Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

River Guard Streamline™ Boot

A new and updated version of our exceptional entry-level fly fishing wading boot program. The affordable River Guard Streamline Boot is extremely lightweight, but offers great support, comfort, and ankle protection. Newly revised padded neoprene collar and webbing eyelets for a tight and secure fit. These lightweight studded wading boots have a reinforced toe box which is wrapped in a durable synthetic material that resists abrasion while protecting the boot from rocks and debris. New upper material is a durable, high-density nylon that will hold up to years of use while minimizing the potential of transporting invasive species. Sticky-rubber soles with permanent studs provide good traction in a variety of conditions. Imported. Men's whole sizes: 7, 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
51 of 60(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Review 1 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Affordable quality,
June 6, 2014
By: FlyfisherChris
from Oxford, PA.
"I recently purchased these boots and am impressed with the quality and comfort for the price paid. These boots are very lightweight so you don't get tired walking in them all day. They are comfortable to stand in for long periods while fishing a hole. With the nylon material the boots dry quickly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works for me,
May 28, 2014
By: goodhikers
from Arlington, VA
"I bought these boots since they were half price. They are better than I expected. I bought these men's boots and they work perfect with my waders. So ladies, don't hesitate to try small men's sizes when buying boots for waders. Works for me and the price is right!"
Review 3 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not a good purchase,
May 14, 2014
By: fidge
"Purchased one - defective, returned it. Replacement also defective. Not happy with quality, Orvis backs up their products so not problem returning it."
Review 4 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
May 13, 2014
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"Solid shoes for an incredible price. These are not your top of the line shoes, but nor is the price. Solid construction and feel. Perfect for a back up pair or when you need wading boots for a visiting guest."
Review 5 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Impressions, Great Boot,
April 29, 2014
By: AquariumEnthusiast
from Idaho
"I've used these boots for a 3 day Fish-a-thon on the Green River in Utah. We fished a lot and covered a lot of ground from Little Hole down to Browns Park. Boots held a solid grip on the river bottom, and I never felt unsure of my footing. While the ankle support isn't as stiff as other boots I've seen, it still is enough for a comfortable, and sure-footed, wade. Even after 10 hour shifts of fishing feet felt about as good as they could. For the price, this boot is hard to beat!"
Review 6 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my first pair but...,
April 19, 2014
By: mirex
from chicago
"those boots are great , very light, foot sits really in it ,I wear usually # 10 size regural shoes Ive order # 11 & I can wear extra thick sock .thanks costumer service."
Review 7 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
April 18, 2014
By: cdmalik
from Chicago, IL
"These a great entry level boot and are relatively comfortable for the price. They look like they will really hold up for time too. I bought these for myself (they for true to size for men's) and my girlfriend (ladies order a men's size 2 sizes down from your normal shoe size or If your a half size like my girlfriend order only 1.5 sizes down ex. 8 1/5 W = 7 M) I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 8 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots for the price,
April 11, 2014
By: Cyph
from North east PA
"Delivery was quick and boots are as expected. For the money you won't find a better boot."
Review 9 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try these boots,
April 7, 2014
By: justfishing2day
"I usually do not use boots with studs or felt bottoms. Just went small inner-city stream fishing in these boots. Easy to hike in. Great traction in all terrains, in the water and out of the water. Kept me warm and dry with excellent traction throughout the day."
Review 10 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality for the price,
April 7, 2014
By: TBear1
from VA
"I always worry about fit, but the size 12 was perfect. These boots go on easily and come off easily as well. You can't beat these "entry level" boots for the price The only unknown is how long they will last, but they appear to be of quality construction."
Review 11 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light but durable,
March 30, 2014
By: Hollar1
from KY
"I haven't fished in these yet, but I can tell that they are durable, yet easier to pack than other boots that I have had. These boots are not as heavy, yet feel as if they can hold up for a long time. Very true to size."
Review 12 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boot,
March 27, 2014
By: fidge
"Newbie fly fisher. Boot fits great. looking forward to trying it out, confident Orvis product is quality."
Review 13 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wader boots,
March 21, 2014
By: Mainebigfoot
from In rivers and streams of Maine
"These boots were very comfortable and are made to last many seasons of fly fishing , giving you a sure grip in any stream or river ."
Review 14 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Defective,
March 18, 2014
By: bartlettband
from Jponesboro, AR
"Very poor job of joining the heel to the boot. Got them on sale and through the mail so I have decided to keep them anyway. I liked the souls and the studs. Have always worn felt and cannot tell much difference. Also own another pair of orvis boots and these are soo much lighter. Like that. Hard to put on and not comfortable but this may improve as they are broke in."
Review 15 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for a good price,
March 12, 2014
By: JKristo
from Cleveland OH
"I picked these up because I have big feet and not many boots will let you layer up and still have room. Took a bit of a shot in the dark because I could't try on the 14s but they fit well with my under socks and woolies. The studs are a bit small but bigger ones can probably be added. Not much padding in the boot but that's to be expected at this price point."
Review 16 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good deal on sale,
March 4, 2014
By: stuckinsidewinteblues
from RI
"With new regulations about felt-soled boots I had to get a new pair of wading boots on the cheap, these fit the bill. I had hoped the studs would be prominent enough to be useful, but alas, they are too short so it looks like I'll have to keep using my Korkers on slippery streams. The fit was OK, the tongue has some strange stitching that makes for a slightly uncomfortable fit at the base of the tongue. Not much support but I knew that just by looking at these boots."
Review 17 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I won't give these the boot,
March 1, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"A real nice pair of boots. For me the comfort and stability these provide are equal to other boots which cost a whole lot more. Has good traction and I'm well pleased with this product."
Review 18 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Entry Level Wading Boots,
February 10, 2014
By: DCAngler1321
from Washington DC
"I like these boots a lot. They dry quickly and they're easy to get on and off, while providing good slip protection. You do have to make sure to lace them tight as the ankle support is a little flimsy.
Overall, a good boot for the budget."
Review 19 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than felt,
February 10, 2014
By: sean25
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I had to replace my old felt bottom boots. I never used rubber bottom wading boots before. These boots have incredible traction on everything even slick rocks."
Review 20 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
River Guard Boots,
January 29, 2014
By: phat96
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I just received them, 2 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with the value, and the fit is perfect. My previous boots had become to small for my foot, but I'm quite comfortable now. Thanks Orvis."