Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Field Chronograph

Rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; super-accurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Water resistant to 50m.
Average Customer Rating:
3.86 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
32
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
18
117 of 150(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch!,
May 5, 2015
By: Kpv724
"This is a really nice looking watch. The face is a little smaller than I was looking for though."
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good watch,
April 30, 2015
By: JCPb4u
from Kingston, RI
"The watch works well although the date is a little tricky to set. The band is much too long and will have to be replaced."
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Running a Little Slow,
April 15, 2015
By: teadude
"I love the style of my new field watch, especially since I replaced the original band at a local watch band store. After a week of using it tho, I'm disappointed to see that the watch loses about 30 seconds every 24 Hrs. I've owned a watch for nearly all of the last 35 years, and I've never had one lose time. I'll be taking it back to the store for a replacement to see if another one will do any better."
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Customer Service,
April 9, 2015
By: WillMSC
from Charleston, SC
"Great watch, however the customer service I was provided by Orvis and their third party vendor Parsec Enterprises Inc. when trying to get my watch repaired has probably been the worst I have ever experienced. If you plan on ever replacing the watch band with the orignal one once it wears out (which it will) then I would highly suggest against purchasing this product."
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this watch,
April 4, 2015
By: ooitsjer
"I own several "high end" watches. However this is a favorite of mine. This is the third time I've purchased this watch from Orvis. The first time was seven years ago. I lost it. The second time was five years ago. I recently broke it (long story). The third one hasn't arrived as yet. Watch aficionados always assume that it is an expensive Swiss made time piece."
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Changed Watch Band,
February 23, 2015
By: Nous6020
from Sacramento, CA
"So, I actually received my original field chronograph 4-5 years as a gift. The watch was sturdy and quite handsome. However, after years of regular use, the band wore out and the battery needed to be replaced. I sent the watch into Orvis for service. Around that same time, I bought four field chronographs as groomsman gifts.
What I found with the newer field chronographs is that Orvis has changed the band from a handsome, high quality leather, and now uses a lower quality, less attractive leather for the band. I also noticed, both on with my replacement band and the new watches, that the band is much longer than it used to be, so that even in its tightest position, the watch strap is much too large, leaving the watch to slide up and down my wrist. Because this is annoying, I find myself either removing the watch frequently, such as when I am typing on the computer, or choosing to wear a different watch that fits my writs better.
That said, my only issue is with the newer leather band. The main case has not changed significantly between my older watch, and the newer ones that I purchased as gifts.
I would like to request that if at all possible, Orvis return to using the older, higher quality leather bands, which provided a better fit, and made for a more handsome wristwatch."
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the right size!,
January 4, 2015
By: UTKVolAdam
"I received this watch for Christmas. The face is just the right size and it looks good with casual or dress clothes."
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this watch!,
January 2, 2015
By: FlieFisher111
from Sacramento, CA
"This watch is stylish and dependable. I have owned one for many years- got it as a holiday gift from my grandparents and have liked it so much over the years that I decided to by one for my brother in law. It is comfortable and the leather band has withstood the test of time. It is easy to read- even at night thanks to indiglo dials."
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch Review,
December 29, 2014
By: bodo
from Massachusetts
"I purchased this watch as a give, and it did not disappoint. Quality vs price was just outstanding!"
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas gift,
December 29, 2014
By: mikeshortstop
from The Villages, FL
"Got the watch for Christmas from my wife, she saw me looking at it in the catalog. Great surprise when it came, totally satisfied, great looking and the display case was awesome. Have recieved a lot of compliments in the short time I've had it,"
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
December 26, 2014
By: Edjunior
from Ny, Ny
"very strong band, outstanding face, very stylish, would reccomend to any outdoorsman who'd like a dressy alternative!"
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 18, 2014
By: pstaff87
"Goodlooking watch. Fast shipping.
Can't wait to see his face Christmas morning.
"
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome Watch,
December 17, 2014
By: joeyhjimenez
from Colorado
"This is an incredibly handsome watch at the price. I've had the watch for about a month now and absolutely love it's look and feel. It has functioned superbly. The watch band is a "tad" long, BUT there is an adjustable keeper that keeps the tail of the band in place."
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite watch,
December 13, 2014
By: JIMJeep
from Alabama
"This is the best watch I have ever owned. I have had it for 4 years. I submerge it every day during warm months. Salt water eats the band (replaced it twice), but the watch keeps going and looks brand new. I broke it once, and Orvis's repair plan is outstanding."
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Manly, Handsom,
December 6, 2014
By: Charleigh44
from Lafayette, IN
"My husband has admired this watch in your catalog for several years. I finally decided to stop asking if he'd like it (he tends to be very frugal with himself), and simply present him with the watch. Great move -- he loves it, wears it all the time, and once he put it on, there was no more discussion about being able to get along without it."
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch!,
December 1, 2014
By: LBJ00
from NYC
"Love this watch! Great deal for a great looking chrono."
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish watch - shame about the strap,
November 24, 2014
By: SueSAUK123654789803
from UK
"I bought this watch as a present for my husband. He was delighted with it. It keeps excellent time, the dial is easy to read and it looks very stylish. Unfortunately, within 4 months the buckle has come off the spindle through the leather strap and it will need to be repaired or replaced."
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch,
November 24, 2014
By: Kilodelta
from Surrey
"Very pleased with this watch, which as with all Orvis products is great quality, and looks good too!
I field tested it on safari in Africa, and my only disappointment is that the dial is not luminous enough after dark, and one needs a torch to read the time
"
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Detailed and Functional Watch,
October 6, 2014
By: Skiffboy
from Louisiana
"Very detailed watch and well tought. Its nice to have the time and stop watch function both visible. The band is a little narrower than I thought. Good quality as expected from Orvis."
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged and Stylish Friend,
September 4, 2014
By: Frank71
"An outstanding time piece that can take tough treatment and still perform every minute of every day!
Easy to read, light weight and comfortable band too.
"