Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Tri-Pack

A large capacity pack for the all-day angler. Fully adjustable fly-fishing backpack and dual front chest pack compartments to handle all your gear for a full day on the water. Perforated foam shoulder straps ensure comfort and breathability. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools secure. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back of chest packs. Fly drying patch on top of right chest pack. Front pocket of chest pack opens wide for easy access. Two front stretch mesh pockets. Breathable air mesh on the padded back panels of chest pack and backpack for ventilation. Backpack is hydration bladder compatible. Lots of interior pockets in chest pack and backpack for organization and storage of your gear. Easy-access side mesh pockets on backpack. Backpack in willow green. Dimensions: Front pockets: 12½"H x 5½"W x 4"D. 275 cu. in. each. Backpack: 13¾"H x 12¾"W x 6½"D. 1,140 cu. in. Weight: 2.5 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the right size,
November 19, 2014
By: pmspirito
"I needed the pack area for rain gear and some first-aid supplies, and emergency gear. There are two bottle holders and I have a 21 ounce vacuum bottle for each. The front tackle pockets hold the larger size fly boxes. I am a large size guy and this fits easily over an extra shirt and rain jacket. I am very happy with this purchase."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of room for gear but not bulky.,
October 6, 2014
By: Norcalfisher
from Ca
"Love this pack - I can use it while out for a quick evening session or a full day hike. Highly recommended!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage® Tri-Pack,
September 24, 2014
By: jesfish
from Hartsel, CO
"I have used the product 7 times in the last two months. The pack is comfortable to wear and has lots of extra pockets for organizing your fishing gear. The shoulder straps are wide and well patted. The zippers appear to be strong and the pack appears to be well made, so it should last. I really like the two drinks/water storage compartments - easy to get to your drinks. The only compliant: there are two straps in front that holds the pack together while you fish; the upper strap rides up under my chin."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, low profile and comfortable.,
September 10, 2014
By: 3P95
from South East, PA.
"Excellent gear for the "on the go" stream angler! I use this pack at least once a week for hours of walking and stalking Brook Trout on small streams. Highly recommend for day trips."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack at a Great Deal!,
August 31, 2014
By: Ryan4467
from Iowa
"I have been looking for several months for a good quality fishing pack to go on sale. This one did and I jumped at it. Although I have not taken it out on the water yet, I am very pleased. High quality material. Plenty of space for a day trip/excursion. Incredibly pleased with my purchase! Can't wait to get out on the water!"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pack,
August 25, 2014
By: doug98
from Montana
"I haven't tried it yet but it looks like a quality product. I would suggest some additions/changes for the next production run. I would like a hanger for the hydration bag. If you used one, it would just lie in a lump in the bottom of the bag. I'm a size Medium, but it looks like this could accomodate a much larger person. I don't know how you'd make the straps shorter without making it too small for you big guys, but I've got yards of straps hanging down after adjusting it for me. Additional d-rings would be good. One for bear spray and a couple for a rod-tube. Minor complaints, though..."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
August 23, 2014
By: CTsprey
from Guilford, CT
"I just used this pack for an 8 hour day on the river. It was terrific. It fit so well that it hardly seemed I was carrying any weight. Yet it had several fly boxes, a hydration bladder, lunch, and rainwear, and fishing tackle. There is enough room for the essentials. The 2 front pockets provide convenient access for flies, tippet and tools. I highly recommend it."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Initial impressions,
August 19, 2014
By: rwseif
from Everett. WA
"I haven't had a chance to get this out on the river yet butfrom trying it on and adjusting the straps I am impressed with the layout and quality. I like the combination of the back pack with the vest functions.I am looking forward to getting on the water soon to wring it out there."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pack,
August 18, 2014
By: huntfish0230
from Alabama
"Plenty of room for all the accessories you need on the river. Great for wading and keeping all your stuff handy and not being uncomfortable with straps around your neck, etc.. Only thing that could improve it is if it had some loops on the front for attaching accessories. The magnets are a great added touch to keep nippers, etc.. from dangling. Catching it on sale made the pack a steal for the quality it is."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
useful pack,
August 14, 2014
By: notassmartastrout
from St Paul mn
"I am finding uses for this other than fishing, it also works well for hiking when the hydration kit is added. Well padded and comfortable."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good alternative,
August 11, 2014
By: Kyon
from Colorado
"Hot summer days in Colorado and hikes to streams in steep hills can indicate a need for an alternative to a full tackle vest or back pack.
