Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Field Chronograph

Our men's chronograph watch is rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; superaccurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Men's chronograph watch is water resistant to 50m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
17
108 of 138(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 18, 2014
By: pstaff87
"Goodlooking watch. Fast shipping.
Can't wait to see his face Christmas morning.
"
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome Watch,
December 17, 2014
By: joeyhjimenez
from Colorado
"This is an incredibly handsome watch at the price. I've had the watch for about a month now and absolutely love it's look and feel. It has functioned superbly. The watch band is a "tad" long, BUT there is an adjustable keeper that keeps the tail of the band in place."
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite watch,
December 13, 2014
By: JIMJeep
from Alabama
"This is the best watch I have ever owned. I have had it for 4 years. I submerge it every day during warm months. Salt water eats the band (replaced it twice), but the watch keeps going and looks brand new. I broke it once, and Orvis's repair plan is outstanding."
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Manly, Handsom,
December 6, 2014
By: Charleigh44
from Lafayette, IN
"My husband has admired this watch in your catalog for several years. I finally decided to stop asking if he'd like it (he tends to be very frugal with himself), and simply present him with the watch. Great move -- he loves it, wears it all the time, and once he put it on, there was no more discussion about being able to get along without it."
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch!,
December 1, 2014
By: LBJ00
from NYC
"Love this watch! Great deal for a great looking chrono."
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish watch - shame about the strap,
November 24, 2014
By: SueSAUK123654789803
from UK
"I bought this watch as a present for my husband. He was delighted with it. It keeps excellent time, the dial is easy to read and it looks very stylish. Unfortunately, within 4 months the buckle has come off the spindle through the leather strap and it will need to be repaired or replaced."
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch,
November 24, 2014
By: Kilodelta
from Surrey
"Very pleased with this watch, which as with all Orvis products is great quality, and looks good too!
I field tested it on safari in Africa, and my only disappointment is that the dial is not luminous enough after dark, and one needs a torch to read the time
"
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Detailed and Functional Watch,
October 6, 2014
By: Skiffboy
from Louisiana
"Very detailed watch and well tought. Its nice to have the time and stop watch function both visible. The band is a little narrower than I thought. Good quality as expected from Orvis."
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged and Stylish Friend,
September 4, 2014
By: Frank71
"An outstanding time piece that can take tough treatment and still perform every minute of every day!
Easy to read, light weight and comfortable band too.
"
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He Loves It !!,
August 22, 2014
By: MommaBake
from West Virginia
"My son has never worn a watch nor has he ever wanted to. However he needed a watch for grad school. He has a small wrist so he had to have more notches on the band but he loves the look and functionality of this watch. Mom scores again!! Thanks Orvis."
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
August 18, 2014
By: BiggestWally
from Medford, Or
"This is my second watch of this type. The first one I wore everywhere and finally the strap broke and it fell on the sidewalk and stopped working. Fortunately I was able to purchase another watch just like it. it is best watch I have ever owned and I recommend it to everyone."
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good as always,
August 10, 2014
By: CJTHEDAD
from Sterling IL
"all i wear are Orvis watches if something goes wrong they replace no questions asked best customer service of any company I have ever dealt with"
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase!,
July 28, 2014
By: ADVjohnH
from Birmingham, AL
"I just bought this watch tonight at the new Orvis outlet near my home. As soon as I saw it in the store, I knew it was perfect.
Many other reviews said the band was too big, and I agree, it would be better if it were smaller and less thick, but it looks great anyway, and it fits my average size wrist when I use the smallest hole.
Another problem other reviews brought up was that the second hand didn't stop at 0 when in the stopwatch setting. I noticed that that was also the case with my watch, but within a few minutes I found the solution. If the second hand stops anywhere but 0:
1) press the bottom button once, activating stopwatch mode
2) pull out the time/date set dial to the second click as if you were setting the time
3) press the top button repeatedly until the second hand is on 0
4) set the time and push the set dial all the way back in
Wala! Your stopwatch will function perfectly!
All things considered, it is a beautiful watch, a perfect gift, and the Orvis brand is well respected in hunting and fishing communities."
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
July 23, 2014
By: GARo
from New York, NY
"Perfect gift for my boyfriend being that it is fully refundable even with the monogramming! He loves the manly design and appreciated the thought behind the monogram. Tracking was easy too, great customer service and will definitely be buying again!"
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great looking watch,
June 26, 2014
By: JTD1234
"The watch is great and looks good. The band, however, could use a few tweaks. It is a little large even for an average 6 foot guy and it seems to crack easily. Had to replace after a couple of months."
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved......,
June 7, 2014
By: Helzzza
"I bought this watch for my husband with his initials engraved.
He loves it. The black face with the leather looks really sharp.
Goes with everything.
"
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap watch,
May 12, 2014
By: HORME
"Wristband was terrible. Much to large.
Watch case was fairly insignificant.
"
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BAD PURCHASE!!!,
April 29, 2014
By: 75SJAQWZ
from SAN FRANCISCO, CAL
"I ORDERED THE WATCH BECAUSE I BELIEVE IT SAID THE HANDS AND THE NUMBERS GLOWED IN THE DARK
THE NUMBERS DO NOT GLOW
I WILL PROBABLY RETURN IT FOR A REFUND
"
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Substandard quality watch,
April 1, 2014
By: xyzSomerset
from New Jersey
"The big second hand that is used to start and stop the timer resets incorrectly to 58 seconds instead of 0 seconds where it should be. Poor attention to detail in manufacturing. Leather watch band is quite large, too large for normal sized wrist."
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for son,
March 25, 2014
By: TooToo34U
from Bowling Green, KY
"This watch caught my eye in catalog. Decided to purchase for my son as a surprise gift. He was so happy to receive it. Made 2 calls to me thanking me for such a handsome watch. The watch made his day and the calls made mine."