Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UnderWader Fleece Suit

These fleece bibs are our best fleece underlayer for cold-weather fishing and hunting. Wrap yourself ankle to chest in improved T400 fleece. It provides less bulk but greater insulation, breathability, and wicking properties. So, you get superior warmth and greater comfort under your waders than any other fleece underwear system. Special four-way stretch adjusts to individual body type; plus gives crucial mobility and increased durability. Stirrups hold suit in place for easy on-and-off of waders. 5" breast pocket and rear zip pocket secure wallet, keys, and other essentials. Men's fleece bibs in black. Polyester/Spandex. Washable. Imported.Men's sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Review 1 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
March 20, 2014
By: Biggradey
from Halifax PA
"I just tried these out the other day for the first time. The temperature was 30 degrees and I was nice and warm. These are a must have and worth every penny if you fish in cold weather."
Review 2 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good layering garment,
February 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"Last november while wade-fishing for seatrout I tripped and fell into the rather cold Baltic in Denmark. I hadn't needed my set of spare waders and clothing for quite some time and found out that the spare fleece layering was just pants without bibs and stirrups, creeping up terribly. I found it a good idea to own a second set of fleece bibs and ordered the UnderWader Fleece suit. I'm glad that I ordered an XL instead the of the XXL that most often suits me: As others have remarked before, they're baggy around the middle and in the upper legs. Wore them under breathable waders fishing in 5°C cold water, and in the boat under similar conditions, over a pair of long johns. Insulation was good, but not quite as good as the 500 g fleece of my old danish-made fleece bibs. Ease of movement was better in the Orvis garment, though this is a trade-off with less insulation in the chest and back. Will recommend it to others with the advice to use an extra kidney and back warmer if sensitive in this area."
Review 3 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Lasting,
January 13, 2014
By: jyuelling
from Swain NY
"I just received a second pair of these from my wife for our 14th anniversary. The first pair I bought the year we got married. I used them for a few years fishing and then use them every weekend skiing. I am a ski instructor and use these for at least 8 hours a day 2 to 5 days a week for 10 years and besides a hole in the crotch that was sewed up they are still in great shape. I don't think I every used a single item of clothing as much as these and I love them. I hope Orvis will still carry these. They are not cheap but you get what you pay for."
Review 4 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sizing problem,
October 15, 2013
By: 29lbCoho8lbline
from Ontario, Canada
"Not to put a damper on an otherwise good product I'd nevertheless suggest a rethink concerning sizing. XX was too tight on me though fit my nephew perfectly (he's 34" @ the waist, I'm 46")"
Review 5 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
under wader fleece,
August 26, 2013
By: Surferbez
from Shetland
"Just worn these for the first time in the seas of the Shetland Isles. Very warm and comfy, what a difference compared to regular thermal trousers! Can't feel the cold at all and two seat trout caught, bonus!
I bought a size smaller for a snug fit and they are forgiving enough to stay close to your skin but not restrict movement. Thanks.
"
Review 6 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
March 11, 2013
By: Tucks
from Devon, UK
"Great item wore it for the first time last week and was ideal as part of my layering - highly recommended"
Review 7 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ill fitting product,
February 12, 2013
By: newtofly
from Birmingham UK
"You can see the quality in the product but the measurements are wrong for the product listed as medium (more like a 36" inside leg), when I sent the product back I was informed the small was not in stock although the website informs me otherwise which left me me £10 out of pocket after posting."
Review 8 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for cold weather fishing,
January 5, 2013
By: pmurf54
from Gates Mills, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I received these fleece bibs for Christmas 2 years ago and absolutely love them. I had worn fleece pants with no stirrups under my waders for a while and struggled with keeping them from bunching up. After trying rubber bands and tucking them into my socks I was getting frustrated. These fixed the problem perfectly. The zip from the top and bottom is great for when nature calls. Since I received these, I have fished in Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York in the fall, winter and spring, and have been very pleased with the performance. If the water is below low 40 degree range, or the air is below freezing, I will add a pair of long johns underneath or other light fleece pants over the top. The cut is ample and I am too, in the middle section. I also layer these under heavy duty bibs for ice fishing, been comfortable in subzero temps. For winter camping, they are also a dynamite layer. I've worn these on some nasty days and love them"
Review 9 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great product,
November 20, 2012
By: rainbowtheclown
from Hazleton Pa.
