Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.919 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (408 reviews)
5 stars
388
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
403 of 408(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fabulous fatwood,
April 6, 2015
By: zekemom
from ann arbor, mi
"We heat our home with a woodstove and absolutely love this fatwood. It makes starting a fire so easy. You can't go wrong with Orvis fatwood."
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fat wood fan!,
April 1, 2015
By: MTFFWToddBrady45
from Wall Township, New Jersey
"This winter the use of our fire place in the condo was about daily! We purchased this great product, Orvis Fat Wood at least twice. With store bought firewood, nursery, Home Depot, local "scouting" and farmers selling wood as produce, we purchased wood from every source available. Because of this large mix of wood source, Orvis Fat Wood came to the rescue many times to keep the fire going! Great product which we will purchase again and again! Thank you, Todd Brady"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty Much all fatwood is the same,
March 24, 2015
By: Davethelion
from Charlotte, NC
"What separates this product from the rest of the pack is the amount you get for your money. A huge value compared to other outlets. Check all the usual sources and you will see what I mean!"
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fatwood,
March 10, 2015
By: GW9488
"The fatwood we purchased has been great this winter for starting wonderful fires in our fireplace. They work better than any other I have ever used and we will continue to purchase it through Orvis. With the cold and snowy winter we had this season, it's nice to be able to start a fire in our family room quick and easy to keep warm! Thanks for another great product!"
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 27, 2015
By: DES11
from Mt. Bethel, PA
"Use these every morning to get the wood burning stove started. They work flawlessly every time. The Wood storage box is a nice rustic touch next to the stove. Very, very happy."
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous flatwood,
February 20, 2015
By: Jec564
from Northeast
"We have tried other products but found this flatwood to be the best of the bunch. We never try anything else anymore!!!"
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood is great,
February 18, 2015
By: huntGA
from Atlanta ga
"Only takes a couple sticks to start a roaring fire. It's a must have."
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
February 17, 2015
By: Linda57
"I enjoy a fire in the evenings. This product really works."
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Peasy Fat Wood,
February 14, 2015
By: renninocencman
from NC
"My husband is addicted to these things....Instant Fire and well worth it!"
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fat Wood,
February 3, 2015
By: thombui
from Aptos California
"My wife and I have bought / used a variety of fat wood products over the years. This is the best quality for the money on the market. It is an excellent fire starter and does not take much to get you warm. I am on my second box. As long as this is available I will but it."
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood experience,
January 30, 2015
By: DirtryDave
from Charleston, WV
"Nothing beats getting a fire started quickly when its cold out side. I use Fatwood at my cabin in the Allegheny mountains as well as at home. It lights quickly and burns hot. Especially great for restating a smoldering fire after you get back in from outdoor activities."
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes life so much easier!,
January 23, 2015
By: Ilovearoaringfire
from Wilbraham, Massachusetts
"What a gift when trying to start a wood fire on these cold winter nights! It is so easy and quick to get the logs to ignite with the Orvis fat wood! Within minutes we can have a roaring fire to warm our hearts and home! Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fire starter ever,
January 20, 2015
By: ogston
from scarborough, me
"Just lay 3 sticks of fat wood across two parallel sticks of firewood . Under the fat wood are some pinecones loose in newspaper. Add small wood over the fat wood teepee like. Great fire in the stove. Bulk purchase a great deal."
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bargain Fatwood & So Good!,
January 19, 2015
By: IrishEyes27
from Chadds Ford, PA
"Gift for sister....she's a true fireplace hobbyist! She loves this fatwood - lasts long & burns well!"
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for fireplace,
January 14, 2015
By: Momjon
"We always make sure we have Orvis' fat wood for our fireplace! It makes starting fires a "snap"!"
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome fire starter,
January 14, 2015
By: Momoburns65
from Lubbock, texas
"This is year 2 for me to purchase this product ! I would highly recommend it. You only need a few pieces to get your fire started ! 1 box typically should last you one season if you are an average fire builder !!"
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
January 10, 2015
By: Kittykat1
from Las Cruces, NM
"I have bought fatwood for my son and son-in-law as they like a fire in the cooler months. The fatwood is a great product. Easy to use, don't need to use much to get a roaring fire going. This is a product I will definitely order again."
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood - Handy, dandy firestarter,
January 6, 2015
By: flyfishergal
"Fatwood does the trick when getting a fire going in our woodstove. I learned about fatwood from my dad, an old-time grouse hunter and long-time Orvis customer. He always kept a supply of fatwood by his fireplace for starting fires on cold, winter evenings.
The fatwood tradition continues in our rustic home in the West Virginia hills.
"
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant Results,
January 4, 2015
By: CubicZ
from Lunenburg, MA
"Two pieces of fatwood and a piece of paper and you're all set!"
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fire starter ever,
January 2, 2015
By: Tim4767
from Carbondale, Colo.
"I have never found anything that makes starting a fire easier than Fat wood from Orvis. Soft wood, hard wood...it starts it all with no effort whatsoever."