Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat

A versatile layering piece to wear any time of year, this western-inspired, V-neck waistcoat is offered in our signature 8-oz. Vintage Denim. Front features five pewter-tone buttons, pointed hem, and three small welt pockets. Back with straight hem. Women's western waistcoat in dark indigo. 100% cotton. Washable.Sizes: XS, S, M, L, XL; about 21" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A classic wardrobe item,
July 23, 2013
By: JaneJulia
"I'm one of those people who like having a good denim skirt, shirt, and vest to mix and match with other choices. This vest fits well (I'm normally a small-to-medium in tops, but in Orvis find that XS is my size), has a flattering profile, and is an attractive addition for me."
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Button Issue,
March 11, 2013
By: Bonica
from Canada
"Love the vest but... the bottom button was off and laying loose in the bag when it arrived. Being a metal push-into-a-metal-post style button, I am doomed to wear the vest without a bottom button and with an empty buttonhole. Naturally, I can't get the rest of the buttons off because of the button style, so can't replace them all. Didn't want to pay the $10 to return it. . Grrgh."
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
March 4, 2013
By: LakeLivingLady
from Southwest Michigan
"I had been looking for a denim vest for a long time, so when I found this one I was elated as it seemed to be everything I wanted in this type of vest -- and when it arrived it met all my expectations. I normally wear a petite large, but even though this is not petite it fits great. Washes nicely, too."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 28, 2013
By: JUSTINA
from FAYETTEVILLE NY
"Again, very nice...but...not on me...I feel your fashions are very classic...but...the postage kills you..."
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful gift to me,
February 26, 2013
By: Carsus
from Denver,co
"The vest is beautifully made. It fits so well. The weight of the fabric is perfect. I love it."
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
February 26, 2013
By: burp
from Maryland
"The first vest I ordered, I washed it before I wore it, and the top buttonhole frayed so I called Orvis for and exchange. When the replacement came the buttonholes were not done real well either so I returned it also. The vest is nice, a real good fit, so it really is a shame the workmanship was so shoddy. not sure Orvis handles the same quality of clothing it used to. May think twice before I order from them again."
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as I Imagined,
December 29, 2012
By: Nila
from Augusta, GA
"The denim vest order was handled extremely well, i.e. delivered promptly, arrived in great condition and, if returned was required, an easy return procedure."
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I Bought it!,
November 19, 2012
By: Saverylady
from Wyoming
"Nice weight denim and fit is perfect with large enough sleeve holes to allow it to fit nicely over blouses and sweaters. I will wear this often."
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
November 14, 2012
By: BettyS
from Elverson, PA
"goes well with my other denim clothing and is very comfortable to wear year round!"
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid wardrobe addition,
November 3, 2012
By: Sage2Sea
from Corvallis, OR
"Another just-right Orvis product. I've been looking for a replacement denim vest for some time, and this is what I've been after. The weight and cut make it flattering with tees, blouses and turtlenecks for around town, the office or out to dinner. Perfect!"
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value vest,
October 1, 2012
By: pathtraveler
from Southwest Virginia
"Good quality fabric, nicely styled with good workmanship. I like having pockets and these are unobtrusive.
The buttons are a nice touch but they do add weight to the garment.
The style fits me well and I like the higher back hem and the lower front hem.
"
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vest!,
September 24, 2012
By: Judyann
from West central Illinois
"I enjoy wearing this vest. It looks good with bluejeans and I like the styling. However, I don't think the sizing is exact. I can button the vest however it fits a little snug and I ordered the correct size. Wish it were available in other colors."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item for wardrobe,
September 24, 2012
By: WillieJoe
"The denim vest is made of quality material, well crafted, and fits great. A supplement for any outfit!"
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Denim Vest is OK,
September 3, 2012
By: vivibrown
"I've been looking for a replacement of your denim vest and this is the closest I've seen although I'm disappointed about the number of pockets. I loved the old style vest!"
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
August 27, 2012
By: DexHeiJ
"On the picture it doesn't look fitted at all, but it definitely is a "fitted" vest. The material was very nice but way to over priced."
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denim Vest,
August 16, 2012
By: Satis
from Alaska
"I am large busted so I ordered an XL. It still buttoned! Nice fit, and it's a bit longer which I like too!"
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!,
August 14, 2012
By: mommycat
from Placerville, CA
"The Vintage Denim vest was just what I wanted! It is very comfortible right from the get go. No stiffness at all. Pockets just the right size for drivers license and credit card when I really need to travel light while heavy duty antiquing!"
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!!!,
August 7, 2012
By: boops
"I love this vest. I love the fit, the length, the fabric, the color, and the quality!"
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
July 17, 2012
By: FlyLikeABird
from Central Coast, Ca
"I love this vest, in fact, I ordered two. One in small and one in medium but the medium is already showing wear after only wearing it 6 times. The fabric is great and is nicely made but the stitching around the button holes are beginning to separate from the holes. I am wondering if anyone else is having this problem?"
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Five-Button Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
July 17, 2012
By: ginger1
"Just what I wanted. Excellent quality, good fit and a traditional style for the ages. All add up to a great value."