Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.894 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (303 reviews)
5 stars
284
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
299 of 303(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood for storage,
October 26, 2014
By: AmericanWolverine
from Rocky Mountains Colorado
"As a survivalist I keep a good supply of fat wood on hand. 2-4 sticks of fat wood plus a single charcoal briquette is enough to cook a large meal using my rocket stove or kelly kettle. Orvis has the best price for the largest amount available and I even keep a few boxes in my food storage for the fresh "cedar" aroma it puts off. It is also a great way to keep closets smelling fresh year around. The wood is great for simple fire starting if you ever need it and it lights fast burning hot enough to get damp wood going. I highly recommend keeping a good stock of the fine product on hand!!"
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood is great!,
October 22, 2014
By: Rmair
from Waconia, mn
"We purchased fatwood for our son to use in his fireplace. It works great and is just as advertised. We have ordered it for him again this year as a Christmas gift. More importantly, he likes the product!"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Way to Start a Fire,
October 21, 2014
By: fishdude2
from Cody, WY
"I have been buying fat wood for about 10 yrs and can't see any reason to ever stop! Here in WY, it can get very cold in the winter and a fire is burning most of the time in my fireplace. In the summer, I use fat wood to get a fire started quickly in the camp fire pit that we sit around. It is the fastest way to start a fire and I couldn't live without it-literally!"
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fireplace tip worth sharing,
October 20, 2014
By: BMCMAN
"What better recommendation than giving a son a bag of Fat Wood for his Birthday gift."
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bad service,
October 17, 2014
By: Cristico
from Chicago, il
"My order was held up and amost my trip to our cabin where we need the wood for our only heat. My idea would be to let the customer know right away if there is an issue. We know it's possible."
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant beat this,
October 16, 2014
By: hendrixcc
from horton,ny
"Orvis has the best quality and price on fatwoods, and it delivers fast. I have ordered them multiple times and have never been disappointed. The wooden Orvis Box is awesome. You can use it as a decorative piece."
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fat wood of any,
October 16, 2014
By: Joshsmum
from Yarmouth, ME
"We love this fatwood. It lights almost instantly and only takes 2 or 3 sticks to get a fire going in our wood stove.
Much better than others we've tried.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff,,,I buy it every year!,
October 16, 2014
By: b11111golf
from Balt. MD
"Its the best stuff to start a fire with,,,,,I burn three cords a year,,and start every fire with ORVIS Fatwood!"
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
October 8, 2014
By: Aunna
from Colorado
"Great fire starter. We use 2 or 3 sticks, newspaper and 2 or 3 logs to start the fire in our wood burining stove. Works every time!!!"
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A natural way,
October 6, 2014
By: afleisc
from Wisconsin/Minnesota
"What a wonderful way to start the fire.
I have come to hate the store bought "fire starters" and their smelly aroma.
This "fat wood" is a great way to get 'er started and keep the fire going as well.
Nice looking box as well!
"
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heat,
September 26, 2014
By: Elfi
from Ephraim, WI., 54211
"We live in beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. Especially after last year's winter, we could not have made fire at all without the fatwood. Out wood was wet from the constant snow, yet we rely on our wood stove to heat with 97 % of the time. I just again bought 2 boxes, we might just make it through the winter with it. Love the product and told all my friends about it."
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build a Fire Like a Girl,
September 21, 2014
By: FionaRose
from Santa Fe, New Mexico
"Every year at the Holidays a friend sends me a carton of fatwood. You can't imagine the fire this girl can build. No more smoky room, relighting the fire, or dud fires.These little pieces of great smelling wood are the ticket to a beautiful fireplace in just a few minutes.Thank you Orvis, and yes you too can build a fire like a girl!"
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Staple in Our Fireplace,
September 17, 2014
By: Darwin
from North Pole, AK
"The Fatwood is a great addition to our hearth. We bought the wooden crate and refill it every year. One piece is all you need to start the fire. It sounds and smells great and I highly recommend it!"
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff,
September 12, 2014
By: Piro
from McCAll id
"Have been using for years and its great great fire starter. Have fires every evening all winter and it takes just a few sticks to start a log. Am pleased."
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes starting a fire easy,
September 1, 2014
By: jlgo
"I ordered the Fat Wood. Have gotten it before and love it. Makes starting a fire so easy. And Orvis' customer service is outstanding."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 22, 2014
By: BeeHop
"Great product, makes campfires so easy. We never camp without fat wood to get our fires going."
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy fireplace starter,
August 18, 2014
By: ADRM
from Hudson River Valley
"I love this stuff. I build a fire in my fireplace using a newspaper base, about 4 sticks of fatwood, a few light- weight logs, then heavier logs on top and because of the fatwood, I usually get a roaring fire going with just one match! I look like a pro, but it really is because this burns so easily and with high enough heat to get the wood going."
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have for chiminea,
August 4, 2014
By: bbostate20
from Oklahoma
"This is a must have for chiminea owners. I had made several attempts at lighting a fire in my new chiminea with with paper, cardboard, etc but the paper just didn't provide enough of a flame to catch my bigger chunks of pinion wood. After searching online I found the Fatwood on orvis.com. I purchased the 30lb box and am very glad I did. Now with just one stick I can easily get a fire going out on the back patio. The fatwood catches and burns easily to help ignite your larger chunks of wood and if your fire dies down just toss another one on under a couple of new pieces of pinion and you're back in business. I would use it in moderation when starting your fire and if planning to cook over the fire wait until the fatwood stick has lit your other logs and burned itself out as it can produce a fairly dark smoke from all the sap in the wood but the product is great. Looking forward to many fires this fall thanks to the fatwood from orvis."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural Starter,
June 18, 2014
By: GUnit
from NW, IN
"Like the bulk availability and can use for indoor or outdoor fires.
Wish the made a miniature Orvis Fatwood storage box to keep by fireplace. The 14# box is just to big, but it is nice looking.
"
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product at a great price,
June 16, 2014
By: dancinggranny
from Boring, Or
"Love this product, it is the second 30 pound box that I have bought for myself. Starts easy, burns hot, and long enough to get my wood going. I like the product so well I purchased a box for my son to use for his woodstove."