Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spray Bark Control Collar

The best, most humane bark-busting dog collar on the market! When the collar's sensors pick up a bark, it sprays citronella in front of your dog's nose, which distracts him from barking. This Citronella bark dog collar works—it stops nuisance barking in 88% of the dogs tested. Sensors will only pick up barking from the dog wearing the collar. Safe for dogs from 6 to 160 lbs. Citronella bark collar in black. Collar kit includes adjustable nylon collar with oil reservoir for 25 sprays, 3-oz. (250-spray) filler bottle, 6-volt alkaline battery, training materials, and instructions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spray Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it !,
February 26, 2015
By: Dwinn
from Ct.
"bought this collar hoping to stop my dog from greeting my guests with a loud long annoying bark! Well ..... It works like a charm . Was a little worried it would scare him ( kinda wimpy dog) but it is gentle enough that he is not frightened but strong enough to stop him from barking , we r all happy :)"
Review 2 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked like a charm,
February 21, 2015
By: Kelito
from San Diego
"My dogs stopped barking at all within 2 days. Now they only bark if the collar is not on them. It also makes them smell sweet for a short time."
Review 3 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Bark Collar,
February 9, 2015
By: MaggiesMom352
from Indian Rocks Beaach, FL
"We just adopted a 5 year old cocker spaniel and she hates other dogs, along with anyone who comes to the door. We also get birds in our yard and boats sometimes pass by in the back. All of it sets her off and it's awful!
I followed all the directions for the collar and put it on and the first time she barked and it squirted her she instantly quit barking.
Now I can put the collar on her with the spray turned off and she doesn't bark. I do this when walking her as I don't want other noises to set off the spray. If I see another dog coming I turn it on and she behaves or gets a squirt.
I love this thing. It isn't messy on her neck and has made this a much happier quieter household.
"
Review 4 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good product,
November 4, 2014
By: hollyannw
"This bark collar has changed our crazy hound's behavior remarkably! She knows as soon as it goes on that it's time to calm down. We were actually able to hand out candy at Halloween without her scaring the neighborhood kids by barking. I will say that she seems more clingy when she's wearing the collar, which can drive you crazy, but she is MUCH calmer."
Review 5 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not work for my pooch,
October 2, 2014
By: Amanda72
from NH
"Unfortunately, my 9 month old puppy has such severe separation anxiety that he barked until the citronella was gone and then kept on barking, so it did not work for him. I believe the product in general did work, but not in his case."
Review 6 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 22, 2014
By: Breeze2014
from Palmetto, Fl
"Easy to determine when refill is necessary and is extremely easy to refill. Microphone sensitive enough to pick up my dog's bark, but no other noises have triggered a spray. Collar is working exactly as advertised and after only a couple of spray corrections, my dog has learned her bark results in the correction. Highly recommend to anyone with a barker!"
Review 7 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have gotten this sooner,
December 7, 2013
By: nrjmontana
"This has worked amazingly well for my little barkers. I hardly need to even put it on anymore, they know. Amazing product!"
Review 8 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Some Concerns:,
March 1, 2013
By: Anonymous
"This product seemed to ameliorate her barking some. I declined to cut her neck fur & assume that affected its efficacy. Unfortunately her rough play with the other dogs resulted in the thin plastic 'belt loops' breaking off the device after 5 days & I have to secure it to the collar with tape."
Review 9 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
spritzer setting too sensitive,
November 30, 2012
By: chagrinbin
from Ohio
"Sadly, this wasn't a good device for our dog. It spritzed when he sneezed and also when he made a grunt in his sleep. After three days of several "misfires," I returned the collar to my local Orvis store because he was getting punished for perfectly normal, non-barking behavior. The return was effortless -- thank you for making it easy.
It was actually working for the barking so that's why it gets two stars from me. I can report that with just three days of wear he no longer barks in the house. Unfortunately, the dog now has a negative association with the spot where he sneezed and it took him days to return to his bed.
