Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Suede Bomber Jacket

The ultimate value in an updated and stylized version of the WWII bomber jacket. These bomber jackets are made of our premium pig suede for a supple feel and casual air. Our insulated polyester lining allows you three-season wear. The rib-knit cuffs, waist, and collar, along with a two-button throat latch, assure you a good fit, plus keep the wind out. Fully lined for comfort and easy on-and-off. Raglan sleeves for a good fit on a wide range of body shapes. Two exterior pockets and one interior security pocket. Genuine pig suede. Professional leather clean. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (169 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
17
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
5
151 of 169(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Suede Bomber Jacket
Review 1 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
November 20, 2014
By: usafret
from St. Louis
"I've had two of these jackets before and loved them. I do wish Orvis had not discontinued the light tan version. I liked the look of it much better. My only dis-satifaction is the color choices. BRING BACK THE LIGHT TAN!!"
Review 2 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
November 4, 2014
By: chrisjw
from UK
"Really pleased with the purchase. Meets the description so is exactly what I wanted."
Review 3 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service, superb jacket,
October 30, 2014
By: MusikaClassique
from Rio Rancho, NM
"The suede bomber jacket was a birthday gift for my husband. As he is very tall, I had to call the "live chat" to be sure of the sleeve length. The agent gave me the exact length. My husband loves the jacket; it fits perfectly."
Review 4 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handsome Jacket - needs styling updates,
October 12, 2014
By: TexasRailroader
from Arlington, TX
"Purchased the jacket in Peat - rich dark chocolate - in a large and it fits well. I like that the length is a bit longer than a true WWII bomber jacket. Styling is simple and not overworked. Handsome interior fabric and easy on/off lining in the sleeves. I very much appreciated the thoughtful shipping: it is virtually impossible to pack and ship suede without wrinkling the leather. The jacket was folded only once and comes with its own garment bag and hanger, a very nice touch. CONS: my complaints are the same as other reviewers. The jacket has a history of a finicky zipper and mine is no different. Can be difficult to zip/unzip. The rib knit fabric is very attractive but is a bit too loose, especially around the waist. My concern is that over time it will loosen even more and will hang loosely instead of being nicely bunched around the waist/hip area. Orvis has a generous return policy so I will keep the jacket and hope that the rib knit waist area doesn't stretch out too far."
Review 5 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suede jacket,
September 29, 2014
By: troy62vette
from Idaho
"I wish it had better pocket openings for warming my hands, other than that, its a fine jacket, great suede at a great price. And it was packaged so nicely when shipped, a nice little surprise!"
Review 6 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice, but a disappointment,
September 25, 2014
By: howakahau
from Chelsea, MI
"My own fault for too much anticipation. This coat in the cognac color (phased out?!?) had caught my eye for a long time. Trying on the XL felt great and since I have a x-swimmer build - good shoulder room. The negatives include the useless pocket flaps as I am a "hands in the jacket pockets for comfort" guy and the hem and sleeves lack a reassuring elastic strength. So nice coat but a bit of a let-down."
Review 7 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted one!,
September 19, 2014
By: BigEd1
from Poughkeepsie, NY
"My recent purchase (suede bomber jacket) arrived and to my delight everything about it is great. I initially ordered the lighter tan color, but my girlfriend suggested the darker color might be more versatile and serviceable. I think she is right. I really like the dark color and the quality and feel of the suede is luxurious.
In addition the jacket is a perfect fit in every way. Sleeve length is perfect and the chest and arm holes are comfortable. I'm a pretty big guy with a thick chest and big arms which has been problematic with some manufacturers' jackets...not Orvis.
I've wanted a nice suede jacket for years. I'm glad to have discovered this one.
"
Review 8 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't fit many people,
September 6, 2014
By: Sharp
from Arlington, VA
"I'm 42in at the shoulders. The medium (40in) was too small, and the large (44in) was much too big.
