Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt

A cool, comfortable men's summer shirt hand printed in India. Constructed of 4-oz. pure cotton fabric nearly as lightweight as our Marquesas™ cotton for breathable, hot-weather comfort. The traditional hand-printed pattern—kalam being Hindi for “pen,” kari meaning “art”—features distinctive vine motifs, the earthy colors derived from fruits, herbs, and leaves. Spread collar, two-pocket styling, short sleeves for casual style and comfort. Men's summer shirt in brown. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.612 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 49(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Review 1 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
New shirt,
April 8, 2014
By: DoubleJJJ127
"I recently purchased the kalamkari shirt. I looked like what was displayed in the catalog and fit well but for the price seemed to be a little underwhelming. By the time you pay shipping and taxes it gets a little expensive. The best thing about is no one else here has one."
Review 2 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Birthday Gift!!,
April 1, 2014
By: hoot1
"This shirt was true to size, as well as colors and pattern! I knew the second I saw it that it was perfect for my brother-in-law! It was exactly as represented! My sister said that he loved it so much that he would have slept in it had she not insisted he take it off!!! Perfect!"
Review 3 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 17, 2014
By: huub
"I love these Kalamkari shirts. The centuries old history and uniqueness of the print and fabric design make. these shirts very attractive.The quality of the fabric and the crafted sewing defines this garment. Both are perfect. This shirt is extremely comfortable to wear. The fit around the neck and the rise of the collar are perfectly paired. The cotton fabric just makes them so easy and comfy to wear. The shoulders and the sleeve openings are sized correctly. These shirts are soft to wear and attractive by design. This Kalamkari shirt maintains its good looks and shape. Really, just a fun shirt to own and wear."
Review 4 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tropical comfort,
February 6, 2014
By: SirAndrew
"Bought this in the tent sale at a ridiculous price. Just wore it on a trip to West Africa - perfect soft comfortable cool shirt."
Review 5 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulously generous,
February 3, 2014
By: Hector17
from Westerham
"What a wonderful shirt! One of the most generous fits I've ever known. Even to the point that I've shrunk to a mere XL!"
Review 6 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking shirt,
July 24, 2013
By: dusty1947
from N W Arkansas
"very neat-looking shirt with many colors. makes a very distinctive casual look."
Review 7 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great colors, nuisance neck brand tag,
July 24, 2013
By: windycity1490
from West Des Moines, Iowa
"This is yet one more in a series of shirts that I have purchased from Orvis with great satisfaction. Super fits, distinctive colors, many are wrinkle free. My only complaint about the entire line is the common problem of shirtmakers of putting their tags in the neck area of shirts rather than printing their brand which does not itch. So, I end up cutting them all out, thus defeating the purpose of a fine company...their branding is eliminated with the removal of the tag. The recommendation is to go to permanent printing that is comfortable and embedded in the material rather than tags that I simply remove (tragically)."
Review 8 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Shirt,
July 21, 2013
By: Brit1953
from Holland, MI
"Love the look and fit of this shirt. The colors and print of the fabric are very unique. The shirt looks great on my husband."
Review 9 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt,
July 15, 2013
By: McMillion
"Didn't like the shirt because the actual shirt looked much different than what the catalogue picture looked like . . . . colors were different on the shirt."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 24, 2013
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 10 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable summer shirt,
July 1, 2013
By: ComfortDad
"Well made, appears to be of durable cotton and most important, very comfortable to wear.
Fits true to size.
Recommended
"
Review 11 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lot's of complements,
June 26, 2013
By: oljer
from Northwest
"Shirt gets lots of nice comments. I like the two pockets and the fact that it does not wrinkle easily. Orvis shirts are the best for traveling."
Review 12 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 12, 2013
By: hornhead
"i am old and "full bodied" :>)
this shirt fit nice and loose for me in XL
"
Review 13 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two chest pockets,
February 25, 2013
By: Raindrops
from Portland, OR
"My husband loved this shirt. Orvis is one of the few places where you can actually buy a two pocket, easy care fabric, men's shirt. I'm not sure exactly why two pocket shirts are so hard to fine, but they are. Some guys don't like sitting on wallets, so two pockets is a necessity. Keep making them, and I'll keep buying them. Would love to see more of those beautiful plaid wrinkle free ones you had in your catalog several years ago."
Review 14 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great-looking shirt!,
September 27, 2012
By: peaandbee
from Winnipeg, Canada
"Fits just right, it has beautiful print on the cloth, and best of all -- the cloth doesn't have that chemical sizing, which my husband detests because he has sensitive skin & most shirts irritate."
Review 15 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Watch the sizes,
August 13, 2012
By: PhDig
"I'm 5'10, 180 lbs, 42" chest - and large swallowed me. Had it replaced with medium, chest and shoulders ok, but neck tight. Since I don't plan to button the collar, I kept it. It is a beautiful and high quality shirt, but the sizes are off."
Review 16 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A colorful shirt,
July 27, 2012
By: frostyowl
from Barkhamsted, CT
"Just love the blend of colors in this shirt. Comfortable fit. Goes with dress up slacks to jeans."
Review 17 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met All Expectations!,
July 4, 2012
By: nodakman
from St. Louis, MO
"The Kalamkari shirt looks great and feels right. The first time I wore it I went to a Gelateria for a meeting over coffee and dessert. Less than 15 minutes after I sat down a waitress stopped by to remark how nice the shirt looked. That was confirmation enough for me!"
Review 18 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Shirt but...,
June 28, 2012
By: Stubo
"This is a great shirt if you are very tall and have very short arms. The body was long (not marked tall) and the sleeves were about an inch shorter than I would like. The real reason I did not keep it was it was not good with my complexion (color)Great design, good material, well made. If this was made for a real person 5'9'' 155 size M I would buy a bunch. Longer sleeves and two pockets covers a lot of defects in most folks (Target?) I hope this helps Stubo"
Review 19 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good shirt,
June 7, 2012
By: 33lemon
"sizing is perfect, with a little extra room. Seven buttons (try to find that anywhere). wrinkle free."
Review 20 for Hand-Printed Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Flight Shirt,
May 24, 2012
By: SportingClaysShooter
from Woodland, CA.
"The shirt appears very well constructed. The color combinations go well together.I have purchased several items from Orvis and as always, I am very satisfied."