Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Star-of-Bethlehem Garden

Place this attractive tin on any sunny windowsill, add water, and in three to four weeks you'll have gorgeous Star-of-Bethlehem blossoms. Tin contains 20 perennial bulbs. Tin 5"H x 5"L x 10"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
8
109 of 130(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Review 1 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gift.,
December 18, 2014
By: Isadora
from CA
"I had the Star-of-Bethlehem plant sent as gifts to two friends and they liked the item very much."
Review 2 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific,
December 17, 2014
By: Jacie
from California mountains.
"I ordered 2 of these, one going to each coast. They both arrived and the recipients ]just love them."
Review 3 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEAUTY,
December 15, 2014
By: 1mae
from Gig Harbor,WA
"THE WHITE BEAUTY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR IS IN THIS LOVELY WHITE BUCKET OF HIDDEN BULBS TO COME ALIVE!"
Review 4 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
December 13, 2014
By: Rox321
from Maryland
"My sister called and said the Star of Bethlehem was splendid. I'm happy to have given such a joyous gift.
She mentioned the smell was perfect for Christmas.
"
Review 5 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Centerpiece,
December 6, 2014
By: Russmick
from Glendale, CA
"Plant was received quickly and just starting to show growth. Within a week I have blossoms. Very full and
makes a lovely window decoration.
"
Review 6 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful presentation and great delivery,
December 3, 2014
By: DrLinda1
from Claremont, CA
"The flowers arrived in a timely manner and the packaging was wonderful.
The Stars of Bethlehem did not grow evenly. (They are still growing and all of them may even out.) At present, we have giraffes and ants.
I had hoped for a cascade of blossoms, growing evenly and spilling over the planter's edges.
:(
"
Review 7 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
December 3, 2014
By: Flex007
from Memphis, TN
"I sent this as a gift and the recipient was very pleased. When I visited my friend I was able to see the bulbs are sprouting...container is bright and looks good. Flowers will be beautiful. Perfect gift for the person who has everything!"
Review 8 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good,
December 3, 2014
By: 0604
"Purchased this for 93 & 94 y /o aunts as an early Christmas gift. Both were pleased to get something to watch grow during the Holiday season."
Review 9 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Gift,
December 3, 2014
By: Adlyn
from Sarasota, FL
"Although I haven't seen the product as yet, the recipient had such joy in her voice when she called to thank me I knew it was a hit. A few days later she called to tell me that it was already starting to sprout, she was so excited! Hopefully, when I see it, it will be in full bloom and fragrant."
Review 10 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delightful,
December 3, 2014
By: aacc
from California mom
"I sent two of these as gifts and the response was wonderful. Reminders of former gardens and friends who would have enjoyed the charm of this holiday brightener. This is a charming non-intrusive gift that can be displayed almost anywhere and with delight."
Review 11 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still blooming,
February 6, 2014
By: Angelisher
from Reno, NV
"This plant arrived perfectly packaged. Within Two days it was blooming and now in February is still blooming. It is snowy white and was perfect for winter."
Review 12 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disapointed,
February 5, 2014
By: BigJer
from San Jose, CA
"First it got here anout 10 days before Christmas and had a great big sign on it that said "OPEN IMMEADATELY". Since it was for a gift, I called customer service and asked if I could wait till the 25th. After going back and forth, and finally talking to a supervisor, they said it was ok that it wouln't start to grow until it got water. When it was opened, there were no instruction anywhere. Like how much and how often to water and how to take care of the bulbs to repot for next year. After watering, it started out ok, but soon became very stragely and the flowers brownish. After 30 days, it looked terrible. Nothing like the picture in the add."
Review 13 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very pretty,
January 21, 2014
By: pleasantlysurprised
"it took them a little longer to bloom; only because of the lack of sun. but once they did they are very pretty"
Review 14 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
garden in a tin,
January 20, 2014
By: debraham
from Manhattan, NY
"The tin is sweet & will have lots of future use. The blooms did not flourish on my sill but I suspect I did not water properly. Greener thumbs or better sun will make it work. I will try again next year!"
Review 15 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Beautiful,
January 18, 2014
By: wildthistle
"Arrived within a week of ordering, bloomed weeks later (just before Christmas) as promised, bringing smiles all around! great choice for distant friends & relatives who you want to remember with a gift but food baskets have too many banned items and the recipient does not want "stuff." And it is simply beautiful."
Review 16 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wintertime treat,
January 16, 2014
By: Catsmeow
from Maine
"I have given this gift twice. It makes a perfect Christmas gift and antidote to winter blahs. Recipients surprised and pleased.
Yours, Catsmeow
"
Review 17 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Star Perfect,
January 15, 2014
By: Nurse123
from Alabama
"The Star of Bethlehem plants I purchased and gave as gifts bloomed just in time for a beautiful site for Christmas. As usual the purchases from Orvis are excellent."
Review 18 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could have been better,
January 15, 2014
By: T1234
from VA
"I purchased this Star of Bethlehem garden for someone else. I hoped it would arrive early enough that I could get it started so that it would be blooming as the picture showed. While the blossoms started coming out, I could tell it would never be as full as the picture. The blooms were on very delicate stems and flopped over easily. Also, the blossoms would fade before the others started popping out of the soil. It was just a disappointing purchase. Loved the pot, though."
Review 19 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing planter,
January 6, 2014
By: BThomas
"The gift looks NOTHING like the picture. My mother gave this to several of us as her gift. She also gave it to herself. I know that she is disappointed in the blooms and presentation. I am also disappointed and unhappy that what looks like a wonderful planter full of blooms is really a planter with straggly blooms that fall over and look nothing like the picture in the catalog. It's horrible to run a mother's Christmas because the present does not live upto expectations."
Review 20 for Star-of-Bethlehem Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mother-in-law loved it,
January 4, 2014
By: DEVJ
"My mother-in-law was thrilled when this gift arrived. When we arrived to her house a few days later the bulbs were already sprouting. The tin was just as pictured, and it looks as though the flowers will bloom as pictured as well."