Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards

One of the great attributes of the Winkler knives is the sheath work. Their leather work is extraordinary even on a glasses strap, so we've asked them to build these simple but elegant eyeglass lanyards. Great for readers and even better for sunglasses. These lanyards are braided leather with glass and wood bead detail. Rubber retainers on the ends to keep glasses secure. Leather glasses strap in black, brown. Length 15". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Review 1 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good purchase,
November 14, 2014
By: Lakemandaniel
from hickory, NC
"Have read all of the reviews and noted the couple of those that suggested that the length be a little shorter. From my viewpoint, I prefer the length as it is! Seems correct for me. It should be easy to shorten in it.s present form using an unobtrusive tie or catch. If made shorter, it cannot be made longer!"
Review 2 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hand made in the USA useful product,
November 12, 2014
By: Lakemandaniel
from hickory, NC
"While there are many eyeglass lanyards available today, this one is more artfully hand crafted than those more generic in nature. Favorable comments have been plentiful as I use it daily. Hand made in the USA by an "artist" not too far away helped me make my decision to pay a little more for this useful item?"
Review 3 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leather lanyard,
January 15, 2014
By: JohnWA
from Tacoma, WA
"I like the leather eyeglass lanyard that I received as a gift. My only negative comment is that the length could be a bit shorter."
Review 4 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
January 1, 2013
By: cookie74
"Item was very nice. It was a gift whick was liked very well. I am very happy with the service and the product, will order from you again."
Review 5 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lanyard,
December 28, 2012
By: agile1
from Houston, texas
"Like this rugged leather lanyard to use for hiking and outdoor activity."
Review 6 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True Craftsmanship,
December 28, 2012
By: Lele5
from Laguna Niguel, CA
"I bought the eyeglass lanyard for my husband for Christmas and he loved it! It looks great, holds his glasses perfectly and it is masculine enough, with the leather and wooden beads, to wear it all the time. The craftsmanship is excellent, a true Orvis product."
Review 7 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winkler products,
November 13, 2012
By: 187Mo
from Ca.
"In the past I've order and received other Winkler products: limited edition knife and duck call lanyard. All of these were excellent...heck, outstanding!!
And of course, ordering from Orvis means prompt delivery AND a warranty that can not be beat!!!"
Review 8 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lovely leather,
November 4, 2012
By: donut
from NC boonies
"lovely leather lanyard unfortunately is not good for very long as the rubber retainers break long before the lanyard even looks like it was worn. If you don't mind acquiring it as a disposalble item, it's great."
Review 9 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backwoods elegant,
May 14, 2012
By: mikeponder
from Cape Girardeau
"I really appreciate the quality of this lanyard. The leather is soft and supple and the craftsmanship is excellent. Its a lanyard that is as good looking as it is functional. I'll be using this for years to come!"
Review 10 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Quality,
February 19, 2012
By: TenderMittens
from Birmingham, AL
"This lanyard is beautiful and made with exceptional quality. My only issue is that it seems a bit too long for me to wear. Needs to be shortened up just a tad - maybe 1" to 2" would do."
Review 11 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 19, 2012
By: nanafisher
from Colorado
"Leather is soft and smooth and the look is attractive. Very good purchase for anyone wearing eyeglasses or sunglasses."
Review 12 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
December 29, 2011
By: Mojo2
"Attractive and easy to use. Well represented in the catalog."
Review 13 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eyeglass lanyard,
December 29, 2011
By: mann
from bridgewater, ma
"really like the length other lanyards that ive had alwayys seemed tight but this one has plenty of room and doesn't catch on collars"
Review 14 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
beads missing,
December 15, 2011
By: tbmc
"On one to the strands that was supposed to be beaded, the beads were missing. Stands out really bad. Had to cut the strand off."
Review 15 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 23, 2011
By: DHM1
from Kansas City, MO
"Very nice! Anyone with eyeglasses or sunglassaholics will love this product!"
Review 16 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent quality,
November 18, 2011
By: Oporto
"This eyeglass lanyard is the only one I've found to have any significant length and that's important. I don't like lanyards that keep the eyeglasses high on the chest. This lanyard is of excellent quality and also unique. A bit pricey, but unique."
Review 17 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 3, 2010
By: NCknifeman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have worn one of these for years even though it has not been available for purchase until now through Orvis.
When I started wearing glasses a few years ago I had to take them off to read, eat or see anything close. I was always leaving my glasses on tables and counters so Karen made one of these lanyards for me so I would stop losing them.
She made it in the style of our knife sheaths so I would be "stylin". Since then I have had several. Not because they wear out but because people stop me on the street and in airports and beg to buy the one I am wearing. After a few years of this this begging it finally sunk in"we should sell these". We passed the project to our niece and assistant "Evenlight" and offered the product to Orvis.
We made the length to fit me so if you need one longer than what would fit a 6 foot 200 lb man tell Orvis. Maybe they will order some to be made longer.
If you think it is too expensive there are many on the market in a variety of styles that are a low as $1.00 if you don't mind not being a style setter. Now as I pass people in the mall and get stopped to answer "where did you get that lanyard" I can say "check out Orvis they have them."
Daniel"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winkler Eyeglass Lanyards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are actually about 30",
November 22, 2010
By: darthwader
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When open and attached to the glasses, my lanyard is actually almost 30" long. The 15" must refer to the length from the eyeglasses sliders to the beaded part....true, if they were only 15" total, they would barely fit over my head. The beaded area is actually very visible in the back when the glasses are being worn or not though. Very attractive."