Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Clearwater II Boot

Built on the same last as the Easy-On Brogue, the new Clearwater II boot's lightweight, yet rugged synthetic upper resists damage from rocks and debris as well as rot, mildew and ultraviolet radiation. The work and hunting boot welt construction minimizes sole torsion and provides complete, over-the-ankle protection and support. The boot is constructed from durable polyurethane and high density nylon mesh to provide years of use. The toe cap and and heel counter are wrapped in textured rubber to add additional protection in high wear areas. Midsole depth is sufficient to add our PosiGrip screw-in studs (2Y83) for added traction in slippery environments. Screen covered drain holes. Comes in felt sole. Men's whole sizes 6-14. Weighs 4 lbs. 6 oz. in size 9
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater II Boot
Review 1 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor sizing,
October 28, 2013
By: stinchar1
"These boots appear to be well made but they were way too small. Even though I ordered a size larger than my shoe size they were too small and will be returned"
Review 2 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product,
April 16, 2013
By: clamamama
from Italy
"Outstanding Product, very lightweight, great support and good grip."
Review 3 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No-hassle boots,
December 3, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"These boots are great for wet-wading. I wear them both in the river and in the flats and they slip on and off easily over neoprene booties. If you have gravel guards, expect to have no sand, mud, or gravel in your boots when you take them off. They keep you stable in the water as well. Just remember to order one size bigger than you normally wear to accommodate your wader booties."
Review 4 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value!!!,
November 12, 2012
By: TheTroutZone
from Boulder, CO
"I purchased this boot for my girlfriend so she can fish with me on occasion. For the price, I expected an average to low end quality boot but when I received it and asked her to try it on was very impressed. In fact, I was so impressed with the construction of this boot that I quickly went online to see if there were any more sales on that had this boot in my shoe size as I had just purchased new boots from another boot maker. These boots from Orvis stack up against any on the market and are a great value. The felt is stitched to the bottom of the boot ensuring that it will stay on and well attached for many outings to come! Great product from Orvis always!"
Review 5 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
questionable quality,
September 17, 2012
By: Croc
from Pensacola, Fl.
"Purchased these boots in July '12 for a trip to Kamchatka in August. Store personnel were very helpful, making sure of a proper fit, feel, etc. Next time was on stream in the wilderness. First time on - two eyelets came out. Over 6 days, five eyelets came out. Boots were good, but kept wondering "whats next". Consequently, I question the overall quality. Would go with a better quality, i.e. more expensive, boot, especially for wilderness trips."
Review 6 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Customer Service,
August 16, 2012
By: Sthomas5416
from Modesto, CA
"Just getting into fly fishing and I ordered felt sole boots online before I really knew what I was doing. Then I discovered I needed a bigger size to accommodate booties and socks. When I visited the San Francisco store I bought a more expensive pair of wading boots on sale and was told I could bring the online boots into the store for full credit. I was also told that the felt boots I bought online might be banned in California in the near future. I was helped by Heinz who was enthusiastic about fishing and about helping me get into it. The boots I bought at the store not only tied but zipped on the side for easy removal, removable studs and better ankle support than the online felt boots. This review is not so much about the product as it is about the customer service in the San Francisco store. On a scale from 1 to 5, the service at this Orvis store was a 10!!"
Review 7 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
light weight and comfortable,
August 13, 2012
By: 3meter
from Atlanta, GA
"I purchased these boots for my grown daughter who enjoys getting out on the river and fishing with her dad. They are a good choice for the three or four times a year when she is able to get out. they are light weight, comfortable and easy to get on and off."
Review 8 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fine boots,
August 6, 2012
By: frustratedfisherman
from georgia
"every 10 years or so, boots need to be replaced. these was a good choice"
Review 9 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
June 1, 2012
By: rotten
"this was a good product at a reasonable price. The boots are very roomy, unlike other boots I have used in the past."
Review 10 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice buy,
May 18, 2012
By: JayEn
from Yonkers,NY
"I just received my clearwater11 wading boots and used them in a local stream. They worked very well, provided good stability on a rocky stream bed, and kept my feet dry. Very satisfied customer."
Review 11 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot but heavy,
May 17, 2012
By: bartlettband
"This boot is very heavy when it gets wet. Not good for walking long distances."
Review 12 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Foot Support,
May 10, 2012
By: TexasOrvisFan
from Texas
"Ladies wading boots are hard to find. This boot, even though a man's, seems to have what I am looking for in good support at the ankle and for my feet. I needed felt for warm waters in Texas, glad Orvis still has some available. The reminder to clean the felt properly is a tad annoying since I am not a believer that fly anglers are the source of the problems other states are experiencing with invasive species.
Overall, good product and on sale just made it better.
"
Review 13 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boot - Lacks padding - Studs extra Cost,
April 26, 2012
By: stevewp
"This more economical boot appears to be a good one. I like the big box foot and ample sole width for stability in the rocky streams that I fish. BUT this boot lacks the ankle padding and support for walking and the high cost of studs (if you need studs as I do) puts its price into the more intermediate pricing wading boot. The boot does have the possiblities of being a really great boot, but I was dissapointed that the boot didn't have the ankle comfort that I used to. Any of us that do walking on trails need more of hiking support boot and this boot does NOT meet these needs As I said, previously, for al little bit more money I could have gotten a much better support felt sole boot that included the studs. For a casual felt boot you can't go wrong. The studs are just too expensive, so my overall rating is ONLY GOOD."
Review 14 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
February 4, 2012
By: surfhunter
from Oregon
"The boots fit great and are comfortable to walk in. first trip out we walked a couple of miles fishing. At the end of the day my feet were comfortable still and warm. Easily cleaned after I used. They are very well made and I would recommend them to anyone. As always Orvis has top Quality products."
Review 15 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
economical,
December 22, 2011
By: roger08
from Nashville, TN
"This is a good, economical boot for those who need felt and fish multiple watersheds. This allows me to dedicate a pair of boots to an individual stream and not break the bank."
Review 16 for Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expected Better,
August 15, 2011
By: Flyrod101
"Everything about the wading boots is OK except the laces. Mine started coming apart (threads pulling out) the very first time I wore them."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater II Boot
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1