Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style

Many fly tiers prefer down-eye hooks for their looks, particularly on classic patterns. Down-eye style makes tying parachute patterns easier. They have the same great point, Perfect bend, and whisker barb as our original Big Eye hooks. Imported.Sizes: 16-24.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Review 1 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Small Dries!,
February 10, 2014
By: Steveatparkcity
from Park City
"These are the best flies for tying small flies and parachutes. Not only do they make it easier to tie the fly to tippet - the larger eye means it's easier to avoid crowding the eye when tying size 22s and 24s. Likewise on small parachutes. I haven't tied any elk hair caddis with them but my guess is they'll be easier to tie and tie on due to the big eye. The extra 7% weight doesn't affect their flotation at all."
Review 2 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis big eye hooks,
January 22, 2014
By: fishguidejoel
from Shelby, NC
"I highly recommend Orvis Big eye hooks. They make it easier to tie the tippet to my flies."
Review 3 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought these for tying some size 20 Griffiths gnats and other small dry flies. I did just that and when I went to tie one on to fool a trout, I found it surprised at how easily it was to tie this on. Great, strong, and sharp hook."
Review 4 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Sells Good Hooks,
May 20, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"These are good quality and very sharp hooks. Orvis has a great selection for most any purpose. I own several styles. You can take this review and add it to any of the many sizes, shapes and styles of hooks I have purchased from Orvis. Based on other hooks I purchased from other suppliers, I consider Orvis' prices to be very competitive as well!"
Review 5 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks,
May 1, 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"These are great hooks! The big eye makes it so easy to tie to a tippet. All Orvis hooks are first class and I will be back to buy more!"
Review 6 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Eye for Bad Eyes,
January 31, 2013
By: biggpapag
from Fairview N.C.
"These are great hooks, very sharp and strong. Plus its easy to thread a 7x or 8x tippet."
Review 7 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What It Should Be,
January 26, 2013
By: Stoughmg
from Edinburg, Texas, USA
"This little hook is exactly what it should be. It is small, light, strong and sharp. Lends itself well to the tying of Light and medium gray Caddis and Gray Fox Cayhill lures. Tiny Pearl Parachutes also work out well with this particular hook. A lightly hackled Fuzzy Red Ant or Flying Black Ant works out well on this hook too. It is just what it should be."
Review 8 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to thread,
December 31, 2012
By: joeboo
"The big eye really works as intended and does not detract from the balance of the fly in any way.
In addition these, hooks are sharp out of the pack. An excellent dry fly hook
"
Review 9 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hook,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you are reading this review, you are a fly tier. And if you tie flies, you care about quality and the finished product. These are high quality hooks - strong and sharp. The big eye also is a huge help on the river - especially at my age."
Review 10 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I like these hooks easy to thread and I like the down turned eye"
Review 11 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigger eyes, the better,
February 3, 2012
By: majhor
"The days on the water just seem more enjoyable with the big eye hooks. I still use mags of all types to do my threading of flies and knots, but these hooks are such an aide. I hope a humped shank model is in the works. If so, sign me up, coach."
Review 12 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to thread,
January 10, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"I like these because the eye is big enough to see clearly to thread"
Review 13 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fills the bill exactly,
June 28, 2011
By: lesfish
"Big eye hooks make fly tying so much easier with smaller sizes. To say nothing of the fact that tying a fly onto a leader with the big eye hooks is now a simple thing to do. They work especially well with flys that are small or have lots of hair/hackle at the front of the fly."
Review 14 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 24, 2010
By: oldflyfisherman
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This hook works well for me, it is easier to get the line through the eye and seems to not break the leader due to more area for the leader to attach."
Review 15 for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 18, 2010
By: gilbar
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"these are great for those of us that have a hard time seeing and threading regular sized eyes"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Big Eye Hook in Down-Eye Style
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3