Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.91 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (366 reviews)
5 stars
346
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
361 of 366(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fat wood ever!,
December 20, 2014
By: Bhuffb
from Chattanooga, tn
"Easy start for real wood burning fire! Just place a few sticks of Orvis fatwood under logs; light with match; and , like magic, a roaring fire!"
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fire starter,
December 20, 2014
By: WillardJ
from St. Louis, MO
"Have purchased Orvis fatwood for many years. Best and safest starter I've found"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will not be disappointed!,
December 19, 2014
By: cjct
from Southborough, MA
"If you are looking for a neat and clean way of starting a fire in your fireplace, then this Fatwood is most definitely your answer. We have been using this product for years and it has never disappointed us."
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This stuff is GREAT,
December 19, 2014
By: Wolverinefrog
from Canton. MI
"Right out of the box this wood has a dramatic appeal. The natural aroma is fantastic and just adds to the experience of building the fire. Great lighting power. Great impact. And the carrying box is extremely well built and suitable for any gift or just to have on your own. It truly completes the set."
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood is Fabulous,
December 18, 2014
By: KathyJ
from Dearborn, MI
"Normally I would not be able to write this review because it is a Christmas present for my husband. However, I previously bought the fatwood in the box for his birthday in November, so I can tell you that this is a fantastic product! It has made lighting our nightly fires so much easier. No papers. No blowing on the fire when it dies out. And best of all the fires stay lit all nite and the blaze is beautiful."
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
December 18, 2014
By: 46EliseAL
from Phoenix, AZ
"These little sticks are so convenient and helpful in starting a fire in the fireplace."
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For My Son in the Cold NorthEast,
December 17, 2014
By: LHinNC
"This is a gift I give each year to my son and his family who live where the winters are cold. They love how easy it is to start the fire with the help of the Orvis fire starters."
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The outdoors brought inside,
December 17, 2014
By: Portman
from Long Beach, California
"We ordered the 15 pound sack of fatwood for my brother and family ,who live in Northern California and rely on their fireplace for winter warmth, We just happened to be there when the fatwood was delivered. It is wonderful item. The aroma of a pine forest arrives first, upon opening the box. The kindling works as promised; we actually lit a piece by touching it with a match and the smell is great and natural. No more malodorous paper or paraffin. They loved it!"
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Box,
December 17, 2014
By: lbprior2000
from Brunswick, GA
"Not only did this beautiful box supply much-needed kindling, but it also supplied a beautiful wooden box to put his own kindling in. It made a wonderful gift and met a need."
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fires,
December 14, 2014
By: Chaco1953
from Texas
"Perfect fires are set with a piece~ perhaps two~ of Orvis's fat wood, and several split log pieces atop. A cherished annual gift for my beloved, content with his fire, a good book, and work, in his chair at the fireside, precious traditional accoutrements of the fatwood, in a sack, box or his beloved late folks' copper bin, blessing us in warmth, manly meaning and joy."
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so easy to start a fire on a cold winter morning,
December 13, 2014
By: Hooliganstalbar
from Oregon
"The first thing I do in the morning is start a fire in the wood stove. Fatwood sticks are perfect for that. They get the fire going fast! We have an oil-fired furnace, but would rather use the wood stove. Fatwood smells good too. I keep some in the house."
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Fatwood,
December 12, 2014
By: LynneNH
from NH
"Thanks Orvis for getting us our heavy Fatwood here before we ran out. Now lots of home fires for the holidays."
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood from Orvis sets the mood,
December 12, 2014
By: Monkeyb
from Birmingham, AL
"What a terrific product that allows for a quick start fire. It's easy to use and smells great too. Great gift for the holidays or any winter moment. Love the Fat wood!!!!"
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Family Tradition,
December 9, 2014
By: Wrinkles
"Every year for almost 20 years, the Orvis fatwood is given to our daughter and son-in-law and grandson at Christmas time as they heat their home in Michigan with wood in a cast iron stove. This fatwood ALWAYS helps them to start a wonderful fire. It brings not only warmth but coziness to their home and truly makes life a bit easier."
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dual Purpose Purchase.,
December 9, 2014
By: Easterly
from Weston,Maine
"I have been using this product for many years. I have tried other providers but find Orvis's brand better. It ignites easier and burns quicker to start my stove. I am very pleased. I like the small 13lb. wooden box it makes a nice addition around my fireplace and prevents any mess."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 9, 2014
By: Tamster51
"This purchase was a gift. Receiver was thrilled. Liked it as much as they thought the would. Highly recommended."
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 8, 2014
By: HardwareLady
from Cedar Rapids, IA
"I buy this fat wood every year for my brother and sister-in-law. They use their fireplace all winter long and it works great for starting fires."
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Firestarter!,
December 8, 2014
By: JoanieBaloney
from Oakhurst, CA
"My husband and adult sons love these little bits of wood for starting our fires. They are quick and easy."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great firestarter,
December 6, 2014
By: Connie811
from Santa Fe
"Just a few pieces and some newspaper get the fire going. I buy a box every winter. Nice practical gift for people who have real fireplaces too."
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood is an excellent product!,
December 5, 2014
By: Jo6842
from Coupeville Wa.
"We are now buying this product for my sister in law, who is 81! It makes starting a fire in the stove very easy for her! Thank you Orvis for such an excellent product ."