about everything, from blue jeans, khakis to grey wool slacks. Comfortable fit and always sharp looking in any setting."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
August 29, 2014
By: raybo
from Louisville Ky.
"Had loose strings of thread, Material seemed harsh fake like, and was way to heave as a travel coat"
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is what it is,
August 28, 2014
By: Nolanz
"Not a bad jacket for the price. Truly a travel blazer. Something to wear in transit. Definitely not for business unless you fish for a living."
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as advertised,
August 26, 2014
By: Vashonpriest
from Vashon, WA
"It fits well, is comfortable and pack and stores well. O yes, it looks great"
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect travel sport coat!,
August 19, 2014
By: SHUB
from Lake Placid USA
"The Worlds perfect travel sport coat!
3 buttons, center vent & pockets to stash important stuff. A no nonsense
super addition to my wardrobe! No one else makes them like this!
"
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking but stiff,
August 18, 2014
By: sfcustomer
"This jacket looks good, and if it travels as well as expected, it's a keeper. The fabric is a little stiff, but it may not be a problem in the long run."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Perfect fit; coarse fabric,
August 15, 2014
By: Pennywise
"the jacket is well made and fit as expected for size but the fabric is a coarse weave and too heavy for travel. Would order again if Orvis makes a silk/wool blend instead of poly/ wool."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Orivis product (as usual),
August 11, 2014
By: crannogman
from Ottawa/Grenada
"Wonderful jacket. Just what I wanted. Fits great. Only issue I have is the high cost of shipping to Canada. Would love Orvis to look for less expensive options. I would buy more gear!"