Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.887 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (284 reviews)
5 stars
265
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
280 of 284(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural Starter,
June 18, 2014
By: GUnit
from NW, IN
"Like the bulk availability and can use for indoor or outdoor fires.
Wish the made a miniature Orvis Fatwood storage box to keep by fireplace. The 14# box is just to big, but it is nice looking.
"
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product at a great price,
June 16, 2014
By: dancinggranny
from Boring, Or
"Love this product, it is the second 30 pound box that I have bought for myself. Starts easy, burns hot, and long enough to get my wood going. I like the product so well I purchased a box for my son to use for his woodstove."
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
June 9, 2014
By: Walter2014
from Manchester-by-the-Sea, MA
"I always buy 3-4 boxes of fatwood each year! It is fabulous for starting fires in wood stoves and fireplaces. It is even burning and really gets things going. I never find a residual resin in either my wood stove or chimney's. I give it 5 stars!"
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 31, 2014
By: seagrams
from Heber, AZ
"We've been using this product for years! It continues to be the only way to start a fire, as our only heat is through a wood-burning stove. We take them camping as well, and they reduce any paper clutter one might use to start campfires."
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 19, 2014
By: Moonster12
from Oak brook, il
"I have been purchasing this product for years. Use it in our fire pit and as gifts for fireplaces. Great smell and firestarter! No other store can beat this orvis product."
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
May 11, 2014
By: hendrixcc
from horton,ny
"The fatwoods are great kindling, with a strong but sweet pine aroma that makes my whole cablin smell great. The wood box it came in is retro looking and makes a great decorative piece"
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood Really Works,
May 6, 2014
By: Breaststroker
from Ticonderoga, New York
"Hold an Orvis fatwood stick in one hand and a lighter in the other hand and light it yourself. It works like magic.Crumpled paper and two Orvis fatwood sticks will start your kindling and logs. I'am so impressed I ordered a second 30 lb. box. I'll be handing out Orvis fatwood sticks as presents. 5 stars for sure !"
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always use this product - best way to start fire,
April 23, 2014
By: MomAllison4
from Troy, NY
"So easy to start a fire using this product. It really reduces the frustration factor when I am trying to get the fire going in the morning with 4 young children running around. I don't have much time to spend working at the fire and I all need to do is light the fatwood, close the stove, and walk away and the fire takes off.
Orvis has great customer service and the product always arrives promptly!
"
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So nice to have,
April 18, 2014
By: Firemaker
"I always seem to run out of kindling on the coldest wettest days , Orvis fat wood is a lifesaver just one piece and my fire is going! And the price is the best around. Thanks Orvis for keeping me warm and dry."
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just plain works,
April 14, 2014
By: shua713
from northeast woodlands
"This is one of the best natural firestarters, you can make feather sticks or just fine shavings out of it and it will take a spark from a ferrocerium rod. These work great for starting fires at home or camping or a survival situation. If you have fatwood, you have fire!"
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
March 17, 2014
By: Nyatihunter
from California
"Terrific value. I purchased this online when the fatwood was on sale, and the price, with shipping, was still less than my local hardward shore's price. Excellent fire starter, and enough to last a year or two."
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this stuff!,
March 17, 2014
By: cbh5544
"I have a wood stove at the lake house and I use these every time I start a fire and it makes it so much easier. I will continue to purchase and use this product."
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 Stars,
March 17, 2014
By: PatriciaLapointe
from Canton, CT
"It works wonders. This is the first time I use this product and will certainly continue to order!"
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fatwood!,
March 14, 2014
By: NancyJo
"Nice uniformly sized pieces of fatwood for starting woodstoves quickly and easily! Was on sale at a price that couldn't be beat by other websites and arrived quickly. Will order again. Thanks!"
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fire starters,
March 12, 2014
By: Regulator
from Marion, MA
"If you want a high grade efficient way to start your wood stove and fire pit fires, use the Orvis Fatwood. I purchased the large box, as I tend to burn fires all year round. This box gives you the most material for your buck and keeps it handy. The fat wood from Orvis burns evenly and hot, allowing your firewood to catch the flame and self ignite without using artificial products."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and service!!,
March 12, 2014
By: Nanny7
from Norristown, PA
"The fatwood from Orvis is great!!! When you compare the price to buying it at the big 'box' hardware stores, it is much cheaper and better quality! Not to mention that half way thru the winter they never have any fatwood left!!
I am happy with the procuct and the customer service was wonderfully helpful!
I will be ordering again next year!!
"
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
March 11, 2014
By: Tice
from Smithville, mo
"The item arrived in a very timely manner, it was priced well below what I would pay in the area stores, I would recommend the item to anyone having a wood burning stove."
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding product,
March 11, 2014
By: Tice
from Smithville, mo
"Received the item in a very timely manner ,the item was priced well below the price I pay in the store for the item. I will order again for the supplier. I would reccemend this item for anyone having a wood burning stove."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied,
March 11, 2014
By: Doublehaul53
from Northern Colorado
"The fatwood came in a very nice box that looks great next to the stove. The wood starts right away and solves the problem of having to cut my own tinder. Very satisfied!"
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wouldn't face a winter without it,
March 10, 2014
By: Preed
from Marstons Mills, MA
"Not only is the product great, but it arrives quickly and as promised. I use a wood stove to warm a good portion of my house durimg cool/cold days. Sometimes my wood is slightly damp but I always can get a fire going with this fatwood, warming my house- and my bones - quickly. The fatwood is really nice and oily and lights quickly with a match."