Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames

We partnered with Carl Zeiss Vision, the leading manufacturer in high-performance lens technology to provide you with a polycarbonate lens with the ultimate acuity, allowing serious anglers a better view beneath the water. 33% lighter than average glass lenses, for ultimate comfort. Great image definition and contrast enhancement in varying light conditions. Extremely durable. Fly fishing sunglasses in brown wood-grain frames with amber or rose lens.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Review 1 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent glasses,
June 18, 2014
By: CTsprey
from Guilford, CT
"These are my favorite glasses for fishing. They reduce glare on the water surface, and the polarizing lenses allow you to distinguish objects on the stream bottom. The lenses have a slight curve which reduces light entering from the side. Further, the curvature provides additional eye protection from fly hooks sailing by after a bad cast."
Review 2 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice glasses,
April 30, 2014
By: Mike911
from North Carolina
"I purchased the amber lens model and it exceeds my expectations. Best in medium to low sunlight or changing conditions."
Review 3 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Z-Pc-Dechutes,
December 23, 2013
By: Luth
from Dothan, Alabama
"These are great sunglasses but I previously owned a pair in which the lens cracked. I would be very glad to pay for lens replacement but Orvis says "cannot do it". Very disappointed! Makes me never want to ever purchase from Orvis again after being a very loyal customer for many years."
Review 4 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Outstanding in every way, but lens color,
July 24, 2013
By: Fishtechie
from Novato, CA
"I'm an optics nerd, and have been wearing the highest quality polarized fishing glasses I could get my hands on since 1991. Some of my very most favorite fishing glasses have come from Orvis, and for me, the real test of a pair of fishing glasses begins with the lens. Having worn these glasses for a week, I can honestly report that I haven't used a more optically perfect lens, and both the AR coating and polarization are as good as they get. The lens color (amber), however, is a dissapointment. I am accustomed to fishing glasses, all of them, enhancing contrast, and look for this as a key feature. The "amber" color, which would be more aptly called "yellow" has exactly the opposite effect, in that I am finding all colors more muted than how they appear without sunglasses on. I've now used them in a range of lighting conditions, from full overcast to full sunlight, and a wide range of cloud and illumination conditions in between, and haven't found a single situation where this lens color actually enhances contrast. As for the rest of the product, the frames are comfortable, look great, and the case is well designed. I'm going to exchange these for the rose colored lens, and will post an update."
Review 5 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I Expected,
July 2, 2013
By: DoubleDoughball
from Gig Harbor,WA
"Progressive prescription is difficult to get right with curved lenses. These are perfect. Great customer service in placing the order and dealing with the complex prescription."
Review 6 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent. Need more lens options,
June 6, 2013
By: TG4Bama
from Houston, TX
"These glasses are top notch. They are light weight, durable, and very comfortable on the face. Only critique is the lack of lens options. The lenses are great quality, but I would like to have at least one more option to select the dark (black) lens that Orvis used to offer in older styles."
Review 7 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shades,
January 30, 2013
By: windguy
from Ipswich, MA
"I'm very pleased with these glasses! I don't leave home without my shades and when my last pair disappeared I was tempted to just replace them but having read the Orvis description I figured I'd give these a try. The optics are phenomenal and the lower weight as compared to other glass lenses makes for a very comfortable and high quality pair of shades"
Review 8 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feel--impressive prescription,
October 1, 2012
By: MNChef
from Saint Paul, MN
"I had owned a pair of Orvis sunglasses with glass lenses and hadn't been super crazy about the prescription or the comfort on long days, so I almost went with another brand and I'm very glad I did not. The Zeiss lenses are unbelievably light and clear, and the folks who did the optical work got the prescription perfect, especially since it can be hard to get it perfect with wrap frames when most people's daily glasses are flat. They are definitely more like sports shades, and wrap in a distinct arc--which is kind of hard to tell from the photo, but the coverage is great and they felt fine after a full day's wear on the stream. If you like really dark shade--these are not. Plenty for me and my fishing needs though."
Review 9 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Semi-Happy,
August 14, 2012
By: BigMJ1
from Macon, GA
"I don't like the word Orvis written on the stems. I would not have bought them had I known. The picture picture made it appear that a metal design was inlain into the stems.
As far as how the glasses fit and perform, I would give them four stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stylish, good eye coverage,
July 24, 2012
By: Read
"Good looking and works well, only fault is not the glasses...needed adjustment on temples to fit my face before I took it on trip...performed well in bright fishing days in BC."
Review 11 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeiss Deschutes Sun glasses,
July 16, 2012
By: OldGeezer49
from Ca
"These glasses arrived before promised and are the best I've ever owned.
Superior to other Orvis glasses ordered in the past, and they were really good!
I have been using Maui Jim's from my local O.D.
I cleaned the pool with Maui Jim's on, couldn't see bottom because of a strong wind riffle on the surface. I switched to the Orvis; bottom instantly visable, surface riffle disappeared!
Highly recommended, you hit a "grand slam" with this product.
"
Review 12 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best glasses ever,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I love these glasses, good on the stream and look very cool to wear out, recommended"
Review 13 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pair of Sun Glasses,
May 1, 2012
By: CTTroutBum
from Marlborough, CT
"I bought these sun glasses (amber lens) to replace a gray lens pair of Maui Jim's for small stream fishing and they have been quite an improvement. So far I have used them for early and mid morning fishing and have been very happy with the clarity they offer.
The only negative I see is they tend to fog up on the upper part of the lens if pushed directly against my forehead. A slight pull down and they clear almost instantly."
Review 14 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deschutes Frame,
February 29, 2012
By: Fisherman212
from Glocester,RI
"Very comfortable; glasses fit very well. Excellent time of delivery from order. The hard case will be nice when traveling"
Review 15 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of RX Sunglasses,
February 25, 2012
By: Rehm
from Atlanta, GA
"Just received my new Deschutes RX progressive prescription sunglasses and couldn't be more pleased with the lens clarity and fit of the frame. The Orvis customer service staff did a great job with my order and were great to work with. I wholeheartedly recommend them. Give them a try!"
Review 16 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job in comfort,
December 29, 2011
By: powpow
from wa
"Great glasses. You won't go wrong with these. Fit my head very well. Orvis is always qaulity"
Review 17 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeiss Poly Deshute Frame glasses,
December 28, 2011
By: Samwise
from Kempton, PA
"Nice fit overall. Generally I prefer a rounder lens/frame but these are getting harder to find. These wraps aren't too drastic. The nose fits nice and the lens clarity is very great."
Review 18 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but expensive,
December 23, 2011
By: colemanjan
"I used these glasses on the flats when sight fishing to shoals of Bones in remote pasts of the Seychelles and it passed the grade but was rather expensive for what they did."
Review 19 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Christmas present!,
December 19, 2011
By: ALBRAT24
from Glenfoot,Perthshire Scotland.
"Arrived quickly, in time for Christmas, packaging excellent, and quality of product perfect! I wouldn't have expected anything less.
Highly recommended retailer, will use again.
Thank you!! :-)
"
Review 20 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Deschutes Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing glasses,
November 10, 2011
By: BPinNC
from North Carolina
"I purchased these glasses to replace my 'regular' polarized Rx eyeglasses and all I can say is WOW. The frames are ultralight, ultrastrong and very good looking as well. The lenses are indescribably great. They give everything such great clarity, from driving to fly fishing. I can see at depths and distances underwater that I had never come close to before. They make overall surroundings bright yet not eye straining. I highly recommend these to anyone."