Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stony River Fedora

Breathable summer comfort and sleek stingy-brim looks make this men's fedora hat an ideal addition to your summer wardrobe. Plus, this hat is washable, making it a perfect choice for travel. Antiqued-brass ventilation grommets on crown. Olive-toned herringbone hatband and trim. Men's summer fedora hat in natural. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛); 1¾" brim; 3½" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stony River Fedora
Review 1 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can be better,
February 19, 2013
By: Vasan
from California
"I like the hat, it looks great, but it is not stiff enough. I wish it had some stiffener in the crown. It tends to sag because it is soft cotton. I used some Pellon fusible paper and made it retain shape, but as all home-made repairs tend to be, it looks clumsy if you look inside! :-) Hat making is a complex craft as I discovered when I tried to use buckram!"
Review 2 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice casual men's hat,
February 13, 2013
By: Sweetcaroline
from Sunny California
"Ordered this online for my husband hoping it would fit. Loved that they had it in XL! It did fit very well. He loves it! Good summer hat with a great shape. Very flattering."
Review 3 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SOFT HAT,
October 12, 2012
By: ESPO
from SARASOTRA, FL.
"NICE HAT, NOT WHAT I EXPECTED! MADE WELL BUT HAS NO SUN PROTECTION. HAT STRETCHES TO FIT HEAD SIZE. I WEAR XXL AND THIS WAS AN XL
AND IT FIT. ALL IN ALL ITS OK!
"
Review 4 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Way too large for a 7 1/2,
July 11, 2012
By: 1consumer
from Bangor, ME
"It's a standard canvas hat and it looks just like the photo, I ordered the hat that said it would fit my sized head, but I could pull it down over my head and use the vent holes to see out of. I hope that's not how it's meant to be worn... I find that this happens often when purchasing a hat with a size range (XL: fits 7 1/2 to 7 3/4), it's easier to purchase a hat that is sized properly online and give up the hassle of returns and reordering."
Review 5 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I expected,
July 10, 2012
By: WallyC
from San Diego, CA
"A great looking hat, perfect fit, exactly as shown. If hats are your thing you can't go wrong with this one."
Review 6 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a little large,
July 10, 2012
By: jerryl
"Nice looking hat, except the medium was too large. I'm about a 7 1/8."
Review 7 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat,
May 4, 2012
By: marinus
from Eagle River, Alaska
"This is a great hat. Its got a smart little stingy brim and the fabric is perfect for summer. Also, the styling lends it to many different types of occasions.
My one complaint is that it is a little snug on me. I have other Orvis hats that are XL and fit well. This one is not made by Orvis so I think the sizing is not the same. But unless your head is unnaturally large like mine, you shouldn't have a problem."
Review 8 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good with reservations,
April 11, 2012
By: MonteCristo
"Very nice looking hat but sizing is inconsistent. XL is smaller than L."
Review 9 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs a Height Adjustment,
May 23, 2011
By: JimmyJ
"I liked everything about this hat except the crown height which was so disproportionately high, it made me think of a character in Alice in Wonderland. Reducing that height would make this a stylish hat."
Review 10 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgettable Fedora,
May 7, 2011
By: TheHonorable
from Hill Country of Central Texas
"Fedora arrived when my spirits were low; Fedora arrived when esteem was lost among trees and bunkers of Pecan Grove Golf Club. Fedora brought me back; Fedora gave me confidence again; Fedora is unforgettable."
Review 11 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Way Too Big!,
April 22, 2011
By: Lyle
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the hat I have been looking for for years. My normal size is MEDIUM, but I had to pad the inner brim all the way around with foot foam pads to get it to fit. Nonetheless, I liked it so well I went to the catalog to order a second one in size SMALL but not offered!!
I would recommend only to a friend with a big head."
Review 12 for Stony River Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beware of size!,
April 12, 2011
By: SheriffBell
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I loved this hat but it was too large. I buy many hats, so I have taken the trouble to measure my head. I wear a 7 1/8- 71/4, which is called a medium. This hat fell down around my ears. It is not offered in a small. It is really good-looking, but is too large for me."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stony River Fedora
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3