"awsome suit. Great under hunting and wading gear. Wore it in cold weather archery here in Pa. GREAT
Thanks orvis for another great product
"
Review 10 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth Getting.,
November 8, 2012
By: Cardo
"Although it's not a heavy pile fleece it does keep you warm. The stirrups are a VERY nice feature as well as the two way zipper (one up and one down). I agree with others that the cut favors the 'thick-through-the-middle' sort. I ordered the small and am going to get it tailored to take out some of the slack. Although if you wear it over your pants and shirt the extra room helps. I haven't worn it any morning colder than 42. Looking forward to trying it out this DEC/JAN."
Review 11 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says,
November 5, 2012
By: fishing4me
from Warminster. UK.
"An excellent product. I use it for autumn and spring salmon fishing. Deep wading and cold rivers. The Orvis UnderWader Fleece Suit gives warmth and total flexibility of movement. Best used as part of a layer system. As I get older, I feel the cold more. This garment is a considerable boon and really does keep me warm."
Review 12 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent item,
October 25, 2012
By: Edinburghbilly
from Edinburgh, Scotland
"Used this for the first time whilst float tubing on a large loch on a fairly cold Scottish day.
Kept me exceptionally warm and would highly recommend.
"
Review 13 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keeps you always dry and warm,
April 1, 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use these "fleece trousers" now since 2 years. The first broke the first fishing day out and was replaced by ORVIS as expected immediately.
I like this flleece so much that I also use it in the warmer months.
I gave it 4 stars because the shoulder parts could be a tad longer."
Review 14 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One of the better under wader suits I have found,
December 28, 2011
By: Incrediblehook
from Baldwin, Mi
"I really like the foot stirrups in this suit as well as the warm material. I did have an issue with the zipper ripping at the crotch, not sure if I can return something thats been used for a month though."
Review 15 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best one piece for fishing or hunting,
November 8, 2011
By: thombui
from Aptos California
"Another great product from Orvis. This one piece under wader beats all other under garments i have owned. If you fish,hunt or relish any other outdoor cold weather activity this is hard to beat. If you wade for trout or steelhead or spend any time in the cold you have to try this garment. Best one i have ever purchased and not the first."
Review 16 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more cold days on the river!,
September 18, 2010
By: StoneflyBri
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a well-thought-out and innovative product. Anyone whose ever tried to put on breathable- waders over layers of thermal long-johns and jeans will love the ease-of-use and warmth that this underwader fleece system provides! Between the power-stretch upper and the stirrups there is never any creeping up--and sizing and fit is made much easier.The full-length front zipper makes getting them on and off simple. I have fished on the Rogue River while it has been showing and blowing and have been warm and comfortable. The surge-stitching around the stirrup and arm holes tends to unravel from friction over time but nothing that can't be re-done at a local tailor shop for a couple of bucks. Otherwise this is a perfect cold-weather fishing accessory!"
Review 17 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed Modifications,
February 25, 2010
By: rockhead
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Iam 5'10" and 170 lbs., I ordered the large based on inseam and chest size. Those measurements were good but you could put two of me inside these. If you are a guy with a large boiler then this product is for you. I am having them tailored at an extra expense. The fabric is mid weight fleece which I expect to do the job of keeping me warm but a better fit would have been appreciated."
Review 18 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every dime,
December 10, 2009
By: FastRivers
from Vancouver, WA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steelhead fishing on Washington's Klickitat in November, Oregon's Deschutes in December and the Olympic's Bogachiel in January is hard enough, don't need the challenges of staying warm. This fleece is not only warm, but quite comfortable. I've never had a problem with my torso getting cold when i started wearing them. I even use them for winter razor clam digging on the WA coast. Easy to walk around with waders on, zipper system works from the top and the bottom. Great value. Great product."
Review 19 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential for cold weather fishing,
November 21, 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This past April, I was fishing for steelhead in a drift boat on the Big Manistee River in Michigan. Although we caught some nice fish, i froze. This past fall, when we went on the Betsy River in Michigan, I was determined not to have a repeat performance. I ordered these overalls and received them just in time for my trip - thank goodness. They kept me warm in 30 degree weather. Trust me, if you are going fishing or hunting in cold weather, you need these overalls!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UnderWader Fleece Suit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very comfortable,
January 16, 2009
By: MartijnSchenning
from Scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"What a great product! I always struggled to stay warm on those really cold days. But with this product no more! Very comfortable to wear. No more trousers coming up while getting your waders on. And last but not least VERY WARM! I had to break the saltwater ice from my rod guids but had no problems staying warm."