As this is such a popular jacket for Orvis, you'd think that they would have more sizes, like the popular Barbour lines. Unfortunately, they have not done this yet and buyers like me have to buy a similar jacket elsewhere."
Review 9 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My First Time,
May 25, 2014
By: Speake
from Toronto, ON
"This is the first product I have bought from Orvis after been a lurker for a decade. When I placed my order and received the shipping notice I saw that the size I ordered was a medium. I haven't been a medium since I was 12 so I was puzzled how I could have ordered one. (It may have been my mistake, but I blame the Interweb.) Anyway, I emailed customer service that night and got a response within 30 minutes. The rep provided a solution and the problem was fixed in minutes. I reordered the right size and it arrived on time—return shipping for the wrong size was prepaid.
Since then, I have worn it almost every day. It is well-made and perfectly proportioned. The feel of the suede is kitten-soft (I checked), the pockets are solidly stitched, and the garment bag that was included was a nice touch. And after my first full Orvis experience, I can say that the quality of its customer service department matches that of the jacket: top notch. The only problem I have is what to buy next.
"
Review 10 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket makes me feel good,
April 22, 2014
By: JNel
"As soon as I put this suede jacket on I felt like I had owned it forever. Now after a few weeks I can say It continues to look and feel great. it is soft as butter and prompts complements."
Review 11 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring/Fall,
April 21, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"This is a nice casual light weight jacket that is perfect for Spring/Fall Mtn living and cool nights. I ordered Large Peat and the color and size was a perfect match.Looks very good with jeans. Like it !"
Review 12 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of my best buys,
April 7, 2014
By: Oysti
from Norway
"I got the tan one. Cool enough for parties and clubs/pubs, tough enough for camping, construction and outdoors in the summer. Goes good with dark blue and burgundy red knitwear/polos. Took me 14 days to get it to a small town in Norway from i ordered it. Very happy with the product, and have gotten good feedback from it."
Review 13 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully done Orvis,
March 29, 2014
By: JohnnymacII
from Denver, CO
"Sizing is perfect, wears well with a sweater and shirt underneath. Sleeve length is right for me.
The quality is superburb. Oh the delivery timely and I wore it on a date the day I received.
"
Review 14 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could be improved,
March 25, 2014
By: Able17
from Kingston, Massachusetts
"Suede jacket purchased similar to British style "Bomber Jacket" style which had been outgrown.
Choice of colors is an advantage.
Suede a trifle thin.
Zipper is latched by feel due to location. A slightly larger zipper could
avoid the fumbling to join the track.
"
Review 15 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
March 20, 2014
By: FazziRippa
from New Jersey
"I am very happy with the look and fit of this jacket! I am getting many compliments from the ladies especially for the color and soft feel."
Review 16 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
March 12, 2014
By: 54Billt
from Omaha NE.
"The coat was just what they said, fits
great and looks great. Very Happy.
"
Review 17 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time wish,
March 1, 2014
By: Math12
from NW Connecticut
"My year's long wish for a suede jacket has been satisfied ! It's comfortable, keeps one sufficiently warm and is strikingly attractive."
Review 18 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style & excellence,
February 24, 2014
By: TEEFA
from Hampshire
"I purchased this suede Bomber jacket as a gift for my husband and whilst he wears it with pride, I also am so proud to be with him when he is wearing it. The jacket looks so smart, stylish but relaxed at the same time. My husband has told how comfortable & warm the jacket is and he finds it sits so perfectly with almost anything else he is wearing along with it. I am so happy with this purchase and so glad I was able to purchase it for my husband."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality jacket,
February 24, 2014
By: BubbaBob
from Lorton, VA
"I like the jacket construction. The suede is very soft and the lining is very comfortable. My only concern is the sizing runs a little small. The XL is slightly snug on me, which is not normally a problem."
Review 20 for Suede Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suede Coat,
February 17, 2014
By: tanuki
"Color and appearance of suede is not as nice as expected."