Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet

Characterisitics: Very strong and nearly invisible in water. Impervious to UV. Slightly stiffer and more abrasion resistant than Super Strong tippet. Fluorocarbon tippet sinks quicker than nylon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
55 of 59(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Review 1 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible line,
April 30, 2014
By: Jamesv123
from Royal oak MI
"I purchased this line as leader material for steelhead fishing on the PM in northwest Michigan. I bought this line in royal oak I'm very loyal to rio products for leader and tippet and was talked into trying orvis fluro. This line was terrible no knot strength high high memory broke in the middle of the line terrible terrible stuff basically ruined my trip I'll never buy this line again"
Review 2 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clear, stiff and easy to handle,
December 10, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"Got this tippet line for a replacement to update my reel for a redfish trip with Captain Tuck. It was easy to install, simple stretch got out the curls and it is ready for the water."
Review 3 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trusty Tippet,
December 7, 2013
By: njgates
from Grants Pass, OR
"This is the only fluorocarbon tippet I use, and the only one I trust once I get a Steelhead on the line!"
Review 4 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
7x,
August 27, 2013
By: ADavidG
"Good tippet material for sunny days, clear water and spooky fish. Strong and easy to work with."
Review 5 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellant fluorocarbon tippet,
March 21, 2013
By: hatchingpupa
from Selkirk, New York
"Stealth is my best description of the Mirage Fluorocarbon tippet. Fish are leader shy especially on streams that get a lot of fishing pressure. Using this fluorocarbon tippet plus fly selection gives me an advantage."
Review 6 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best for sinking fast and smooth,
March 18, 2013
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"Only needed to use this stuff once to see the difference between this and the non-flouro tippet, works great for nymphing !!!! Have needed this stuff for a long time."
Review 7 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 3, 2012
By: raildog
"I use the Mirage fluorocarbon Tippet with a floating fly line and a floating sponge rubber spider in the clear water of strip mine lakes in Indiana for blue gill. I have had trouble in the past with leader drag leaving 'vees' on the surface, but the Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet does away with this problem. Thanks for another great product!"
Review 8 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent knot strength,
September 25, 2012
By: drifter7
from south wales
"An excellent fluorocarbon tippet with tremendous knot strength, flexible, but does not "coil" like other tippets, i would highly recommend this tippet for wet fly fishing."
Review 9 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best tippet material on the market,
August 20, 2012
By: NORFOLKBROADSMAN
from Norfolk UK
"Although expensive, I rate this tippet material the best on the market, and use it for all of my trout fishing, and most of my other fresh and salt water fishing because it is supple, near invisible in water, and very durable!
I recommend it to everybody
"
Review 10 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fluorocarbon,
August 15, 2012
By: Anyfishonafly
from Warmwater, N.D.
"My favorite fluorocarbon, great knots,strength,etc."
Review 11 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help the environment,
July 15, 2012
By: Knom56
from Leicester Englend, UK
"Mirage is an excellent product, fish don't get distracted by seeing tippet.
Now the suggestion, please save money and the environment by using the smaller spool for all lengths of tippet. There is so much spare capacity on the 40m spool, and it takes up less room in my vest pocket/bag.
"
Review 12 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Leader,
June 7, 2012
By: BlackPearlCastNets
from Punta Gorda, Fl
"Great Leader for the money, it has a good shock stretch which I really like. Orvis could put a better stretch band on the leader so that the leader doesn't uncoil but that is my main complaint... also the size 30 (80 lb) is a thinner mm 80 which is good but it is not a true 80 lb test, it will not pick up 80 lbs of weight like other thicker 80 lb leaders that I have tested apples for apples.
Shawn
"
Review 13 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed (sometimes!),
April 25, 2012
By: Frustrated1
from Belfast, Northern Ireland
"This line, unlike the Max Knot, which came off the spool in curly pigtails which stayed as memory, actually came off the spool well, stayingbstraightvand true. This ordinary Mirage which was breaking overly easy at the knot. I have used both of these products satisfactorily in the past, but there seem to be consistency / quality assurance issues with both being prone to fluctuate in my experience. At its best these are potentially great products. It's just a pity that my confidence in these lines keep getting dented by the consistency of quality issues which I and my fishing partner have both encountered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
March 14, 2012
By: WNCBlueLiner
from Winston Salem, NC
"Bought on sale, first time stepping down to 7x for delayed harvest in North Carolina. Landed a nice 'bow after a decent fight. Very little line memory. Will buy again."
Review 15 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best There is!,
March 13, 2012
By: Lutz7000
from Knife River Flies, Knox, IN
"This is better than sliced bread.
Excellent strength with minimum diameter.
"
Review 16 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Orvis winner,
February 29, 2012
By: Fjordshark
from Everett, WA
"Again Orvis delivered. Quick shipping and the Mirage doesn't disappoint when put to the test"
Review 17 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Near Invisible,
February 26, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Asheville, NC
"First time out with it 4 Wild Rainbows in an hour. Thats pretty good for me!"
Review 18 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catch more fish,
February 14, 2012
By: doublehaul
from Rouge River Watershed, MI
"I have been using Mirage Fluorocarbon tippet material for past 2 years.. I have noticed a 30% increase in catch rate since using it. .. A simple concept..fish cant see your line, you catch more fish!...there is nothing not to like.."
Review 19 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Standardize,
January 30, 2012
By: Jimthree
"Great product, no complaints with the tipet. I would, however, very much appreciate it if Orvis would standardize the 30 and 40 meter(from the combo pacs) tippet spools so that they would snap together securely. Anything to help keep our vests and bags more organized would be a plus."
Review 20 for Mirage Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong as can be,
January 24, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"Fluoro is the only way to go on tippet. Stay strong and your fish will stay on!"