Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Tradewinds Shirt

Our featherweight cotton shirt will keep you cool and comfortable, even on the hottest days. Classic styling with point collar and two chest pockets with buttons. Long sleeves have adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 27" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
5
47 of 65(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tradewinds Shirt
Review 1 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summerwear,
April 23, 2014
By: freeport
from Albuquerque, NM
"I don't know how many of these shirts that I have owned over the years. It is the perfect cool and comfortable shirt to wear on a hot summer day. As a "mature" gal, I can't wear the bare fashions like I once could. I know a lot of people don't like to iron, but I prefer the softness and comfort of untreated fabric."
Review 2 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
April 15, 2014
By: Kennie
from Grifton, NC
"I previously bought the blue tradewinds shirt, loved it so much I had to have the white one! They wash great, do not shrink, and had loads of compliments!"
Review 3 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable Shirt,
March 25, 2014
By: Tarragon
from Ithaca, NY
"This is the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned! The fit is true and the fabric soft. Looks great with jeans or a jean skirt."
Review 4 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
March 25, 2014
By: Barb42noflyinnorcal1
from Davis, CA
"Very natural feeling and looking shirt. I first got one of these about 40 years ago! They never go out of style! So versatile and look great. I'll probably break down and get the white one too! (I got the blue.) I have noticed that the fabric is not quite so smooth and soft as the originals. But still, it's quite nice."
Review 5 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Odd collar width,
March 18, 2014
By: missutility
from Denver, CO
"Strange styling using men's width collar on women's shirt making the collar stand too high for my short neck. Not flattering. Back it went."
Review 6 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So soft,
February 24, 2014
By: foxylady79
from Marathon, Fl
"This will be my favorite casual shirt because it is so soft and feels comfortable. am 5'3" 148 and the L is a little roomy but I like it that way"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis classic!,
February 17, 2014
By: Librarian2
from illinois
"I have bought five or six of these shirts (maybe more) over the years.
I am well satisfied with almost all Orvis products, especially for the quality and fit, but this shirt rises above all others for its everyday classical appeal and versatility. And it wears well. I wear the newer ones anywhere and I work at home in the older ones! They fit in ... they launder well . .. just the best!
I ways buy blue
"
Review 8 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite shirt,
February 12, 2014
By: daffypots
"I really like this shirt! It is the most comfortable yet fashionable shirt I own.
I've only worn it twice in the week I've had it and both times complete strangers complimented me on it and asked where I had found it.
"
Review 9 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love 'em!,
January 31, 2014
By: skybabe
from florida
"Have had 2 of these shirts for years and finally felt a need to re-place them. The fit and comfort are Excellent and have received numerous compliments when wearing them. I've always been happy to explain where to buy and have given my catalog to others. Wonderful value , looks and durability"
Review 10 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy shirt,
January 15, 2014
By: Easterner
from Raleigh, NC
"I've been searching long and hard for the "right" jean shirt--sturdy yet comfortable, well proportioned, with a good sense of style. My new Orvis shirt fits the bill, and, after only a few months, it's a well-worn favorite."
Review 11 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love This Shirt!,
October 22, 2013
By: SudyTG
from Steamboat Springs, CO
"Just what I was looking for! After I was forced to "retire" my old work-shirt, I was afraid that I'd never be able to replace it. This shirt is even better than the last one!! Much softer and classier. Thank you!"
Review 12 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt,
September 30, 2013
By: Keeper
from Rochester, NY
"Although this is similar to the white one, the color is darker than it looks both in the catalogue and on my computer. I didn't like the color so I returned it."
Review 13 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Qualityhas changed,
September 25, 2013
By: Kelsey90
"I have purchased a few of these shirts and like them. I purchased a white one in May and did not open until recently, disappointed in quality of material and buttons are changed from the leather to a plastic type. A blue thread is caught under the back placque, I will have to unsew to get it out, I was in a hurry and wore with a sweater to cover - but disappointed in quality overall for the price!"
Review 14 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Useful Shirt,
September 12, 2013
By: grandmaval
from London
"I bought my first blue Tradewinds shirt some years ago; still finding it useful. I then bought a white one and just recently a new blue one [different blue now to the original after many washes]. I use the shirts as jackets - just wish they were available in more colours!"
Review 15 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt!,
September 9, 2013
By: Rees
from Southbury, CT
"I have been looking for a chambray shirt, and finally I have found the perfect one! The material is great and the sizing runs true-to-size! Thanks so much!"
Review 16 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The color is very drab...,
August 29, 2013
By: Buddy2go
from Nevada City Ca
"If the beautiful blue color of the shirt was as depicted in the photo, would love this shirt. However it was a very drab, dull, muted blue. I should have sent it back right away, as it is pricey. I had ordered the white Tradewind shirt; it is a great shirt. Ironing is definately needed"
Review 17 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chambray shirt,
August 20, 2013
By: Stamper
"Comfortable, great quality, mixes well with other clothing"
Review 18 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chambray shirt,
July 30, 2013
By: alabamatime
"A simply terrible shirt...the size was all wrong...the fabric really cheap and in no way was it chambray. Chambray is a soft blue, this was denim and as stiff as could be. It was cheaply made and looked nothing like the picture...just horrible"
Review 19 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NIce shirt,
July 29, 2013
By: JLMK
from Colorado
"This shirt is just what I was looking for. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it does need a bit of ironing."
Review 20 for Tradewinds Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for hot weather,
July 29, 2013
By: Chaphentx
from TX
"This denim shirt is perfect. it IS denim, yet made of lightweight material so perfect for the heat of the South. I have 4! When my 20 year old daughter saw it, she wanted one, so I ordered her 3! It is a little fitted, but not too much (I wear mine over a tank so it is "open" enough to be a jacket, too. Launders well although I sometimes treat myself to light startch at the dry cleaners - to wear to work on the weekend."