"
Review 10 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
May 21, 2012
By: shellbel
from Sparks, Nevada
"we live in an community with an "association", and recieved a complaint about a "barking dog", we didn't know what to do, so I started looking online for help, when I read the reviews for this dog collar, and because Orvis stands behing their products, we decided to try the collar. It worked, and I don't have to worry about coming home and getting a notice or fine on my door. It is very easy to use, and a humane way to train a dog not to bark. What a relief!"
Review 11 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
50/50,
May 2, 2012
By: 5HikingDogs
from Maine
"This Spray Bark Collar works really well, gently & quickly extinguishing my dogs barking habit . However, the collar itself is not substantial enough to hold the weight of the sprayer device, resulting in the collar falling off the dog. We lost the collar on a hike....but it worked well enough that I ordered another."
Review 12 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the investment,
December 31, 2011
By: pegbeg7
from Chicago
"Our dog would bark endlessly in our house at cars, school buses, the neighbor getting the mail. It was getting ridiculous. As soon as I put the collar on her she got sprayed once. The second time she got sprayed you could see on her face, 'when I bark I get sprayed'. She figured it out fast. Of course, the house smelled like citronella for a little while. Now she's learning she can bark outside only. Thanks for this great product."
Review 13 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works great,
August 18, 2011
By: Cayenne
"Product works great - my advice though is to buy extra citranella and find battery online and buy 10 of them. The batteries are impossible to find in any store."
Review 14 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 29, 2011
By: MonaLisa537
from Houston, TX
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product worked GREAT on my 2 big dogs. They had some serious anxious barking when I was away from work but this product stopped all of that. It works great and is completely humane. I'm a serious dog advocate so any kind of bark control collar made me nervous, but this is safe and it works!"
Review 15 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peace at last,
February 24, 2011
By: Dougall
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"One bark at 5am was the last bark outside in the suburbs. 2 barks and it was over in the country. Going to pass it along to my sister's lab whose barking could drive any dog lover nuts. Then it is on to my friends with the two yapping jack russells."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous silence,
October 27, 2010
By: BPMCC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Both of our dogs bark like crazy when people come into the house or someone has the nerve to walk past the house. this collar has been terrific in stopping the barking. It is so nice to walk into the house and not have to hear loud barking. Now we have happy dogs that people enjoy seeing...and the dogs walking past the house like the quiet also."
Review 17 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miracle Product,
October 26, 2010
By: Ronna684
from Wilmington,NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have a 9 lb. four year old Maltese that used to bark at everything that moved and made a sound. She now is a pleasure to be around, thanks to this spray collar. We had tried so many other products and even private dog training classes to stop the incessant barking but nothing worked. I wish that I had found this collar years ago, thanks for an amazing product. We now have a sweet, quiet and happy Maltese."
Review 18 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!,
November 17, 2009
By: bjustice
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have a 6 pound yorkie who barks at everything. It is very loud and sharp and annoying. we put the collar on and it fit very well and didn't weigh his neck down, in fact he doesn't mind wearing it at all. The most imortant part is, "it worked". We very seldom have to put the collar on after only 3 weeks. If he starts to bark we say, "no bark". He stops barking and comes to one of us for a treat. (The directions tell you to do this). I would reccommend this to any one, plus it is not too big or clumsy for a very small dog."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not work for us,
November 16, 2009
By: Dogslover
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product did not work for us. My dog realized she could not do a full bark, but could do a low bark and not get sprayed. It also runs out of spray fast and you have to fill it up alot. She would be outside and run out of spray and be barking at night, and I could not get her in. It did stop working all together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 23, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that this collar did not work effectively. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service has forwarded the customer's feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 20 for Spray Bark Control Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remarkable Product,
September 30, 2009
By: canninelover
"Wish we had found this 4 years ago when we rescued our American Foxhound. She's wonderful but, as all foxhounds, has a melodious LOUD bark. Living rural is definitely a challange with all the wild animals. We tried everything including the "electric collar". We didn't like it because she always put her ears down like she was being punished. We put the citronella collar on, she saw deer and barked once and that was it! Now all we have to do is put the collar on her and not turn it on and she doesn't bark at all when she sees critters. She is so much better even with the collar off. This has been a life saver and now we have more freedom to leave her outside more when we are not home. Thank you, Orvis, for another fine product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.