Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fatwood

Cut from the resin-saturated heartwood found in the stumps of ancient longleaf pines, our fatwood burns with a hot, aromatic pine flame that makes it perfect kindling for wood fires, whether in the woodstove, hearth, or campsite. Orvis introduced the world to fatwood in 1970 and ever since we have prided ourselves in offering the best. It's earth friendly (no living trees are harvested in making it).Box measures: 9¾"H x 14½"L x 9½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.883 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
255
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
270 of 274(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fatwood
Review 1 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just plain works,
April 14, 2014
By: shua713
from northeast woodlands
"This is one of the best natural firestarters, you can make feather sticks or just fine shavings out of it and it will take a spark from a ferrocerium rod. These work great for starting fires at home or camping or a survival situation. If you have fatwood, you have fire!"
Review 2 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
March 17, 2014
By: Nyatihunter
from California
"Terrific value. I purchased this online when the fatwood was on sale, and the price, with shipping, was still less than my local hardward shore's price. Excellent fire starter, and enough to last a year or two."
Review 3 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this stuff!,
March 17, 2014
By: cbh5544
"I have a wood stove at the lake house and I use these every time I start a fire and it makes it so much easier. I will continue to purchase and use this product."
Review 4 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 Stars,
March 17, 2014
By: PatriciaLapointe
from Canton, CT
"It works wonders. This is the first time I use this product and will certainly continue to order!"
Review 5 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fatwood!,
March 14, 2014
By: NancyJo
"Nice uniformly sized pieces of fatwood for starting woodstoves quickly and easily! Was on sale at a price that couldn't be beat by other websites and arrived quickly. Will order again. Thanks!"
Review 6 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fire starters,
March 12, 2014
By: Regulator
from Marion, MA
"If you want a high grade efficient way to start your wood stove and fire pit fires, use the Orvis Fatwood. I purchased the large box, as I tend to burn fires all year round. This box gives you the most material for your buck and keeps it handy. The fat wood from Orvis burns evenly and hot, allowing your firewood to catch the flame and self ignite without using artificial products."
Review 7 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and service!!,
March 12, 2014
By: Nanny7
from Norristown, PA
"The fatwood from Orvis is great!!! When you compare the price to buying it at the big 'box' hardware stores, it is much cheaper and better quality! Not to mention that half way thru the winter they never have any fatwood left!!
I am happy with the procuct and the customer service was wonderfully helpful!
I will be ordering again next year!!
"
Review 8 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
March 11, 2014
By: Tice
from Smithville, mo
"The item arrived in a very timely manner, it was priced well below what I would pay in the area stores, I would recommend the item to anyone having a wood burning stove."
Review 9 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding product,
March 11, 2014
By: Tice
from Smithville, mo
"Received the item in a very timely manner ,the item was priced well below the price I pay in the store for the item. I will order again for the supplier. I would reccemend this item for anyone having a wood burning stove."
Review 10 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied,
March 11, 2014
By: Doublehaul53
from Northern Colorado
"The fatwood came in a very nice box that looks great next to the stove. The wood starts right away and solves the problem of having to cut my own tinder. Very satisfied!"
Review 11 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wouldn't face a winter without it,
March 10, 2014
By: Preed
from Marstons Mills, MA
"Not only is the product great, but it arrives quickly and as promised. I use a wood stove to warm a good portion of my house durimg cool/cold days. Sometimes my wood is slightly damp but I always can get a fire going with this fatwood, warming my house- and my bones - quickly. The fatwood is really nice and oily and lights quickly with a match."
Review 12 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 7, 2014
By: JustJoann
from Northeast Ohio
"Does exactly what it says - Have used other company's products and am very satisfied with Orvis' product."
Review 13 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excelent value,
March 3, 2014
By: ace57
from Sudbury Ma
"This the best product to start fires
in a wood stove it takes very small amounts to lite the fire and the cost
is great value.
"
Review 14 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
March 1, 2014
By: Mikeeeeeeeeeee
from Tenn
"Without starter gas these are the best...got a second box"
Review 15 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
February 26, 2014
By: maddieol
from Massachusetts
"I always order this fatwood from Orvis. I get the most product for a great price. This time it was on sale so it was an even better deal. I have used two boxes this year because of the extremely cold weather."
Review 16 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what one needs,
February 25, 2014
By: Fatwoodie
"I got my new order of fatwood just as the last of my 2013 order was going up in smoke.
We've used more this year than last, and I underestimated my supply.
Great product and at a very fair price.
Shipping time was as expected and communication was excellent.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Help,
February 25, 2014
By: Countrybird
from Land O Lakes, WI
"I ordered this fatwood for my 82yr old dad. His shoulder has been sore from chopping big logs into starter wood down in his shop.. It works great. Fire started up right away and my dad's shoulder is much better. I will order it again!!"
Review 18 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Start A Fire Without It,
February 24, 2014
By: MleC
from Western Massachusetts
"This fatwood works like a charm, every time.
We keep ours in the leather fireman's bucket we purchased from Orvis."
Review 19 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 22, 2014
By: genine
from Kingston,Pa
"I have been buying products from Orvis for at least 25 years -suitcases, clothes and fat wood. Your products are well made and last for years. Thank you..mskelly"
Review 20 for Orvis Fatwood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes starting fires easy.,
February 21, 2014
By: dancinggranny
from Boring, Or
"I have used firestarters before, these worked great and so much for the money. I would definitely recommend this product and am ordering some for my kids for next winter as they use exclusively wood heat."