Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Higa's S.O.S.

Originally tied by Utah-based Orvis-Endorsed Guide Spencer Higa to be a baetis imitation, his S.O.S. has bailed out anglers all over the country, in plenty of different situations. Featuring a slender abdomen and split back, it takes on a lifelike appearance underwater that fish can't seem to refuse. Simply browse the reviews to see the kinds of accolades this fly has garnered from fly fishers near and far. Sizes: 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Higa's S.O.S.
Review 1 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try these if you want to catch more fish,
August 24, 2015
By: Lbo55
from Driggs, ID
"The Higa's S.O.S. are great flies and they catch fish.The quality of each fly is superb. I received my order from Orvis sooner than expected."
Review 2 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mayfly or Midge?,
May 11, 2015
By: Gamquail
from Tucson, AZ, USA
"This was the first time I have purchased this pattern. It looked cool and I thought that it could probably imitate a midge or mayfly. I used it successfully on a recent trip to the tailwater Lees Ferry where the trout primarily eat midges."
Review 3 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buggy,
April 24, 2015
By: BryanAnglerson
from Utah
"Can be midge or mayfly....fish love it and take it confidently. Great fly."
Review 4 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't wait,
March 27, 2015
By: Coloradoboy
"to fish these honeys. very well tied and they look "buggy" as heck."
Review 5 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Flies,
January 22, 2015
By: FlyFisherUtah
"Great fly. Great quality tie. Great company. I read many reviews on this fly and decided to give it a try on my home waters in Utah. Worked great the first time out. Thanks Orvis and Spencer"
Review 6 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Higa's S.O.S.,
November 14, 2014
By: reddingnative
"This is my 2nd order of these flies in size 16 and 18. They have attracted fish on slow days, when no other selection seemed to work. Expensive, but effective."
Review 7 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 2, 2014
By: Halvy
"I never write reviews but this is one of the few flys that truly deserve a great review. I have fished this fly for several years and always have success with it. It is a great searching nymph. If there is no specific hatch going on, or a midge hatch, try this fly."
Review 8 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Flies!,
March 7, 2014
By: flyboy54401
from Brule WI
"Its winter here in Wisconsin so I haven't had a chance to use these yet. The quality is excellent just as I have come to expect from Orvis products,and they are in my threader box ready for action! Can wait to tie one of these babies on!"
Review 9 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOS,
July 5, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"I tie two of these to my Tippett about a foot apart use a strike Indicator and have a blast , great on small creeks or Narrow parts of a river ...."
Review 10 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Anywhere!,
March 29, 2013
By: elkarcher3
"This fly is awesome! Caught several fish on this when other flies weren't working. I caught one of my largest brown's to date with this fly on the Green River in Utah."
Review 11 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bug,,,
February 27, 2013
By: maggie57st
from Bishop,Ca.
"fishing, the wild trout section lower Owens river in BISHOP CA, was killing them on S.O.S. size 16 & smaller, the big ones are hard to catch, but nailed a nice brown about 18" it was the bug they seam to eat all weekend.. awesome fly"
Review 12 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go-To Nymph,
December 4, 2012
By: Dierks
from Colorado
"I've been fishing this from March 2012 through December 2012 now and it has become one of my go to confidence patterns.
Is it a midge? Is it a BWO or some other mayfly?
The pattern is just flat out versatile,and I have had success in rivers, streams, and still waters across Colorado, Wyoming and Montana.
I bought a countless number of these flies this year because they just get eaten so much."
Review 13 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing fly,
November 24, 2012
By: scientificangler
from Springville, UT
"Versatile and useful on both moving and still waters. If you don't have 16's and 18's in your box you missing fish you could have caught."
Review 14 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
S.O.S.,
September 4, 2012
By: SageToo
"Well tied. Worked in BC, Labrador, and of course Utah."
Review 15 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go2 Fly,
June 11, 2012
By: FlyFishilicious
from Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"No matter the time/day/weather etc. this fly always seems to kill it on my local waters. It's my go2fly for sure - so fantastic I keep turning all my fishing friends onto it as well. Higa's SOS has a permanent place in my fly box. Definitely give this one a try - I think your fish will find it as tasty as mine do. :)"
Review 16 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Baetis Nymph for the West,
June 11, 2012
By: MantheyFlyFishing
from Littleton, CO
"This fly has outperformed all other flies in my box this year from tailwaters to spring creeks it just searches and destroys. Fish cannot resist! Pressured fish even take this as a natural! Ive used it in "one fly" competitions with great success. I reccomend all fly anglers throw a few of these in their nymph box..."
Video Review:
How to Tie a Higa's SOS
Review 17 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fly,
January 23, 2012
By: SWYD
from Arizona
"This thing produces, even in highly pressured areas. It has truly saved my skin on numerous occasions. The fish on the Madison River cannot resist it. Thanks for a great product."
Review 18 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ess-Oh-Esspecially delicious,
August 29, 2011
By: mvtoro
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a guide, I go through a lot of flies. That means I'm constantly tying/buying flies to replace the ones I use myself and my clients. As a result, the best evaluation I can think of for recommending flies to others is thinking about which flies I'm constantly having to replace.
By this measure, the S.O.S. is far and away my fly of the year (and the last few years). It seems like I'm tying it more than all other flies *combined* and I STILL have only two left in my box as of this writing!
Fish can't keep it out of thier mouths, so I can't keep it off of my line... at least if I want a good tip ;)
If you have to pick just one nymph to fish, make it the size 18 S.O.S.
If you have to pick just two... get the size 16 as well ;)
"
Review 19 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Amazing,
June 9, 2011
By: Narddog
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I caught some of the biggest Rainbows of my life last week with this sweet little bug and it was even on stillwater. A must have for any situation!!!"
Review 20 for Higa's S.O.S.
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Fly is the real deal!,
May 16, 2011
By: FS32TroutChaser
from Sandy, UT
"The Higa S.O.S turned a good fishing trip this weekend into a great trip. Until this weekend, I had only used this pattern on streams and rivers. I was always impressed with it's versatility, and it being the nymph we would always turn to when fishing was a bit slow or there was no particular hatch in progress. That is if we weren't already fishing with it. It always seems to produce fish.
While doing some stillwater fishing with some friends this weekend, we decided to fish the Higa S.O.S under an indicator in tandem with a chronomid or callibaetis nymph. It didn't seem to matter if the S.O.S was the top or bottom bug, it was always the bug that was targeted by the fish. At times when there was no hatch and zero chop on the water, this pattern continued to produce fish ... big fish. One evening, during an incredible midge hatch, we had 4 guys yelling back and forth across the lake "SOS"!!!! I really knew I had to tell people about this fly's stillwater capabilities when I hooked a 22" Tiger Trout on the S.O.S at 8 in the morning, after a night with nearly a full moon, and continued to catch fish on the S.O.S all through the morning, with only a fraction of fish coming off the tandem chironomid. Really, I can't say more than this fly needs to find a place in your stream fly boxes and now as i have discovered, your stillwater boxes as well! Simply incredible!!
"