Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Higa's S.O.S.

Originally tied by Utah-based Orvis-Endorsed Guide Spencer Higa to be a baetis imitation, his S.O.S. has bailed out anglers all over the country, in plenty of different situations. Featuring a slender abdomen and split back, it takes on a lifelike appearance underwater that fish can't seem to refuse. Simply browse the reviews to see the kinds of accolades this fly has garnered from fly fishers near and far. Sizes: 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Higa's S.O.S.
Review 1 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Flies!,
March 7, 2014
By: flyboy54401
from Brule WI
"Its winter here in Wisconsin so I haven't had a chance to use these yet. The quality is excellent just as I have come to expect from Orvis products,and they are in my threader box ready for action! Can wait to tie one of these babies on!"
Review 2 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOS,
July 5, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"I tie two of these to my Tippett about a foot apart use a strike Indicator and have a blast , great on small creeks or Narrow parts of a river ...."
Review 3 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Anywhere!,
March 29, 2013
By: elkarcher3
"This fly is awesome! Caught several fish on this when other flies weren't working. I caught one of my largest brown's to date with this fly on the Green River in Utah."
Review 4 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bug,,,
February 27, 2013
By: maggie57st
from Bishop,Ca.
"fishing, the wild trout section lower Owens river in BISHOP CA, was killing them on S.O.S. size 16 & smaller, the big ones are hard to catch, but nailed a nice brown about 18" it was the bug they seam to eat all weekend.. awesome fly"
Review 5 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go-To Nymph,
December 4, 2012
By: Dierks
from Colorado
"I've been fishing this from March 2012 through December 2012 now and it has become one of my go to confidence patterns.
Is it a midge? Is it a BWO or some other mayfly?
The pattern is just flat out versatile,and I have had success in rivers, streams, and still waters across Colorado, Wyoming and Montana.
I bought a countless number of these flies this year because they just get eaten so much."
Review 6 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing fly,
November 24, 2012
By: scientificangler
from Springville, UT
"Versatile and useful on both moving and still waters. If you don't have 16's and 18's in your box you missing fish you could have caught."
Review 7 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
S.O.S.,
September 4, 2012
By: SageToo
"Well tied. Worked in BC, Labrador, and of course Utah."
Review 8 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go2 Fly,
June 11, 2012
By: FlyFishilicious
from Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"No matter the time/day/weather etc. this fly always seems to kill it on my local waters. It's my go2fly for sure - so fantastic I keep turning all my fishing friends onto it as well. Higa's SOS has a permanent place in my fly box. Definitely give this one a try - I think your fish will find it as tasty as mine do. :)"
Review 9 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Baetis Nymph for the West,
June 11, 2012
By: MantheyFlyFishing
from Littleton, CO
"This fly has outperformed all other flies in my box this year from tailwaters to spring creeks it just searches and destroys. Fish cannot resist! Pressured fish even take this as a natural! Ive used it in "one fly" competitions with great success. I reccomend all fly anglers throw a few of these in their nymph box..."
Video Review:
How to Tie a Higa's SOS
Review 10 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fly,
January 23, 2012
By: SWYD
from Arizona
"This thing produces, even in highly pressured areas. It has truly saved my skin on numerous occasions. The fish on the Madison River cannot resist it. Thanks for a great product."
Review 11 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ess-Oh-Esspecially delicious,
August 29, 2011
By: mvtoro
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a guide, I go through a lot of flies. That means I'm constantly tying/buying flies to replace the ones I use myself and my clients. As a result, the best evaluation I can think of for recommending flies to others is thinking about which flies I'm constantly having to replace.
By this measure, the S.O.S. is far and away my fly of the year (and the last few years). It seems like I'm tying it more than all other flies *combined* and I STILL have only two left in my box as of this writing!
Fish can't keep it out of thier mouths, so I can't keep it off of my line... at least if I want a good tip ;)
If you have to pick just one nymph to fish, make it the size 18 S.O.S.
