Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Simoom Jacket

Our popular Simoom fabric, with its luxuriously soft fleece interior and twill exterior, translates nicely into a versatile women's sweatshirt that will ensure you are prepared for dips in the temperature. Details include stand collar, washable leather elbow patches, on-seam half-moon pockets, and leather toggles. Women's fleece sweatshirt in khaki. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(6-8); about 26" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.011 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
6
70 of 89(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simoom Jacket
Review 1 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
May 7, 2013
By: Stone1953
from Houston, TX
"Bought this jacket for my wife as a late winter/early spring jacket and she loves it. Very pleased with the quality of the garment and the leather accents really set the jacket apart from others. Thanks again Orvis for another great product!"
Review 2 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely, but waaay too big...,
April 23, 2013
By: TropicalSmoothie
"Liked this jacket, but it's way too big in medium. No time to reorder."
Review 3 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little small,
April 9, 2013
By: LovinOrvis
from currently Okinawa, Japan
"I am a new shopper and buyer of Orvis women's clothing. Such excellent quality and since I'm a sale shopper, for the quality, you cannot beat the price. Absolutely loved the Simoom Jacket. Waited for it to go on sale. Bought a medium, I am a size 12. Runs slighlty smaller than what I wanted; most clothing I have purchased in size 12 or medium has been spot on. For this one though, I'm ordering a large to get that "extra comfy room" I wanted this jacket to provide. Quaility is beyond compare! Only product I have ordered up 1 size. So soft! Very warm! Still in love with it..."
Review 4 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unique style,
April 2, 2013
By: BettieBoop
from Milwaukee, WI
"I purchased this for a trip to wear as a light coat because I liked the unique style. The interior is very fuzzy and will come off on any item worn under it, until it is washed at least two times. Then the fuzz problem is much better. All of the buttons were barely sewn on and were almost coming off when it arrived, so I had to sew each one on more securely. Once these things were done, then it was fine. Now I enjoy wearing it, but it did need extra attention at the beginning. It washes well in cold water and fluffs nicely in a cool dryer, then it is best to hang it on a hanger to complete the drying process. I would recommend this item to a friend if they don't mind the initial preparation needed to make it satisfactory."
Review 5 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
February 19, 2013
By: poulet
from Baltimore, MD
"The concept and design were appealing but the fabric was limp and, consequently, the jacket hung on me in an attractive, boxy sort of was. Also, the sizing tends towards too big and boxy."
Review 6 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good neutrtal,
February 14, 2013
By: Luvya
from North Georgia
"I always adfmired this jacket in the catalog, ordererd it once, but they were out of my size. Upon seeing it on sale, orderd immediately. The construction quality not as good as Orvis usually is, with loose threads. Color is a beige and tan blend. Fabric is lighter weight than I expected, but inside has a soft finish, adding warmth. Leather elbow pads are nice, but leather button loops appear unfinished. I will enjoy it but slightly disappointed."
Review 7 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little jacket,
February 12, 2013
By: professorZ
from Iowa City, IA
"I love the way this jacket looks on--great collar and nice leather touches on the elbows and the buttonholes. Just a great jacket you can throw on over jeans or slacks."
Review 8 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Jacket,
February 1, 2013
By: KateMacClean
from Green Bay, WI
"This easy to wear jacket is as warm as it is wearable. It's elbow patches are stylish, quality fabric lends to wearing it everywhere. Great Must Have Piece this winter!"
Review 9 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater/jacket combo,
January 28, 2013
By: ColoradoCasualGirl
from Steamboat Springs, CO
"I LOVE this jacket. It's casual, and yet adds pizzazz to a plain T-shirt and jeans. (One of the leather button loops arrived detached, but it was a quick and easy fix, even for a non-seamstress like me.) The leather touches add richness to the otherwise casual look. It's a terrific spring and fall wardrobe addition (and winter in AZ)."
Review 10 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
January 24, 2013
By: Kentuckywoman
"Really like the fit, comfort, and the leather elbow patches. You can dress it up or go kick back casual.
A fun wear. (plus warm)
"
Review 11 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
terrible,
January 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I really liked the look of this item, however when it arrived it was massively wide and super short in the sleeve length. It's too costly for me to send this item back so it goes into the weird clothes bin!"
Review 12 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not As I Pictured,
January 22, 2013
By: Champshopper
from Cromwell, CT
"I've had my eye on the jacket for some time and when I saw that it was on sale I ordered it immediately. It looks so good on the model in the ad but it hung too large on me and the fabric is not as tightly woven as I thought."
Review 13 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket,
January 12, 2013
By: DarbysMom
from Pennsylvania
"This jacket is very comfortable and just the right layer for traveling. It looks great with jeans or leggings and boots. Very nice details in the closure and elbow patches."
Review 14 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
January 10, 2013
By: froggielorraine
from Olympia, WA
"Somehow, this jacket in person didn't look as nice as it does in the photographs. The color was more drab, and the leather trim didn't appeal. I've been happy with most of my Orvis purchases, but I sent this jacket back."
Review 15 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Limited Use,
January 9, 2013
By: Sebastiane
from Memphis, TN
"I returned this jacket for a cardigan sweater. This jacket cannot be dressed up very well, as can a cardigan. Also since there is no placket behind the buttons, any blouse shows. Prints or plaids don't look very well peeping through. However, it's well made and classy looking with the leather button loops and elbow patches!"
Review 16 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not what I expected,
January 1, 2013
By: tllies
from wichita, KS
"I was sure that it had toggle buttons and was dissapointed that it didn't and it didn't close right with the buttons otherwise it was very nice."
Review 17 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Item,
January 1, 2013
By: JEF12
from Cumbria
"Bought in the sale, greqt value for money.
Well made, easy to wear. Cannot buy on the high street which is always a plus. I found the sizing accurate. Lovely item which should last for years. Highly recommended.
"
Review 18 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another beautiful Orvis product,
December 30, 2012
By: dbalbat
from Hollis, NH
"I have been eyeing this Simoon jacket for some time. After visiting the Boston store I decided to have my girlfriend purchase it for me just in time for Christmas. It's beautiful and can wear it as dress up or even casual."
Review 19 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Fit,
December 28, 2012
By: GeorgieS
"Beautiful fit and stylish. My wife loved the color too!"
Review 20 for Simoom Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely cozy sweater,
December 28, 2012
By: madamex
from Philadelphia, pa
"Wonderfully soft sweater, sweet details, elbow patches, pockets. generous sizing. What more can you ask for?"