Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dog Safety Harness

A loose dog in a vehicle can be a distraction and could lead to an accident. Keeping your dog safely tethered is quickly becoming standard practice for many motorists, and many states have pending legislation that will soon make it mandatory. This car harness for dogs utilizes a lightweight, comfortable vest with 600-denier nylon strapping, two high-grade aluminum carabiners, and an adjustable tether that easily attaches to your vehicle's seat belts or child-seat anchors. Car harness for dogs in light blue. Washable. Imported. Medium dogs 25-50 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
3
65 of 76(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Safety Harness
Review 1 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Maybe,
December 30, 2012
By: KFernstrom
from Northern Virginia
"I bought these for my Labs and thought I had put them on tightly enough but they both escaped within five minutes of starting the car ride. We will try again next weekend."
Review 2 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product!,
December 28, 2012
By: Goldenmother
"I got two of these for my golden retrievers. The product seems well made. I really like the tether, it hooks easily to the child safety restraint on my back seat, and keeps my buddies in place. They seem very comfortable in them, no chewing on them or trying to get out of it. I don't have to worry about them flying forward if I have to make a sudden stop or them trying to climb into the front seat with me. We can travel safely now."
Review 3 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Collar for Besr Friend,
December 28, 2012
By: MissJocie
from Dallas, Texas
"These collars and leashes are far superior to others tried over the years. Sturdy, with vital information plainly displayed, I own three for each of my dogs and gave one as a gift for Christmas. It was very well-received!"
Review 4 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Try,
December 26, 2012
By: swaggzmommy
from Colorado
"Got this thinking it would keep our Amstaff Terrier in his seat better. When he rides in the back seat of our big truck he has to be leashed in to keep in back there as he tries his best to come up on the center console between the seats, very dangerous! Had to work to get it properly fitted, then try to figure out what to clip it to, seat belts didn't work. Then he started acting like a kid whining because he couldn't get up close to us and lunging against the harness till he had marks under his shoulders, so we went back to the leash."
Review 5 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tether too short,
November 21, 2012
By: EKPS
"The harness itself is great, but the seatbelt tether is too short for a larger dog."
Review 6 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great safety purchase!,
November 20, 2012
By: ChewieT
from Naples, FL
"This was a great purchase for our dog Chewie. She looks like a little parachuter in her harness! She is a 7 month old bullmastiff and has quickly gotten accustomed to riding with it on. After our dog trainer mentioned the idea, I looked into it. Right now, she is wearing the size large and she is 59 lbs. She has quite a bit of extra room to grow into it. I also got her the x-large for when she outgrows the large."
Review 7 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
November 1, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Washington
"The dog safely harness is a great product, well made and our dog is comfortable and safe with strong leads, hooks and chest protector. The price is very reasonable especially for the super quality!"
Review 8 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Harness,
October 29, 2012
By: kcwolfe
from San Diego, CA
"I was looking for a harness that would be comfortable and not shift around. Our last harness for the car was so heavy that when ever our dog would move it would slide around her body and we would have to adjust it again. This harness from Orvis is light weight and does not rub under her arms. She did not need any time to get use to it. It was also easy to put on and size."
Review 9 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Harness,
October 17, 2012
By: KathieD
from Northern NJ
"We've never tethered our 11 year old Terrier mix (34 lbs and very hyper in the car) before and I worried about whether she'd accept it. It really works well, seems comfortable for her and has the salutary effect of encouraging her to sit quietly. It's easy to adjust, looks good and gives her enough range of motion. I'd recommend this one."
Review 10 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Harness for the Price,
September 2, 2012
By: CaliforniaDogLover
from Pleasanton, CA
"We got this harness to help protect our dog. We have the Orvis car hammock, which he adores, and thought he needed to be secured just in case of an accident. We were worried that the clip belt was not going to be long enough for him to sit up or lay down (with his head on the hammock) but it is the perfect length fully expanded. He can stand up, sit down, lay, and has full access to the back of the car but just can't go past the window. Sam is 107 lbs. and 60 in long so we got an XL size. Fits great, very sturdy, and though went into the design. For example, it has a padded protective pad on their chest in case of an accident."
Review 11 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent safety harness,
August 16, 2012
By: Adk3pups
from Cambridge, MA
"PROS: Ease of use: The Orvis harness is the best of 4 separate models I have tried in the past 15 years. It is very easy to put on my dog and I clip it to the bucket that attaches to the part you pull across your body to buckle in.
