Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Leader Straightener

Two-piece leader straightener has twin rubber pads. Also removes unwanted glare from your leader. Lead straightener finished with a durable leather cover. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Leader Straightener
Review 1 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handiest thing,
September 16, 2014
By: TheSir
from Minnesota
"This is my second one. Works perfectly. A replacement for the first one I had that eventually wore out after years of use."
Review 2 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful,
August 20, 2014
By: Paul0808
from Lynn, MA
"The leader straightener does what it's supposed to and the zinger is quality."
Review 3 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great!,
July 10, 2014
By: Upperowensforme
"Simple but worth it. Straightens leader and tippet very quickly."
Review 4 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bye bye home made version,
June 12, 2014
By: turkyhorst
from Stony Creek PA
"finally a quality and safe means to straighten a leader and tippet."
Review 5 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It works,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I have had one of these for years. I use it less and less. It is good for straitening out leader, but I would limit its use to only the thickest part of your leader. If you use a knotted leader, only to the first knot. It won't pass over a knot anyway."
Review 6 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 9, 2014
By: Iead
from Conn
"Really helps with leaders that are difficult to straiten out."
Review 7 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like I hoped it would,
April 7, 2014
By: Rick46
from Tampa, Florida
"I've always used a piece of inner tube to straighten leaders and tippets. I've had the same piece of inner tube for 35 years. This is more convenient, because I can clip it to my vest. It works great!"
Review 8 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 25, 2014
By: BassBeach
"This thing is sweet! Just got mine in the mail. Nice design and with the "zinger" looks good on the vest. Also tested it on a spare leader I had laying around and it worked exactly like it should."
Review 9 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Basic,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"One of the fly fishing essentials. You absolutely need this tool to heat up and stretch your line and leaders straight."
Review 10 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pragmatic purchase,
January 16, 2014
By: Hise1
from Wash. State
"Perfect size, excellent quality, a very functional fishing tool, easy to handle and use."
Review 11 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
January 16, 2014
By: okielaw
from Oklahoma
"This straightener is very well made. It will be the last straightener you'll have to buy. Works great."
Review 12 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Leader Straightener,
September 25, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"A good basis leader straightener that does the job. Good quality as well as small and compact."
Review 13 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leader Straightener,
August 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This is an effective and simple tool for straightening leaders, especially new packaged leaders before the first use. You could straighten leaders using the friction of your hands, but doing so is not as effective (or comfortable) as using this tool. Straight, coil-free leaders greatly improve your presentation and casting ease. For best results, slowly pull the leader through the straightener, from the fly line end to the tippet end, while pressing both sides of the tool closed with your opposite hand. Hold the leader straight for a few seconds to retain the profile and to lock-in the coil-free memory. Well worth your investment."
Review 14 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A necessary gadget,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"Great gadget for straightening out your leaders and helping make a realistic presentation. A must have gadget."
Review 15 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
December 29, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"The leader straightener is well-made and does the trick."
Review 16 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have to keep lines and leaders straight,
October 19, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I love this little gadget because I can straighten out leaders that have been rolled up in a package and aren't landing correctly."
Review 17 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dissapointed,
October 17, 2012
By: akm3434
"The leader straightener was not of the quality i expected for the following reasons. The horizontal stitching is poor, the top half of the leader straightener is not concentric with the bottom half, i.e. when the straightener is in the closed position the bottom overlaps the top! The internal material appears to be over sized for the back, making it have a "baggy and rippled" look. Maybe I bought the new learner employee piece."
Review 18 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Leader Straightener,
September 25, 2012
By: FireFly2
"A good tool and and a must have for every fly fisher."
Review 19 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Leader Straightner,
August 29, 2012
By: ncbspres
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Have only had one opportunity to use the straightner. Just a couple of swaps and a kink in the leader was gone!"
Review 20 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A necessity,
January 5, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"You absolutely need this tool to straighten your leaders. Nice weight and very effective."