Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mirage Knotless Leaders

This fly fishing leader is preferred in spring creeks, stillwater fly fishing situations, for use with large streamer fly patterns, or when fly fishing with nymphs or dry flies in clear water where trout are fished over heavily.This knotless fly leader is more invisible to fish than nylon fly fishing leaders. Refractory index only .09 different than water compared to 1.53 for Super Strong nylon. Incredible abrasion resistance fly fishing leader material.Mirage fly fishing leader absorbs no water. In comparison, breakage and knot strength decrease 30% in nylon materials with water absorption.New fly fishing leader tapers have resulted in a 20% average increase in butt diameters in all Mirage leaders for more efficient transfer of fly-line energy to leader.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Review 1 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific!,
February 6, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"After switching over from Nylon for sub-surface, I could not be happier with this product. I do believe though that Nylon floats better for dry flies but that is an easy fix with the convenient loop system to remove and tie on another leader. I really have seen a difference!!! Worth the extra cost!"
Review 2 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
January 31, 2012
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"It saves time off and on the river by having a leader fully constructed. They're reasonably priced and you can get them in a variety of sizes. I've always used Mirage leaders because I don't want to be questioning whether the fish is shying from my leader. And they're easy to adjust by just tying on some extra tippet to make it longer or taper down even further."
Review 3 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tapered Leader,
September 21, 2011
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"Good leaders and excellent value for money (in the sale). No problems with these and have been using for a few years."
Review 4 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
invisible,
September 3, 2011
By: Mike2011
from Panama City, FL
"These leaders are invisible when used at the lake by my house. I love these things."
Review 5 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very strong,
May 31, 2011
By: Johnny83
from NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"What a great product, this leader uncoils very easily. Has zero memory, and casts great. It turns over flies with such ease. I will only use these leaders for now on. Thank you for selling such a great product orvis!"
Review 6 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for big trout,
June 17, 2010
By: Troutbum007
from Central NJ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was using regular 5x leaders but kept breaking off big rainbows. Changed to 4x Mirage flourocarbon and stopped breaking off so frequently. I have not noticed any negative impact on the number of takes due to the increase in leader size. I plan to use Mirage leaders when streamer fishing for big trout."
Review 7 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
January 18, 2010
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use Mirage leaders almost exclusively for all of my fishing. They are very strong, nearly invisible, and last a long time. I regularly have leaders that last for months (with some tippet added). I use them for trout, bonefish, striped bass, largemouth, and more. Flouro leaders are more expensive than mono but well worth the extra money."
Review 8 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great leader and great value,
July 14, 2009
By: zerog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used both 5x for trout and 0x in the salt. The tapers are perfect for turning over flies and maintining great feel. The curling is minimal and being nearly invisible gives you the edge when landing wary fish."
Review 9 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice leader,
June 20, 2009
By: Matu
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very high strength. It does not break easily. It is a little bit more expensive than some other leaders but is definitely worth it."
Review 10 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Mirage Leaders and Tippet,
June 13, 2009
By: SeanM
from Perth, Western Australia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used a number of different fluorocarbons (Rio, Black Magic, Scientific Anglers, Cortland, Riverge etc.) over the last few years with varied results. I stopped my trials when I tried the Orvis Mirage material a couple of years ago and have only used this since. Many of the others have either low knot strength, have high memory or exhibit high flash -totally unacceptable for spooky fish in clear water. The Miragae material is fantastic and my recent trip to New Zealand accounted for a number of 6lb -8lb browns on 4X material. I also experienced a number of straightened hooks without line breakage. Great leader and tippet and will use nothing else."
Review 11 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good ,but correction needed,
June 12, 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"These are good leaders, but the write-up is wrong. It claims that the refractory index difference compared to water is 0.09, while the difference for Super Strong nylon is 1.53. The index of water is 1.33, the index of flouro-carbon is 1.42, and the index of nylon is 1.53. Therefore the difference of the Mirage leader with water is .09, but the difference with the Super Strong leader is only 0.2 (not 1.53)."
Review 12 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
December 28, 2008
By: riverdog
from SLC, UT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This leader is tremendous and is the only one I will use for the past 3 years. Skip the 7x but the rest is all good. Strong and invisible. I catch 18 inch trout in fast moving streams with 6x all the time. 4-5x will handle 20-25 inch fish. While sockeye fishing on the Russian with 2x this summer I hooked into a 40 lb King. I was pleasantly surprised the leader held up and I landed the fish after a 20 minute fight."
Review 13 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
what a waste of money!,
June 12, 2008
By: bigq
"was told that this leader and tippet was well worth the money. come to find out it was a piece of junk. my brother in law and myself lost a lot of fish due to the line breaking."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 13, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 14 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great leader,
March 19, 2008
By: wiggy
from new hartford
"i'm a big fan of braided leaders and use them more often than these. But on those windy days my braided can get tangled up easily then i switch to the mirage 12ft knotless leader. They preform great just like the mirage tippet, I always carry atleast two packages of these leaders just in case. Highly reccomended."
Review 15 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for spring creeks and clear water,
February 21, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"In Northern Ontario many lakes drain through rivers and streams, and at almost all times of year the water is as crystal clear as any spring creek. Once upon a time I spotted an 18" resident rainbow upstream on the deep side of a dropoff into a corner pool. I made several nice drifts only to watch him follow and refuse my nymph. After changing flies several times, to no advantage, I changed my leader to one of these. I got him on the next cast! I often shy away from flourocarbon because it can be brittle, but using the ORVIS tippet & tippet-to-fly knots I've never had a problem."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST TO USE,
October 18, 2007
By: flytyer1
"I HAVE USED THESE IN SOME VERY DIFFICULT SITUATIONS WERE FISH NEVER SHIED AWAY BECAUSE OF THE LEADER. THEY ALSO TURN OVER MY FLY AND DROP A DRY ON THE SURFACE AS BEAUTIFULLY AS CAN BE AND I AM NOT A GREAT CASTER!"
Review 17 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 foot inspection drifts,
October 8, 2007
By: bakpackr
"When the fish give live insects a five foot inspection drift, you can't fish with anything else. The mirage is both tough and clear to fool and land even the most educated trout. I never wanted to spend the extra $$ on flourocarbon line, but since I've tried it I won't go back. My only complaint is that it doesn't come in 8X...Highly recommend."
Review 18 for Mirage Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As Good As RIO,
October 4, 2007
By: MMMark
"I have been using Rio leaders and tippet for the past two years. I recently purchased the mirrage leader and tippet spools. While hide trouble getting the flouracarbon leader to tie securely to the flouracarbon tippet, the flouracarbon tippet performed as good as the RIO flouracarbon tippet. I tried the super strong leader with the mirage tippet and it worked perfectly. The knot strength was much better and performed well."