This pack provides enough room for rain coat and lunch. Side pockets are handy for water bottles and a small water bladder can fit in the pack, perhaps at cost of additional items but still handy.
Front pockets can hold several fly boxes and internal sleeves can hold leaders, pliers, etc.
Comfortable, convenient pack.
"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit for two locations,
August 5, 2014
By: flotillathehun
from san juan mountains--colorado
"at 65 we strive to travel light when we hike and fish at altitude. this pack fits our bill perfectly....light weight, handy and excellent storage"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for travel,
July 30, 2014
By: FLGAWV
"I bought this more for a travel back and not for use while wading. The pack is excellent for wading. My gear is easy to reach and the weight is well balanced. I am very glad I bought."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack for Birding,
January 8, 2013
By: BigBrother
from Southern Shore
"Yes, I know that the Tri-Pack is designed for anglers/fly fishing but it also makes a GREAT pack for birding.
The back pack is large enough to hold rain gear, snacks, water and a birding book as well as a decent camera. The front chest packs are great for the new larger smart phones as well as good quality point and shoot camera and many additional items. These items are held secure and are easily accessible without having to remove the pack, but I especially like the fact that having the large front chest pack compartments helps keep the load comfortable and well balanced no matter where you are hiking.
I agree that the addition of external D-rings would be helpful but, as is, the pack is great for long birding trips on wooded trails or along the shore.
I appreciate the thought that went into designing this light weight and durable pack."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best pack ever,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"this is a very handy bag, you can get at the front pockets while on the stream , will carry every thing you need for a days fishing"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't Think a Fisher Tested This Product.,
April 15, 2012
By: Calvillo
from Portland, OR
"Well built, like the bladder compatibility, and comfortable, but....
Where are the D rings you can hook things like floatant, etc, to?
The pockets need to be designed with more than fly boxes in mind.
There are patches w/holes to pin your retractors/zingers to but they're on the outside of the pockets (left & right) so you're always feeling for tools you can't see . IMO they should be on the inner exterior of the pockets, so you're reaching to your chest, not out toward an armpit.
With a little more thought, Orvis could have hit a grand slam w/ this. A clear pocket that holds a fishing license on the back or on one of the front pockets (where the patches for retractors/zingers are). Absence of D rings are a fundamental oversight. A place to strap on a rod tube while hiking would be simple to do.
I'm probably going to try the pack again to see if it's just not being used to the gear, but at this point I'm pretty sure I'm going back to my Simms vest."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
April 14, 2012
By: twardtrout
from Saratoga springs ny
"The safe passage tri pack is very versatile had lots of room to carry every thing you need on the steam thought it was very comfortable to wear"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tri Pack,
April 6, 2012
By: fishndogs
from Montana
"This review is based on 30 days of fishing with the Tri Pack in a variety of conditions. First, this is a great pack that carries what you need for a full day of fishing. The pack is well organized and the ability to carry a water bladder is a bonus. The only negative comment that I have with this pack is that the upper chest strap buckle is not well secured to the strap. I lost the buckle during the third day of use, found it and then lost it again a week later. I would suggest that the buckles be sewn into the straps rather than as an add on. I ended up tying the chest strap together to make that work. I'll be asking Orvis for a replacement buckle and then trying to figure out a more permanent solution."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the flats,
January 20, 2012
By: colemanjan
"Intelligently designed combo back pack.
Really handy on a long day on foot on the flats chasing Bones!!
"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picky Husband Perfect,
November 23, 2011
By: Groatcake
from Erie, PA
"My hubby is exceptionally picky about all his fishing gear. Almost nothing but Orvis will do. So when I caught him eyeing this pack at a nearby store, I knew it would be perfect for Christmas. And the shipping was a big help too!"