Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Original Grandfather Nightshirt

Curl up in a cozy, oversized flannel nightshirt when the winter nights are unforgiving. Our nightshirt is made of a generous cut of pure, soft cotton flannel in a vintage tick-stripe pattern, with band collar, four-button placket at neck, straight hem. In blue/white, red/white. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 48" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Review 1 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Original Grandfather Nightshirt,
October 21, 2013
By: MoCatWoman
from Saint Louis, MO
"Generously cut -- I usually order a large, because I like nightgowns to be roomy, but reading other reviews, I ordered a medium, and it fits great. Nice material. So glad to get it on sale!"
Review 2 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nightgown,
October 1, 2013
By: SJK17
from Voorhees, NJ
"Soft flannel, generous cut, long enough to be warm but not long enough to trip over. Best flannel nightgown ever, especially as it is 100% cotton, which is difficult to find."
Review 3 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing is way off,
July 17, 2013
By: 1sdlady
from San Diego, CA
"Although other reviews stated this runs large, I took a chance and ordered my usual medium because the smalls were sold out. Unfortunately, the medium was so huge that two of me could have fit into it. A medium in this gown must be equivalent to what would normally be an extra large. I was sad to have to send it back, as I love the styling -- it is very difficult to find a nightgown or nightshirt that fits closely at the neck to keep out chilly air in the cooler months."
Review 4 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
April 16, 2013
By: Marylamb
from West Sussex UK
"I love this nightshirt. As others have said it is very large and just about wraps around me twice, but I just love that. Its soft, doesn't cling or twist and I would definitely recommend."
Review 5 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ticket for 20 - 60 Degree Nights,
February 26, 2013
By: BigSkyfromOhio
from Sunbury, Ohio
"A great all around lounger, ended up getting both blue & red ticking. Did size down depending on other reviewers. Size small fit my 145lbs, 36D, 5'7.5" frame perfectly, plenty of room in arms & hits a bit above mid calf after washing. Shrinks just an inch or so in length after hot H20, hot dryer. Plenty generous for crossing your legs & relaxing, pair w/some warm socks & you have a winner, caramel mocha latte in hand."
Review 6 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just in time,
February 4, 2013
By: Judicata
from southern California
"I got this nightshirt just as nights got cold. I love it. One warning - they run very big. So, i just ordered a second one a size smaller. Two great nighties is always better than one. It is warm, but not bulky or heavy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Way too big!!,
January 20, 2013
By: Eddie1
from San Mateo, CA
"The flannel material is nice and soft, BUT it is way over-sized. I had hoped it would shrink in the hot water and dryer, but it didn't.
It is big enough for 2 of me -- and I'm not a small person. Now it is too late to return it.
Yes, I am disappointed.
"
Review 8 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Night Shirt,
January 9, 2013
By: LadyK
from Online
"Fabulous night shirt - warm, comfortable, very soft. Runs a bit large so I might take the next size down next time - and I do plan on ordering another!"
Review 9 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Valentin'es Gift,
February 13, 2012
By: wjam
from Tysons Corner, VA
"Just a beautiful and practical warm gift in the middle of a cold winter!
My wife just loved it!"
Review 10 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
February 8, 2012
By: RetiredSpouseWithRemote
from Monroe, GA
"Probably the most comfortable nightshirt I have ever owned. Although I live in the south, we keep the house cool at night. Soft, the right length for my height it's a perfect fit. I'm going to buy another one."
Review 11 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Cosy on a Winter's Night,
February 5, 2012
By: Stulaval
from Lichfield, England
"This the second pair of these Grandfather Nightshirts I have purchased from you. The first two are still going strong after years of use and washing at high temperature. They are an ideal size for me -- 5ft 2" -- mid-calf length. Can I suggest a longer length for taller women. I wish Orvis had been trading in the UK sooner as I would certainly have snapped these up had they been available."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 3, 2012
By: ActiveGal
from Alexandria, VA
"Wonderfully cozy nightshirt. I love it. However, would recommend going a size smaller than you normally wear...is quite roomy. The opening in the sleave before the cuff button/ buttonhole is also rather long. But, would definifely buy this nightgown again and highly recommend it."
Review 13 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nightshirt,
February 1, 2012
By: holland
"Just received this shirt as a present. Looks good and I like the length. It is fuller than the picture shows. For a night gown that is fine and I assume there will be some shrinkage. Overall happy with this product."
Review 14 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice night shirt,
January 21, 2012
By: MomToOurDoggies
from California
"So sick of ugly, bright colors and uncomfortable skimpy sleepwear for women. This is wonderful. I'm a size 6 (8 in a dress), 5'9" and a 38 C/D bust and have trouble with Small being too small in the bust. Was trying to decide between Small and Meduium. The Small is perfect as this is generously cut enough to sleep comfortably in. Washed before initial wearing. Soft but sturdy and not too hot. The red stripes were a little more vivid than they looked online but not too much. Very comfortable. Wish they would make in solid colors or muted plaids also."
Review 15 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for my wife,
December 29, 2011
By: lbuck
"I bought this as a gift for my wife and she loves it. She has slept in it every night since. Says it keeps her real warm and is most comfortable. Thanks Orvis, lbuck"
Review 16 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice heavy flannel night shirt,
January 11, 2011
By: Heli
from Wilmington
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a nice heavy flannel grandfather nightshirt for a cold winter's night.
I wear a medium, but this seems to run a little large and should have taken that into consideration. It washes well and some people say, that it will get softer with wear.
"
Review 17 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dickension Dreams,
December 24, 2010
By: silverminx50
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Well Made, practicle and dignified when you have children to see to and get up for during the night
Excelant material for nightwear
traditional style in a modern setting"
Review 18 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 29, 2010
By: bobber
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought two of these in both colors for my wife. She loves the fit and how they get softer with each washing. She recommends them very highly. Thank you for a great product and good service."
Review 19 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eco-Friendly Purchase,
January 16, 2010
By: morningglory
from north-central Vermont
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this nightshirt! It is soft and cozy and perfect for our cold Vermont winters. The cotton gets softer with each washing. I appreciate the little collar that keeps my neck warm since we turn down the heat at night. I am short (5'1") and round and the medium size fits me very well. Thank you Orvis for a well-made and timely product."
Review 20 for Original Grandfather Nightshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very cosy,
December 28, 2009
By: PoohBear
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Needs a few more washings to soften the cotton but I just love these on our blustary Yukon winter nigihts."