Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Lightweight Cotton Cardigan

Just the right weight for air-conditioned restaurants and theaters. Toss our lightweight cotton cardigan on over a sleeveless dress, or as a nice addition to any casual outfit. Classic V-neck, button-front, and patch pockets. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 27" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.755 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
6
36 of 53(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Review 1 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not Disappointed,
April 14, 2014
By: garden4fun
from Irvine, CA
"I ordered the white cardigan and shell and wore it with jeans for the first time. Perfect fit (medium), comfortable and nice casual look. Wish it was available in more colors."
Review 2 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fit,
April 9, 2014
By: JRTRP
from Anderson, SC
"The sweater fits well and is quite comfortable. I washed mine before I wore it. It needs a warm iron, but it irons easily. I like the added length, too."
Review 3 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quite happy with my purchase,
March 31, 2014
By: shopper1325
from Canada
"This is just the sweater I was looking for. It's light & comfortable."
Review 4 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so happy...,
July 27, 2013
By: Nellie22
from Waunakee, WI
"I have this product in Safari and I love it. The White one seems very thin and not as substantial as the Safari. I have the Navy color being shipped to me at this time. I hope the fabric is like the Safari color and not the White. You can see a patterned blouse through the White fabric. Style is good, like the pockets, good over a sleeveless top or to take into a cool restaurant."
Review 5 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want more - it's perfect.,
July 16, 2013
By: discriminating
from Seattle Washington
"I am very pleased with this sweater and find that I I'm wearing it almost constantly as it's the perfect weight to cover up summer tops when in air conditioning. I like the straight-line classic styling as well. I want to get more in other colors, but it seems to be out-of-stock. Please continue to make it available."
Review 6 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
July 4, 2013
By: sunshine52
from Hampshire
"Cotton a good quality but sleeves v long and had to tidy up a lot of loose cotton ends"
Review 7 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OK but not perfect,
June 7, 2013
By: MBurr
from Tucson AZ
"The fit and quality of the material is OK, but not right for me. Since it was not stellar, I returned it."
Review 8 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not for short people,
June 4, 2013
By: xxxxxxxxxx
from CT
"I wish that Orvis had a petite line of clothing. I have found that the length of most of the clothes, and this sweater in particular, are too long for my 5 foot 1 inch body. I even tried to wash and dry it hoping that it would shrink but it did not! (A good thing I gurss!)"
Review 9 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
May 22, 2013
By: prairiegirl
from Arlington VA
"I've been looking for lightweight, casual cardigans for a long time. I needed them for travel as well as the transitional seasons in Virginia when you need a little cover, but nothing too heavy. These are perfect. Just the right weight, nice fabric, classic style, and the fit is roomy enough for layering with comfort -- and the sleeves aren't too long, either! It was also available in the two colors I needed most: navy and white. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 10 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So Functional,
April 1, 2013
By: Inkblot
from McMinnville, OR
"I bought this because I was looking for a cardigan that would go over just about any type of clothing. I can wear it to church, out to dinner, on vacation, etc. I wasn't disappointed.- it's well made, styled, and versatile. A must for any wardrobe.. I would like one in a different color too. However, next time I'll order a size smaller."
Review 11 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little sweater,
March 27, 2013
By: Patty48
from Connecticut
"Love this cotton sweater. Comfortable, washes well and just big enough to wear either long sleeves or sleeveless under it. Dress it up or dress it down. Wish I had ordered it in 2 colors."
Review 12 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
March 5, 2013
By: MKMN
from Ft. Worth
"I purchased this as a gift for my mother and she loves it. It's a perfect weight for Texas springtime!"
Review 13 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Perfect,
February 11, 2013
By: MIGrandma
"I ordered this Cardigan for its rich but neutral color. It turns out to be my favorite. The weight, the pockets & easy care make this a year round & any occation wardrobe basic."
Review 14 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotton Knit Cardigan,
December 3, 2012
By: TATTY
from Tennessee
"I love your products. The material is grade A and the fit is perfect. I have found your company to be helpful and courteous. I love this cardigan!"
Review 15 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unhappy with Cardigan,
October 18, 2012
By: yoghurt
from Alberta. Canada
"One major problem as the overall size. I normally take a Petite and I found this too big and very definitely too long. The colour was pretty dull and I found it disappointing."
Review 16 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliable, understated cardigan,
September 4, 2012
By: deedee84
from Chevy Chase, Md
"This cardigan was long enough to cover the hip/thigh area but not ruffled nor scooped at hem as most of this type sweater comes."
Review 17 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice for a summer evening,
September 3, 2012
By: Nellie22
from Waunakee, WI
"The fabric is comfortable and it has been good for throwing over when a chill comes in the evening or on a cloudy day. The color is what I consider a true kaki and blends well with my other brown tone clothing. I wish you hadn't been out of the white, but maybe you will offer it next spring. The patch pockets are handy for holding keys, etc. when walking my dog. I needed the large because I have a tummy and the long button closure falls straight."
Review 18 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
August 13, 2012
By: blondeone
"I was very disappointed in the quality of this cardigan. It didn't fit well and I thought the fabric was too thin."
Review 19 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
needs improvement,
August 2, 2012
By: customer101
"I purchased the XS cardigan and the sleeves were too short for me (5'5").
I hadn't even washed it yet, so I would estimate that they needed to be about 1 1/2 inches longer. I also would recommend that the fabric weight be just slightly heavier. I have other cardigan like this and love them.
"
Review 20 for Lightweight Cotton Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing and Stretching issues,
July 29, 2012
By: SueVA
from Virginia
"I purchased this medium size cardigan to wear with some other items from Orvis. (I also purchased the large size to compare.) As others suggested, the medium was smaller. Then I washed it and it stretched out in the front on the binding by the buttons, so one side is now longer than the other! I am keeping the large and hope it does not do the same. It would be better if these were sized individually, such as 12, 14, 16 as well as petite."