Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Field Chronograph

Our men's chronograph watch is rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; superaccurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Men's chronograph watch is water resistant to 50m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.728 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
17
95 of 125(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
August 18, 2014
By: BiggestWally
from Medford, Or
"This is my second watch of this type. The first one I wore everywhere and finally the strap broke and it fell on the sidewalk and stopped working. Fortunately I was able to purchase another watch just like it. it is best watch I have ever owned and I recommend it to everyone."
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good as always,
August 10, 2014
By: CJTHEDAD
from Sterling IL
"all i wear are Orvis watches if something goes wrong they replace no questions asked best customer service of any company I have ever dealt with"
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase!,
July 28, 2014
By: ADVjohnH
from Birmingham, AL
"I just bought this watch tonight at the new Orvis outlet near my home. As soon as I saw it in the store, I knew it was perfect.
Many other reviews said the band was too big, and I agree, it would be better if it were smaller and less thick, but it looks great anyway, and it fits my average size wrist when I use the smallest hole.
Another problem other reviews brought up was that the second hand didn't stop at 0 when in the stopwatch setting. I noticed that that was also the case with my watch, but within a few minutes I found the solution. If the second hand stops anywhere but 0:
1) press the bottom button once, activating stopwatch mode
2) pull out the time/date set dial to the second click as if you were setting the time
3) press the top button repeatedly until the second hand is on 0
4) set the time and push the set dial all the way back in
Wala! Your stopwatch will function perfectly!
All things considered, it is a beautiful watch, a perfect gift, and the Orvis brand is well respected in hunting and fishing communities."
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
July 23, 2014
By: GARo
from New York, NY
"Perfect gift for my boyfriend being that it is fully refundable even with the monogramming! He loves the manly design and appreciated the thought behind the monogram. Tracking was easy too, great customer service and will definitely be buying again!"
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great looking watch,
June 26, 2014
By: JTD1234
"The watch is great and looks good. The band, however, could use a few tweaks. It is a little large even for an average 6 foot guy and it seems to crack easily. Had to replace after a couple of months."
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved......,
June 7, 2014
By: Helzzza
"I bought this watch for my husband with his initials engraved.
He loves it. The black face with the leather looks really sharp.
Goes with everything.
"
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap watch,
May 12, 2014
By: HORME
"Wristband was terrible. Much to large.
Watch case was fairly insignificant.
"
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BAD PURCHASE!!!,
April 29, 2014
By: 75SJAQWZ
from SAN FRANCISCO, CAL
"I ORDERED THE WATCH BECAUSE I BELIEVE IT SAID THE HANDS AND THE NUMBERS GLOWED IN THE DARK
THE NUMBERS DO NOT GLOW
I WILL PROBABLY RETURN IT FOR A REFUND
"
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Substandard quality watch,
April 1, 2014
By: xyzSomerset
from New Jersey
"The big second hand that is used to start and stop the timer resets incorrectly to 58 seconds instead of 0 seconds where it should be. Poor attention to detail in manufacturing. Leather watch band is quite large, too large for normal sized wrist."
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for son,
March 25, 2014
By: TooToo34U
from Bowling Green, KY
"This watch caught my eye in catalog. Decided to purchase for my son as a surprise gift. He was so happy to receive it. Made 2 calls to me thanking me for such a handsome watch. The watch made his day and the calls made mine."
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Face,
March 5, 2014
By: ladyangler
"The face of this watch is beautiful and very classic. However the leather band that comes with this watch is not what you would expect. This item was a gift, and they ended up returning the item due to the leather band. Again, the look of the face is great."
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Attractive watch,
February 12, 2014
By: kgeezy
"This watch has a very good looking face and is classy and stylish as well as casual for everyday wear. However, the watch band that is shown on the online catalog looks NOTHING like the band that is actually on the watch. Also, the band is extra long (I think its 9.25 inches long). I ended up ordering a replacement band and now it fits. Overall, good looking watch, with a sub par band."
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
functional watch,
January 25, 2014
By: Shalako
"The watch has been working fine and keeping time. However, the large second hand didn't work originally, then worked for a couple days, and has stop working. The directions with the watch were not real clear."
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Wonderful Gift! + amazing customer service!,
January 3, 2014
By: TrippsGirl
from Dallas, TX
"I ordered this watch as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He loves it! He's had his eye on it for three years and it certainly lived up to his dreams! He's gotten many compliments and I couldn't be happier with their customer service!! Orvis takes care of their customers!"
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Watch,
January 3, 2014
By: Bowser1
from Nashville, Tn
"Received the watch as a 21st birthday present. Very nice watch and looks great. Have had many compliments. Only problem is the band is a little big on my wrist."
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Watch for Great Price,
January 2, 2014
By: RobertR
from Atlanta, GA
"I have been looking for a quality, affordable watch that fit my requirements for simplicity and legibility. This watch covers those requirements in spades.
I have owned the watch for over a year, and have been very happy with my purchase."
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
December 28, 2013
By: HartB
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This watch is a perfect mix between sporty and dressy. The beautiful leather band and black face makes it easy to wear with anything. It's lightweight and doesn't get in the way of long sleeve shirts. Great hit among the guys in my house!"
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gift,
December 19, 2013
By: OR492
from Eugene, OR
"My father wanted a field watch for hunting and this watch looked like a great idea. When it arrived it was very nicely wrapped and when he saw it and put it on we both new it was perfect. Great buy, excellent gift, highly recommend."
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift,
December 16, 2013
By: RJElizabeth
from North Carolina
"I gave my boyfriend this watch for his birthday and he loves it! The band on his looks a little different, I like the one in the photo better. But it's a great, everyday watch. He loves the stopwatch feature the most."
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Expected Better,
December 15, 2013
By: bondtanner
from Houston, TX
"I loved it initially even though the leather band was too long for my wrist. Three months after getting it, I had to replace the band because the "keeper" loop broke and caused the loose end of the band to flail constantly. After 9 months, I noticed that the crystal was scratched severely in many spots and I only wear this watch part time. Not sure why Orvis or whoever manufactured the watch went with a convex surface for the face and within 2 years, the battery died, it lives in a drawer now :("