Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Leader Straightener

Two-piece leader straightener has twin rubber pads. Also removes unwanted glare from your leader. Lead straightener finished with a durable leather cover. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Leader Straightener
Review 1 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
June 27, 2015
By: jwas3000
from Cotswolds, England
"An excellent prodct that I was a little sceptical about but works just as needed. With very light tippet it might be damaging if held too tight but works well on the tough end of tapered leaders when first used. Ideal!"
Review 2 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential piece of kit,
April 30, 2015
By: 2spuds
from sussex
"I purchased two of these leader straighteners one for myself and one for my father we used to great effect while fishing last weekend on a well stocked shallow lake it really made a difference to present a dead straight leader and our total bag was 5 great fish. im getting another so i can dress them with sink/floatant so as i straighten i dress the line
Tight lines
"
Review 3 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just recommended, I bought one for a friend,
April 27, 2015
By: Dave1957
from Duncanville TX
"Years ago a friend "lent" me his Leader Straightener. After buying another brand to replace it (and I was not impressed) I bought one for myself and my friend"
Review 4 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well,
April 16, 2015
By: Miwa
from New York
"Material itself works perfect to straighten the lines but have bit consideration on the inner stitches which might cause a damage to the line when you use."
Review 5 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good leader gadget,
March 28, 2015
By: brownrainbow
"Tested this out and works fine & is good quality so should last a season or so. Also a nice bargain as picked it up in the sale."
Review 6 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handiest thing,
September 16, 2014
By: TheSir
from Minnesota
"This is my second one. Works perfectly. A replacement for the first one I had that eventually wore out after years of use."
Review 7 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful,
August 20, 2014
By: Paul0808
from Lynn, MA
"The leader straightener does what it's supposed to and the zinger is quality."
Review 8 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great!,
July 10, 2014
By: Upperowensforme
"Simple but worth it. Straightens leader and tippet very quickly."
Review 9 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bye bye home made version,
June 12, 2014
By: turkyhorst
from Stony Creek PA
"finally a quality and safe means to straighten a leader and tippet."
Review 10 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It works,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I have had one of these for years. I use it less and less. It is good for straitening out leader, but I would limit its use to only the thickest part of your leader. If you use a knotted leader, only to the first knot. It won't pass over a knot anyway."
Review 11 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 9, 2014
By: Iead
from Conn
"Really helps with leaders that are difficult to straiten out."
Review 12 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like I hoped it would,
April 7, 2014
By: Rick46
from Tampa, Florida
"I've always used a piece of inner tube to straighten leaders and tippets. I've had the same piece of inner tube for 35 years. This is more convenient, because I can clip it to my vest. It works great!"
Review 13 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 25, 2014
By: BassBeach
"This thing is sweet! Just got mine in the mail. Nice design and with the "zinger" looks good on the vest. Also tested it on a spare leader I had laying around and it worked exactly like it should."
Review 14 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Basic,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"One of the fly fishing essentials. You absolutely need this tool to heat up and stretch your line and leaders straight."
Review 15 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pragmatic purchase,
January 16, 2014
By: Hise1
from Wash. State
"Perfect size, excellent quality, a very functional fishing tool, easy to handle and use."
Review 16 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
January 16, 2014
By: okielaw
from Oklahoma
"This straightener is very well made. It will be the last straightener you'll have to buy. Works great."
Review 17 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Leader Straightener,
September 25, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"A good basis leader straightener that does the job. Good quality as well as small and compact."
Review 18 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leader Straightener,
August 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This is an effective and simple tool for straightening leaders, especially new packaged leaders before the first use. You could straighten leaders using the friction of your hands, but doing so is not as effective (or comfortable) as using this tool. Straight, coil-free leaders greatly improve your presentation and casting ease. For best results, slowly pull the leader through the straightener, from the fly line end to the tippet end, while pressing both sides of the tool closed with your opposite hand. Hold the leader straight for a few seconds to retain the profile and to lock-in the coil-free memory. Well worth your investment."
Review 19 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A necessary gadget,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"Great gadget for straightening out your leaders and helping make a realistic presentation. A must have gadget."
Review 20 for Premium Leader Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
December 29, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"The leader straightener is well-made and does the trick."