Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt

A cool, comfortable men's summer shirt hand printed in India. Constructed of 4-oz. pure cotton fabric nearly as lightweight as our Marquesas™ cotton for breathable, hot-weather comfort. The traditional hand-printed pattern—kalam being Hindi for “pen,” kari meaning “art”—features distinctive vine motifs, the earthy colors derived from fruits, herbs, and leaves. Spread collar, two-pocket styling, short sleeves for casual style and comfort. Men's summer shirt in brown. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
56 of 59(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Review 1 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I want your shirt!,
September 10, 2014
By: BJPSJ
from McMinnville, OR
"My husband picked out his own Father's Day present - the Kalamkari shirt. He was so pleased when it arrived. The first time he wore it was to a Dr. appt. A lab tech said "I want your shirt!" and teased him that he might night leave the office with it. Later over lunch the waiter complimented him on his good-looking shirt. It is a handsome shirt and he is very happy with his gift."
Review 2 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Shirt,
July 16, 2014
By: txgirlinpa
from PA
"Bought this for my husband, and he loves it. Washed well, hung dry and ironed. Very colorful shirt that goes with jeans, slacks and shorts. True to size."
Review 3 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool,no wrinkle,
July 15, 2014
By: mariocollections
from doral FL
"I have bought many clothes from orvis,this shirts are fantastic,fpr hot weather,they do not wrinkle and are so diferent from others. I bought several in diferent colors."
Review 4 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect shirt Kalamkari,
July 15, 2014
By: DPalkowsky
from Houston, Tx
"Shirt was exactly what I was expecting. Both the pattern and color matched was I saw online. Fit was perfect."
Review 5 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grrrreat!,
July 10, 2014
By: captmidnight46
from Palm Springs, CA
"Great looking shirt! Very comfortable..excellent quality...Love it!"
Review 6 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt!!!,
May 12, 2014
By: FishingInTexas
from Houston, TX
"Really love this shirt. Brilliant colors, great fabric, light enough for the humidity here in Houston. Got several compliments first time out. Looking for more just like this."
Review 7 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 12, 2014
By: Linda518
from Kansas City MO
"Great shirt at a great price. I like it because it is different than most prints in department stores."
Review 8 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing Purchase,
May 11, 2014
By: Kapapman
from Tucson,AZ
"Very poorly sized and can really be worn tucked into pants."
Review 9 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
New shirt,
April 8, 2014
By: DoubleJJJ127
"I recently purchased the kalamkari shirt. I looked like what was displayed in the catalog and fit well but for the price seemed to be a little underwhelming. By the time you pay shipping and taxes it gets a little expensive. The best thing about is no one else here has one."
Review 10 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Birthday Gift!!,
April 1, 2014
By: hoot1
"This shirt was true to size, as well as colors and pattern! I knew the second I saw it that it was perfect for my brother-in-law! It was exactly as represented! My sister said that he loved it so much that he would have slept in it had she not insisted he take it off!!! Perfect!"
Review 11 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 17, 2014
By: huub
"I love these Kalamkari shirts. The centuries old history and uniqueness of the print and fabric design make. these shirts very attractive.The quality of the fabric and the crafted sewing defines this garment. Both are perfect. This shirt is extremely comfortable to wear. The fit around the neck and the rise of the collar are perfectly paired. The cotton fabric just makes them so easy and comfy to wear. The shoulders and the sleeve openings are sized correctly. These shirts are soft to wear and attractive by design. This Kalamkari shirt maintains its good looks and shape. Really, just a fun shirt to own and wear."
Review 12 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tropical comfort,
February 6, 2014
By: SirAndrew
"Bought this in the tent sale at a ridiculous price. Just wore it on a trip to West Africa - perfect soft comfortable cool shirt."
Review 13 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulously generous,
February 3, 2014
By: Hector17
from Westerham
"What a wonderful shirt! One of the most generous fits I've ever known. Even to the point that I've shrunk to a mere XL!"
Review 14 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking shirt,
July 24, 2013
By: dusty1947
from N W Arkansas
"very neat-looking shirt with many colors. makes a very distinctive casual look."
Review 15 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great colors, nuisance neck brand tag,
July 24, 2013
By: windycity1490
from West Des Moines, Iowa
"This is yet one more in a series of shirts that I have purchased from Orvis with great satisfaction. Super fits, distinctive colors, many are wrinkle free. My only complaint about the entire line is the common problem of shirtmakers of putting their tags in the neck area of shirts rather than printing their brand which does not itch. So, I end up cutting them all out, thus defeating the purpose of a fine company...their branding is eliminated with the removal of the tag. The recommendation is to go to permanent printing that is comfortable and embedded in the material rather than tags that I simply remove (tragically)."
Review 16 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Shirt,
July 21, 2013
By: Brit1953
from Holland, MI
"Love the look and fit of this shirt. The colors and print of the fabric are very unique. The shirt looks great on my husband."
Review 17 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt,
July 15, 2013
By: McMillion
"Didn't like the shirt because the actual shirt looked much different than what the catalogue picture looked like . . . . colors were different on the shirt."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 24, 2013
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 18 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable summer shirt,
July 1, 2013
By: ComfortDad
"Well made, appears to be of durable cotton and most important, very comfortable to wear.
Fits true to size.
Recommended
"
Review 19 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lot's of complements,
June 26, 2013
By: oljer
from Northwest
"Shirt gets lots of nice comments. I like the two pockets and the fact that it does not wrinkle easily. Orvis shirts are the best for traveling."
Review 20 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 12, 2013
By: hornhead
"i am old and "full bodied" :>)
this shirt fit nice and loose for me in XL
"