Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style

Many fly tiers prefer down-eye hooks for their looks, particularly on classic patterns. Down-eye style makes tying parachute patterns easier. They have the same great point, Perfect bend, and whisker barb as our original Big Eye hooks. Imported.Sizes: 16-24.
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 28(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Review 1 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BE Hooks,
March 4, 2015
By: 6789
from Northeast Pa
"Excellent for people whose eyesight is not what it used to be."
Review 2 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hooks for small flies,
February 26, 2015
By: bentrod9
from Manila,ut
"For old failing eye sight these are
the best hooks made. The big eye makes tying fly to the tipped so much easier. Great product.
"
Review 3 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
big eye,
February 18, 2015
By: Leon53
"Been using these for years, very sharp and very functional on the stream"
Review 4 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the big eye,
February 17, 2015
By: SeanRiley
"I love the big eye when you're tying on a size #24 hook. Wish we could buy some barbless hooks."
Review 5 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy for aging eyes,
February 16, 2015
By: papac48
from Rochester, N.H.
"Great hook for us older flyfishermen/women. Nice hook to tie with and great to use with tippet material when small flies are used."
Review 6 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help your eyes out,
December 28, 2014
By: bobo55
from El Paso, Texas
"I was introduced to these by a friend who is a guide while fishing the SJ/NM one day. As my eyes become worse these babies make a huge difference. Makes tying on small dries on the river a breeze without a threader."
Review 7 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big eye hooks,
December 1, 2014
By: fishguidejoel
from Shelby, NC
"All hooks should be big-eye. What is the downside?"
Review 8 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really useful idea,
November 14, 2014
By: Steve143
"Big eyed hooks, perfect for thoise of us whose eyes aren't what they used to be, outs off the dreaded hook threader a little longer."
Review 9 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big eye hooks a winner,
August 27, 2014
By: Reel4Steel
from Driftless
"Tying flies in small size is a challenge but I find the greater challenge is tying on small flys on the stream in low light conditions. These large eyes make that task manageable, even down to size 24's These are solid hooks that can handle even large trout in large water."
Review 10 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 7, 2014
By: karlm
from Deerfield, MA
"For those of us whose eyes aren't what they used to be when we were younger"
Review 11 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Small Dries!,
February 10, 2014
By: Steveatparkcity
from Park City
"These are the best flies for tying small flies and parachutes. Not only do they make it easier to tie the fly to tippet - the larger eye means it's easier to avoid crowding the eye when tying size 22s and 24s. Likewise on small parachutes. I haven't tied any elk hair caddis with them but my guess is they'll be easier to tie and tie on due to the big eye. The extra 7% weight doesn't affect their flotation at all."
Review 12 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis big eye hooks,
January 22, 2014
By: fishguidejoel
from Shelby, NC
"I highly recommend Orvis Big eye hooks. They make it easier to tie the tippet to my flies."
Review 13 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought these for tying some size 20 Griffiths gnats and other small dry flies. I did just that and when I went to tie one on to fool a trout, I found it surprised at how easily it was to tie this on. Great, strong, and sharp hook."
Review 14 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Sells Good Hooks,
May 20, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"These are good quality and very sharp hooks. Orvis has a great selection for most any purpose. I own several styles. You can take this review and add it to any of the many sizes, shapes and styles of hooks I have purchased from Orvis. Based on other hooks I purchased from other suppliers, I consider Orvis' prices to be very competitive as well!"
Review 15 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks,
May 1, 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"These are great hooks! The big eye makes it so easy to tie to a tippet. All Orvis hooks are first class and I will be back to buy more!"
Review 16 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Eye for Bad Eyes,
January 31, 2013
By: biggpapag
from Fairview N.C.
"These are great hooks, very sharp and strong. Plus its easy to thread a 7x or 8x tippet."
Review 17 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What It Should Be,
January 26, 2013
By: Stoughmg
from Edinburg, Texas, USA
"This little hook is exactly what it should be. It is small, light, strong and sharp. Lends itself well to the tying of Light and medium gray Caddis and Gray Fox Cayhill lures. Tiny Pearl Parachutes also work out well with this particular hook. A lightly hackled Fuzzy Red Ant or Flying Black Ant works out well on this hook too. It is just what it should be."
Review 18 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to thread,
December 31, 2012
By: joeboo
"The big eye really works as intended and does not detract from the balance of the fly in any way.
In addition these, hooks are sharp out of the pack. An excellent dry fly hook
"
Review 19 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hook,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you are reading this review, you are a fly tier. And if you tie flies, you care about quality and the finished product. These are high quality hooks - strong and sharp. The big eye also is a huge help on the river - especially at my age."
Review 20 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I like these hooks easy to thread and I like the down turned eye"