Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Bar Stock Reel

Why redesign one of the best-selling fly reels of all time? We knew we could build an even better fly fishing reel. Every ounce of extra weight has been carved away, leaving a light, durable cage that will provide years of use. Ideal for fresh water, an affordable option for light salt water. Consistently precise, a result of manufacturing tolerances that are much tighter compared to die-cast reels. Built around an infinitely adjustable offset disc drag mechanism recognized as the most dependable fly reel in the industry.Features:20% lighter than legendary original Battenkill reels.Machined from bar stock 6262-T6 aircraft-grade aluminum for durability and low weight Anodized black or titanium finishes are more durable than the painted finish on die-cast reelsStainless steel gearing is durable and virtually maintenance-freeAdjustable Rulon offset disc drag mechanism recognized as the most dependable in the industry.Easy switching from right-hand to left-hand operationReels are saltwater-proofFor line weights 1-11
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (174 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
1
168 of 174(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best is gone,
March 27, 2014
By: Texasflyboy
from Ledbetter, Texas
"Orvis had a real winner in the Battenkill Bar Stock reel. I am fortunate to have bought many of them and believe them to be the best reels I have. Top quality for a most reasonable price. I have never had one minute's problem with any of them.
Why would Orvis stop selling this marvelous reel? So many faithful followers left high and dry with no extra spools available anymore, let alone the great reel itself.
When Orvis discontinued selling my favorite reel, I took all my business elsewhere. Have not bought anything from Orvis since."
Review 2 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
November 27, 2013
By: BonefishDick
from Cape Cod
"I received the BBS III as a birthday present in March of 2013 and I wanted to get a spare spool only to find that the reel as well as the spools are no longer. It is extremely poor service to sell a product that can not be supported 9 months later. Rating 1 star only to get review of product to process. At this point it would be meaningless to rate the reel. If I can return the reel for a full refund then I will give your customer service a 5 stars."
Review 3 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A sad departure,
November 11, 2013
By: Saintmungo
from County Durham, England
"It would seem that Orvis have now discontinued the Battenkill Bar Stock reel, and I count myself fortunate in acquiring an extra spool for the reels that I have. I find it odd that such a very good reel should leave the catalogue. Simply the best reel for small stream fishing, beautifully engineered and a joy to use, ours not to reason why. Get one while you still can!"
Review 4 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality fine, color beware,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"The anodizing color varied on these in some years. The titanium color variation was described by Orvis employees as "green ones" and "grey ones". Just make sure you're okay with color variations amongst lots."
Review 5 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Reliable reel,
August 30, 2013
By: BernieBear
"I love the ease with this reel. As far as I know this has been a reliable reel from orvis for sometime. Few moving parts - easy reel to re-spool.
Also very forgiving if its dropped.
"
Review 6 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tech Support,
August 28, 2013
By: OUTRAGEOUS
from Southern New Jersey
"I purchased two BBS Fly Reel V's in the titanium finish for mid-Atlantic surf fishing. "Chris" in Tech Support was great in assisting me in locating the reels thru the last of the inventory. Thanks Orvis, your customer service is exceptional."
Review 7 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBS reels,
August 22, 2013
By: Rustyspinner
from Florida
"I received a BBS IV as a gift a few years ago. Its light weight and solid drag quickly made this my favorite reel. I enjoyed it so much, I have since purchased the BBS I, II, III and extra spools for each (except III). My only regret is that I did not get the extra spool for the size III as they are no longer available. These reels are truly quality at any price."
Review 8 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met my expectations,
August 20, 2013
By: Mattcamps
from MA
"Much lighter compared to my previous reels, very clean action and smooth drag. Just need more time on the water."
Review 9 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Reel,
August 19, 2013
By: Nottoway
from Richmond, Va
"This is my second Battenkill Bar Stock Reel and they are excellant reels for the money. I have caught Brook and Rainbow Trout on my BBS II and I'm looking forward to using the BBS III for Smallmouth."
Review 10 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel, great price,
August 13, 2013
By: Fisherrrr
from New Jersey
"If you're looking for a great looking reel to hold your line, this is it. Drag is also very smooth and dependable."
Review 11 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BBS 2,
August 13, 2013
By: Mbarker
"Seems like it's good quality for the money. I particularly like the drag design and quality. Haven't used it yet but I think it's gonna be just fine."
Review 12 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trout Reel for the money,
August 9, 2013
By: JrWader
from Tulsa, OK
"This is the second Battenkill Bar Stock Reel that I own. This reel has never let me down. I like the adjustability of the drag and how it balances with my lighter trout rods. The finish on the reel is bulletproof."
Review 13 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
batenkill bbs,
August 9, 2013
By: chadroc
from northeast
"the battenkill bbs is a fine reel, i would say that in its price range it sets the industry standard. i've fished many reels and continually return to the bbs as my go to reel. good drag system, attractive finish, easy to operate and clean. another fine orvis product."
Review 14 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBS: Get 'em while you can,
August 2, 2013
By: KilgoreT
"Nice looking reel, as expected. Mine (a III) came with a plus not mentioned in the description: a reel case (zippered cylinder/hatbox style). Were they still available, I would also snag a BBS I and a II; looks like I'll be getting those sizes as the new Battenkill spring-and-pawl model."
Review 15 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Bar Stock Reel,
July 31, 2013
By: FarmSully
from Franklin NY
"Excellent value. Drag is very smooth. The reel is well made with a nice feel."
Review 16 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth action,
July 30, 2013
By: BluewaterTightlines
from Chile, Sth America
"This is a simple reel, value for money, smooth action, easy to use drag, Id reccomend it, the rumour is that Orvis is apparently considering discontinuing these reels"
Review 17 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battinkill Bar Stock V,
July 26, 2013
By: cire720
from lower saucon pa.
"after a real mess-up got everything today thanks to their great chat team WOW what a great reel cant wait for them Salmon River salmon thanks for all the help"
Review 18 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful reel,
July 23, 2013
By: Chiefjammy
"I love using offset drag reels when fishing for trout, and this reel impressed me. It has a very smooth drag, which is easily adjustable, for whatever situation you find yourself in. The materials are very good, and it has a very solid build (no loose parts). It also comes with a nice reel case."
Review 19 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacing Perfection,
July 11, 2013
By: Anonymous
"Bought as a replacement for a Hardy Perfect, a reel more suited to a collectors cabinet, the Bar Stock reel is well engineered, very elegant and a joy to use moreover should I chip the coating it wont be a disaster."
Review 20 for Battenkill Bar Stock Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful bargain,
July 4, 2013
By: oceanographer
from Stockholm, Sweden
"The Battenkill bar stock reel was on discount of about 34% and is well worth the price. I liked it so much I bought a larger one, also on discount, for use with pike. Well made, works as a fly reel should. As good as many more expensive reels."