Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Vest

Fabric is rugged 65% poly/35% cotton poplin and made to last. This fly-fishing vest has twelve pockets, including ample cargo pocket in the rear for extra gear, rain jacket, or lunch. Convenient nylon buckle closure in front. D-rings for extra gear, including one in the back for net attachment. Nylon rib-knit collar. Rod-holding loop with tab. In tan, olive. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
27 of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Vest
Review 1 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Vest,
November 8, 2014
By: Andy1066
from Yorkshire
"Exactly what it states within the advert.
Perfect accompaniment, it works."
Review 2 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A classic necessity,
May 19, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
from Staten Island
"Another well thought out fishing "tool". Although a classic design, whats to improve? Maybe less plastic. It has plenty of specific sized pockets, it is made well and should provide years of service."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
November 9, 2013
By: Wannawade
from Haliax Nova Scotia
"I bought two Clearwater vests for my adult sons. Vests arrived as ordered and I found them made of very high quality. As my sons a really just learning to fly fish, this vest has ample room for their fly boxes and other essentials. Even enough room for a light lunch. Great beginners vest!!"
Review 4 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Vest,
May 14, 2013
By: Ilke2fish
from Ventura, CA
"Lightweight vest with good pocket location and accessibility. Front closure made of plastic and a bit cheap. Fit is a little loose and a more tailored fit would be a benefit."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fishing vest,
May 14, 2013
By: tidewater2021
from mount pocono, pa
"my old Orvis fishing vest was about 20 years old so I got a new one. I did not feel it was the quality of my old one and had less pockets"
Review 6 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
September 8, 2012
By: jackxss
"Amazingly comfortable and nice looking. Totally love it"
Review 7 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasently Surpised,
August 18, 2012
By: fleafly
from Clyde, South Lanarkshire
"Only started fishing last year and have used a chest pack most of that, started getting a sore back with so decided to try a vest, glad I did.
It's much more lighter and comfortable to wear, loads of more for my needs and much more.
Caught in a shower, then it's no problem. It repels the rain to a certain extent, but don't worry, it will dry out in no time.
Overall it great quality and would recommend this vest to beginners and pros alike."
Review 8 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good vest,
June 4, 2012
By: soaked
from southeastern Pa.
"The vest is functional and confortable.I would have perfered the mess vest but it didn't come in 3x.
My only concern or wish was that it had one bigger pocket in the front for larger fly box.
"
Review 9 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MR dix,
June 1, 2012
By: 2645
"I wish it had a zipper as well as the strap to keep it closed."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands free,
May 6, 2012
By: Markycz1
from Czech Republic
"Super price for a super product.
No need for a bag, this vest has space for everything including a packed lunch in the back pocket.
The loop on the bottom right and velcro tab on the top left shoulder enabling you to suspend your rod across your body while you change leaders or flies (sort out tangles) is invaluable while wading.
"
Review 11 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 3rd Vest was the best.,
March 25, 2012
By: 01Flyman
from Cheshire
"After purchasing 2 other major rival companies vests,this one was by far, the best.
I now wear my new embroidered, initialed vest with pride.
All the zips work with confidence to spacious pockets, in that they won't break nor corode!
The vest fits perfectly, I hardly know I have it on; until I need something from one of the pockets. Ventilation feels perfect too, during these warm Spring days working the water, I didn't feel clostraphobic nor too hot in an extra layer.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest,
February 22, 2012
By: Nugger
from Northamptonshire
"Excellent vest especially the price i paid while it was on offer
Well done Orvis"
Review 13 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
February 19, 2012
By: Angelo87
from NJ
"Love everything about this vest, it has plenty of pocket's. Everything about Orvis is great they never dissapoint."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality and value,
January 23, 2012
By: AndyPandy
from Suffolk
"This vest represents a good buy and a good quality product. It is comfortable and the pockets are well positioned in order to allow quick access to your tackle. Just try to remember which pocket you have put each piece of equipment in! Highly recommended"
Review 15 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality-product and service,
January 12, 2012
By: sagewood
from Warwickshire - UK
"I couldn't find enough items to put in all the pockets!! Super fit, even looks good which is unusual for fieldsport clothing. Fast delivery as well"
Review 16 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest Ever,
November 16, 2011
By: BPR1
from MI
"This vest is great and a great value. It's tough and I've put it through everything from brush to rocks to snow etc etc. Quality that that easily keeps pace with the pricier vests out there like S!mms"
Review 17 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well pleased,
August 17, 2011
By: frogspawn
"Great waistcoat. Just the right amount of pockets to carry all fly-boxes,bits and bobs. I ordered XL and it was exactly that! but I got it changed within days for an L. Perfect fit. Excellent service!"
Review 18 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
July 25, 2011
By: wozz
from Lancashire , England
"Should of bought this vest years ago, a great quality product with all the right pockets and clips were you need them to be. more than pleased with this product."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Vest,
February 20, 2011
By: AWilson
from UK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have one of these. To be honest I bought it becasue I had never had one before and didn't want to spend a fortune on something before I knew what I needed. I am not a complete novice to fly fishing, but in the old days a barbour and tweed cap used to suffice! Well I have now been on a number of fishing trips with this vest and love it. It's light and comfortable all day. I have yet to fill all the pockets on a trip. I am sure that if I had a $300 vest I would be able to tell you this could be improved, but since I can't see any reason to upgrade and the fish still seem to bite whichever attire I go fishing in, I would heartily recommend this vest."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok but...,
December 27, 2010
By: CDDC
from Seal Beach, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"They need to make fishing vests in a tall version for tall people.
Currently the sizes are for only wide and wider fishermen.
"