Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Field Chronograph

Our men's chronograph watch is rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; superaccurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Men's chronograph watch is water resistant to 50m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.869 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
31
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
17
114 of 145(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Changed Watch Band,
February 23, 2015
By: Nous6020
from Sacramento, CA
"So, I actually received my original field chronograph 4-5 years as a gift. The watch was sturdy and quite handsome. However, after years of regular use, the band wore out and the battery needed to be replaced. I sent the watch into Orvis for service. Around that same time, I bought four field chronographs as groomsman gifts.
What I found with the newer field chronographs is that Orvis has changed the band from a handsome, high quality leather, and now uses a lower quality, less attractive leather for the band. I also noticed, both on with my replacement band and the new watches, that the band is much longer than it used to be, so that even in its tightest position, the watch strap is much too large, leaving the watch to slide up and down my wrist. Because this is annoying, I find myself either removing the watch frequently, such as when I am typing on the computer, or choosing to wear a different watch that fits my writs better.
That said, my only issue is with the newer leather band. The main case has not changed significantly between my older watch, and the newer ones that I purchased as gifts.
I would like to request that if at all possible, Orvis return to using the older, higher quality leather bands, which provided a better fit, and made for a more handsome wristwatch."
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the right size!,
January 4, 2015
By: UTKVolAdam
"I received this watch for Christmas. The face is just the right size and it looks good with casual or dress clothes."
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this watch!,
January 2, 2015
By: FlieFisher111
from Sacramento, CA
"This watch is stylish and dependable. I have owned one for many years- got it as a holiday gift from my grandparents and have liked it so much over the years that I decided to by one for my brother in law. It is comfortable and the leather band has withstood the test of time. It is easy to read- even at night thanks to indiglo dials."
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch Review,
December 29, 2014
By: bodo
from Massachusetts
"I purchased this watch as a give, and it did not disappoint. Quality vs price was just outstanding!"
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas gift,
December 29, 2014
By: mikeshortstop
from The Villages, FL
"Got the watch for Christmas from my wife, she saw me looking at it in the catalog. Great surprise when it came, totally satisfied, great looking and the display case was awesome. Have recieved a lot of compliments in the short time I've had it,"
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
December 26, 2014
By: Edjunior
from Ny, Ny
"very strong band, outstanding face, very stylish, would reccomend to any outdoorsman who'd like a dressy alternative!"
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 18, 2014
By: pstaff87
"Goodlooking watch. Fast shipping.
Can't wait to see his face Christmas morning.
"
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome Watch,
December 17, 2014
By: joeyhjimenez
from Colorado
"This is an incredibly handsome watch at the price. I've had the watch for about a month now and absolutely love it's look and feel. It has functioned superbly. The watch band is a "tad" long, BUT there is an adjustable keeper that keeps the tail of the band in place."
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite watch,
December 13, 2014
By: JIMJeep
from Alabama
"This is the best watch I have ever owned. I have had it for 4 years. I submerge it every day during warm months. Salt water eats the band (replaced it twice), but the watch keeps going and looks brand new. I broke it once, and Orvis's repair plan is outstanding."
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Manly, Handsom,
December 6, 2014
By: Charleigh44
from Lafayette, IN
"My husband has admired this watch in your catalog for several years. I finally decided to stop asking if he'd like it (he tends to be very frugal with himself), and simply present him with the watch. Great move -- he loves it, wears it all the time, and once he put it on, there was no more discussion about being able to get along without it."
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch!,
December 1, 2014
By: LBJ00
from NYC
"Love this watch! Great deal for a great looking chrono."
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish watch - shame about the strap,
November 24, 2014
By: SueSAUK123654789803
from UK
"I bought this watch as a present for my husband. He was delighted with it. It keeps excellent time, the dial is easy to read and it looks very stylish. Unfortunately, within 4 months the buckle has come off the spindle through the leather strap and it will need to be repaired or replaced."
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch,
November 24, 2014
By: Kilodelta
from Surrey
"Very pleased with this watch, which as with all Orvis products is great quality, and looks good too!
I field tested it on safari in Africa, and my only disappointment is that the dial is not luminous enough after dark, and one needs a torch to read the time
"
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Detailed and Functional Watch,
October 6, 2014
By: Skiffboy
from Louisiana
"Very detailed watch and well tought. Its nice to have the time and stop watch function both visible. The band is a little narrower than I thought. Good quality as expected from Orvis."
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged and Stylish Friend,
September 4, 2014
By: Frank71
"An outstanding time piece that can take tough treatment and still perform every minute of every day!
Easy to read, light weight and comfortable band too.
"
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He Loves It !!,
August 22, 2014
By: MommaBake
from West Virginia
"My son has never worn a watch nor has he ever wanted to. However he needed a watch for grad school. He has a small wrist so he had to have more notches on the band but he loves the look and functionality of this watch. Mom scores again!! Thanks Orvis."
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
August 18, 2014
By: BiggestWally
from Medford, Or
"This is my second watch of this type. The first one I wore everywhere and finally the strap broke and it fell on the sidewalk and stopped working. Fortunately I was able to purchase another watch just like it. it is best watch I have ever owned and I recommend it to everyone."
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good as always,
August 10, 2014
By: CJTHEDAD
from Sterling IL
"all i wear are Orvis watches if something goes wrong they replace no questions asked best customer service of any company I have ever dealt with"
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase!,
July 28, 2014
By: ADVjohnH
from Birmingham, AL
"I just bought this watch tonight at the new Orvis outlet near my home. As soon as I saw it in the store, I knew it was perfect.
Many other reviews said the band was too big, and I agree, it would be better if it were smaller and less thick, but it looks great anyway, and it fits my average size wrist when I use the smallest hole.
Another problem other reviews brought up was that the second hand didn't stop at 0 when in the stopwatch setting. I noticed that that was also the case with my watch, but within a few minutes I found the solution. If the second hand stops anywhere but 0:
1) press the bottom button once, activating stopwatch mode
2) pull out the time/date set dial to the second click as if you were setting the time
3) press the top button repeatedly until the second hand is on 0
4) set the time and push the set dial all the way back in
Wala! Your stopwatch will function perfectly!
All things considered, it is a beautiful watch, a perfect gift, and the Orvis brand is well respected in hunting and fishing communities."
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
July 23, 2014
By: GARo
from New York, NY
"Perfect gift for my boyfriend being that it is fully refundable even with the monogramming! He loves the manly design and appreciated the thought behind the monogram. Tracking was easy too, great customer service and will definitely be buying again!"