Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.916 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (393 reviews)
5 stars
373
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
388 of 393(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood experience,
January 30, 2015
By: DirtryDave
from Charleston, WV
"Nothing beats getting a fire started quickly when its cold out side. I use Fatwood at my cabin in the Allegheny mountains as well as at home. It lights quickly and burns hot. Especially great for restating a smoldering fire after you get back in from outdoor activities."
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes life so much easier!,
January 23, 2015
By: Ilovearoaringfire
from Wilbraham, Massachusetts
"What a gift when trying to start a wood fire on these cold winter nights! It is so easy and quick to get the logs to ignite with the Orvis fat wood! Within minutes we can have a roaring fire to warm our hearts and home! Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fire starter ever,
January 20, 2015
By: ogston
from scarborough, me
"Just lay 3 sticks of fat wood across two parallel sticks of firewood . Under the fat wood are some pinecones loose in newspaper. Add small wood over the fat wood teepee like. Great fire in the stove. Bulk purchase a great deal."
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bargain Fatwood & So Good!,
January 19, 2015
By: IrishEyes27
from Chadds Ford, PA
"Gift for sister....she's a true fireplace hobbyist! She loves this fatwood - lasts long & burns well!"
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for fireplace,
January 14, 2015
By: Momjon
"We always make sure we have Orvis' fat wood for our fireplace! It makes starting fires a "snap"!"
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome fire starter,
January 14, 2015
By: Momoburns65
from Lubbock, texas
"This is year 2 for me to purchase this product ! I would highly recommend it. You only need a few pieces to get your fire started ! 1 box typically should last you one season if you are an average fire builder !!"
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
January 10, 2015
By: Kittykat1
from Las Cruces, NM
"I have bought fatwood for my son and son-in-law as they like a fire in the cooler months. The fatwood is a great product. Easy to use, don't need to use much to get a roaring fire going. This is a product I will definitely order again."
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood - Handy, dandy firestarter,
January 6, 2015
By: flyfishergal
"Fatwood does the trick when getting a fire going in our woodstove. I learned about fatwood from my dad, an old-time grouse hunter and long-time Orvis customer. He always kept a supply of fatwood by his fireplace for starting fires on cold, winter evenings.
The fatwood tradition continues in our rustic home in the West Virginia hills.
"
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant Results,
January 4, 2015
By: CubicZ
from Lunenburg, MA
"Two pieces of fatwood and a piece of paper and you're all set!"
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fire starter ever,
January 2, 2015
By: Tim4767
from Carbondale, Colo.
"I have never found anything that makes starting a fire easier than Fat wood from Orvis. Soft wood, hard wood...it starts it all with no effort whatsoever."
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood,
January 1, 2015
By: LuckyGlen
"Great fire starter, works well and I only need a few sticks to get a roaring fire in minutes.
Great product, great service and quick delivery.
"
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood a big hit!,
January 1, 2015
By: Nockvane
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
"My Dad burns a lot of firewood at his home and I gave this to him as a gift; it works great and he loves it. The stuff is very easy to start and burns a long time for such a small piece of wood to get the fire started. It's a great value for the price."
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
January 1, 2015
By: Pamele
from Oregon
"We first received fat wood a number of years ago and have bought it ourselves since. It makes starting a fire so much easier, even if your wood isn 't completely dried. My husband always asks for it as one of his Christmas gifts."
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't get any better ,,
January 1, 2015
By: 777Freeze
from Felton, Ca.
"Used the fat wood and it makes FAT fires for me every time ! Thanks for your product :)"
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return purchaser,
January 1, 2015
By: MNMogull
"Have been using fatwood for firestarting kinding for years. It always delivers as promised...two or three sticks to a roaring fire, whether used inside or outside. Your 30 pound box is a perfect size for me as it will provide me with years of product. Couldn't be more pleased."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most efficient firefighter.,
December 31, 2014
By: Monaghan
"I have been using fat wood to light my fires for years.I find it very efficient.It maintains a hot flame until
all the firewood is ignited.It is clean and compact and is easy to store and it's potency lasts from year to year.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
December 31, 2014
By: LouiseD
from Norfolk, CT
"We always use Orvis fat wood. It comes nicely packaged and you get a lot for the money. I highly recommend it"
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for my parents,
December 30, 2014
By: Parminch
from Bristol Tennessee
"My parents live in Tennessee and use fire to keep Kitchen warm and love when we send this large bundle of fatwood for fire starting."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fat wood,
December 27, 2014
By: Bubbabilly
from Georgia
"I've been using this fat wood for several years and it is consistently excellent and at a very fair price. I recommend it highly."
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best in the Market,
December 26, 2014
By: FiresideSue
from long Island, NY
"The most dependable fire starter offered; would never buy anyother.."