Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style

Tie flies onto tippet faster and easier than you can with traditional-eye hooks. Great for fishing in poor light. Big Eye® hooks have eyes between 225% and 306% (depending on hook size) larger in the internal hook-eye area than conventional dry-fly hooks. Our size 22 Big Eye hooks have the same-size eye as a conventional size 16 hook! And a size 16 Big Eye has the eye of a normal size 10! These are some of the finest, most carefully made hooks ever offered.Ring eye, Model Perfect bend, and wide gape for best possible hooking angle; whisker barb for easy release and better hooking; chemically sharpened—every hook extremely sharp; deep bronzing for exceptional rust resistance. Even sizes: 12-26.
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 37(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Review 1 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Eye's Have It,
August 9, 2015
By: Gregb226
from Augusta, Maine
"Easy when tying a fly on and tying a fly. It is easier to see where 1/3 behind the eye is as measurement for tying. It's much easier to find and hit the eye first time when on the water and the eye is mush easier to clear of head cement. The biggest plus for me is in low light or using a head lamp, you can easily find the eye."
Review 2 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hooks,
July 31, 2015
By: Dave001
from Las Cruces, New Mexico
"These are great hooks to fish with as well as tying flies. I don't understand why more types of hooks are not offered in the big eye style. the large eyes make it easy to keep from crowding the eye while tying and even if you do crowd the eye, it is more forgiving. I'm 63 with not so good eye and large eye keep me fishing and not trying to thread the eye of the hook."
Review 3 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Eye Straught-Eye Hooks,
April 29, 2015
By: AvidAngler
from Western Ohio
"Excellent for tying small hooks to a tippet in low light conditions. Also enough hook shank length to add a bead if desired when tying some fly patterns."
Review 4 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More time on the water,
April 20, 2015
By: ogdenboys
from NE Oklahoma
"I fish small. 24-28 for adult midges in my area and most areas for that matter. The Orvis Big Eyes simply give me more time on the water. A cold windy day or a calm mild day can be testy fishing size 24 and down. An 8x tippet is always testy and these big eyes do help. I wish Orvis sized below a 26 but I am glad they go that small. I have never seen a rejection because of the eye size, if I did I would not use these hooks. I am on the water more and simply catch more fish."
Review 5 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product!,
February 16, 2015
By: Perdix
from Worcestershire, UK
"As age has started to creep up on me I noticed that the eyes of fly hooks started being made smaller, seemingly ;-) But then I noticed that those nice people from Orvis catered for old guys like me by making their Big Eyed Hooks. They are great hooks, well tempered and finely made, but with a BIG HOOK EYE.
Well done Orvis, thank you!"
Review 6 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHARP !!,
February 13, 2015
By: PNWJeeper
from High Cascades of Oregon
"Tacky sharp hooks and I can thread 6X tippets through the eyes of these Big Eye hooks without my 3 power readers, even if I crowd the eyes a little when tying my favorite size 18 emergers. AMAZING hooks."
Review 7 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Old Eyes,
February 9, 2015
By: rodbuilder
"I love this product because it enables me to do what I love, flyfishing, with less effort and frustration. In the dim light it is a Godsend which allows me to fish longer and enjoy the evening."
Review 8 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Eye Hooks,
January 20, 2015
By: Nversink
from Upstate N.Y.
"Love the big eye hooks. Very sharp good quality. Can't go wrong ."
Review 9 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tiny Emergers,
November 26, 2014
By: defty
from New Jersey
"The larger eyes don't deter fishing from going after your fly. I've been using the Big Eye size 20, 22, and 24 in a straight-eye style for my BWO emergers and have caught more fish this past fall than any other fly. Use them as the bottom dropper fly."
Review 10 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for old guys,
November 26, 2014
By: topgun2
from Brevard, NC
"Of course these hooks are easier to tie on - duh! But there are other benefits too. With the larger eye one can use a larger tippet and there are times when this is more than appropriate. Assuming that the fish are not leader shy then the larger tippet allows for landing the fish more quickly thus enhancing its chance of survival. The larger tippet allows one at least the chance of recovering a snagged fly and should result in less breakage due to abrasion.
Combine the above with consistently sharp points at the other end and the result is a winner."
Review 11 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Eye Hooks,
November 14, 2014
By: nungu
from Christchurch Dorset
"Now myeyesight is fai;ing thru old age these large eye hooks make it easier to thread it on the leader"
Review 12 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind.,
July 24, 2014
By: oldWGF
from Central Oregon
"These are WONDERFUL hooks. I cannot find a similar hook anywhere.
The BIG EYE really is a bigger eye and so nice to work with. They are strong and do not bend easily as light as they are. I use them for size 20 nymphs also. I give them a 10 star rating. WGF.
"
Review 13 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hook of choice.,
July 24, 2014
By: bydodlizza
from Waynesville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the hook I've used for many years. The mini barb and sharp point are superior to other hooks.I especially like the smaller sizes, 20-26; they are easy to thread."
Review 14 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hackle,
February 25, 2014
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"I like these on small sizes because when finishing the head I am less apt to track hackle down. The big eye makes threading fine tippets much easier also."
Review 15 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Relief for aging eyes,
February 23, 2014
By: 250savage
from Western NC
"I love the big eye dry hooks. These old eyes of mine thank me every time I switch flies. Should be voted fly tying product of the millennium!"
Review 16 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hook for putting on the tippet in mid stream,
February 21, 2014
By: Buzard2
from Colorado
"When the wind is blowing and the river is rushing around you in the middle of a Trico or BWO hatch and you've just been broken off, there is no better hook for ttying on your #6 or 7 Tippet. It's my go to hook for the tiny flies on the river."
Review 17 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
February 7, 2014
By: Kingspin
from Houston
"These are great hooks. I love the big eyes. The hold the material back better when tying off. Also easier to see when tying the fly on your tippet. You have to be patient with Orvis, it took me 12 days total to get my order. They use both UPS and USPS for some orders. Seems for the price I paid for shipping, they would not use a combination."
Review 18 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only dry fly hook for me !,
January 15, 2014
By: christy000
from limerick Ireland
"As a mostly river man I needed a hook that worked and believe me I tried them all
For the last few years ,I have been
using the big eye straight style-
It has never failed to do the job-Great for both tying and fishing I am more than satisfied
Christy
"
Review 19 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hooks,
June 28, 2013
By: FlyDrowner
from Norfolk, UK
"These hooks are excellent.
The big eye is a real boon for my ageing eyes.
The wire is light but strong, and the point stays sharp.
Come on Orvis.
Let's see some more styles like heavier wet fly hooks, or grubbers.
"
Review 20 for Big Eye Hook in Straight-Eye Style
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought these hooks in size 14. Very sharp hooks and very easy to tie to. great hook."