Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt

Inspired by traditional madras patterns, brightly hued plaids lend summery appeal to our easy-care cotton/poly short-sleeve shirt. The short-sleeved wrinkle-resistant design has a straight hem that can be worn tucked or untucked with casual warm-weather styles. Short-sleeve plaid shirt in blue, dusty purple. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 6, 8; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Review 1 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
versatile colors,
September 5, 2012
By: garden
from cupertino. ca
"I chose this blouse because of the colors. The pink and green go with other items I wear. It would look good with denim also. It has a fresh look and feel."
Review 2 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice fabric - shame about the styling,
July 10, 2012
By: lainuk
from Surrey, UK
"Looking for a wash and wear shirt for my upcoming tropical trip, I thought this would be perfect. Loved the fabric, the styling was terrible though - in fact there was no shape at all. It would have been better had there been some side vents, as the size I ordered was too snug around the hips and the shirt itself was too short. I tried to order a larger size but discovered the style had been discontinued. However if I had received the larger size then I think it would have been too big on the shoulders and bust. Take note, Orvis, women are not shaped like boxes! Some shaping would have been appreciated. As it was I simply got a full refund and ordered a more suitable shirt elsewhere."
Review 3 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
June 28, 2012
By: Tamar
from New York, NY
"The plaid madras shirt is terrific, not only in its excellent fit, but the color of the item actually matches that in the catalog. I find this rare. I would highly recommend this item."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A happy surprise,
June 21, 2012
By: Cheney
from Deep South
"I bought this unsure of the fit and bright plaid for me, but I just love this blouse. Easy care. Fits nicely whether tucked in or worn out and works with khaki, black, stone slacks. People smile at me when I wear this blouse. Or maybe I'm smiling at them."
Review 5 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one of my best purchases ever.,
June 19, 2012
By: jnyu
from Aiea, HI
"receive lots of compliments. hand washed in sink, dries beautifully. no ironing."
Review 6 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the material is not what I expected,
June 18, 2012
By: Secret
from WI
"The first short-sleeve cotton blouse for the hot days that are upon us. The material in this cute blouse was hot just having it on for a short time. The material did not breathe like all other cotton."
Review 7 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bright, cheerful blouse,
May 26, 2012
By: Shazie
"this product washed well and looks very nice right out of the dryer. it is a loose fit and comfortable."
Review 8 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
May 1, 2012
By: chrisflorida
"A very attractive color, but the fabric is harsh and stiff, not the soft fabric I would have expected - I was misled by the word "Madras" as in Madras cotton."
Review 9 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great purchase,
May 1, 2012
By: SmokeyJo7
from Bristol
"Excellent quality, sizing spot on, washes and irons beautifully. I feel really great wearing this shirt and have had many comments from friends."
Review 10 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
April 27, 2012
By: gagirl
"This blouse is perfect in every way. Colors are bright and pretty, fit is excellent, material is soft and cool for the heat of the south. I'm enjoying it and definitely recommend it."
Review 11 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the colors,
April 3, 2012
By: gardenperson
from MIDWEST
"No iron look after washing so it is fresh and crisp."
Review 12 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boxy,
March 28, 2012
By: erlz
"the shirt is great - no wrinkle and very pretty. only complaint is that it isn't nipped in a bit at the waist, like other Orvis shirts."
Review 13 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fabric very stiff and uncomfortable.,
August 10, 2011
By: Sudsy
from St. Louis County, MO
"I ordered the size I always wear and it was too large. I purchased it for a trip because it matched perfectly with some odd colored jeans, but even after altering a it to be more form fitting and washing it, It remained very stiff. I will try washing it again to see if the fabric becomes softer. The colors were perfect for what I wanted. so hope the fabric will soften."
Review 14 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Summer essential,
June 22, 2011
By: Tallyho
"Lovely summer colours in this short sleeved shirt as good as in thr brochure. I would have preferred a little more tailoring to give a waist as it is quite straight from the shoulder."
Review 15 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it!,
June 3, 2011
By: Eliana
from NH
"This shirt was exactly what I expected. Good fit, vibrant colors, easy care, and easy wear. It will get a lot of use this summer. I have only one quibble with the fit - the straight bottom hem could use side vents for ease. If your hips are wider than your shoulders, you may wish to size up."
Review 16 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last, a blouse that fits!!!,
May 18, 2011
By: SmoothNewt
"I ordered 2 blouses, both size 14. The madras shirt fit perfectly everywhere, across the bodice, shoulders and it was a nice length for me (I'm 5'1" tall)."
Review 17 for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this shirt,
April 27, 2011
By: honeychunk
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased all three colors in this shirt ! Great fit,looks great all day. Wish you had more in stock."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Care-free Madras-Plaid Shirt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2