Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Canyon Country Vest

Subtly grained genuine cowhide leather develops an extraordinary soft patina with wear, making this vest a natural for you to don for the home and the field. Cut high at the sides for ease of movement, with three convenient exterior pockets and an interior chest pocket. Easy, relaxed style. In brown. Genuine leather. Professional leather clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canyon Country Vest
Review 1 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fully Satisfied,
November 6, 2014
By: Don64
from Chicopee, MA
"I received a quality leather vest that was true to size. The leather loop ties added a unique style to this vest.. I suggest that everyone should pay attention to the fitting instructions. I did and got a perfect
fit. Thanks Orvis
"
Review 2 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A bit disappointed,
November 1, 2014
By: Chee
from Cambridge, MA
"Usually the quality of Orvis sold leather garments is of the highest around. This best had less supple finish than other Orvis leather vests. I'd suggest munitions style vests for their quality."
Review 3 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best christmas present,
January 16, 2014
By: dsigner
from Camp Hill, PA
"This was a Christmas present for my husband and he was thrilled with it. It fits beautifully , is well made and he enjoys wearing it. It also "dresses" casual wear. It arrived promptly. The boxc was in good shape."
Review 4 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
January 15, 2014
By: Bellep
from San Francisco, CA
"Ordered this vest for my husband as a birthday gift. He loves it!
Leather is of very high quality and the fit is perfect."
Review 5 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
December 10, 2013
By: BigArt
from PA
"Pros: Comfortably cut. True to size(XXL). Nice looking.
Con: I think I will like the leather better AFTER I have worn this for a while. The leather is the reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5."
Review 6 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retro Vest,
December 8, 2013
By: Wiston
from NYC, NY
"I’m a loyal ORVIS customer for many years and mostly every item I buy is an icon and this leather vest is an excellent one, it exceeded my expectation.
Superb quality leather and impeccably lined with the three tiny pockets plus the inside one zipped is the must vest for any occasion.
I warmly recommend this leather vest.
Wiston
"
Review 7 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest !!!!,
November 29, 2013
By: jac111
from amory,ms
"I ordered this vest because i'm a cowboy at heart, it came in it's on zippered bag with a hanger and is the best looking vest I have ever owned, it's rich smooth leather looks great and feels even better. very high quality . It has a great looking lining as well !!! I have had several compliments on it too !!!! jim"
Review 8 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
November 21, 2013
By: WVMountaineer
"The vest is of very good quality. It does fit well to your body true to size so take in consideration your waste size also. I would recommend this item."
Review 9 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great vest,
February 26, 2013
By: 54Chevy
"When I bought this vest I expected to keep it for life for that broken in look. When it arrived I was surprised to see the button loops are just strips of thin leather
...not substantial enough and will not last a very long time. I just keep it unbuttoned.
"
Review 10 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest for the money,
November 23, 2011
By: jh1949
from Montana
"I have looked high and low for this vest. Glad to find it at Orvis. The Orvis store on 5th ave in Manhattan helped me find it, even though it was not in stock.
Fits well and is high quality."
Review 11 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Definately does not look like the photo,
October 8, 2011
By: RichardNJ
"I wish I would have read all of the review before ordering this vest. I though a solid 4 out of 5 was good enough for me. I received the vest and it looks nothing like the leather vest shown which is rich in leather grain. The actual vest has no grain. It is indeed painted. Color is flat, not as deep of a brown shown and has no grain. The constuction is good. But becuase of the color and overall look of the vest I will probably be returning mine. This is the first Orvis item that has ever dissappointed me in 20 years. It really should be removed from the catalog."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 9, 2011
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we are pleased to note that we did not encounter the reported problem. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.
________________________________________
Review 12 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what you expect,
September 28, 2011
By: Buster2902
from Alexandria, KY
"This vest is not the quality you expect from Orvis. It looks great in the picture, but the leather has a painted leather look and feel. First time ever in all of the items I have ordered from or purchased in an Orvis store. I have dozens of Orvis products, and for the record Orvis has great products, and this is the only time I have been disappointed. We are all human and make mistakes, and if Orvis was a baseball player, they still would have a batting average around 900 plus...and that's good enough to get you into the the hall of fame. Keep up the great work, and find all of us Orvis lovers a new leather two button vest we would be proud to wear."
Review 13 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality,
September 12, 2011
By: Jetta
from York,Pa.
"the fit is true to size. The quality of the leather is
very good.
"
Review 14 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A welcome gift,
January 16, 2011
By: Garb
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received this vest as a gift and couldn't be more pleased with the product.The fit, materials and workmanship are excellent examples of the quality I have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 15 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great lawyer vest,
December 30, 2010
By: lawyerdrye
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this vest to wear in my office when I am conducting mediations or seeing clients. It goes well with the old fashioned white and blue oxfords and khaki pants I wear. It has a fob pocket for my late grandfather's old railroad watch and I fasten the chain on the lower button. The vest is cut nicely and fits equally well buttoned or un-buttoned. I am very pleased with it."
Review 16 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
May 3, 2010
By: wyojim
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is my 5th style of Orvis' leather vest and I'm very happy with it. The leather is really nice, the fit is perfect, and the quality is what I've come to expect from Orvis. Good Job!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Item Is Not As Pictured,
September 23, 2008
By: Zoey
from St. Louis, MO
"The item is not as pictured. This is not dyed leather but rather painted leather and it will not wear well with age. It also looks cheap and although it may be leather, it is hard to tell because the richness is denied by the paint job. What upsets me most is that I have to pay shipping both ways for an item that is not what was promised by the item on the site and in the catalouge. That is wrong."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 24, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the item not being as it is shown in the photograph. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customers concerns on to the manufacture as they can be aware of the problem.
Review 18 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Canyon Country Vest,
September 5, 2008
By: Igvup
from Midway, KY-Horse Country
"Although the Canyon Country Vest appears to be a nice vest the one received is not the one pictured in your add. The vest received is 'Painted Leather' and is not natural cowhide. In addition the natural grainy appearance in the add depicting natural leather is what I was looking for. This vest will not age naturally as the painted leather will not breath and take on a weatherd look with age. The leather has been sealed by being painted, not dyed. Too bad as I was really looking forward to receiving the vest actually shown in the add."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 9, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the item not being as it is shown in the photograph. Orvis does want to assure customers that this item is cowhide. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customers concerns on to the manufacture as they can be aware of the problem.
Review 19 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best vest,
May 14, 2008
By: Wingman19
from Indianapolis, IN
"I have been looking at this vest for a year now and I now own it. It is great textured leather. Fits great and have worn it with comfort. I bought it to wear on a cattle drive and know this will be perfect. Goes great with the western style clothing that I wear."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canyon Country Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Relaxed,
February 27, 2008
By: JWest77
from Kalamzoo, MI
"Indeed a relaxed style, but trim and neat. Excellent precise stitching. Very comfortable. Enjoy it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.