Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Field Chronograph

Our men's chronograph watch is rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; superaccurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Men's chronograph watch is water resistant to 50m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.754 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
27
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
14
87 of 114(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Substandard quality watch,
April 1, 2014
By: xyzSomerset
from New Jersey
"The big second hand that is used to start and stop the timer resets incorrectly to 58 seconds instead of 0 seconds where it should be. Poor attention to detail in manufacturing. Leather watch band is quite large, too large for normal sized wrist."
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for son,
March 25, 2014
By: TooToo34U
from Bowling Green, KY
"This watch caught my eye in catalog. Decided to purchase for my son as a surprise gift. He was so happy to receive it. Made 2 calls to me thanking me for such a handsome watch. The watch made his day and the calls made mine."
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Face,
March 5, 2014
By: ladyangler
"The face of this watch is beautiful and very classic. However the leather band that comes with this watch is not what you would expect. This item was a gift, and they ended up returning the item due to the leather band. Again, the look of the face is great."
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Attractive watch,
February 12, 2014
By: kgeezy
"This watch has a very good looking face and is classy and stylish as well as casual for everyday wear. However, the watch band that is shown on the online catalog looks NOTHING like the band that is actually on the watch. Also, the band is extra long (I think its 9.25 inches long). I ended up ordering a replacement band and now it fits. Overall, good looking watch, with a sub par band."
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
functional watch,
January 25, 2014
By: Shalako
"The watch has been working fine and keeping time. However, the large second hand didn't work originally, then worked for a couple days, and has stop working. The directions with the watch were not real clear."
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Wonderful Gift! + amazing customer service!,
January 3, 2014
By: TrippsGirl
from Dallas, TX
"I ordered this watch as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He loves it! He's had his eye on it for three years and it certainly lived up to his dreams! He's gotten many compliments and I couldn't be happier with their customer service!! Orvis takes care of their customers!"
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Watch,
January 3, 2014
By: Bowser1
from Nashville, Tn
"Received the watch as a 21st birthday present. Very nice watch and looks great. Have had many compliments. Only problem is the band is a little big on my wrist."
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Watch for Great Price,
January 2, 2014
By: RobertR
from Atlanta, GA
"I have been looking for a quality, affordable watch that fit my requirements for simplicity and legibility. This watch covers those requirements in spades.
I have owned the watch for over a year, and have been very happy with my purchase."
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
December 28, 2013
By: HartB
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This watch is a perfect mix between sporty and dressy. The beautiful leather band and black face makes it easy to wear with anything. It's lightweight and doesn't get in the way of long sleeve shirts. Great hit among the guys in my house!"
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gift,
December 19, 2013
By: OR492
from Eugene, OR
"My father wanted a field watch for hunting and this watch looked like a great idea. When it arrived it was very nicely wrapped and when he saw it and put it on we both new it was perfect. Great buy, excellent gift, highly recommend."
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift,
December 16, 2013
By: RJElizabeth
from North Carolina
"I gave my boyfriend this watch for his birthday and he loves it! The band on his looks a little different, I like the one in the photo better. But it's a great, everyday watch. He loves the stopwatch feature the most."
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Expected Better,
December 15, 2013
By: bondtanner
from Houston, TX
"I loved it initially even though the leather band was too long for my wrist. Three months after getting it, I had to replace the band because the "keeper" loop broke and caused the loose end of the band to flail constantly. After 9 months, I noticed that the crystal was scratched severely in many spots and I only wear this watch part time. Not sure why Orvis or whoever manufactured the watch went with a convex surface for the face and within 2 years, the battery died, it lives in a drawer now :("
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Choice!!,
December 11, 2013
By: ginko45
from OH
"I should have heeded other reviews- I ordered and received this watch not once but three times!! I should have quit after two- Each time the stopwatch wasn't and couldn't be synchronized to stop at 12 (or 0)- Although the company was very good about taking the watch(es) back and NOT charging me for the return shipping, this is NOT what I had come to expect from Orvis products!! All I can say is that it looked very nice BUT it didn't work- Buyers beware!!"
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice looking, expected better quality,
October 8, 2013
By: Pippiheretoo
from Lexington, KY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this watch for my husband as a Christmas gift (2012), as he had been admiring it for some time.
I read the online reviews, and after doing so, tried to persuade my husband into looking at other watches; The reviews were not as glowing as I would have liked for this watch.
Against my better judgement, I went ahead an purchased this watch... and here I am 10 months later to confirm that all the other posted reviews were correct. The " sturdy, brown genuine leather strap" in NOT sturdy. As you can see from the photo I have posted, it has snapped in two... and not in an place I would consider a "normal, wear" or "stressed" area. Yes, I would expect to replace a leather watch band, but not one in less than a year! I've had "dime store" watches with cheap bands last longer than this.
I am highly disappointed in the craftsmanship of this watch.
"
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice watch,
October 2, 2013
By: Longway
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Looks and works great. Comfortable on my wrist and very pleased with my purchase."
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,,
September 3, 2013
By: ConnorO
from Atlanta, GA
"Really great watch. Easy to read and very attractive. I went into the store to buy a few gifts and fortunately I ended up finding and buying this amazing timepiece for myself. The water resistance is a very nice touch. Definitely recommended."
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Watch..Broke Basel,
August 11, 2013
By: CWO4D
from San Diego, Ca
"I love my watch ..have had it about a year now as a gift..Had an incident while on vacation this week and dropped it on some tile and broke the glass basel..I will return and hopefully not cost too much to replace. I would recommend the time piece...great design..also wish more eliminate more."
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Love the watch...But....,
July 23, 2013
By: wildcats
from Kentucky
"Love the watch, it's look, the feel. Had compliments on it all the time.
The second hand stopped working, so I sent it to be repaired.
Orvis / Parsec received my watch on June 26 to be repaired. Today is July 23 and have not heard from anyone concerning my watch as to what the status!
They did though charge my credit card for the return fee.
Very disappointed with the service !
My main concern is, where is my watch!
"
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 3, 2013
By: Rip2dbone
from New York
"Great Watch......Sadly "Free Shipping" was never applied to my order....."
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great looks, dubious quality,
March 24, 2013
By: JackBeNimble
"I'd love to say good things about this watch, it's certainly very handsome and I have had several compliments on its looks. However, after a couple of months the stop watch failed to return the second hand to zero, after a couple more the hour hand has started to lag making reading the time accurately quite difficult. On top of that the strap is far too long. IMO this product needs an overhaul."