Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line

This saltwater line is an all-around saltwater fly line with a coating and core for any condition or temperature. It has a weight-forward taper which makes it easy to turn over large saltwater flies. This fly line has a braided nylon core. Saltwater in fluorescent yellow. 6-7 wt. 90', 10-12 wt. 105'. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Review 1 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaltH20 Hy-Flote line is FINE,
January 25, 2013
By: Caleb123
from NW IN
"I bought this to replace the line on my 6wt. Steelhead rod. Great price on sale.
Even if it isn't their "top of the line" line, it casts very fine! I am steelheading in some pretty tight streams in NW Indiana and this line works great. When I am out for coastal steelhead in Washington I will be glad to have a saltwater line."
Review 2 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So-So Line,
October 24, 2012
By: clearwaterman
from Cypress, Tx
"The only reason for the lower rating and why i wouldn't recommend this to a friend because it has alot more line memory than I'd like and makes a difference when I'm stripping the line in."
Review 3 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleased with line,
April 17, 2012
By: Molly2010
from Canada
"Looks like a great line. Had a few cast with it, No problem to cast a long line if required."
Review 4 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You get what you pay for,
November 30, 2011
By: ESVAStripers
from ESVA
"This line not the most expensive and certainly not the least expensive saltwater line on the market, but in terms of performance it leaves a little to be desired. Line casts well, but also seems to have a lot of memory. As I have worked the line this has gotten a little better, but only time will tell. I was hoping for a little more, but it will do until I can save up to shell almost $100 out for higher quality line."
Review 5 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fishing in the tick margrove,
July 12, 2011
By: rovira
from San Pedro G.G. N.L.Mexico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I used this line #9,for fishing baby tarpons in the margroves of Campeche in south east of Mexico.Floats very well in salty water.
Works perfect even with the very high temperatures (97F. average in sumer) of course you have acidents,tangle in the thick tree canopy,hook in the branches and I note its very hardy resistant to the abrassion and the rub wear in to the margrove roots.
"
Review 6 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reviews were great,
February 18, 2011
By: oracle
from the south
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I read the reviews for this saltwater line and decided to give it a try. Boy, it works great for my French military kite and if I want, later I might use it for fishing also."
Review 7 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line!,
February 7, 2011
By: tarpooooon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've used almost every line there is and carried a few of these lines for backup. When I finally put one on the reel last year in Cuba, I wished I had been using it before. I use fast action rods and overweight my lines by one. This is my favorite line. For the price (even regular price) it's like stealing!"
Review 8 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything You Could Want In A Flyline,
September 4, 2010
By: captjim
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased the WF9F in May for use on my new 909 TLS Power Matrix saltwater fly rod. This line is a perfect match. Well balanced, slick low resistance coating, smooth casting, turns tight loops in strong winds and handles clouser flys with ease. I get incredible distance with just a single haul cast and a great value for the money paid."
Review 9 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
September 30, 2009
By: FlyFishSC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this fly line to replace my old one on my 909 TLS Power Matrix. Performs just as well as lines costing much more. Slick, Stiff without memory, and can hold a tight loop in a stiff breeze with a big fly. Perfect for Redfish! Everything you would expect from Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Value,
February 16, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Really good value for money fly line. Took one on my first trip to Belize in a #6 very impressed with it's performance. Like the fact that it is only 90' in a 6 allowing for more capacity of backing on a smaller reel!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Saltwater Hy-Flote WF Floating Fly Line
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1