Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill Bar Stock Reel

20% lighter than legendary original Battenkill reels.Machined from bar stock 6262-T6 aircraft-grade aluminum for durability and low weight Anodized black or titanium finishes are more durable than the painted finish on die-cast reelsStainless steel gearing is durable and virtually maintenance-freeAdjustable Rulon(R) offset disc drag mechanism recognized as the most dependable in the industry.Easy switching from right-hand to left-hand operationSaltwater-proofFor fly line weights 2-12
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Barstock,
December 12, 2009
By: vabasserman
from King George, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this reel for the first rod i built and it is a great match. not only does it look very good and classic but it is also amazingly durable. i would recommend this reel in any size to anyone!"
Review 2 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent reel,
October 9, 2010
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When we fish for trout, the reel's real purpose is to hold the line and not spin it out recklessly. (Remember the great spring and pawls?) However, most of us buy toys for more than mere function, and this one is both functional and aesthetically pleasant.
I'm hard on my equipment; I've taken falls (protecting my rod, of course) but the reel's been hit against rocks; it's been dumped in sand; it's been dropped in my basement; yet it's held up. In addition, it's lightweight (a plus in my book). At its list price it's a bit steep, but Orvis regularly runs sales or adds a freebie with it, such as free line. I now have two of these--when I need another, I'll look to this"
Review 3 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice reel!,
June 5, 2010
By: blargent
from Newville Pa.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i have paired this reel with a 7'11" 4wt TLS and i absolutely love the combo. i fish mostly spring creeks in central pa, and most of the time im fishing with a 7x tippet. the drag is so smooth on this reel that i've never had to worry about breaking off. i plan on adding a few more BBS reel's to my collection in the future. keep up the good work orvis!"
Review 4 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
November 13, 2009
By: joeyunc003
from Helen, Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed a reel to match a sage 3 wt, and the barstock is a winner. it is ultra light, has a great drag system, and has an old fashioned feel anyone can enjoy. thanks for a great product!"
Review 5 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
corrosion,
November 10, 2009
By: angler64
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"A few days ago I received the ordered set of Clearwater II 908-4 and Battenkill Bar Stock Disc Drag IV. So far I have had 3-4 fishing to the sea and after each exit washing rod and reel. After lubricate with a few drops of oil for reels. But they began to appear signs of corrosion on Drag Spindle and Drag Gear, which can be seen on the photo. As I see on Orvis site it the same reel is suitable for salt water. I wonder what will be the reel after a few months of use?"
Review 6 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy every size of this reel!,
July 27, 2009
By: TheDon212
from Fredericksburg, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I initially purchased the BBSII for 3wt brook trout fishing on the Rapidan and other streams in SNP. It was my first reel purchase after using a hand-me-down 5wt reel for a year. I've had the BBSII for over 5 years now and it has pulled in the smallest brookie to monster cutts out West. You can't go wrong with this reel, especially with the current promotion. These reels last forever so it is a fantastic investment. Pass it down to your kids in your will! My stepfather just retired and I am outfiting him with a couple different sizes of this reel."
Review 7 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel!,
June 26, 2009
By: Mazanec
from St. Paul, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had my BBSIII reel for over 4 years now and I love it more each time I use it. It is by far my favorite reel that I own! This reel works great is very smooth and light and looks awesome!"
Review 8 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Battenkill Bar Stock!,
January 25, 2009
By: BigBen
from Upstate South Carolina
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first reel was a bad experience. I won't give the brand name away but it rhymes with flooger metalis. The drag was difficult to adjust, it was hard to switch lefty/righty, and soon enough the drag went out completely. I currently use it to practice in the back yard...
While visiting and Orvis and having no intention of buying a reel at the time, I at least went over to take a look. One of the guys working there was nice enough to educate me on reels and their affect on performance while fishing.
Hearing what I heard, I decided I need a new reel and I want this one! It wasn't near as expensive as I thought it would be and it's SO LIGHT WEIGHT! Great for my 4wt rod. It's made of high quality stainless steels parts and it's gotten wet, dirty, sandy and still feels like it's brand new! I'm SO HAPPY with this reel!
Thank you Orvis!"
Review 9 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful reel for the money,
December 6, 2007
By: Trident
from Bitterroot Valley, Montana
"I purchased a Bar Stock II for my 2wt. creek rod. It replaced an old Cortland and the difference is like night and day. It looks great on the rod, and handles fish in the 1-3 pound class in swift waters much better than I expected. I figured I would need a $200+ reel to get this kind of performance.
Thanks Orvis!"
Review 10 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome reel,
November 13, 2007
By: wiggy
from new hartford
"my little brother recieved one of these from my dad in a 4 weight. he likes summer fishing but dosen't fish the fall. In his off season I purchased a 7' 4wt bamboo fly rod but no reel. I started using his and now I won't give it back. It's a great reel with a great drag it's increadebly smooth and handles light tippets very well. Plus the price is great. I would reccomed this reel to any angler on a budget or not."
