Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Non-Marring Shotgun Sling

Our No-Hardware Non-Marring Shotgun Sling adjusts easily and quickly to fit any shotgun. No metal parts means no marring your fine shotgun. Nylon D-ring and buckle are non-marring and foolproof when used on over/unders. These leather shotgun slings will adjust long enough for cross-chest transport. Crafted in Bozeman, MT of genuine bridle leather for years of hard use. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Review 1 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality,
November 8, 2014
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Solid sling with a lot of strength. Fits okay on single barrel, would be better for over under with the wider barrel."
Review 2 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RE: SHOTGUN SLING,
November 3, 2014
By: ScottH091454
from Frederick, MD
"To Whom It May Concern - My sling, as always with all Orvis products, is the best quality and exactly what I was hoping for. Thank you very much! Sincerely, Scott Hill"
Review 3 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally Found It,
April 16, 2014
By: Treetop
"For years I've been looking for a sling that could be used on over and under shotguns. Most of them are too bulky and stiff but with this one it's not. I use it going in and coming out so my hands are free for other things. It's easily removed for shooting and replaced when finished."
Review 4 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shotgun Sling,
November 28, 2013
By: Fit2Run
from Lemmon, S D
"I have used this fine quality leather shotgun sling numerous times over the years, and boy has it ever saved my bacon. While hunting, I merely stow the sling in my coat pocket, or loop it under my belt on the rear. It is not unusual to be a mile or three out and get two turkeys approaching 20 lbs each. To carry two birds and a shotgun in the hands these distances is not easy. The birds morph into 200 lbs each and the arms stretch a few inches before covering the return distance back home. Using the sling with my straight grip H & H shotgun slung across my backside has made carrying these birds considerably easier. With the length of the sling properly adjusted the gun is well planted. The sling has never even come close to coming off the shotgun on these trips."
Review 5 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
September 1, 2012
By: TexasDoveHunter
from Tomball, Texas
"I used this sling on a dove hunt today in which we had to carry all of our gear into the field on foot. This sling allowed me to carry a 12 gauge pistol grip O/U diagonally across my back and free up my hands so I could carry everything in one trip. Once in the field, the sling was easily removed and stowed in my gear bag. It is less bulky than a slinged gun case and it is a beautiful piece of quality leather craftmanship."
Review 6 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Requires modification to be useful,
May 4, 2012
By: Chukarbirds
"The end loops are too small to encircle the stock or grip. More lacing holes for adjustmet are needed. Otherwise a toggle loop screw must be mounted into the wood of the stock which makes a no hardware sling a non-starter."
Review 7 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Product,
April 15, 2012
By: DonaldFF
from Fairfield, PA
"Superb product - fully adjustable - non marring - comfortable sling - quality leather/materials.
Recommend it highly,
DFF
"
Review 8 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Sling,
December 29, 2011
By: Jimney
from Bethesda Maryland
"I have been Duck Hunting for several years with the same shotgun. It never came with a sling and I could never find one thay did not require hardware or modifications to mount on the gun. While visiting my local Orvis store in Bethesda Maryland the very attentive sales rep browswed the catalog with me. Low and behold your Non-marring shotgun sling caught my eye. The rep explained the easy return policy and said I should try it. I have used it twice now and wonder how I have managed with out is all these years.
Thanks Orvis ! My tired arms thank you too."
Review 9 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sling,
November 17, 2011
By: casco04015
"I have not experienced any problems with this sling... in fact, I use it more than any sling I own because it doesn't scratch my gun... I have used in on both 12 and 20 gauge shotguns! Quality leather... and I love Orvis being embossed in the leather."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shotgun slid out of it,
October 19, 2011
By: fordag
from North Shore, MA
"My initial hope was this would be a good sling for my side by side gun. However after fitting it on the gun and carrying it slung into the woods, the sling slipped right off the gun dropping it from my shoulder into the mud, muzzle first no less. I can't imagine that I could have cinched it any tighter.
However as always Orvis took it back without question giving me a full refund. In fact the store employee even wanted to know if my gun had been damaged and if it required repairs. Saying it would have been taken care of by Orvis. Fortunately it was nothing that some cleaning couldn't take care of."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good idea but needs improvement,
September 6, 2011
By: seeman
"I purchased this with high hopes. However, this does not work with straight stocked english style stocks (as many of our nice double guns are.) Also, the front end connector that slides over the barrel is too bulky and interferes with the sighting plane by blocking the view of the end of your barrel. I have not actually hunted with it yet to determine how much of a problem this actually may be."
Review 12 for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful shotgun sling,
December 1, 2009
By: Epetai
from Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought as a present for a man with an heirloom-quality, under-over, 20 gauge shotgun.
I spent hours searching for a shotgun sling that wouldn't damage the gun, didn't require hardware, but wasn't cheap-looking and made of nylon. This leather beauty does the job perfectly, and he loves it! He took it hunting and reported back that it was very comfortable to use and easy to attach/remove."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Non-Marring Shotgun Sling
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1