Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt

Our signature Montana Morning® fabric done in an updated zip cardigan sweatshirt for those who like the versatility of the cardigan style. Two side-entry pockets on the lower body with a contrast canvas binding on the zipper and pocket entries. Montana Morning contrast stitching accents. Pigment-dyed fabric will weather nicely with age, and the sweatshirt is finished with rib knit at the cuff and hem to keep out the cold. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (235 reviews)
5 stars
179
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
5
216 of 235(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Favorite,
March 31, 2015
By: BobNBoise
from Boise, Idaho
"This became my go to jacket the first day I wore it. I've worn it almost every day since then. Warm and comfortable. I have several other jackets but have caught myself reaching for this one first when going outside. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING,
March 31, 2015
By: FACEANDCRANE
"GREAT SWEATER----LOOKS GOOD AND IS VERY RUGGED--CAN WEAR ANYWHERE. GET ONE"
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Midweight Sweatshirt,
March 11, 2015
By: Jack19
from Ohio
"When running around on weekends and temperatures are 25F-50F this is my all time best "go to" outerwear.Comfortable and looks great."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort all the time,
March 4, 2015
By: FFMONTANA
from Harwinton, CT
"Great product for all seasons. Looks even better with age and when purchased a size larger than normal product layers well for comfort . I have four of the various colors offered. You will not be disappointed."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
February 21, 2015
By: kehac
from Dayton, OH
"As always another great Orvis product. Fit perfectly on me. I ordered a medium and I'm 5'11" and 175 to 180 in weight."
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shoddy Construction,
February 13, 2015
By: AMMcKnightDE302
"The sweatshirt has a fleece lining that is sewn into the sweatshirt. When I put the sweatshirt on for the first time, I found that the seam at the bottom of the right side pocket had pilled away so that there is a 3 rather than return it because of the cost of return shipping but it is very disappointing to get a product right out of the packet with this kind of problem."
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sweatshirt,
February 6, 2015
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Great fit, finish, and material. Purchased the olive green version and looks as good when I received mine as the copy online. I am 6'2", 210lb and size L fit perfect. Very happy with purchase."
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotton comfort,
February 6, 2015
By: Fishbaydoc
from Richmond, VA USA
"A comfortable cotton jacket for non-wet use, around the house, yard, etc. Well made. A bargain."
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
style and comfort,
February 5, 2015
By: 1137tp
from Schenectady, NY
"I wear the Montana Morning zip cardigan underneath my Essex vest...great style comfort; even on the coldest mornings!"
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
February 4, 2015
By: Fastdawg
"I bought this coat based on the reviews, but honestly I don't what all the high praise is about. The coat has a wonderful fit and feels comfy, but it looks worn out and the dye, oh what a mess! Dye was everywhere even after the third washing."
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
February 3, 2015
By: 1SFlaFan
"Good value at the (sale)price. A good idea creating a full-zip sweatshirt rather than putting on/off over your head. Looks like it will last a while."
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
review,
January 31, 2015
By: gquartucci
"Decent jacket.,.maybe not as well made as other Orvis products."
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely the best!,
January 31, 2015
By: Chobe
from Sayulita, Mexico.
"It's the third one I have purchased and I'm sure there will be a fourth.
I think that says it all.
Chobe"
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
January 31, 2015
By: Norbar29
from Manalapan,nj ,07726
"exactly what I wanted, and exactly what I expected, and I got a very good price"
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
January 30, 2015
By: docrad
"I bought this item a couple of weeks ago, and seem to wear it all the time. It is well-made, looks nice, fits well, and is warm and comfortable. I really like it!"
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort quality perfect fit!,
January 30, 2015
By: JDB222
from Lancaster, NY
"I've found Orvis clothing to have exceptional quality and consistent sizing. I know this sweatshirt will be a favorite of mine for years to come!"
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Weekender Sweater,
January 30, 2015
By: TimKMVWA
from Mount Vernon WA
"Great for runs to the Farmers Market to working in the yard. Cleans up nicely and is rugged enough to take the wear and tear of outdoor activities."
Review 18 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fell in love with this “after” washing!,
January 30, 2015
By: AlaskaBear
from Anchorage, Alaska
"After reading the reviews prior to ordering this Montana Morning Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt, I was not sure if I should order a size LG or MD, for I am 5’7 & 168LB. I would normally go with a MD but something was telling me to order a LG & if it was too big, I could always return. Well, I’m glad that I went with a LG! The reason being, this sweatshirt requires @ least (2) washings & (2) trips in the dryer to remove the “fuzz” from the fleece lining. I “highly” recommend following the directions & washing separately for it will fade & I even noticed the coloring on my hands after the 1st wash as I tossed it into the dryer! I also washed in cold water, used Woolite & used low heat to dry. I also took it out of the dryer before it was completely dry. Yes, this does seem like a process but I do the same with a new pair of jeans. Anyway, after the (2) series of washing/drying, which was a (2) day process, I ended up with what just may be, the best Zip Sweatshirt ever!! I purchased the black but it is actually a very nice “weathered grey” color. It was the perfect size (i just have to roll the cuffs back x1). Also, it is called a Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt but I will always refer to it as a jacket that is perfect for temps 30F-60F (either wearing over a nice button down shirt or just a T-Shirt in temps hovering around 60F). It is awesome & just like a pair of jeans, it will only get better the more you wear it! I’m very picky when it comes to my clothes & this Montana Morning Zip cardigan Sweatshirt passes the test!"
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sweatshirt Ever,
January 28, 2015
By: NJGuy
from Bedminster, NJ
"When this showed itself in the Tent Sale, I couldn't resist - even though I already have four of these in different colors. Yes - they are that good. Perfect weight for between seasons or in winter, worn as a layer under a coat. They are well made, very comfortable, wash well, and over time "season" themselves like old friends."
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Zip Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOT your average sweatshirt,
January 28, 2015
By: MattW2015
from NJ
"It is a very comfortable sweater or actually a sweat shirt. Got it on sale, and was surprised at how comfortable and soft it is. Good quality and very warm. I expected less, only because I thought it would be you average sweatshirt it I was wrong! Fit true or size. Has smooth zipper and nice pockets."