Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Magic Midge

Even when there doesn't seem to be any flies on the water, it's a good bet trout will be feeding on midges. Nearly ubiquitous, and found in just about any water you'll fish, when they're not taking anything else, try a midge. Durable and well-tied, the Magic Midge is a fly you shouldn't be without on any tailwater, freestone stream, or crowded river. It realistically mimics midges on the water, and truly lives up to its name. Sizes 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Midge
Review 1 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Presto chango!,
May 14, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"Your fly just went from empty to having a fish on with this magic maker. Midges are so important to trout that this should always be with you ready to cast if nothin seems to be working. Quality craftsmanship."
Review 2 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish catcher,
May 18, 2011
By: rudyd
from missouri
"Got these flies becasue i love to fish midges-outstanding performance and great quality-works great on local creeks"
Review 3 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fly produces,
May 18, 2011
By: theguideSchultz
from NY, NJ, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used this fly in PA, NY, and NJ in April and May. Its a great fly. I fished two rivers that were getting extreme pressure from other fishermen around me and I had multiple hook ups and landed several fish on this fly despite the "slow" day for those around me. I have not tried using this fly in tandem or as a dropper but many times I could aproach a pool that had just been fished and get hook ups. What I like about this fly is that its made with durability. The wings stay erect and fly action remains steady throughout the entire day. Over all I will rate this fly as excellent. The thread stood up to many fish hits, the hook stayed sharp, and the fly produced fish takes."
Review 4 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trout Slayer Ever,
May 16, 2011
By: Flyfishingwesty
from Boise, Idaho
"I bought this Midge pattern based on my years on the water and what i witnessed in midge emergers. My hunch was right. Absolutly slayed the trout. Lifelike and deadly. You will only be disapointed if you DON'T have this payttern in your box."
Review 5 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 20, 2011
By: jigginaround
from mount clemens,michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"the magic midge was just like the picture, give it a try when others won't get em to bite."
Review 6 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magic Midge-Colorado River,
March 11, 2011
By: Eastcap
from Boston, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a chance to use the Magic Midge on the Colorado River to rising Brown Trout in February 2011. Drifted them in a tailwater to great effect, with about 8 takes and a dozen strikes over about 30 casts."
Review 7 for Magic Midge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
February 17, 2011
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Fly does not look like much, but the fish don't seem to care. Works good on tailwater trout."