Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.902 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (325 reviews)
5 stars
306
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
321 of 325(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy way to start a fire,
November 20, 2014
By: Calitreegirl
"I only use one a fire, so the box or bag last me a long time."
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product!!,
November 19, 2014
By: dfhiker51
from Cedar City, Ut.
"We have been buying Fatwood for years and highly recommend it. We have given it as a gift to our neighbors and they are thrilled too.
Great product.
"
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fatwood,
November 18, 2014
By: prouddad
from New Canaan, CT
"Order the 30lbs box every year ! Makes lighting the fire effortless."
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Start a fire,
November 17, 2014
By: thombui
from Aptos California
"The Orvis fatwood is an excellent product. Comparable or better than others I have used. Great price excellent quantity for the money and it works great."
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thirty-three years later...,
November 17, 2014
By: Margiegirl
from Central VT
"we are still using the fatwood sticks. A friend gave us a BIG box for a wedding gift "To keep love burning bright" and we are still married ! In cooler weather we have a fire every night, so in VT we use them a lot and they never fail us. A Boy Scout
couldn't do better.
"
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mighty Fine,
November 17, 2014
By: 1357908642
from Pensacola, FL
"This Fat Wood worked as stated. I will be buying it by the sack full from now on. Mighty fine product as are all Orvis products I have purchaser for well over 60 years."
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift,
November 17, 2014
By: Dusty12
"Fatwood, the perfect holiday gift for all my fathead friends who love fires."
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood,
November 14, 2014
By: MikeMc
"Consistent quality -- saturated with pine sap -- a couple of sticks will start a split log burning."
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
November 12, 2014
By: Cleaninggal
"Love the product and the box,will definitely be ordering more"
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 10, 2014
By: Chicago41
"We purchased this for ourselves and love it. It is easy to use and light. It would make a good gift as well for anybody with a wood burning fireplace."
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fire starter!,
November 7, 2014
By: JD2696
from Manchester, VT
"Orvis Fatwood smells terrific and will get a roaring fire going in no time. We love it!"
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reorder every winter,
November 4, 2014
By: emmalee65
from minocqua WI
"I order a case of this firestarter every year or two. makes me the best fire builder in my family."
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
November 3, 2014
By: JoeL1
from SE Pennsylvania
"Shipped promptly and packed securely..Terrific kindling.."
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 1, 2014
By: botts
from Omaha NE
"These sticks are great for my wood burning stove. I didn't realize how potent they are and used to many the first time. You just need to use a few."
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat purchase,
October 31, 2014
By: Firebird
from western PA
"Fatwood from Orvis is economical. No fancy packaging, just a cardboard box full of great firestarter. Will last this winter and next since not much is needed per fire in our woodburning stove."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not first time,
October 29, 2014
By: 1632
from Philadrlphia, Pa.
"I've ordered Orvis fat wood many times. I just got a big box for a club, which zi will deliver Saturday."
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good choice,
October 29, 2014
By: chappell
from Auburn, AL
"I bought this as a gift and I think it will be very much appreciated"
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatwood is dependable!,
October 29, 2014
By: Kathar
"We depend on fatwood to guarantee a quick start to our fires."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Helper,
October 28, 2014
By: ConBon
from Boise, Idaho
"We have been using the fat wood fire starters for several years and find them so helpful! They reduce the need for newspapers and thus reduce the quantity of ashes, making cleanup easier. Also, I can use them when my husband isn't home, and I don't need to chop kindling in order to enjoy a fire.
Thanks for providing a great product!
"
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fat wood for storage,
October 26, 2014
By: AmericanWolverine
from Rocky Mountains Colorado
"As a survivalist I keep a good supply of fat wood on hand. 2-4 sticks of fat wood plus a single charcoal briquette is enough to cook a large meal using my rocket stove or kelly kettle. Orvis has the best price for the largest amount available and I even keep a few boxes in my food storage for the fresh "cedar" aroma it puts off. It is also a great way to keep closets smelling fresh year around. The wood is great for simple fire starting if you ever need it and it lights fast burning hot enough to get damp wood going. I highly recommend keeping a good stock of the fine product on hand!!"