Comfort: my dog doesn't run away when I pull it out
CONS: straps are hard to adjust and easy for my Houdini dog to loosen and pull out from once in a while.
"
Review 12 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great dog harness,
August 14, 2012
By: luke1
from Ridgewood, NJ
"We bought two of these to comply with new pet restraint laws in our state and we are glad we did. They are well made, easy to use and our large golden retriever doesn't mind them at all. The fit is good and he has the ability to sit or lay comfortably but safely."
Review 13 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog Safety Harness,
August 10, 2012
By: 350orgFan
from Wadsworth, OH
"We ordered the small size (up to 25 lbs) for our 19 lb Scottie. The harness fits well, and is good quality. The good quality strap which comes with the harness is so short it is impossible for her to sit up on her pillow on the rear seat when the strap is attached to the center seat belt, so it is unusable as is. I now need to figure out how to make a longer strap so the device can be used."
Review 14 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tether not thought out,
August 5, 2012
By: summer22
"The harness itself seems to be a good harness. The tether really was not thought out. The small harness fits dogs up to 25 lbs and they give you a tether that extends to 12inches AT THE MOST. That is not enough room for my dog to more around comfortably in the car, especially if he is in the back by himself. I called Orvis to see if I could receive a medium tether and send back the small tether. I was told this would not be possible but I could purchase a medium harness and tether for only $29, it is cheap the worker told me. If I already paid $29 why would I want to spend another $29 just to get a longer tether? They should make the tethers a better/larger size range. The worker I spoke with put in an inquiry for me but told me it most likely would not be done. i told her I would be writing a review because I am unhappy with the customer service and I will be returning the product if I cannot receive a medium tether to go with the small harness. I have not had any issues with Orvis customer service in the past but this instance has not made me a happy customer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great design & price,
June 26, 2012
By: CSDC
"I bought two in size large. They easily adjusted to fit our 65 and 85 lb labs. We did use an XL tether for the 85 pounder. This set is a much better design and price than others I purchased elsewhere. Unfortunately, at the end of a two hour car trip the XL tether was in two pieces with significant collateral damage to the harness itself. Please consider a tough-chew, kevlar version!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Missing parts,
June 26, 2012
By: gnshopn
from Windsor, CO
"Ordered dog safety harness for a trip. Wanted to get my dogs used to it before the trip. Tried to install and both harnesses are missing the tethers to secure the dog. Called Orvis and was told that they would next day air me the missing pieces! Megan called to tell me she had placed a call to the manufacturer and would get back to let me know when to receive the items. Never heard from her again, I called again and still waiting for word from the manufacturer. Needless to say parts did not show up, no safety harness for my dogs for the trip, and still no call from Orvis. I can not believe that both harnesses were missing the same part, maybe Orvis should revisit where they get their products from. Obviously the manufacture does not care to make the matter right either. Thanks Orvis, for nothing!"
Review 17 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Money for Safety - Excellent Quality,
June 20, 2012
By: ZoeB
from New York, NY
"I purchased three of these for our dogs (Border Collie mix and two small Jack Russells) as replacements to other brands. The construction of these Bergan car harnesses is great. No skimping on materials or details. The buckle, velcro and small handles are unexpected but ensure our dogs stay safe and secure. They can enjoy their car rides and we have peace of mind knowing they're well protected."
Review 18 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizing runs very big,
June 20, 2012
By: number2child
from Newfoundland, NJ
"Purchased this harness for a 60lb Boxer in a large as recommended in the sizing chart. Was way to big! She had it off during the 2nd trip! Reordered a medium and it fits perfectly. Size chart needs to be changed or customers need to order size recommended only if the dog is on the max side of the chart."
Review 19 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 18, 2012
By: edsdad
from Big Flats, NY
"Ordered two from different sources and they came the same day. One, highly toted one was pure junk. lightly made, the only way to put it on the dog was to adjust it every time, no teather to attach to the car. And $60.00.
The Orvis one need to be adjusted once, snap buckles for putting it on, velcro attachments for the cover, and a teather for the car, for half the price!
And it wirks!!
I'd recommend it to anyone.
Shamas
"
Review 20 for Dog Safety Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peace of mind!,
June 7, 2012
By: donnal
from San Francisco, CA
"Our Golden Retriever loves the breeze from the car window in his face but also likes to try to climb out to visit animals in our rural neighborhood! It's fabulous! I have the back seats down in my small SUV and he still has the freedom to maneuver to the side windows or lie down. I love that he can enjoy the breeze but is now so safe! Quality is typical Orvis excellence!"