Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Clearwater Wading Shoe

A superb value in a shoe that provides all-day lightweight comfort, terrific support, and ankle protection. Foam-padded insole, tough Cordura® nylon upper. In olive. Men's whole sizes: 4-14. 39 ounces in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
1
43 of 51(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Review 1 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
June 11, 2012
By: mylar
"Nice Light boot. Easey to tighten laces. Designed to allow for stocking foot waders but very tight when put on and tend to pinch my toes. Would recommened you go for a size larger than your normal shoe size."
Review 2 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Wading Shoes,
June 11, 2012
By: auldfahtz
from Wales
"Excellent all round quality, typically Orvis. Felt sole pads with not too obtrusive studs and easy tie up lacings, very comfortable all round. Excellent value for first time or seasoned waders."
Review 3 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
April 17, 2012
By: TRobertson
"This boot meets all my expectations.
Solid, durable, comfortable. I would absolutely recommend to anyone.
"
Review 4 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good solid product,
March 26, 2012
By: cameroia
from Aberdeen, Scotland
"Have worn these boots on 4 trips now and found them comfortable and easy to get on & off.
First trip out with them was a 7 mile round journey on rough & uneven ground. Not a blister, no chafing, no soreness at all - that's impressive. I'd have expected some breaking-in pains! Comfortable and provided sufficient support.
2 & 3rd trips out were 5-6 sessions, again with lots of walking/wading, and again no discomfort.
I like the lacing system - they tighten up and loosen off very easily, and so far the laces have not come undone.
They do a good solid job, great value for the price. Happy to recommend.
One caveat - the web page description suggested buying your normal shoe size. I did, and they were way too tight. Quick replacment arranged via Orvis easy exchange, I went for one size up, and they fit well."
Review 5 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wading boots,
January 19, 2012
By: jackie007
"These boots were good value for money,very comfortable but the best thing is they come in small sizes(from size 4) which most companys dont do."
Review 6 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What a service,
September 22, 2011
By: grandpajim
from N.E. England (Gods country)
"Placed the order on line on monday, deliverd on wednesday, fishing on thursday. Only one slight problem,Didn't catch a fish! Service from Orvis was best from any other company. Would reccomend them to any body wanting quality gear."
Review 7 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Boot, bad lacing,
August 19, 2011
By: RyanC
from Blacksburg, VA
"The boots have good felt, and seem rugged, but I wish the lacing system were better. Seems like it could have been designed to offer more support."
Review 8 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent value,
July 12, 2011
By: fishsalmon
from Northern England
"No matter how much I pay for felt soled wading boots its the felt that wears out first, probably because I do a lot of walking ! ( I am a river fisherman ).
Therefore I consider these boots to be excellent value with the above criteria in mind and the Orvis Label gives me confidence in my purchase.
One feature that I like is the fact that the soles are stitched to the sole as well as glued."
Review 9 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Product Except Soles,
June 15, 2011
By: BootlessinSC
"I used these boots approximately 25 times before the felt soles started to separate. The boots provided good ankle support, had really strong laces, and were a great value. I contacted Orvis and used their recommended method of waterproof epoxy but this only lasted a couple of times. I have also used a variety of other adhesives but none of them have lasted more than a couple of hours in the water. I don't know how long these should realistically last but I suggest that others pay a little extra to avoid such joys as crossing a large tailwater with one boot numerous times in search of a lasting fix!"
Review 10 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Quality,
September 21, 2010
By: MyLabTucker
from East Windsor, CT
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I purchased these boots 2 years ago. I used them approximately 10 times, rinsing with fresh water and placing on a boot dryer after every use.
The rubber between the felt sole and the material on one boot has totally disintegrated. Very surprising for Orvis products. Maybe I killed them with kindness.
Anyhow, I would not recommend these boots to anyone.
"
Review 11 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic Boots,
September 15, 2010
By: sdavies1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really like these boots a lot. Great color and traction. Ive had these boots a little bit over a year now and the stitching is starting to come undone around the front of the sole. I have been considering getting a pair of the EcoTraX for use at the gunpowder."
Review 12 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no more slips !,
August 28, 2010
By: firefighter
from wharfedale north yorkshire
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At last i can wade in the river wharfe with confidence, very slippy stones up here but these boots grip them like glue. lightweight & easy walking to. great product."