Review 11 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel ever,
November 4, 2007
By: wnctu
from WNC
"I would just like to saw this is the best real I have ever owned. I have always used orvis reels, and the battenkill bar stock is my best one yet. My dad like it so much he is planning on getting one also. I just baught a TLS rod and it is a great combo."
Review 12 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic trout reel,
November 1, 2007
By: Robert
from Boynton Beach, Florida
"While reeling in line on my black Battenkill Bar Stock III just the sound of it tells you it is a classic trout reel. It's light weight so it perfectly matches up with my Superfine 864- 4 wt. Tight Loop. When I want to go lighter with any of my Power Matix or Clearwater 4 and 5 wts. I use this reel. I use olive dun 5 wt. wonderline on one spool, and 4 wt on the other. The drag has more than enough bite to land any large fish you'll encounter, and honestly, I rarely even set it more than it's lightest setting. Because of it's simplicity and strength, this is a reel that will be around long after all those other higher priced reels have come and gone. I've caught rainbow and brook trout in the northern Wa. Cascades, bass and cyclids in Florida lakes and this reel works like it is just out of the box every time. Listen, here in Fla. where saltwater rules, and places out west there are naysayers about the quality of Orvis. This reel along with any piece of fly fishing gear you can buy from Orvis is just a testament to the hours of research, and commitment to quality that comes along with the name. It is proven to me every time I go fly fishing."
Review 13 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smokes the pants off of the $300 + reels,
October 30, 2007
By: tuberculosismarinum
from Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Was on the San Juan and had two other reel brands both over the $300+ mark, when purchased new. Neither withstood the abuse and dunking in the mud. 2nd day, I pulled out the back up Battenkill Barstock that I brought for the two weight, rerigged the reel for the 4 wt and fished the last 2 days with a perfectly functioning reel.
I ,countlessly, ground that reel in mud, rinsed it off for a second went right back to casting. No taking it apart, no special care, real life abuse. It continued to run as smooth as the day it came out of the box.
Don't see a need to ever purchase anything else.
"
Review 14 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent all around reel,
October 24, 2007
By: jbfly
from Greenville, PA
"Ive had this reel for over one year. Ive landed bass, steelhead, and brim all on it. Quickly retrieves line, and balances out on all of my fly rods. Great choice for experienced or beginning fly fisherman."
Review 15 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Bar Stock,
October 20, 2007
By: Steelhead
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have had my Battenkill Bar stock for over a year. It has been one of the best reels I have ever purchased. I use it from the North Georgia mountains for trophy trout to wild brown trout in Western New York. I have landed well over 15 fish over the 20" mark and some even up to 26". This reel has the power to stop those big boys, yet is light enough to use as a back mountain rod. I have extra spools, so there is no need to keep spending money on different reels. Sure, you can spend more on another reel and enjoy that, but for the money, I would go with the bar stock. I have already convined two other friends to purchase one and they both have. Lightweight, durable and affordable. What more can you ask."
Review 16 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sweet reel,
October 20, 2007
By: newflyfisher
from Ottawa, Canada
"a very nice solid reel with a great drag for a very reasonable price. got one for my four weight rod, looks sweet and works well. have landed numeorus 20"+ fish with this little reel. great drag. strongly recommend it to anyone"
Review 17 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect trout reel,
October 19, 2007
By: fishy
"This reel is without a doubt the best deal on the market for a quality reel. It's lightweight and perfectly balances the trout rods rods I use it on. More importantly, the drag works like a charm. I've used it on trout 6+ pounds over the past 3 years and it's still working just like new. The drag is easily adjusted and is sensitive enough to protect your line so you can dial into the proper drag needed to slow down large fish. I would highly recommend this reel."
Review 18 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Reel,
October 17, 2007
By: Lehigh415
from Phila. PA
"The Battenkill Barstock is a light weight workhorse. I use it from small Brook Trout streams to large rivers, and it performs flawlessly. Excellent value for the price."
Review 19 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMOOTH AND BALANCED,
October 16, 2007
By: EMILE
from R.I.
"GREAT REEL FOR BALANCING 4 AND 5 WEIGHT FLY RODS STRONG AND LIGHT WEIGHT."
Review 20 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
light is right,
October 16, 2007
By: upnorthangler
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this reel because its Orvis and its super light. I got the V for the 9-12 line and put extra backing on it and an 8 wt line and its still under 6 oz. That is really light for a filled reel. This reel lets me fish harder because I dont wear my arms out as fast. I fish often and long hours and the 2 or 3 fewer ounces on the reel (compared to almost any other 8wt reel) really makes a difference, trust me. The reel is perfect for fish that take a lot of casting and don't make long runs: bass, pike, muskie, snook, seatrout...."