Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hoback River Shorts

Pull off the waders and slide into these rugged but comfortable cotton twill shorts for men. Made of a rugged twill that is brushed and washed for softness and comfort and pigment dyed with contrast stitch detail. Five-pocket body with added drop-in cargo pocket on the right that fits a cell phone. Double-needle stitching throughout for durability. Key fob in front-left pocket to secure your keys. A slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Men's cotton twill shorts have an 8" inseam. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 40.
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoback River Shorts
Review 1 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shorts,
March 24, 2014
By: seasonal4
from chagrin Falls, OH
"I got the gray and would buy the tan too but they are out of stock. Classic Orvis quality."
Review 2 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts!,
December 9, 2013
By: Romero
from WISCONSIN
"If you are looking for an extremely comfortable and durable pair of shorts that are flexible enough to go fishing, shopping, work around the house and then go to your local watering hole, then consider these great looking shorts.
I bought both colors and basically traveled through Spain this summer in them.
Fantastic!"
Review 3 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
September 23, 2013
By: Fouges
from Boca Raton, FL
"First I purchased the khaki color. I love these shorts. You cannot go wrong. They are tough, wash well, fit well, and there are pockets galore. I love the phone pocket on the side. I highly recommend you get a pair. You'll be back for more!"
Review 4 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hoback shorts,
July 22, 2013
By: janbeau
from norfolk uk
"cloth of good quality
stiching of good quality
fit although good round waist
to baggy elsewhere
these are not £60 shorts
even at £30 the cut spoils them
"
Review 5 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
July 16, 2013
By: mrbee
from UK
"Look and feel very comfortable. Pleased to have bought size down as the waist is generous - thanks for tip in the size guide!"
Review 6 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best shorts i've ever owned,
July 7, 2013
By: vermontfred
"heavy fabric, correct cut, good look. just bought 3 more in case they're discontinued."
Review 7 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buy more than one,
June 27, 2013
By: moonstone
from eastern shore
"I ordered this for my husband. He is not easy to please but he liked these so much he asked me to order more. Why? The length is perfect. He is 6'4" and the longer length is great. Additionally the lighter weight fabric is good for warm weather."
Review 8 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good casual shorts,
June 7, 2013
By: James46
from Ann Arbor
"These are good shorts for summer walking, hiking or doing stuff around the house. The material as sturdy, Khaki color is good, fit is very good and finish/construction is very good.
Lots of pockets for things you need to carry.
"
Review 9 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too baggy,
June 4, 2013
By: SheriffBell
from Bedford, IN
"I need a more trim short. These are probably okay for most guys, the style is nice, the material above average. Just a bit baggy in the seat and legs."
Review 10 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than the picture,
May 16, 2013
By: Salty2
from Vergennes, VT
"Nice fit and good weight for summer. Perfect size pocket for my iPhone 5.
Very happy with another Orvis purchase.
"
Review 11 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as expected,
November 30, 2012
By: 25thStreet
from Houston TX
"Ordered from catalog picture. Quality much less than expected. Returned"
Review 12 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hoback Shorts,
October 5, 2012
By: 6599aaa
from Mukilteo,WA
"This is the second pair of Hoback shorts that I have purchased from Orvis. The shorts are really comfortable. I like the side cell phone pocket and deep right front side pocket as well. They look good and stitching seems pretty strong. I like wearing a pair of shorts like these shorts with no buttons or velcro attached to the pockets."
Review 13 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
July 10, 2012
By: MechE
from Fort Wayne, IN
"These shorts are just the right length (I'm 5' 8'') and just the right weight. They're very comfortable, fit well, and I like the large watch pocket at the top of the right front pocket and the cell phone pocket on the right thigh. I have these shorts in both khaki and gray, and I love them both."
Review 14 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Shorts,
July 2, 2012
By: Anonymous
"These shorts are great. Light weight and cool. And they look good too!"
Review 15 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Shorts!,
June 28, 2012
By: LandCruiser2
from Austin, TX
"Ordered one pair in khaki and liked them enough to order another pair in khaki and 2 pair in charcoal. They look great, fit well and laundry okay. One note about Orvis Customer Service - When I received my second order the charcoal shorts were marked 32 but fit like 34s, I called Michelle in Customer Service and she coordinated with shipping and sent me two pair of charcoal shorts that fit perfectly. Great customer service!"
Review 16 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorly made for the price point,
May 19, 2012
By: Bantalore
"Nice enough shorts. Not worth the money. Stitching makes them look like a cheap pair of shorts. I have sent them back."
Review 17 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I Was Well Pleased with my purchase ..,
May 17, 2012
By: Turtle2
"Ordered The Shorts one day ~ arrived the very next .. Fitted like a Glove and Felt Good on .. Wore them that afternoonand much heartened by complimentary comments .. Happiness .."
Review 18 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool and comfortable,
May 9, 2012
By: Robfish
from Cornwall GB
"Just the job for when the weather finally warms up."
Review 19 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and good fit.,
April 4, 2012
By: Interlude
"These shorts have among the biggest inseam so if you like to wear your shorts at or below the knee, thse are a good choice. Like the look too."
Review 20 for Hoback River Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Shorts,
June 20, 2011
By: Bargie
from Wake Forest, NC
"These shorts have a nice, distict style to them and a good fit. They' also feel better made than most shorts you'd find in a Dept. Store. Overpriced, but more affordable with a $25 off coupon."