Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Phlamin Pheasant Tail

Even a time-tested fly can stand an upgrade every few years. The Phlamin' Pheasant Tail is a colorful and vibrant take on the traditional Pheasant Tail, and thus far, the results have been stellar. An excellent prospecting fly, it will pull fish out of the water when nothing else seems to work. Just read the reviews to see how effective it has been on rivers all across the country. Sizes 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Review 1 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great big,
July 9, 2014
By: Olsurfer
from Fremont, CO
"Pricy but the fish on the Ark like it. Should be added to any serious fly fishers fly box."
Review 2 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Bug!,
March 18, 2014
By: Brookyonthefly
"This is among my favorite bugs. When I approach a stream it is virtually always the first thing that I'll tie on, because I know that in pretty much any situation, if there is a fish that is even remotely interested in eating, this bug will do the trick. These all seem to be really well tied too (I had none of the issues one of the other reviewers mentioned with an oversized bead or thread coming loose). However, I have had to replace many of these over time as they so frequently find their way into trout mouths that they are bound to get beat up after a while. A good problem to have if you ask me!"
Review 3 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phlamin' PT,
May 29, 2013
By: jmessers
from Central, PA
"great fly. delicate for presentation. the bead is the trick."
Review 4 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On Fire,
April 21, 2013
By: mvtoro
"I haven't written a lot of reviews because I only bother if I have strong feelings about a product. But I LOVE this bug. I literally have a whole row of my nymph box dedicated just to the PP. That row doesn't always stay full unfortunately because this bug comes out frequently. It's a go-to dropper fly and just a general "let's see which trout wants to party" bug. It's a great balance between flashy/attractive and well-shaped/accurate."
Review 5 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the usual Orvis quality,
March 6, 2013
By: Tbar1
from Midwest
"Ordered a dz size 16 and 8 size 18. Half of the flies either had the bead placed too close to the eye so threading 6x tippet was impossible or the finish wrap on the head would come apart after just a few casts.
Orvis flies are priced higher than just about everyone else, but their quality has always been exceptional prior to these flies."
Review 6 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks neat,
December 27, 2012
By: Jmhall
from Beaumont, TX
"the trout seem to think it looks neat too. Works great at LMFR kinda like a cross between a zebra midge and pheasant tail."
Review 7 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
killed it on the Beaverhead,
January 15, 2012
By: BigHoss
"Fished the Beaverhead River and this fly caught about 100 fish in 2 days. One of the best flies in my box."
Review 8 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flashy,
December 13, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"A flashy version of the pheasant tail, great little fly."
Review 9 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Products,
September 21, 2011
By: treyalex10
"You can see the difference in the quality of Orvis flies vs any other place I have found. The fish can obviously see the difference as well because this Phlamin lights the river up."
Review 10 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brookies love the Phlamin' Pheasant,
July 27, 2011
By: fishininparadise
from Salt Lake City, UT
"There I was... high in the Uinta Mountains on a small lake full of fat and picky Brook trout. We had hiked into this issolated lake after hearing that this lake was both hard to find and even harder to fish. I got up the next morning and tied on a Phlamin' Pheasant. On my second cast, I had one of those bad boys hit the pheasant so hard it broke my leader! Best day on the water!"
Review 11 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Middle provo monsters on the phlamin' pheasant,
July 27, 2011
By: idahoflyguy
from North Salt Lake, UT
"I've fished the middle Provo several times over the past couple of years, but have never had a day like the one last week when I tied on a Phlamin' Pheasant a buddy gave me. I typically do well, but rarely draw the attention from other anglers like the last trip. I fished a stimmy on top with this fly as a dropper and had consistent action- a little on both flies. Then I hit a big hole, and that's when the fun started. My second cast I hooked into a great brown 20+ inch. He gave me a good fight and cleared the water once to give me a good look. Unfortunately I was waste deep in fast water, so started to back over toward the bank to get him in. I gave him a little slack, and he was gone. Disappointed, I kept working the hole, and 2 casts later my dry disappeared, and I set the hook on another great fish who couldn't resist the Phlamin' Pheasant. I got this one in, and he was a beautiful 18+" brown. This is when two different anglers came over to inquire what I was using. I pointed them to the Phlamin' Pheasant on Orvis. This is a great fly. I'll be stocking up and using it often."
Review 12 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great addition to the box,
July 18, 2011
By: shortcast
"I tried this fly out on the heavy and dirty water of the Madison and it worked when nothing else would and worked well all day. My guide was so impressed he talked me out of most of my flies until we could find some more. One of those flys that makes you look like a better fisherman."
Review 13 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Dozen in the boat...,
February 12, 2011
By: HeadsUpFlyFishing
from San Juan River
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's winter time on the San Juan River, so guides like myself are looking for a little something extra to get those fish in the mood to bite; the Phlamin PT does the job.
Last week, a couple clients of mine put two dozen fish in the boat with the help of this little fly - try giving it a little twitch now and then too.
PS I recommend size 18"
Review 14 for Phlamin Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks great,
January 7, 2011
By: COab
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great new fly. My go to bug. Everyone should have a supply on hand."