Review 13 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots for the price,
June 2, 2010
By: Kev2380
from Cary, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I never was a huge Orvis fan. I bought these boots cuz I had some old Korkers that lost a sole. I picked these up because they were the cheapest at the fly shop. Even though they cost the least they perform as well if not better than the Korkers. After my first use I forgot I was even wearing boots. The laces do not come undone like previous boots that I've had. They do the job and grip rocks better than any boots I've had previously. Great value."
Review 14 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tread lightly...,
May 2, 2010
By: troutbumco
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"to start, i really do like the boots, i have the cleat version not felt: they are very light weight, easy to lace up, pack well and have decent grip.
However, both boots the soles have started to peal back at the toes. Generally I use these boots in the small stream and runs of PA/ NY and use a more sturdy boot while in the bigger stuff. But 2 seasons and about 6 times wearing them total and that's all I got out of them. Maybe a bad pair? Maybe common problem?
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 15 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Clearwater wading boots,
January 7, 2010
By: JamesH
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am now in my second season with these boots, using them mainly for fishing freestone rivers in the Yorkshire Dales. I chose boots with felted soles to provide extra grip on mossy and slippy limestone/slate. They cope well with this, although I was very disappointed that the felt soles came off in only the second year, surprisingly on the same day (as with another reviewer here). I only fish 10-15 times a season so wouldn't consider this excessive wear and tear. I have unfortunately now lost the receipt so I'm not sure where I stand in terms of a replacement.
Despite the issue with the felt soles I have been impressed with the overall performance of these boots, and consider them value for money. They're lightweight and comfortable for day-long use."
Review 16 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good buy,
September 30, 2009
By: Flyrod49
from Arkansas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had my boots for about 6 years and love them. I had a problem with the sole coming loose but fixed it that night and was back int the water the next morning. I dont fish like most people when I get on the water I am there for the day. I spend as much as 10 - 12 hours in the water . If these boots were not comfortable I couldn't do that. They wear well lace and stay tight . They are easy to get on and off and give good traction on mossy rocks. I plan on buying a new pair just so I can let my daughter have my old ones. Better new for me than her cause I fish more."
Review 17 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
six years old,
September 20, 2009
By: oneweight
from Springfield, MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are the best performing, longest lasting, and most economical boots I have owned. They are now going on the sixth season. The only problem I have had was with the felt soles coming loose at the heel end. I epoxied them back and have had no problems since. I may have thought that to be a quality problem if I had not been through the same abuse these boots have been through. I have taken them through six seasons of Missouri limestone streams, as well as knee-deep mud, multi-mile hikes,all the way to colorado beaver bogs. I purchased a pair of new stiffer, more protective and much more expensive boots two years ago but I rarely wear them. It is kind of like, how it is so comfortable to hop into an old pick-up rather than a convertible to go fishing. Some things just FEEL right."
Review 18 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not durable,
September 5, 2009
By: WIfishfan
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After 2 seasons the felt sole fell off (amazingly, both fell off on the same day!). I'm not sure how long wading shoes should last. I probably used them about 35 times before they failed. I expected them to last longer."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the soles are coming off of his wading boots prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or issue a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable Boot,
August 8, 2009
By: GottaFly
from Gainesville, GA.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 1st pair of wading boots. I love them. I knew the orvis name would back up a quality boot. Very light weight and fast drying. Solid design makes cleaning easy. Recommend at any level of fishermen."
Review 20 for Clearwater Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hoping it's a fluke,
July 1, 2009
By: salsadog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love these boots. They are super light, they stay laced up, and they air out quickly.
The only problem, which I am hoping is a fluke, is that after the 7th use, my felt sole came off completely. I didn't even realize it until I came back to my car after fishing.
I just called Orvis. Absolutely awesome customer service! They gave me the option to buy a new pair to arrive in two days (I paid for overnight shipping). When I recieve the new boots, I shove the faulty ones back in the box and ship it back. Once they get it, they refund the cost back to me. (minus shipping).
Today is Wednesday, the boots are due to come Jul 3 on a Friday = FISHING JULY 4th WEEKEND....HECK YEAH!"