Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Star-of-Bethlehem Garden

Place this attractive tin on any sunny windowsill, add water, and in three to four weeks you'll have gorgeous, sweet-smelling Star-of-Bethlehem blossoms. Tin contains 20 perennial bulbs. Tin 5"H x 5"L x 10"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
8
97 of 118(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Review 1 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still blooming,
February 6, 2014
By: Angelisher
from Reno, NV
"This plant arrived perfectly packaged. Within Two days it was blooming and now in February is still blooming. It is snowy white and was perfect for winter."
Review 2 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disapointed,
February 5, 2014
By: BigJer
from San Jose, CA
"First it got here anout 10 days before Christmas and had a great big sign on it that said "OPEN IMMEADATELY". Since it was for a gift, I called customer service and asked if I could wait till the 25th. After going back and forth, and finally talking to a supervisor, they said it was ok that it wouln't start to grow until it got water. When it was opened, there were no instruction anywhere. Like how much and how often to water and how to take care of the bulbs to repot for next year. After watering, it started out ok, but soon became very stragely and the flowers brownish. After 30 days, it looked terrible. Nothing like the picture in the add."
Review 3 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very pretty,
January 21, 2014
By: pleasantlysurprised
"it took them a little longer to bloom; only because of the lack of sun. but once they did they are very pretty"
Review 4 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
garden in a tin,
January 20, 2014
By: debraham
from Manhattan, NY
"The tin is sweet & will have lots of future use. The blooms did not flourish on my sill but I suspect I did not water properly. Greener thumbs or better sun will make it work. I will try again next year!"
Review 5 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Beautiful,
January 18, 2014
By: wildthistle
"Arrived within a week of ordering, bloomed weeks later (just before Christmas) as promised, bringing smiles all around! great choice for distant friends & relatives who you want to remember with a gift but food baskets have too many banned items and the recipient does not want "stuff." And it is simply beautiful."
Review 6 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wintertime treat,
January 16, 2014
By: Catsmeow
from Maine
"I have given this gift twice. It makes a perfect Christmas gift and antidote to winter blahs. Recipients surprised and pleased.
Yours, Catsmeow
"
Review 7 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Star Perfect,
January 15, 2014
By: Nurse123
from Alabama
"The Star of Bethlehem plants I purchased and gave as gifts bloomed just in time for a beautiful site for Christmas. As usual the purchases from Orvis are excellent."
Review 8 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could have been better,
January 15, 2014
By: T1234
from VA
"I purchased this Star of Bethlehem garden for someone else. I hoped it would arrive early enough that I could get it started so that it would be blooming as the picture showed. While the blossoms started coming out, I could tell it would never be as full as the picture. The blooms were on very delicate stems and flopped over easily. Also, the blossoms would fade before the others started popping out of the soil. It was just a disappointing purchase. Loved the pot, though."
Review 9 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing planter,
January 6, 2014
By: BThomas
"The gift looks NOTHING like the picture. My mother gave this to several of us as her gift. She also gave it to herself. I know that she is disappointed in the blooms and presentation. I am also disappointed and unhappy that what looks like a wonderful planter full of blooms is really a planter with straggly blooms that fall over and look nothing like the picture in the catalog. It's horrible to run a mother's Christmas because the present does not live upto expectations."
Review 10 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mother-in-law loved it,
January 4, 2014
By: DEVJ
"My mother-in-law was thrilled when this gift arrived. When we arrived to her house a few days later the bulbs were already sprouting. The tin was just as pictured, and it looks as though the flowers will bloom as pictured as well."
Review 11 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems like a winner!,
January 3, 2014
By: bettyboopmagpie
from NY
"Both recipients texted a photo of the flowers blooming on 12/24 (they had been delivered about a week before) and seemed very happy with their gifts!"
Review 12 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique,
January 2, 2014
By: Marymusic
from Burlington, MA
"I purchased this for a friend with whom I visited the Holy Land. I ordered it a week before Christmas and it was delivered on Christmas Eve, perfect! It began blooming on New Year's Day. The container is just as pictured and could be used again for another planting. The flowers are delicate and look just like "stars"! It was the perfect gift this season as a remembrance from a very special trip."
Review 13 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!,
January 2, 2014
By: texasgrandma
from Cypress, TX
"Delivery was very fast! The plant in great condition and is already blooming! It's really beautiful! I really appreciate the good service!"
Review 14 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely gift,
January 2, 2014
By: penster
from ithaca,ny
"I was given this last Christmas and loved it so gave it to someone this year and they loved it too - it bloomed on Christmas! It has so many blooms and is so pretty!"
Review 15 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the recipient,
December 31, 2013
By: Cosmicfarmer
from Sioux City, Iowa
"I got third for my daughter -in- law, she loves gardening and this was perfect for her. It has started to bloom already.. She gives me progress reports regularly.
Thanks for this unique gift for her..
A. T. Bramblett
"
Review 16 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not quite as pictured but still cute,
December 31, 2013
By: PeggySue1950
from Lower Alabama
"It didn't turn out quite as full as pictures but my mother thought it was a great gift. She loved watching it grow each day. It didn't take long for the sprouts to grow and blossom, but they were a bit sparse."
Review 17 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever,
December 28, 2013
By: Pixiepoo
from Denver, CO
"This is a perfect gift for anyone at the holidays. It grows quickly and turns out beautiful everytime. Have sent it for years and have only got raving reviews from everyone!!"
Review 18 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Star Shines!,
December 27, 2013
By: Tawm
from Topeka, KS
"Several years ago I gave my mother a Star of Bethlehem plant. Since then I've sent Christmas trees and other floral arrangements, but she kept talking about how pretty her Orvis Star of Bethlehem was. So this year I sent her one again. She was thrilled! She says it's easy to care for, and it arrived with several shoots poking through. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 19 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
family gift,
December 26, 2013
By: aries31
from Richmond, VA
"My brother and sister in-law were very pleased to receive this gift. It should bloom in January. Hard to give it 5 stars until then."
Review 20 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas present!,
December 25, 2013
By: Jenn59
from Ohio
"Sent to my mother for Christmas. She was very pleased with how quickly the blooms grew!"