Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Field Chronograph

Our men's chronograph watch is rugged enough to handle hard use, handsome enough to wear anytime. Inspired by WWII field watches, with a tough stainless-steel case and a sturdy, brown genuine leather strap. Black face with luminous hands and subdials for easy reading of time. Scratch-resistant mineral crystal; superaccurate quartz movement. Case diameter 41mm. Men's chronograph watch is water resistant to 50m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.705 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
27
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
17
92 of 122(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Chronograph
Review 1 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
July 23, 2014
By: GARo
from New York, NY
"Perfect gift for my boyfriend being that it is fully refundable even with the monogramming! He loves the manly design and appreciated the thought behind the monogram. Tracking was easy too, great customer service and will definitely be buying again!"
Review 2 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great looking watch,
June 26, 2014
By: JTD1234
"The watch is great and looks good. The band, however, could use a few tweaks. It is a little large even for an average 6 foot guy and it seems to crack easily. Had to replace after a couple of months."
Review 3 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved......,
June 7, 2014
By: Helzzza
"I bought this watch for my husband with his initials engraved.
He loves it. The black face with the leather looks really sharp.
Goes with everything.
"
Review 4 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap watch,
May 12, 2014
By: HORME
"Wristband was terrible. Much to large.
Watch case was fairly insignificant.
"
Review 5 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BAD PURCHASE!!!,
April 29, 2014
By: 75SJAQWZ
from SAN FRANCISCO, CAL
"I ORDERED THE WATCH BECAUSE I BELIEVE IT SAID THE HANDS AND THE NUMBERS GLOWED IN THE DARK
THE NUMBERS DO NOT GLOW
I WILL PROBABLY RETURN IT FOR A REFUND
"
Review 6 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Substandard quality watch,
April 1, 2014
By: xyzSomerset
from New Jersey
"The big second hand that is used to start and stop the timer resets incorrectly to 58 seconds instead of 0 seconds where it should be. Poor attention to detail in manufacturing. Leather watch band is quite large, too large for normal sized wrist."
Review 7 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for son,
March 25, 2014
By: TooToo34U
from Bowling Green, KY
"This watch caught my eye in catalog. Decided to purchase for my son as a surprise gift. He was so happy to receive it. Made 2 calls to me thanking me for such a handsome watch. The watch made his day and the calls made mine."
Review 8 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Face,
March 5, 2014
By: ladyangler
"The face of this watch is beautiful and very classic. However the leather band that comes with this watch is not what you would expect. This item was a gift, and they ended up returning the item due to the leather band. Again, the look of the face is great."
Review 9 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Attractive watch,
February 12, 2014
By: kgeezy
"This watch has a very good looking face and is classy and stylish as well as casual for everyday wear. However, the watch band that is shown on the online catalog looks NOTHING like the band that is actually on the watch. Also, the band is extra long (I think its 9.25 inches long). I ended up ordering a replacement band and now it fits. Overall, good looking watch, with a sub par band."
Review 10 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
functional watch,
January 25, 2014
By: Shalako
"The watch has been working fine and keeping time. However, the large second hand didn't work originally, then worked for a couple days, and has stop working. The directions with the watch were not real clear."
Review 11 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Wonderful Gift! + amazing customer service!,
January 3, 2014
By: TrippsGirl
from Dallas, TX
"I ordered this watch as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He loves it! He's had his eye on it for three years and it certainly lived up to his dreams! He's gotten many compliments and I couldn't be happier with their customer service!! Orvis takes care of their customers!"
Review 12 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Watch,
January 3, 2014
By: Bowser1
from Nashville, Tn
"Received the watch as a 21st birthday present. Very nice watch and looks great. Have had many compliments. Only problem is the band is a little big on my wrist."
Review 13 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Watch for Great Price,
January 2, 2014
By: RobertR
from Atlanta, GA
"I have been looking for a quality, affordable watch that fit my requirements for simplicity and legibility. This watch covers those requirements in spades.
I have owned the watch for over a year, and have been very happy with my purchase."
Review 14 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
December 28, 2013
By: HartB
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This watch is a perfect mix between sporty and dressy. The beautiful leather band and black face makes it easy to wear with anything. It's lightweight and doesn't get in the way of long sleeve shirts. Great hit among the guys in my house!"
Review 15 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gift,
December 19, 2013
By: OR492
from Eugene, OR
"My father wanted a field watch for hunting and this watch looked like a great idea. When it arrived it was very nicely wrapped and when he saw it and put it on we both new it was perfect. Great buy, excellent gift, highly recommend."
Review 16 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift,
December 16, 2013
By: RJElizabeth
from North Carolina
"I gave my boyfriend this watch for his birthday and he loves it! The band on his looks a little different, I like the one in the photo better. But it's a great, everyday watch. He loves the stopwatch feature the most."
Review 17 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Expected Better,
December 15, 2013
By: bondtanner
from Houston, TX
"I loved it initially even though the leather band was too long for my wrist. Three months after getting it, I had to replace the band because the "keeper" loop broke and caused the loose end of the band to flail constantly. After 9 months, I noticed that the crystal was scratched severely in many spots and I only wear this watch part time. Not sure why Orvis or whoever manufactured the watch went with a convex surface for the face and within 2 years, the battery died, it lives in a drawer now :("
Review 18 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Choice!!,
December 11, 2013
By: ginko45
from OH
"I should have heeded other reviews- I ordered and received this watch not once but three times!! I should have quit after two- Each time the stopwatch wasn't and couldn't be synchronized to stop at 12 (or 0)- Although the company was very good about taking the watch(es) back and NOT charging me for the return shipping, this is NOT what I had come to expect from Orvis products!! All I can say is that it looked very nice BUT it didn't work- Buyers beware!!"
Review 19 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice looking, expected better quality,
October 8, 2013
By: Pippiheretoo
from Lexington, KY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this watch for my husband as a Christmas gift (2012), as he had been admiring it for some time.
I read the online reviews, and after doing so, tried to persuade my husband into looking at other watches; The reviews were not as glowing as I would have liked for this watch.
Against my better judgement, I went ahead an purchased this watch... and here I am 10 months later to confirm that all the other posted reviews were correct. The " sturdy, brown genuine leather strap" in NOT sturdy. As you can see from the photo I have posted, it has snapped in two... and not in an place I would consider a "normal, wear" or "stressed" area. Yes, I would expect to replace a leather watch band, but not one in less than a year! I've had "dime store" watches with cheap bands last longer than this.
I am highly disappointed in the craftsmanship of this watch.
"
Review 20 for Field Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice watch,
October 2, 2013
By: Longway
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Looks and works great. Comfortable on my wrist and very pleased with my purchase."