Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Loch Leven Vest

An all-weather vest for all conditions. The microfiber shell fends off precipitation, and the Primaloft® insulation holds in heat. Loaded with pockets for all his gear. In olive. 100% polyester microfiber. Washable. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Loch Leven Vest
Review 1 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form & Function...,
November 3, 2014
By: WGWalker
from South Georgia
"This vest has become a staple in my wardrobe for its utility: warmth & weather-proofing (wind+wet), layer-ability, handy pockets, and not least of all washability... and subtle, rugged good looks. I found the colour to be significantly darker than the online images, which lends itself to being more of an understated style since the details are much more subtle. Goes with everything!"
Review 2 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good , but not great,
June 3, 2014
By: Citeog
from Long Island, NY
"The vest arrived pronto. The vest is Ok, but not great. Size cut is comfortable, but fabric is not top-notch. I am sure glad I bought it on sale and did not pay full price. It is fine for every day cool weather use, but insulation is no where near winter weight."
Review 3 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loved the vest,
December 31, 2013
By: TNwoman
from East Tn
"My husband is the most difficult to buy for .It has been years that a clothing purchase has met his approval> he has worn the vest everyday since Christmas. A total hit in my household. Wish they made a coat that had same design."
Review 4 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 30, 2013
By: Sheni
"The vest is well made, true to size and looks well on the user."
Review 5 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loch Leven Vest,
December 28, 2013
By: Falconer
from PA
"Good quality, fits well, cheaper than Barbour and as good"
Review 6 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loch Leven Vest,
December 25, 2013
By: Weezie1
from Cedar Lake, IN
"My husband loves Orvis clothing. But, this vest was an outstanding Christmas surprise for him with all of the pockets and the corduroy neck great feature. The lining stitching another good touch - I've been out of work for some time so this purchase was a great treat. Thank you for having quality merchandise."
Review 7 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vest,
November 23, 2013
By: happyvest
from Duluth, Georgia
"This vest is well fitting, comfortable, and warm yet gives you all the movement you need for your day to day activities. Color matches most attire."
Review 8 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this vest,
November 6, 2013
By: GagasDream
from Springfield. IL.
"I own about 5 or 6 vests and this is the best yet. It's warm, comfortable, and good looking."
Review 9 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels like an old friend,
February 5, 2013
By: Dwightdch
from Burlington, CT
"comfortable, right weight, good looking, this is the second purchase of this product. I liked it the first time I purchased it that I wore it out!"
Review 10 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Vest!,
January 3, 2012
By: Qualitybuff
from Brookline, MA
"I got this vest as a Christmas gift from my wife and have barely taken it off. The design is great and the shade of olive is more green (as opposed to muddy brown) which I prefer. The, yellow check lining, and the tan corduroy collar are also very well coordinated into the overall design. The roomy back pockets and the button side waist adjusters are a plus.
I don't know how the other gentlemen who own this feel, but I think the vest looks best over a dark under layer like a black or navy fleece. I fully zip the underlayer, and then wear the vest with the flap unbuttoned for easy access to the side pocket under the placket - this also lets the lining peek through as well.
Excellent product guys!"
Review 11 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Impressed,
November 7, 2011
By: davidr
"It was pretty ill fitting. I am the definition of a medium, but this vest fit strangely. It was baggy, but hard to get your hands in the handwarmer pockets because they seemed to be placed to far back. None of the pockets were very easy to access except the front ones with button flaps, and they were surprisingly small.
i returned the vest, unhappy wth the purchase.
"
Review 12 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for concealed carry.,
October 11, 2011
By: DougB
from Texas
"I have a concealed carry permit but only carry on certain occasions when I have to enter a high-risk area. It is awkward (and frankly, defeats the purpose) to try to carry under my shirt, so I was looking for a vest that would work to cover a belt-clip carry. I was delighted to find that this vest has two outside pockets on the rear of the vest, in addition to the two flap vests shown on the front. The outside rear pockets are perfect for a concealed carry as they are easliy accessible and don't shout to the world that you are carrying."
Review 13 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby loves it!,
September 29, 2011
By: alexanika
from age 64, retired, WI
"This vest was much appreciated as a birthday gift. Had planned to have him wear this on a bus tour, looked comfy, lots of pockets for cameras and phones and stuff, the reviews had nothing but praise...well, can't get it off of him to pack it! He really likes wearing this vest and is so happy with the color. Thanks for making my gift choice such a hit!"
Review 14 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own 2 !!,
July 26, 2011
By: SkylersFriend
from Oregon coast
"I was not a vest guy until I got one of these. Then I bought myself another one just in case Orvis discontinued the product. I am a tich abusive to my clothes but so far after a couple of years I haven't had to break dig up my backup. Come to think of it I think I will order another as a backup to my backup."
Review 15 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makes a great gift,
January 10, 2011
By: rumpole
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this vest was a gift to me and fits the bill for an all-purpose vest. i have given it to two close friends who also seem pleased.
there's no need to be too protective since it comes out of the washer like new.
"
Review 16 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the Pockets,
January 3, 2011
By: Gadgets
from New York, NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very satisfied. Only minor complaint I have is that there is no loop sewn in for you to hang the vest on a hook."
Review 17 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purely Outstanding,
December 27, 2010
By: CarolinaSidebySide
"Just rec'd 2 days before Christmas and I find it hard to take off. Extremely comfortable, soft and warm. Seems durable enough, length is perfect. If you border L and XL, go with the XL. Other reviews right on the mark, adequate pockets and good placement. I have paid more for less in other vests. Also, adjustable mid-section straps allow one to draw in the vest for a more snug fit that keeps it from ballooning out in the rear. Good feature."
Review 18 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great vest!,
February 25, 2010
By: CharlestonLS
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was looking for a nice wax cotton vest when I stumbled on this vest from Orvis and decided to give it a try. I am very pleased with the quality, the pockets and the warmth. One of the things the info on the vest doesn't do is talk about the pockets. It has great pockets in all the needed places including handwarmers behind the front pouch pockets and a hidden pocket inside the front zipper placket. I only gave the value 4 stars because I got it at sale price which is a fair price but the full price was a little high."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happiness,
February 15, 2010
By: wearyeye
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The one constant in my sartorial experience is Orvis. Your offerings are second to none for the man who desires classic style and funtion in his wardrobe. The Loch Leven vest is no exception. When it's a matter of comfort, serviceability and fashion, and it always is, I wear your vest with confidence."
Review 20 for Loch Leven Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Almost excellent,
January 27, 2010
By: treeguy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Loch Leven vest is just what I needed. Design and styling are great. Love the pockets and two-way zipper. A huge plus for me; no polyester fleece - the bggest static electricity generator on the planet! The one major problem is the armholes - way too small. They don't allow for a sweater underneath (an essential for a vest) and the range of motion is extremely limited. If this bit was improved, it would be a 5-star all around."