Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (250 reviews)
5 stars
177
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
4
229 of 250(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
October 8, 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blazer,
May 18, 2015
By: JustJayne1
from Oregon Coast
"I bought this jacket as a gift for my nephew who is starting a new job as an area manager. It looks like a great jacket that resists wrinkling. He is tall and getting it in a tall size made it the perfect match for him."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A homerun ... as always with Orvis.,
May 17, 2015
By: 2PeopleCanHaveOneNickname
from Arizona
"Travel is what I'll be doing -- to a wedding -- and I wanted something that would stand out but not look formal. The Hopsack Travel Blazer is the perfect answer. The workmanship is elegant. Every stitch perfect, no hint of a wrinkle."
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Informal Travel Blazer,
May 7, 2015
By: TROF
from Arnold, MD
"Built to a purpose, this blazer is more functional than beautiful: the material is a little synthetic/shiney (45% wool) and it has patch pockets. I found the 44R tight and got a free exchange for a 44L which fits (lowered the chest measurement a bit). I would buy it again, but I think it is going to be pretty durable and I am not young."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Travel Blazer,
May 4, 2015
By: JBM1945
from Solana Beach, CA
"While I don't travel all that much, and certainly don't jump out of cars to catch fish in road side water spots I did want a jacket I could wear to work on a daily basis. A jacket that would not get all creased while being worn in the car driving to and from work sites and offices. The coat was delivered in a timely manner. It looks good. I like the coat except that I had to have the selves shorten to fit properly. A tailor had to make that correction.. Also the middle button of the jacket fell off the second day I wore it. My wife was able to correct that. I am interest to se what it will look like after a years hard wear."
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for the price!,
May 4, 2015
By: MTgoat
from Kalispell, MT
"Fit was as expected. I am 6' 2" with monkey arms and the 44L fit perfect. I have worn it once to a local function but haven't traveled with it yet, but will soon. The fabric seems durable."
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 4, 2015
By: Gilc
"I recently wore the blazer for the first time and I was extremely pleased with the garment.It fits well and most important there was no need to worry about it wrinkling even though it was thrown into the back of my car..The pockets within the blazer was another excellent feature especially when traveling and the need to carry a wallet and a passport."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had To Return,
May 4, 2015
By: preach
from Columbus, IN
"I really like the looks of this travel blazer. However, I had to return for larger size. I typically wear a 42L and the coat a bit tight and sleeves just a tad short, so I am hoping the 44L will not be too large/long. I wish it was offered in 43L. Jury still out...waiting to receive the 44L to see how it fits."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buttons,
May 3, 2015
By: NormanHugh
from Netherlands
"The jacket is very smart, even my father liked it. I have worn it from east to west on the globe and like it very much.
But one of the buttons was constantly breaking off. My tailor in Singapore told me that it is the "square" pattern of the button "mount" which slowly wears into the thread and cuts into it.
So always carry a spare button."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well Made Jacket,
April 30, 2015
By: ATexan
from North Texas
"Very surprised this jacket was so well made for the price. It is a good year round weight, and the material is beautiful. Importantly, we took it out of the delivery box, held it up, and it did not have a wrinkle in it. He loved the fit. I had been looking at this jacket for a while, after he noticed it in your catalog. I ordered it quickly when we received a catalog with special discounting. It's an early Father's Day gift, and wrinkle free will be great for traveling this summer."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
April 29, 2015
By: EmeraldIsle
from Lake Geneva, WI
"Exactly as advertised. Easy to wear and the buttons gleam like you just made Admiral of the Fleet. The Coat arrived folded in a garment bag that was boxed. The coat was immediately able to be worn with a full passing grade for no wrinkles or creases."
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent sizing and quality,
April 28, 2015
By: powders
from North Carolina
"The size fit me exactly and the quality was perfect for traveling and more formal use."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No tall people need order,
April 28, 2015
By: Chorevis
"Orvis has a very limited selection of items for tall people. After calling for measurements of the tall version of this blazer and comparing them to blazers that fit me, I ordered it. The sleeve length was so short I thought they sent me the regular length, but they said otherwise. Orvis has a long way to go to fit other than average height customers, both in products and support."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveller's Hopsack Blazer,
April 21, 2015
By: Lenziejag2
from Glasgow, Scotland
"Excellent product! Very practical with plenty of pockets. Comfortable to wear and stays smart. My previous one was worn virtually every day!
Question: Why has the depth of the internal zipped pocket been reduced?
Observation: Please note that Americans must learn that "traveller" is spelt with two internal Ls.
"
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit right out of the catalog,
April 8, 2015
By: EndlessSummerBeliever
from Marlton, NJ
"I am a size 54 and was pleasantly surprised at how well this blazer fit without any tailoring. The material is soft to the skin yet it feels very strong and wrinkle free. You can pack this blazer in your suitcase without a care. It pops right out ready to go to your next meeting. I also love all the pockets inside the blazer for carrying glasses or whatever small items you may need at the ready. I would recommend this blazer to everyone."
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Blazer,
April 8, 2015
By: psa8kid
from Rochester, NY
"Beautiful tailoring, great material and construction, and wrinkle-free to boot. Simply a wonderful blazer for traveling."
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
April 6, 2015
By: Hiram44
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Made in the USA & fits perfectly. No wrinkles even when folded up to carry in a gym bag. Highly recommended to anyone considering a travel blazer."
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Travel Sports Jacket,
April 3, 2015
By: Traveler10708
from Essex, VT
"I'm still looking for that ideal travel sports jacket. I thought I had it with this jacket until it started to pill under the lapels."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket, great service,
April 2, 2015
By: Worldcrusier
from So. Cal & Mich.
"Very soon we are heading off on another long "world" cruise where a nice travel jacket is in order. This will fit the bill very nicely.
Great customer service as we ordered 2 sizes for correct fit, asked for overnight delivery, and returned one. All went as advertised... Thank you Orvis!"
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Defies wrinkles,
March 31, 2015
By: MSKauai
from Kauai
"30 hours of airtime and layovers and stepped off the plane looking like it just came back from the cleaners"