If you have to pick just two... get the size 16 as well ;)
"
Review 12 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Amazing,
June 9, 2011
By: Narddog
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I caught some of the biggest Rainbows of my life last week with this sweet little bug and it was even on stillwater. A must have for any situation!!!"
Review 13 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Fly is the real deal!,
May 16, 2011
By: FS32TroutChaser
from Sandy, UT
"The Higa S.O.S turned a good fishing trip this weekend into a great trip. Until this weekend, I had only used this pattern on streams and rivers. I was always impressed with it's versatility, and it being the nymph we would always turn to when fishing was a bit slow or there was no particular hatch in progress. That is if we weren't already fishing with it. It always seems to produce fish.
While doing some stillwater fishing with some friends this weekend, we decided to fish the Higa S.O.S under an indicator in tandem with a chronomid or callibaetis nymph. It didn't seem to matter if the S.O.S was the top or bottom bug, it was always the bug that was targeted by the fish. At times when there was no hatch and zero chop on the water, this pattern continued to produce fish ... big fish. One evening, during an incredible midge hatch, we had 4 guys yelling back and forth across the lake "SOS"!!!! I really knew I had to tell people about this fly's stillwater capabilities when I hooked a 22" Tiger Trout on the S.O.S at 8 in the morning, after a night with nearly a full moon, and continued to catch fish on the S.O.S all through the morning, with only a fraction of fish coming off the tandem chironomid. Really, I can't say more than this fly needs to find a place in your stream fly boxes and now as i have discovered, your stillwater boxes as well! Simply incredible!!
"
Review 14 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Higas SOS is amazing!,
April 3, 2011
By: Herbavore
from Spanish Fork, Utah
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent two days fishing the Green River below Flaming Gorge Utah last week and the fishing had been really tough. The first day we only landed a few fish all all day and the second day started out the same. On the second day we had only landed two fish in the first three hours, then I switched to Higas SOS. It turned the trip around! We went from two fish to over thirty fish in the net next two hours. This fly produced fish well into the evening. We had two guide boats and several shore fishermen stop to ask us what I was using under the indicator. We yelled "Higas SOS", of course! It has nice to have such a great pattern in my box. This is a must have in your fly box."
Review 15 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fly!,
March 30, 2011
By: Ctak
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fly fishing for about 3 months. Picked up some SOS and love them. Great for a beginner! Started catching fish on the SOS on the first day using them. My 6 year old son wanted to start fly fishing as well, so I set him up with the SOS. My son's first fish on a fly rod was taken with an SOS - an 18" brown! Awesome fly!!!"
Review 16 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing fly,
March 10, 2011
By: Johnny83
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This fly is amazing, it may be my new favorite fly. Just got over two dozen of them. Looking forward to using them all season long. Purchased in size 16 and size 18."
Review 17 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOS fly,
February 18, 2011
By: chubbs
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this fly is one of the sweetest flies in my fly box. it can turn the head of even the pickiest trout. must have!"
Review 18 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fly,
February 11, 2011
By: Xstream
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Over the past fall and into winter, I bought and started using SOS's to target big picky browns that didn't want anything to do with anything else in my box. The SOS has been my go to fly all over the Rockies this past year and into 2011. Over the past month it has out fished all other midges. I recommend it to anyone that is looking to fill up their go to box. Great Bug!
Dr G."
Review 19 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Universal fly!,
February 11, 2011
By: hiflyin24
"Best fly I've ever used hands down! I don't have to switch between midges and mayflies anymore to find out what they're biting. I don't waste time anymore switching flies instead of fishing. I simply tie on my SOS and immediately start setting hooks. Regardless of weather conditions or rivers, the SOS is the best universal fly on the market!"
Review 20 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Fly,
February 10, 2011
By: BigHoss
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing for 25 years and have my favorite flies for ever river and time of year. Spencer introduced the SOS to me last year and i can honestly say it has become my goto fly on most every river. I have not seen or used a fly like this one. I always have about two dozen or so in my box at all times. Awesome fly!!!"