Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style

Tie flies onto tippet faster and easier than you can with traditional-eye hooks. Great for fishing in poor light. Big Eye® hooks have eyes between 225% and 306% (depending on hook size) larger in the internal hook-eye area than conventional dry-fly hooks. Our size 22 Big Eye hooks have the same-size eye as a conventional size 16 hook! And a size 16 Big Eye has the eye of a normal size 10! These are some of the finest, most carefully made hooks ever offered.Ring eye, Model Perfect bend, and wide gape for best possible hooking angle; whisker barb for easy release and better hooking; chemically sharpened—every hook extremely sharp; deep bronzing for exceptional rust resistance. Even sizes: 12-26.
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Review 1 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tiny Emergers,
November 26, 2014
By: defty
from New Jersey
"The larger eyes don't deter fishing from going after your fly. I've been using the Big Eye size 20, 22, and 24 in a straight-eye style for my BWO emergers and have caught more fish this past fall than any other fly. Use them as the bottom dropper fly."
Review 2 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for old guys,
November 26, 2014
By: topgun2
from Brevard, NC
"Of course these hooks are easier to tie on - duh! But there are other benefits too. With the larger eye one can use a larger tippet and there are times when this is more than appropriate. Assuming that the fish are not leader shy then the larger tippet allows for landing the fish more quickly thus enhancing its chance of survival. The larger tippet allows one at least the chance of recovering a snagged fly and should result in less breakage due to abrasion.
Combine the above with consistently sharp points at the other end and the result is a winner."
Review 3 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Eye Hooks,
November 14, 2014
By: nungu
from Christchurch Dorset
"Now myeyesight is fai;ing thru old age these large eye hooks make it easier to thread it on the leader"
Review 4 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind.,
July 24, 2014
By: oldWGF
from Central Oregon
"These are WONDERFUL hooks. I cannot find a similar hook anywhere.
The BIG EYE really is a bigger eye and so nice to work with. They are strong and do not bend easily as light as they are. I use them for size 20 nymphs also. I give them a 10 star rating. WGF.
"
Review 5 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hook of choice.,
July 24, 2014
By: bydodlizza
from Waynesville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the hook I've used for many years. The mini barb and sharp point are superior to other hooks.I especially like the smaller sizes, 20-26; they are easy to thread."
Review 6 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hackle,
February 25, 2014
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"I like these on small sizes because when finishing the head I am less apt to track hackle down. The big eye makes threading fine tippets much easier also."
Review 7 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Relief for aging eyes,
February 23, 2014
By: 250savage
from Western NC
"I love the big eye dry hooks. These old eyes of mine thank me every time I switch flies. Should be voted fly tying product of the millennium!"
Review 8 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hook for putting on the tippet in mid stream,
February 21, 2014
By: Buzard2
from Colorado
"When the wind is blowing and the river is rushing around you in the middle of a Trico or BWO hatch and you've just been broken off, there is no better hook for ttying on your #6 or 7 Tippet. It's my go to hook for the tiny flies on the river."
Review 9 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
February 7, 2014
By: Kingspin
from Houston
"These are great hooks. I love the big eyes. The hold the material back better when tying off. Also easier to see when tying the fly on your tippet. You have to be patient with Orvis, it took me 12 days total to get my order. They use both UPS and USPS for some orders. Seems for the price I paid for shipping, they would not use a combination."
Review 10 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only dry fly hook for me !,
January 15, 2014
By: christy000
from limerick Ireland
"As a mostly river man I needed a hook that worked and believe me I tried them all
For the last few years ,I have been
using the big eye straight style-
It has never failed to do the job-Great for both tying and fishing I am more than satisfied
Christy
"
Review 11 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hooks,
June 28, 2013
By: FlyDrowner
from Norfolk, UK
"These hooks are excellent.
The big eye is a real boon for my ageing eyes.
The wire is light but strong, and the point stays sharp.
Come on Orvis.
Let's see some more styles like heavier wet fly hooks, or grubbers.
"
Review 12 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought these hooks in size 14. Very sharp hooks and very easy to tie to. great hook."
Review 13 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dry Fly Hooks,
May 7, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"I bought a packet of 50 of these in size 18 as the larger packs offer better value. I tied up a batch peacock quill parachutes for the river Leven this weekend and they worked a treat - 15 fish raised & 10 hooked and landed. The tippet was easy to thread, the fly floated all day and the point stayed needle sharp.
Highly recommended"
Review 14 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
favorite,
April 6, 2013
By: 250savage
"Big Eye Straight-eye are my favorite hooks for dry fly tying. It sure helps my aging eyes when switching flies on the stream."
Review 15 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good idea,
December 28, 2012
By: JohnInColorado
from Lakewood, CO
"I haven't had much of an opportunity to tie these hooks onto a 6x or 7x tippet yet but I'm thinking the bigger eye will help, especially on a size 22."
Review 16 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still the Best,
December 26, 2012
By: CreativeFishing
from Flaming Gorge, UT
"I've been using these hooks since they first hit the market, but at times I've had to use the "others" too. There's still no comparison. The Big Eyes are easy to thread, especially as my eyes age. They're strong enough to not straighten with heavy tippets, yet light enough to float all my dries, even sparse ones. And sharp right out of the box. I couldn't ask for any more from a hook. Perfect."
Review 17 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential for over 50's,
October 29, 2012
By: OBJohn
"By the age of 55 more than 80 % of fishermen need to wear glasses for close vision. These big eye hooks make it possible to tie small flies and still be able to thread the line through on the river bank. before I discovered them I had given up tying flies smaller that size 14. Now I can fish size 20 nymphs and they really do catch fish when all else fails."
Review 18 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hook,
September 18, 2012
By: GBWX
"The big eye and micro barb make this a great fly hook. The only thing that would make it better would be if they came barbless."
Review 19 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
compared to what,
June 12, 2012
By: inthesaltdaily
from Maine in summer, RI,CT,and NJ in Fall
"The hooks are good enough, but I did not find the eyes any easier to thread than the Mustads I have been using."
Review 20 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Eye Hooks,
February 21, 2012
By: DarylC
from Ludington, MI
"I love Big Eye hooks. My only suggestion would be to include some longer shanked nymph hooks. My eyes have just as much trouble with small nymphys as they do small dry flies. I would LOVE to see some longer shanked versions.
I was actually thinking about hook with bigger eyes just before you came out with this product. I think you were reading my mind, and thanks, Big Eye hooks are a must."